Direct Line Landlord Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 27 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Does Direct Line landlord insurance do a good job protecting your property? Read and write our Smart Money People Direct Line landlord insurance reviews and you will help other landlords to find the best landlord insurance policies on the market.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Landlord Insurance Reviews

27 reviews

Review Direct Line's Landlord Insurance now

Not there when you need them

Paid insurance for many years. When needed they are full of excuses to prevent you from making any claim. Basically told it would be cheaper to do any repairs myself…..absolutely useless as insurance.

Reviewed on 10th August 2022
Jsm's avatar
Jsm

Price Keeps Going Up

Been with DL for three years now, price increases above inflation every year. I have never made a claim! Classic quote a cheap price to get the business then increase every year! I will be finding another insurer at renewal!

Reviewed on 16th September 2021
Tony W's avatar
Tony W

Don't go anywhere near Direct Line, they don't pay out when you have a claim!

ZERO ratings for Direct Line! Don't believe what you see or read in their adverts as they don't pay out. I only went with them because of the landlord rent guarantee cover and they immediately reneged on that agreement because of the virus but yet the Read more

ZERO ratings for Direct Line! Don't believe what you see or read in their adverts as they don't pay out. I only went with them because of the landlord rent guarantee cover and they immediately reneged on that agreement because of the virus but yet they still expect you to pay each month. Then when the tenants did eventually leave, owing £12,000 and damage to the property, yet again, Direct Line did not pay out on the damage despite I had cover for Malicious damage etc, all singing and dancing cover costing me a fortune and Direct Line found a way to get out of paying anything. AVOID AT ALL COST. If you still choose Direct Line after reading all the comments informing you about Direct Line....then you are a fool to yourself and your hard earned money!!

Reviewed on 10th November 2020
AVOID DIRECT LINE LIKE PLAGUE!'s avatar
AVOID DIRECT LINE LIKE PLAGUE!

Avoid

Doesn’t cover anything and very hard to get hold of or deal with. Have been waiting three weeks for a response on a claim. Plumbing emergency is a waste of money, they go out, look at it and don’t fix the problem. No rent guarantee but still charg Read more

Doesn’t cover anything and very hard to get hold of or deal with. Have been waiting three weeks for a response on a claim.

Plumbing emergency is a waste of money, they go out, look at it and don’t fix the problem.

No rent guarantee but still charging for it.
Waste of money.

Reviewed on 2nd September 2020
Rachael Lawrence's avatar
Rachael Lawrence

Awful exsperince

Total waste of time they were not helpful at all when I needed help from them took ages to get back to me still waiting for response now I just need to no if I'm covered by my insurance company

Reviewed on 29th July 2020
Clive green 's avatar
Clive green

Great service and good product

Direct Line have very comprehensive cover elf or landlords. My premium changes very little each year but the staff are friendly and professional

Reviewed on 11th July 2020
Kate Green's avatar
Kate Green

Dont believe what they tell you on TV!!!!

Dont believe what they tell you on TV!!!! Dont believe what they tell you on TV! They will try every way not to pay out. My boiler has broken down, which I ended up with a £1600 bill that Direct Line didnt want to pay, as the water was merky in the boil Read more

Dont believe what they tell you on TV!!!!
Dont believe what they tell you on TV! They will try every way not to pay out.
My boiler has broken down, which I ended up with a £1600 bill that Direct Line didnt want to pay, as the water was merky in the boiler! They blamed that on a split Pressure Vessel! So Ive gone back to Towergate Insurance! So pleased I didnt move the rest of my portfolio over to DL!!!

Stay well away!

Reviewed on 1st May 2020
Kevin Taylor's avatar
Kevin Taylor

Read The Small Print Carefully - Buyer Beware

I have Land Lords Insurance with Direct Line and my tenants had a problem whilst I was away on holiday and so they contacted the local Register Safe Gas plumber that services and repairs the property. The heating system had failed and the plumber had to l Read more

I have Land Lords Insurance with Direct Line and my tenants had a problem whilst I was away on holiday and so they contacted the local Register Safe Gas plumber that services and repairs the property. The heating system had failed and the plumber had to locate the problem - the plumbers had to check all the heating pipes for leaks and this meant lifting floors and replacing tanks and equipment a process of elimination - eventually the plumber found that a coil inside a tank had failed - anyway I reported the problem to Direct Line in arriving back and they said to contact them again once the work has been completed. A few weeks later the invoice arrived and I rang Direct Line - their response was that they will pay for any secondary water damage but locating and fixing the leak wasn’t covered. The fact that my tenant managed to quickly locate the local plumber prevented the damage. I asked them about the advert on tv showing Direct Line coming to the rescue of a Landlord was intact he had the upgraded 5 star cover and not the standard cover they had provided to me. So be warned - Read you renewal carefully Direct Line only under certain conditions cover plumbing emergency breakdowns. We won’t be renewing the insurance cover in this or any other properties we have.
David Netherway

Reviewed on 25th November 2019
David Netherway 's avatar
David Netherway

Reasonable premiums for 4 yrs ..now a 430 % increase - don't stay with these rogues !!

