AA Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 90 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    
  Visit website

AA car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest AA car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out...

READ MORE

AA car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest AA car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used AA before, you too can write a short AA car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

AA Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

61% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

90 reviews

Review AA's Car Insurance now

Poor claims management

Non fault claim, was mismanaged. I had to wait 3 months for an assessment by the engineer, thereafter the car was passed on to an underwriter who had to reassess the claim as a new claim. Over all I waited 4 months for the claim to be settled. Communicati Read more

Non fault claim, was mismanaged. I had to wait 3 months for an assessment by the engineer, thereafter the car was passed on to an underwriter who had to reassess the claim as a new claim. Over all I waited 4 months for the claim to be settled. Communication from the AA is extremely poor , no one communicated with me through the process or explained the claim properly. Staff do not understand their job and a lot of cover up for mismanagement. The teams they have are disjointed and don’t communicate. Unfortunately I had to go to the financial ombudsman and will be taking this to solicitors .

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
sharon stern's avatar
sharon stern
Get Product

STAY AWAY

I had AA car insurance and needed to change my car , the cost of my insurance rocketed in price to insure a car that had a smaller engine and the same value.. I would never trust the AA again and I would not recommend them to anyone..

Reviewed on 4th January 2022
Geoffrey Handley's avatar
Geoffrey Handley
Get Product

They took nearly £600 without my permission

They were fine until it came time to renew. They did not quote a good price so I decided to go elsewhere. I advised this between two calls I had with them. On my renewal date (right before Christmas) after I had already sorted and paid for alternative i Read more

They were fine until it came time to renew. They did not quote a good price so I decided to go elsewhere. I advised this between two calls I had with them.
On my renewal date (right before Christmas) after I had already sorted and paid for alternative insurance I also got charged for renewal.

I called up, obviously quite angry, only to be advised I will likely be charged an admin fee of £27 also for cancelling, and I could put in a complaint to have this amount possibly refunded, but that would take up to 8 weeks.

They are theives, do not insure with them.

Reviewed on 4th December 2021
Tom Marriott's avatar
Tom Marriott
Get Product

Worst customer service

After the accident they promised to give me special treatment. Accident wasn't my fault so I agreed. So instead they update me abt my claim. I have to chase them to find out what really happening. Worst decision to stay with Aa. 3 months went still no com Read more

After the accident they promised to give me special treatment. Accident wasn't my fault so I agreed. So instead they update me abt my claim. I have to chase them to find out what really happening. Worst decision to stay with Aa. 3 months went still no compensation, car they have it. I don't have a strength to keep on calling to find out what really happening. PLEASE stay out for this cow company

Reviewed on 2nd December 2021
Dhairya Shah's avatar
Dhairya Shah
Get Product

Shocking customer service, Avoid this company

Had a car accident, I was not at fault, other driver admitted liability and all progressed through their broker (AX) ax were very helpful unlike the as customer service, I have now had my car repaired and trying to claim my excess back, aa do not want to Read more

Had a car accident, I was not at fault, other driver admitted liability and all progressed through their broker (AX) ax were very helpful unlike the as customer service, I have now had my car repaired and trying to claim my excess back, aa do not want to fuffund the excess even though the accident was not my fault and ax say the claim has all been finalised as the other party has accepted liability, I still have not received my excess back and it seems people at the as have lost all the info about the accident, video footage etc etc, very apauling service, I do not recommend AA to anyone, A kid this scamming company like the plague, I’ve just been told I age to wait another 8 weeks for the outcome, terrible.

Reviewed on 27th November 2021
Stokey's avatar
Stokey
Get Product

WORSE SERVICE PROVIDED

After having my car window smashed and steering wheel stolen i had no help during the first 24hrs to get my car to my chosen garage to make sure it was secure. After having to arrange the transport of the car myself the car has now been sitting at the gar Read more

After having my car window smashed and steering wheel stolen i had no help during the first 24hrs to get my car to my chosen garage to make sure it was secure. After having to arrange the transport of the car myself the car has now been sitting at the garage for 2 weeks with absolutely no contact from the AA in regards to giving the go ahead to start the repair.
I feel i have paid for a fully comp insurance service and received no help with any stage of the process. I am having to do all the chasing myself to get the AA to provide the service i have paid for. When asking to speak to a manager or anyone that can help i am constantly told no one is available and i will get a call back, a call that never comes. After chasing everyday now finding out they thought the car was in a different garage (one of their chosen garages) I am now out of pocket either out of pure incompetence or the AA simply do not care.
As of now still waiting on a simple repair to take place, the garage also waiting ready with the parts needed for 2 weeks now.
It is true what they say, you do not know how good your insurance company are until you actually need to claim. In this case I've never had a worse service provided.

