Voting in the British Bank Awards 2020 is now open.
VOTE NOW

AA Car Insurance Reviews

Ratings based on 71 reviews Last review 1 month ago

AA car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest AA car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find...

Read Full Description

AA car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest AA car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used AA before, you too can write a short AA car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

5 23
4 13
3 6
2 5
1 24

Your Car Insurance Reviews (71)

Get Product
23rd May 2019

***DO NOT BUY AA CAR INSURANCE***

DO NOT TAKE OUT VEHICLE INSURANCE WITH THE...

Read more

DO NOT TAKE OUT VEHICLE INSURANCE WITH THE AA.
Another vehicle hit mine whilst they were reversing. The driver admitted liability, so this should have been simple for the AA to deal with you might think...think again!! I have spent hours on the phone trying to get through to the AA, and been passed around. Appalling service. I have spent a ridiculous amount of time sorting out the repairs to my car, dealing with the underwriters, dealing with Claimfast; including responding to their request for a written statement of the incident, sketching the incident etc. REMEMBER, the other driver admitted liability and had informed their insurers (who have written to me saying they accepted their client's liability and would not be contesting) and wrote a note (again) accepting liability, all submitted to Claimfast. I've also to make calls to the recovery/repair garage and arranged my courtesy car. Throughout, this jaw-droppingly bad experience, AA and Claimfast etc. have assured me that, as the injured party, I will not suffer financially, which as I wasn't at fault I didn't doubt. Today I was informed my car is repaired but I have to pay the garage £350 to get it back! Why, because the AA has not waived my excess, which as they have the third party's admission of liability is normally the case. I made more calls Claimfast and the garage. They say the AA is at fault, the AA blame Claimfast. Apparently, I must pay the garage and then try to get my money back via the Uninsured Loss Recovery Claim team. I've been told I should get it back eventually. So, to recap, my car was hit by another vehicle, that driver accepted liability, yet my insurer is not representing me, is not liaising with the other driver's insurers, is not doing anything to progress this, and is now financially penalising me. I bitterly regret taking out AA insurance, I thought they were a reputable company and wish I had accepted the other driver's insurer's (AGEAS) offer to deal with this.
If I could give no stars I would. ****AVOID, AVOID, AVOID****

Get Product
4th January 2019

BEWARE

Disgusting service and policy. Two of the women in customer service that I spoke to were extremely rude and not very understanding. The only saving grace was one women who was lovely that tried to help, unfortunately the companies policy that is...

Read more

Disgusting service and policy. Two of the women in customer service that I spoke to were extremely rude and not very understanding. The only saving grace was one women who was lovely that tried to help, unfortunately the companies policy that is disgusting wouldn’t allow her to help. Having missed a direct debit payment, which was entirely my fault, the AA decided, instead of trying to take payment again or do everything they could to get in contact with me, they decided to take the entire policy amount of £372 out of my account on January the 2nd. I had not received an email, which apparently they don’t do, no phone call, just one letter which I missed which stated that I missed a payment and I would be charged £12. Absolutely disgusting that they would do that as a policy. What is more disgusting is that when I called up to try and get the money back, even after explaining that the money was for food shopping that month for me, my wife and two children, I was met with it’s not really our problem it’s our policy and all you can do is cancel your policy which we will charge you an extortionate amount for and refund £181?!?!? All because of one missed payment. Happy new year.

Get Product
27th August 2018

SCAMMERS DO NOT EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME SHAMEFUL CORPORATE BEHAVIOUR

ont waste your money! Life Draining service to say the least first and foremost i urge anyone who is considering AA home insurance to pay a little extra and use a more reliable honest and understanding...

Read more

ont waste your money! Life Draining service to say the least first and foremost i urge anyone who is considering AA home insurance to pay a little extra and use a more reliable honest and understanding firm.

Have home and contents insurance with AA who have supposedly brokered it to another company which is fine however do you not do due diligence on any of these rogue firms, trident claims is an absoloute shack of a company and from the onset it has become the most difficult endevour of my life. I am a pensioner and you are making my life utterly miserable. We had a leak in our home and firstly tried to call them but the offices were closed circa 10 days ago, since then i have been messed around firstly we had a long list of questions and i was asked five times if i wanted to make a claim like it was some sort of crime to claim on your home insurance, every reply i gave was replied with an element of doubt.

