Bank of Scotland Cash Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 43 reviews       Last review 5 months ago    

Bank of Scotland Cash Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Bank of Scotland Cash Account reviews to find out what life as a Bank of Scotland customer is really...

READ MORE

Bank of Scotland Cash Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Bank of Scotland Cash Account reviews to find out what life as a Bank of Scotland customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Bank of Scotland customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of Bank of Scotland Cash Account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Bank of Scotland Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

36% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 18-24

Top Channel Preference: Branch

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2021 is now open!VOTE NOW

Your Cash Account Reviews

43 reviews

Review Bank of Scotland's Cash Account now

Easy account to open online, no hassle

Quick and Easy to open an account and no problems with transferring my direct debits from previous bank. Plus decent interest rate on less £5k savings

Reviewed on 18th February 2021
AMANDA EDWARDS's avatar
AMANDA EDWARDS

Good Basic Acount

I was without banking provisions for a long time and Bank of Scotland where so willing to go the extra mile to help me. I now have a regular current account but have kept my cash account as it is so nice to have the option of a basic account to pay... Read more

I was without banking provisions for a long time and Bank of Scotland where so willing to go the extra mile to help me. I now have a regular current account but have kept my cash account as it is so nice to have the option of a basic account to pay bills etc

Reviewed on 18th February 2021
Susan Laing's avatar
Susan Laing

Nasty Ignorant Brain dead staff.

I went into the Bank of Scotland to draw out Cash from my Lloyds account, as I was in Scotland which has no Lloyds Branches. I went into the Bank, people were in front of me in a cue and people came in behind me, a woman approached me and asked me... Read more

