M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer Credit Card Reviews

  Ratings based on 100 reviews       Last review 3 months ago    

The Marks and Spencer credit card reviews on Smart Money People are written by people like you. We’ve got over a hundred genuine reviews to help you to discover more about the pros and cons of the M&S credit card. With so many credit cards available, i...

READ MORE

The Marks and Spencer credit card reviews on Smart Money People are written by people like you. We’ve got over a hundred genuine reviews to help you to discover more about the pros and cons of the M&S credit card. With so many credit cards available, it makes sense to shop around to get the one that suits you best. Start by thinking about what you want to use the credit card for, as well as whether you intend to pay what you owe every month, or spread repayments over a longer period of time. Learning about other peoples’ experiences can also help you make the right choice. Find out more about the M&S Bank credit card by reading our trusted Smart Money People reviews, including what kind of features Marks and Spencers customers like most. You can also write your own Marks and Spencer credit card reviews to share your experience. Why not include details of the application process, or how helpful customer support services were? Smart Money People is the UK’s largest financial services review site. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone. Read or write an M&S credit card review below.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Credit Card Reviews

100 reviews

Review M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer's Credit Card now

Why is it so hard to move from paper statements to the App??

I have had enough of trying to register and I have wasted so much time on this!

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
Nick Taylor's avatar
Nick Taylor

Like the Crystal Maze

A ridiculously complicated system that I've pretty much given up on after one whole month of using my credit card. Use this number, log into that, type in that number, turn this on, turn that on, add a different number etc etc etc. It's just a hassle and Read more

A ridiculously complicated system that I've pretty much given up on after one whole month of using my credit card. Use this number, log into that, type in that number, turn this on, turn that on, add a different number etc etc etc. It's just a hassle and a stress. Don't bother.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Simon Evans's avatar
Simon Evans

Lack of customer support

Terrible. Hopeless App. Inept support team. Card cut up!

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
gary j's avatar
gary j

complete savings £15.00 on statement

I have no idea what this is for. Is it a one off payment? or monthly or yearly. I have not signed up for this, and have now cancelled the M & S credit card.

Reviewed on 23rd February 2022
hazel's avatar
hazel

Disgusted

My Father died nearly a year ago. I phoned up to explain and was reassured that they would make sure deceased were put on his record and no further letters sent out. He wasn't in debt at all but my mum continues to receive letters asking him if he wishes Read more

My Father died nearly a year ago. I phoned up to explain and was reassured that they would make sure deceased were put on his record and no further letters sent out. He wasn't in debt at all but my mum continues to receive letters asking him if he wishes to use his credit card. Absolutely disgusted.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
Lucy's avatar
Lucy

Issue with a credit which has been treated as debit

Very poor customer service. Took age to set up the system for online banking - first call on hold for 45 mins and second time another 15 both of them not helpful - would not recommend at all

Reviewed on 10th January 2022
Karen Woolgar's avatar
Karen Woolgar

Endless problems trying to log on to view statement

I have experienced endless problems for days with logging into M&S internet banking to view my monthly statements despite knowing passwords. I use the physical M&S Pass as I prefer not to have endless apps on my phone in case I lose it again. I've manage Read more

I have experienced endless problems for days with logging into M&S internet banking to view my monthly statements despite knowing passwords. I use the physical M&S Pass as I prefer not to have endless apps on my phone in case I lose it again. I've managed to get the code via the M&S Pass but when I enter it, it comes up Bad Request and signs me out. Also experienced a "fail" sign coming up on the M&S Pass despite putting in correct code. Trying to get help by the friendly chat service was no help. Definitely the worse internet banking I've come across. Why we need the mini M&S Pass (about the size of a matchbox) to get a security code I don't know. Much prefer the code is sent to my mobile same as used by Amazon and supermarkets. Definitely thinking of closing my M&S credit card because I don't want all this hassle. Would rather speak on the phone to get it sorted but can't find a phone number on their website. Have had to give 1 star but would have preferred to give none. M&S definitely not what it used to be.

Reviewed on 21st July 2021
Sharon Andrews's avatar
Sharon Andrews

My life savers

Money transfer to make more manageable payments

Reviewed on 17th June 2021
Elaine Angell's avatar
Elaine Angell

The best way to control your money

I put all of my expenses as much as possible on my M&S Credit card and I can keep track of it by the M&S App and then you have about 5 weeks grace before I then pay it all off from by private bank account - it is an ideal way of managing your money as lon Read more

I put all of my expenses as much as possible on my M&S Credit card and I can keep track of it by the M&S App and then you have about 5 weeks grace before I then pay it all off from by private bank account - it is an ideal way of managing your money as long as you pay it all off every month. It works for me and it is great.