Then i was told i had died some years ago which is alarming when i am on the phone he was adamant that his checks showed i passed away twenty years ago, then he said i had a CCJ against my name, i have immaculate credit and was startled pre bank holiday so he fobbed me off sayign someone would call me back

How can i have a CCJ 18 years after i had supposedly passed away its almost like they were making it up as they go along, all we wanted is for someone to come fix our ceiling!

Having done several credit checks etc it transpires there is no CCJ or any record of one being open or closed in the last 35 years against me so that was a complete lie, they keep telling me that its with some team doing validation checks! What checks are you doing exactly, they just bluffing and buying time so they dont have to send an engineer out or pay out against the claim, shame on the AA board members i would name them but is easy to find online, your running the biggest sham company in the UK, take your money provide no service dont pay out. Dont buy any form of insurance from AA because you will never get any recompense.

You have been warned AA is more like DD Diabolical and disgraceful

Get Product
26th May 2018

Absolute wrip off

i would not touch this insurance with a barge pole. them and the garage work together to rip people off. I had a perfectly good car and they decided to write it off along with Bodykraft their repairer who over estimate repairs big time. I will not be...

Read more

i would not touch this insurance with a barge pole. them and the garage work together to rip people off. I had a perfectly good car and they decided to write it off along with Bodykraft their repairer who over estimate repairs big time. I will not be having insurance through AA again and unless you have a AA approved repairer on your door step don't bother. mine was 55 miles away so I couldn't do anything about it hands tied.

Get Product
12th April 2018

Big wheels keep on turning......you over

My suspension spring broke on the front of my car also causing the shock absorber to fail. So I phoned the AA when the incident first occurred and asked if I am fully covered, the response was words to the effect of "yes, most likely you are...

Read more

My suspension spring broke on the front of my car also causing the shock absorber to fail. So I phoned the AA when the incident first occurred and asked if I am fully covered, the response was words to the effect of "yes, most likely you are covered".

The AA then had my car towed to a garage of their choice who informed me they could only source after market parts.
So, I asked my insurance company if they would be happy with that. They clearly expressed they would not be, they also expressed for safety and roadworthy purposes both sides of the suspension should be replaced. The garage confirmed this stance too. So I had to source and pay for the parts to hand to the garage to fit, remember this is the garage the AA has approved and organised my recovery with.

But then the claim starts with the AA, Karl in the claims department in particular, seemed to be belligerent in his view and would not budge from the letter of the AA's policy, i.e only pay for the part that broke. So in my view they would be prepared to have the car repaired to an unsafe condition and not cover the cost of the repair to put the car back on the road safely. Karl seemed to stand by the AA's policy and would not consider otherwise, thus representing the AA. All this despite me having to pay for the parts myself because the garage the AA chose could not source them and the AA initially stating words to the effect of "yes, most likely, you are covered".

In the end I am now over £800 out of pocket, plus what I have been paying for AA 'Maintenance cover' for my wife and myself. No longer, its not worth the aggravation with the AA and I will not allow them to jeopardise the safety of my family or myself. All in all the AA breakdown / maintenance cover takes a typical insurance money first stance and is not all you think it will be to protect you in my view.

That TV advert they run with small child in the car singing…. make your own mind up….. Big wheels keep on turning…. you over

Get Product
14th March 2018

Poor service and no call backs

I have been trying to resolve an issue with the AA for two days. I purchased a new car and asked the AA to arrange cover on the car. I was going from an Astra GTC to a standard Astra Elite so you would think that was easy but no. I was told at first...

Read more

I have been trying to resolve an issue with the AA for two days. I purchased a new car and asked the AA to arrange cover on the car. I was going from an Astra GTC to a standard Astra Elite so you would think that was easy but no. I was told at first that the agent could not complete the transfer due to systems issues and would call me back. I never received a call and when I called them I was told that the insurer would not be able to insure the new car, no reason as to why other than its not a car they cover so why I wonder was I currently insured by then on the same make of car? I am still awaiting a call back absolutely diabolical service. As I write this I have been on hold for 30 minutes to speak to the com[plaints department.

Get Product
1st February 2018

Car insurance Robbers

I recently took out car...

Read more

I recently took out car insurance.
A deposit was taken which is fine.
I called to cancel my policy within the 14 day cooling off period to be advised there would be an outstanding balance to pay.
How can there be a balance to pay when I have already paid a deposit and then cancelled within 14 day's.
I then look at my bank account and a transaction by AA has been taken out of my original payment card.
This was the first time I have used this company and will be the last.
Complete robbery...