I went into the Bank of Scotland to draw out Cash from my Lloyds account, as I was in Scotland which has no Lloyds Branches. I went into the Bank, people were in front of me in a cue and people came in behind me, a woman approached me and asked me what I wanted, I told her I had come into the Bank to draw out cash, she then asked me how much cash I wanted, I told her £1000.00, she said that was a large sum of cash. (RUBBISH) 50 years ago when people were paid in cash, I used to go to the Bank every week and draw out between £250.000.00 and £255.000.00 in cash to pay employees.
Then she asked me what the cash was for, I then told her it was none of her BUSINESS, then she proceeded to confront me and telling me how I should pay for items, she said that shops were only taking card payments, I told her that I always pay cash and no business had refused cash, This conversation was in front of other customers, so some of them could have left the Bank and phoned a criminal and given them a description of me and when I left the Bank they could have attacked me and stolen the £1000.00 pounds I had
just withdrawn from the Bank, I then proceed to the teller to get my cash, then another woman cam along and said I want to explain, I told her to shut her mouth, I did not want to hear what she had to say, I came into the Bank to withdraw cash not for a confrontation or an interrogation and told how I must pay for anything. I then got my money and left the Bank, this was all recorded on my Body Camera. I believe these two woman were LESBIAN MAN HATING BITCHES.
Two weeks later I got a letter from my Lloyds Bank which said.
WE ARE WRITING TO YOU FOLLOWING THE INCIDENT OF VERBAL ABUSE AT THE UNION STREET BRANCH ON THE 2ND APRIL 202O.
IF THERE IS A REPEAT OF THIS OR ANY OTHER SIMILAR INCIDENTS THEN WE WILL HAVE NO CHOICE THAN TO GIVE YOU NOTICE TO CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT. THIS IS IN-LINE WITH OUR UNACCEPTABLE CUSTOMER BEHAVIOUR'S POLICY.
IN THE MEANTIME WE HAVE MADE A RECORD OF THIS INCIDENT AND THE ACTIONS WE HAVE TAKEN ON YOUR PERSONAL CUSTOMER FILE. IF YOU'RE UNHAPPY ABOUT ANY ASPECT OF OUR SERVICE, YOU CAN FOLLOW THE PROCESS OUTLINED IN THE HOW TO COMPLAIN BROCHURE WE'VE ENCLOSED IN THIS LETTER. NO BROCHURE ENCLOSED. SIGNED MANAGER NO MANE.
THIS LETTER WAS NOT ON LLOYDS HEADED PAPER, NO MANAGERS NAME IT WAS ON A PLAIN PIECE OF PAPER WITH NO ADDRESS OF MY LLOYDS BANK, ONLY POST BOX NUMBERS.
I CONTACTED LLOYDS BANK HEAD OFFICE ABOUT THIS AND ASKED WHAT HAD BEEN PUT ON MY PERSONAL CUSTOMER FILE, THEY ADVISED ME NOTHING WAS ON MY FILE ABOUT ANY INCIDENT, THIS LETTER WAS DONE BY THE LESBIAN MAN HATTING MANAGER AT THE BANK OF SCOTLAND MAKE OUT IT HAD CAME FROM MY LLOYDS BANK. (FRAUD)
I THEN WROTE A LETTER TO MY LLOYDS BANK ASKING FOR AN EXPLANATION ABOUT THIS LETTER, AND THAT THEY HAD NOT ENCLOSED A COPY OF THE COMPLAINTS BROCHURE, I ALSO EXPLAINED THAT I HAD THIS ALLEGED VERBAL ABUSE ALL ON MY BODY CAMERA. I ALSO ASKED FOR THE MANAGERS NAME, I GOT NO REPLY, I THEN WROTE A COMPLAINTS LETTER TO THE CEO OF LLOYDS IN LONDON, RECORDED DELIVERY, AGAIN I GOT NO REPLY, I THEN WROTE TWO MORE LETTERS TO MY LLOYDS BANK RECORDED DELIVERY AND GOT NO REPLY, I HAVE CONFORMATION FROM THE POST OFFICE THAT THEY WERE DELIVERED. I WENT TO THE FINANCIAL OMBUDSMAN SERVICE AND THEY WOULD DO NOTHING, AS THEY ARE FUNDED BY THE CORRUPT BANKS, I AM NOW IN THE PROCESS OF A SUBJECT ACCESS REQUEST TO GET ALL THE INFORMATION ABOUT THIS INCIDENT AND THE DETAILS OF THE MANAGER AT THE BANK OF SCOTLAND THAT WROTE THAT FALSE FRAUDULENT LETTER TO ME. KEEP CLEAR OF LLOYDS BANK AS THEY REFUSE TO ADDRESS COMPLAINTS FROM CUSTOMERS EVER AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL, AND KEEP CLEAR OF THE BANK OF SCOTLAND WRITING LETTERS ON PAPER STATING IT WAS FROM ANOTHER BANK AND SIGNING THAT FRAUDULENT LETTER, REMEMBER THAT CROOK CAROLINE WAYMAN THE CEO AT THE FINANCIAL OMBUDSMAN SERVICE WILL NOT HELP YOU. I GOT AN APOLOGY FROM THE BANK OF SCOTLAND WITH A LOT OF LIES IN IT THEY STATED THAT THEY WERE LOOKING AFTER MY MONEY, BEFORE B/S WENT BANKRUPT IN 2008 WERE THEY LOOKING AFTER CUSTOMERS MONEY

Reviewed on 26th September 2020
Dylan Dougan's avatar
Dylan Dougan

RELIABLE BANK

I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER FOR MORE THAN FORTY YEARS, FROM MY STUDENT DAYS, ALMOST ALL OF IT ONLINE. THE BANK HAS NEVER BADLY LET ME DOWN OVER THAT PERIOD. PRETTY GOOD SERVICE EXPERIENCE I'D SAY

Reviewed on 28th January 2020
John Cunningham's avatar
John Cunningham

Excellent

I love the app for my bank account and the cashback, both of which make banking with the bank of scotland rewarding.

Reviewed on 19th January 2020
Andrew's avatar
Andrew

Fantastic customer service

Highly recommended never had any issue with this bank. Helpful handy and really easy to access anything I need.

Reviewed on 16th January 2020
Stephanie Keill's avatar
Stephanie Keill

Fantastic customer service.

Never had a problem with this bank. They are so helpful with anything I need. I would highly recommend them.

Reviewed on 16th January 2020
Stephanie Keill's avatar
Stephanie Keill

Amazing service!

I absolutely love and continue to love my experience at Bank of Scotland. They have amazing customer service, and I have never had any problems with them! They have amazing protection technology to make you feel very safe with your money!