Had a landlords policy paying about £140 for buildings only policy , this went up to £166 over 4 years which was reasonable - until 2018 they asked for £876 !!! ( and never made a claim ) Asked to explain their greedy hike ..they replied that the Enviro Read more

Had a landlords policy paying about £140 for buildings only policy , this went up to £166 over 4 years which was reasonable - until 2018 they asked for £876 !!! ( and never made a claim )
Asked to explain their greedy hike ..they replied that the Environmental Agency were to blame as they had now put the property in the risk of flood catergory !
Did they have the honesty , courtesy or balls to tell me this in any correspondence before the renewal ??? No flipping chance - Be warned !! ( this case is ongoing )

Reviewed on 20th December 2018
Ripped-offandangryinYorkshire's avatar
Ripped-offandangryinYorkshire

Neither I nor my agent kept informed!

I bought Landlord insurance and paid the extra for Legal Expenses. My tenant defaulted on his rent payment, so I activated the legal department and informed them from an early stage that there may be problems. As the property is fully managed, I nominated Read more

I bought Landlord insurance and paid the extra for Legal Expenses. My tenant defaulted on his rent payment, so I activated the legal department and informed them from an early stage that there may be problems. As the property is fully managed, I nominated my "agent" to deal with matters on my behalf. Direct Line Legal are a firm called "DWF" based at Bristol; they have repeatedly failed to keep me or my agents informed of what is happening. Because my tenant is in the property but not paying me any money, this is resulting in considerable financial hardship not to mention worry and anxiety for myself! AVOID this firm if you feel you should be kept informed at the very least; and want everything to proceed at acceptable speed. NOT RECOMMENDED FOR LANDLORDS!

Reviewed on 5th September 2018
Sue Wakley-Stoyle's avatar
Sue Wakley-Stoyle

they are cowboys

find the smallest excuse not to honour a claim, keep well away from this company

Reviewed on 6th April 2018
dilly's avatar
dilly

Competitive, quality insurance

Great value insurance at competitive prices with all my policys in one place.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2017
Michael Strutt's avatar
Michael Strutt

Good

Good telephone service and simple to understand features.

Reviewed on 30th September 2017
Jonathon's avatar
Jonathon

Gives me what I need as a landlord

Provides a good insurance package and was very affordable compared to others

Reviewed on 29th September 2017
Nicholas Jarrett's avatar
Nicholas Jarrett

Straight forward contact and product

U.K. Call centres, freephone, good communication and friendly staff. Insurance quotes in general need to stop going up year on year by 10/15 pounds but, at least this company doesn't take forever to haggle and this is why I use them for most of my insuran Read more

U.K. Call centres, freephone, good communication and friendly staff. Insurance quotes in general need to stop going up year on year by 10/15 pounds but, at least this company doesn't take forever to haggle and this is why I use them for most of my insurance needs at this present time.

Reviewed on 28th September 2017
Andy McCrink's avatar
Andy McCrink

Competitive

Competitive cover from a brand leader that gets what landlords need.

Reviewed on 10th September 2017
Anna's avatar
Anna

Good price

Good price from a trusted name. Have only had one small claim a few months ago and it was handled better than I expected to be honest.

Reviewed on 10th September 2017
George's avatar
George

Great claims service

I've always found Direct Line to be informative and helpful

Reviewed on 31st August 2017
Eva Bennett's avatar
Eva Bennett

Decent cover

Although the premium wasn't the lowest and I had to have a guarantee to beat completed, the cover is really good, and I feel reassured as a landlord that if something went wrong I will be covered

Reviewed on 30th August 2017
Joseph O'Connor's avatar
Joseph O'Connor

Excellent price and service

I've had a very pleasant experience with Direct Line when taking out landlord coverage. The price was very competitive and I've experienced excellent customer service when calling their call centres.

Reviewed on 19th August 2017
Gareth Hingston's avatar
Gareth Hingston