AA Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 83 reviews       Last review 2 months ago    
  Visit website

AA car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest AA car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find...

READ MORE

AA car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest AA car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used AA before, you too can write a short AA car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

AA Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

62% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Your Car Insurance Reviews

83 reviews

Review AA's Car Insurance now

Nightmare to get our car repaired

Still waiting nearly 3 weeks to get our car repaired. It's not even started yet. The AA are clueless.

Reviewed on 5th August 2021
Nick Balchin 's avatar
Nick Balchin
Get Product

Very good

Very helpful and the customer service people like understanding.

Reviewed on 30th July 2021
Sarwar79 's avatar
Sarwar79
Get Product

Hiking up premiums

Had to pay a extra premium for a non fault accident? (windscreen repair). Most insurers don't charge or take any no claims earned.

Reviewed on 12th April 2021
Des Hughes's avatar
Des Hughes
Get Product

1st year ok

Very good car insurance 2nd year am staying with them

Reviewed on 17th February 2021
Ian's avatar
Ian
Get Product

Unauthorised transactions

The AA will take money from your bank account with or without DD instruction, if you have to sever ties with them make sure you order a new card as they will still bill you regardless. totally illegal and underhand. Report to FOS if this happens to you.

Reviewed on 21st August 2020
rick's avatar
rick
Get Product

Great cover, nice and easy to understand

I went with the AA because they were the cheapest on a comparison website at the time having never used them before, very easy to understand all the additional add ons and what was already included, I particularly liked that they offered a reduced... Read more

I went with the AA because they were the cheapest on a comparison website at the time having never used them before, very easy to understand all the additional add ons and what was already included, I particularly liked that they offered a reduced rate on breakdown cover too as a policy holder, only needed to contact them to say I didnt want the policy auto renewing and they got back to me in a very timely manner, would use them again in the future just they couldn't beat another companies quote this year

Reviewed on 14th July 2020
Katie 's avatar
Katie
Get Product

Great value

Great value would recommend just what I wanted , no problems at a good price

Reviewed on 12th July 2020
Jeanette Leighton's avatar
Jeanette Leighton
Get Product

great service

friendly and efficient and great value

Reviewed on 11th July 2020
elodie's avatar
elodie
Get Product

Great service

AA was the only company who covered my travel insurance for Covid19

Reviewed on 18th June 2020
Katie Walton's avatar
Katie Walton
Get Product

Rip Off

In the last year 2 people have bumped into my car, and admitted liability. The last one was just before lockdown and so the repairs haven't been completed. Because this case is still open my insurance has increased by £250 - even though the other side ... Read more

In the last year 2 people have bumped into my car, and admitted liability. The last one was just before lockdown and so the repairs haven't been completed. Because this case is still open my insurance has increased by £250 - even though the other side has admitted liability and I've got protected no claims. Tried escalating and was told no. The claims handling was a mess because my husband was driving and even though I gave him the authority to deal with the claim AA kept calling me to complete the details - very dificult when I wasn't there. Even after he's given them all the details they still kept pestering us because they didn't have any record. A shambles. In my latest dealings I mentioned in passing the accident from last year and they had no record of it, even though again it went through insurance, and I had a courtesy car for 3 weeks. Because of this they then upped the insurance again. Absolute rip off merchants

Reviewed on 29th May 2020
Karen's avatar
Karen
Get Product

Amazing

Great supportive company to work with... never feel alone

Reviewed on 16th May 2020
Caitlin Bill's avatar
Caitlin Bill
Get Product

Reasonablr price from trusted company.

I shopped around for car insurance and found their price to be very reasonable and my contact with them was very efficient.

Reviewed on 28th April 2020
steveb's avatar
steveb
Get Product

Effortless Claim

Started a new car insurance policy in October only to have to claim following a rear end shunt in December. The claim process was simple and my car was repaired within a short time, I would recommend.

Reviewed on 15th September 2019
Helen Swales's avatar
Helen Swales
Get Product

Good Service

We have both cars insured with the AA. The policy was very easily obtained online at a competitive price. If the price is right at my renewal time I'd be more than happy to sign up with them again.