Reviewed on 19th November 2021
James's avatar
James
Get Product

The AA living off a respected past.

I recently purchased car insurance via the aa and fortunately due to a error which was no fault of either party I cancelled and was so glad I had. The aa customer service is non existent and basically lies and argues with you and when you go to the top t Read more

I recently purchased car insurance via the aa and fortunately due to a error which was no fault of either party I cancelled and was so glad I had.
The aa customer service is non existent and basically lies and argues with you and when you go to the top the person you deal with is obviously the guy who trains them as he is as obsturd and as stubborn as the reps. I maybe 50+ but I will not be told what's right and what's wrong and then expect me to pay for it and to keep quiet. Such a shame the aa had a good old fashion reputation for reliability and trust, something I will never entrust to anyone .

Reviewed on 18th November 2021
Tony Stylianou 's avatar
Tony Stylianou
Get Product

Nightmare to get our car repaired

Still waiting nearly 3 weeks to get our car repaired. It's not even started yet. The AA are clueless.

Reviewed on 5th August 2021
Nick Balchin 's avatar
Nick Balchin
Get Product

Very good

Very helpful and the customer service people like understanding.

Reviewed on 30th July 2021
Sarwar79 's avatar
Sarwar79
Get Product

Hiking up premiums

Had to pay a extra premium for a non fault accident? (windscreen repair). Most insurers don't charge or take any no claims earned.

Reviewed on 12th April 2021
Des Hughes's avatar
Des Hughes
Get Product

1st year ok

Very good car insurance 2nd year am staying with them

Reviewed on 17th February 2021
Ian's avatar
Ian
Get Product

Unauthorised transactions

The AA will take money from your bank account with or without DD instruction, if you have to sever ties with them make sure you order a new card as they will still bill you regardless. totally illegal and underhand. Report to FOS if this happens to you.

Reviewed on 21st August 2020
rick's avatar
rick
Get Product

Great cover, nice and easy to understand

I went with the AA because they were the cheapest on a comparison website at the time having never used them before, very easy to understand all the additional add ons and what was already included, I particularly liked that they offered a reduced rate on Read more

I went with the AA because they were the cheapest on a comparison website at the time having never used them before, very easy to understand all the additional add ons and what was already included, I particularly liked that they offered a reduced rate on breakdown cover too as a policy holder, only needed to contact them to say I didnt want the policy auto renewing and they got back to me in a very timely manner, would use them again in the future just they couldn't beat another companies quote this year

Reviewed on 14th July 2020
Katie 's avatar
Katie
Get Product

Great value

Great value would recommend just what I wanted , no problems at a good price

Reviewed on 12th July 2020
Jeanette Leighton's avatar
Jeanette Leighton
Get Product

great service

friendly and efficient and great value

Reviewed on 11th July 2020
elodie's avatar
elodie
Get Product

Great service

AA was the only company who covered my travel insurance for Covid19

Reviewed on 18th June 2020
Katie Walton's avatar
Katie Walton
Get Product

Rip Off

In the last year 2 people have bumped into my car, and admitted liability. The last one was just before lockdown and so the repairs haven't been completed. Because this case is still open my insurance has increased by £250 - even though the other side has Read more

In the last year 2 people have bumped into my car, and admitted liability. The last one was just before lockdown and so the repairs haven't been completed. Because this case is still open my insurance has increased by £250 - even though the other side has admitted liability and I've got protected no claims. Tried escalating and was told no. The claims handling was a mess because my husband was driving and even though I gave him the authority to deal with the claim AA kept calling me to complete the details - very dificult when I wasn't there. Even after he's given them all the details they still kept pestering us because they didn't have any record. A shambles. In my latest dealings I mentioned in passing the accident from last year and they had no record of it, even though again it went through insurance, and I had a courtesy car for 3 weeks. Because of this they then upped the insurance again. Absolute rip off merchants

Reviewed on 29th May 2020
Karen's avatar
Karen
Get Product

Amazing

Great supportive company to work with... never feel alone

Reviewed on 16th May 2020
Caitlin Bill's avatar
Caitlin Bill
Get Product

Reasonablr price from trusted company.

I shopped around for car insurance and found their price to be very reasonable and my contact with them was very efficient.

Reviewed on 28th April 2020
steveb's avatar
steveb
Get Product

Effortless Claim

Started a new car insurance policy in October only to have to claim following a rear end shunt in December. The claim process was simple and my car was repaired within a short time, I would recommend.

Reviewed on 15th September 2019
Helen Swales's avatar
Helen Swales
Get Product