Reviewed on 20th November 2019
LouiseLaing18's avatar
LouiseLaing18

Fine unless something goes wrong

This bank is fine and offers quite good service and is reasonably competitive. Things go horribly wrong however should any sort of error or query arise. In that situation it rapidly becomes crystal clear that the Bank of Scotland has no resources set... Read more

This bank is fine and offers quite good service and is reasonably competitive. Things go horribly wrong however should any sort of error or query arise. In that situation it rapidly becomes crystal clear that the Bank of Scotland has no resources set aside to sort out any issues promptly. Whenever a problem arises customers can guarantee that they face a long struggle and will have to speak to numerous employees before things are sorted out. If or when things are finally rectified the customer may be given a verbal apology however even this can't be counted upon.

Reviewed on 23rd December 2018
Andrewmm 's avatar
Andrewmm

Amateurs led by cretins

On 3 separate occasions the Bank of Scotland have made mistakes of the simplest nature, most recently they changed my surname with no reason or even informing me. Despite the fact that the errors were straightforward it took 2 months for the quickest... Read more

On 3 separate occasions the Bank of Scotland have made mistakes of the simplest nature, most recently they changed my surname with no reason or even informing me. Despite the fact that the errors were straightforward it took 2 months for the quickest one to be solved. One in fact took numerous calls & emails and was finally rectified after 11 months.

Reviewed on 17th December 2018
Andrewmm 's avatar
Andrewmm

Great product

bank of scotland has a fabulous app which makes life so much easier paying bills and keeping track of finances

Reviewed on 22nd November 2018
bruce melvin's avatar
bruce melvin

Excellent bank

Bank of Scotland are always happy to assist and help when calling their helpline or visiting the store

Reviewed on 14th November 2018
mel1994's avatar
mel1994

Too many mistakes made in telephone banking

They made far too many mistakes in telephone banking and kept chopping and changing systems. As I worked away from home I was reliant on telephone banking. With 4 accounts Business, Money Markets, Current and Visa I had to call 4 different lines with... Read more

They made far too many mistakes in telephone banking and kept chopping and changing systems. As I worked away from home I was reliant on telephone banking. With 4 accounts Business, Money Markets, Current and Visa I had to call 4 different lines with disparate systems to get balances, then call them all again to make transfers. ?They cancelled my visa card when I wasrobbed "to be safe" when I knew it was locked in a safe and refused to put payments from my current account to my visa unless I gave them the 16 digit number. This led to accruing debts. They lost a payment to BT. BT weren't much use either an I was cut off. I took my statements into the branch to sort it out and they lost the statements. When I came to put in my year end accounts I was missing a month and received a heavy fine from Companies House and I had to close my business. A gobby teller laughed at my predicament and was supported by his manager. He's now an MP. One time when I telephoned they asked for my digits 2 and 5 or whatever from my security numbers. The woman had a thick scotch accent so I didn't hear I said which numbers did you want 2 and 5? She said that was wrong and I was blocked from my account. When my dad was in a hospice and my wallet was stolen they were extremely unhelpful and rude. This had serious repercussions in fulfilling my father's wishes as I couldn't even get the £10 for the death certificate. Many a night I had to spend outdoors because I was locked out of my accounts

Reviewed on 8th November 2018
Frank Davidson's avatar
Frank Davidson

Lousy interest rates but quick to charge fees

Long term accounts getting a fraction of 1% interest, changed agreed overdraft costs to their benefit.

Reviewed on 8th November 2018
David Paterson's avatar
David Paterson

Good bank

Never had problems in bank which iv been with for over 20 yr

Reviewed on 5th May 2018
Scott Gordon's avatar
Scott Gordon

great everyday account

staff always available in branch always helpful

Reviewed on 4th April 2018
lynne flett's avatar
lynne flett

Very user friendly

very easy to use online accounts and good customer service if an issue happens to arrise.

Reviewed on 11th December 2017
lewis booth's avatar
lewis booth

Reliable bank

I have banked with BOS for many years and find them to be very reliable, approachable and friendly

Reviewed on 8th November 2017
Carol Johnstone's avatar
Carol Johnstone

Excellent Basic Account

Despite this being only a cash account you have full online banking facilities and a debit card. Online banking has been glitch free.

Reviewed on 8th November 2017
Ian Anderson's avatar
Ian Anderson

Approachable Organisation

I was made redundant and due to that my credit and financial health was utterly destroyed. BofS were the only bank to offer me practical help and secured me a current account when RBS took away my only one.

Reviewed on 7th November 2017
Susan Laing's avatar
Susan Laing