Reviewed on 13th July 2019
MK Pixie's avatar
MK Pixie
Get Product

Actually care about their customers

AA have been great to me, I had a couple issues with my vehicle last year and they were right on it when i called.

Reviewed on 7th July 2019
Ben Y's avatar
Ben Y
Get Product

***DO NOT BUY AA CAR INSURANCE***

DO NOT TAKE OUT VEHICLE INSURANCE WITH THE... Read more

DO NOT TAKE OUT VEHICLE INSURANCE WITH THE AA.
Another vehicle hit mine whilst they were reversing. The driver admitted liability, so this should have been simple for the AA to deal with you might think...think again!! I have spent hours on the phone trying to get through to the AA, and been passed around. Appalling service. I have spent a ridiculous amount of time sorting out the repairs to my car, dealing with the underwriters, dealing with Claimfast; including responding to their request for a written statement of the incident, sketching the incident etc. REMEMBER, the other driver admitted liability and had informed their insurers (who have written to me saying they accepted their client's liability and would not be contesting) and wrote a note (again) accepting liability, all submitted to Claimfast. I've also to make calls to the recovery/repair garage and arranged my courtesy car. Throughout, this jaw-droppingly bad experience, AA and Claimfast etc. have assured me that, as the injured party, I will not suffer financially, which as I wasn't at fault I didn't doubt. Today I was informed my car is repaired but I have to pay the garage £350 to get it back! Why, because the AA has not waived my excess, which as they have the third party's admission of liability is normally the case. I made more calls Claimfast and the garage. They say the AA is at fault, the AA blame Claimfast. Apparently, I must pay the garage and then try to get my money back via the Uninsured Loss Recovery Claim team. I've been told I should get it back eventually. So, to recap, my car was hit by another vehicle, that driver accepted liability, yet my insurer is not representing me, is not liaising with the other driver's insurers, is not doing anything to progress this, and is now financially penalising me. I bitterly regret taking out AA insurance, I thought they were a reputable company and wish I had accepted the other driver's insurer's (AGEAS) offer to deal with this.
If I could give no stars I would. ****AVOID, AVOID, AVOID****

Reviewed on 23rd May 2019
Matt Webb's avatar
Matt Webb
Get Product

Good service

very fast in case of breakdown of your car

Reviewed on 30th January 2019
Nicaise chevaly yo 's avatar
Nicaise chevaly yo
Get Product

BEWARE

Disgusting service and policy. Two of the women in customer service that I spoke to were extremely rude and not very understanding. The only saving grace was one women who was lovely that tried to help, unfortunately the companies policy that is... Read more

Disgusting service and policy. Two of the women in customer service that I spoke to were extremely rude and not very understanding. The only saving grace was one women who was lovely that tried to help, unfortunately the companies policy that is disgusting wouldn’t allow her to help. Having missed a direct debit payment, which was entirely my fault, the AA decided, instead of trying to take payment again or do everything they could to get in contact with me, they decided to take the entire policy amount of £372 out of my account on January the 2nd. I had not received an email, which apparently they don’t do, no phone call, just one letter which I missed which stated that I missed a payment and I would be charged £12. Absolutely disgusting that they would do that as a policy. What is more disgusting is that when I called up to try and get the money back, even after explaining that the money was for food shopping that month for me, my wife and two children, I was met with it’s not really our problem it’s our policy and all you can do is cancel your policy which we will charge you an extortionate amount for and refund £181?!?!? All because of one missed payment. Happy new year.

Reviewed on 4th January 2019
James O'Donnell's avatar
James O'Donnell
Get Product

Rip off insurance

They will try hard to find the reason to not to cover your damage. Not very impress with their service

Reviewed on 27th September 2018
Julie Fam's avatar
Julie Fam
Get Product

Excellent

Excellent service, accessible app, easy to contact

Reviewed on 23rd September 2018
Krrx's avatar
Krrx
Get Product