Reviewed on 11th April 2021
Jean Bennett's avatar
Jean Bennett

Always there for us

M & S Bank have always been very helpful, friendly courteous

Reviewed on 21st March 2021
Sheila Pocklington's avatar
Sheila Pocklington

Very deceitful

It started when I was trying to obtain a replacement card as I had my wallet stolen from a supermarket. I do not use the card as it was used as a zero balance transfer. I suspect that this is why they are just not sending me a replacement card. I ha Read more

It started when I was trying to obtain a replacement card as I had my wallet stolen from a supermarket. I do not use the card as it was used as a zero balance transfer. I suspect that this is why they are just not sending me a replacement card. I have tried several phone calls, asking for copies of transcripts of conversation, copies of statements and of course replacement cards. Nothing as happened. I received nothing over then my DD had been stopped, which I did stop to see if I got a response, well surprise surprise I did. I did stop the DD because my bank account had been compromised, showing fraudulent access, so had to change the account. Since i had no card or account details I could do nothing on line other than contact them by phone. So I could not even register to use their on line service. Having made several calls, I still have not received anything. I then got an email stating that "the postal service has returned undelivered mail, stating you no longer live at the address." which of course is a load of rubbish. Especially when they can send me letters such as my DD stopped, new mandate letter to setup a DD, they got through ok. I am exhausted fighting this so I am just paying the balance off but their customer service is zero stars. I bit like they smile to your face but stab you in the back. Wont even go to any M&S again in my life. Disgusting company. I wonder if this gets published, lets hope so. Update 26/01/2021 - Just received a note that royal mail has returned my mail, strange things is that I got this notification via the royal mail. Anyway, I have now paid off the account and closed it. No change to me giving them the lowest score I can.

Reviewed on 20th January 2021
John McKenna-Gorham's avatar
John McKenna-Gorham

appalling customer services

Disputed a transaction for a holiday cancelled due to coronovirus and 3 months after lodging dispute and sending their form back three times and they cant even find it.useless going back to Barclaycard who are amazing

Reviewed on 7th October 2020
Michelle Whitely 's avatar
Michelle Whitely

The WORST credit card I've ever had.

I have a credit card with M&S bank. It's the most frustrating credit card I've ever had. When you want to spend online more times than most you receive a text asking you to confirm you've made the transaction, all fine at this point. On then replying "Yes Read more

I have a credit card with M&S bank. It's the most frustrating credit card I've ever had. When you want to spend online more times than most you receive a text asking you to confirm you've made the transaction, all fine at this point. On then replying "Yes" you have to go back and re enter all your card details. This would be fine but, on more than one occasion this process has happened m, it has ended up with ordering multiple items, even though I've rang to ask if my order has actually been processed. In order to discuss your credit card on the phone (although you've entered your card details, dob etc) you then get asked (yes I've counted) 6 further questions to pass security! The WORST credit card I've ever had. Try AA credit card they're amazing :0)

Reviewed on 22nd August 2020
Laura Brookhill's avatar
Laura Brookhill

Declined

well I own my own home, one credit card always paid on time no debt and got refused for a balance transfer no idea what the criteria is but wow wish I looked more into it before I applied judging by reviews. What do i need to do to get one of these entic Read more

well I own my own home, one credit card always paid on time no debt and got refused for a balance transfer no idea what the criteria is but wow wish I looked more into it before I applied judging by reviews. What do i need to do to get one of these entice you in then refuse

Reviewed on 30th July 2020
em's avatar
em

Great Credit Card

Moved to M&S Bank a few years ago. Never had any problems.

Reviewed on 17th July 2020
Emily Smith's avatar
Emily Smith

Age Discrimination

Waiting over 100 days for M & S bank to respond to a chargeback request for a cancelled holiday. They are not sympathetic or helpful to elderly customers. Please don't use M & S if you're not 100% tech savvy.

Reviewed on 16th July 2020
Julie Kerr's avatar
Julie Kerr

Excellent service

Someone was using my card fraudulently and M&S team sopped it and managed to alert me. They managed to stop a number of the transactions and I am very grateful for their quick and observant action!!

Reviewed on 12th July 2020
Lorna Wils's avatar
Lorna Wils

BRILLANT

I am am impressed by the quick action of the M& S team when they noticed discrepancy son my Credit Card. Someone was using my card to purchase expensive items which I was not aware. I am very grateful for their quick action

Reviewed on 12th July 2020
Lorna Wils's avatar
Lorna Wils

Safe and Secure

I have every confidence in the M and S Credit Card. I have held it for 5 years without problem and good currency rates fro their Bureau Du Change.

Reviewed on 11th July 2020
Pollysmum's avatar
Pollysmum

They need to sort out their IT DEPT

Sent a online banking pass, will not let me log in, spoke to various people, one man twice each time 3/4hr, said he would ring me back in 48hrs, HA HA its 96hrs now, Thry need to sort out their IT dept, thinking of cancelling this one and go elsewhere Read more

Sent a online banking pass, will not let me log in, spoke to various people, one man twice each time 3/4hr, said he would ring me back in 48hrs, HA HA its 96hrs now,
Thry need to sort out their IT dept, thinking of cancelling this one and go elsewhere USELESS.

Reviewed on 20th June 2020
Christine's avatar
Christine