M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer Credit Card Reviews

  Ratings based on 111 reviews       Last review 6 days ago    

The Marks and Spencer credit card reviews on Smart Money People are written by people like you. We’ve got over a hundred genuine reviews to help you to discover more about the pros and cons of the M&S credit card.

With so many credit cards available, it makes sense to...

READ MORE

The Marks and Spencer credit card reviews on Smart Money People are written by people like you. We’ve got over a hundred genuine reviews to help you to discover more about the pros and cons of the M&S credit card.

With so many credit cards available, it makes sense to shop around to get the one that suits you best. Start by thinking about what you want to use the credit card for, as well as whether you intend to pay what you owe every month, or spread repayments over a longer period of time.

Learning about other peoples’ experiences can also help you make the right choice. Find out more about the M&S Bank credit card by reading our trusted Smart Money People reviews, including what kind of features Marks and Spencers customers like most.

You can also write your own Marks and Spencer credit card reviews to share your experience. Why not include details of the application process, or how helpful customer support services were?

Smart Money People is the UK’s largest financial services review site. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone. Read or write an M&S credit card review below.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Credit Card Reviews

111 reviews

Review M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer's Credit Card now

Liars!!!

Got preapproval for £1200 credit card, then when I went to activate the card when it came in the post I was told its only for £500. Also they refuse to remove the hard search they done to approve this and won't give me what I was preapproved for.

Reviewed on 21st November 2022
S leish's avatar
S leish

No real customer service

Any company tester ACTIVELY conceals any email address as a means of discouraging complaints is HIGHLY SUSPECT

Reviewed on 4th November 2022
Robert Watson's avatar
Robert Watson

One of the worst experience of dealing with customer service

They have the worst call centre setup. The first level staff don't have any experience and reading useless information off a script. I dont think their system is great either as customer service staff don't have a clue what's actually happening. There is Read more

They have the worst call centre setup. The first level staff don't have any experience and reading useless information off a script. I dont think their system is great either as customer service staff don't have a clue what's actually happening. There is no access to any of the specialist teams. So you get stuck. Note also, their SLA for any resolution is 15 working days. And working is the operative word. So if any holidays in any country where the team is located, you get stuck waiting.

Reviewed on 31st October 2022
Nandini Choudhuri's avatar
Nandini Choudhuri

Awful customer service

Have been with m and s for years. I have never defaulted or had issue with payment. Unfortunately of late their customer service has proven to be worse each time I have needed to contact them. 5 phone calls over the past 2days, conflicting and useless i Read more

Have been with m and s for years. I have never defaulted or had issue with payment. Unfortunately of late their customer service has proven to be worse each time I have needed to contact them. 5 phone calls over the past 2days, conflicting and useless information given whist trying sort a problem. Iam no further forward or sure where my money has gone if anywhere. Lost all confidence now. Shame on you m and s

Reviewed on 21st October 2022
Jill Short's avatar
Jill Short

An absolute sham

Customer Service is a robot. I refused to use the app and instead do it all online and it's the worse experience ever. You can't speak to anyone, the site is awful, small print, and it very clear that they want you to use the app. Don't they know the maj Read more

Customer Service is a robot. I refused to use the app and instead do it all online and it's the worse experience ever.
You can't speak to anyone, the site is awful, small print, and it very clear that they want you to use the app. Don't they know the majority of M&S customers are over 60. I am now looking online to tart this card and dump M&S for good.

Reviewed on 21st October 2022
Daybark's avatar
Daybark

Others are much better

Dreadful phone staff barely speak let alone understand English, couldn't read security questions correctly thus saying I had wrong answers. That was a first! and unacceptable. Archaic bank policies to a couple who have shared accounts for 55 years and Read more

Dreadful phone staff barely speak let alone understand English, couldn't read security
questions correctly thus saying I had wrong answers. That was a first! and
unacceptable. Archaic bank policies to a couple who have shared accounts for 55
years and only bank USA or UK that will not let husband give permission to speak to
wife who has handled the fiscals, again for 55 years. When others are so much better,
why bother with this dinosaur? As for the app and website; a mix of archaic and ok,
but you have to go to website to get your bill due date! It is not on statement (that's unheard of)
nor on the app. With Waitrose going to New Day (the worst no go of all) and M+S being
sub optimal, am trying Tesco which was easy to get with a high credit limit, up to date website and app
and very quick to pay, so far so good.

Reviewed on 6th October 2022
UKTexan's avatar
UKTexan

Rubbish services & rubbish app!

Rubbish services & rubbish app! They will spam your e-mail address with offers, but they don't bother to send notifications if your request has been approved or not, and you can not check these sorts of messages in the app because they don't have it. You Read more

Rubbish services & rubbish app! They will spam your e-mail address with offers, but they don't bother to send notifications if your request has been approved or not, and you can not check these sorts of messages in the app because they don't have it. You need to check the secure messages in the internet banking.
This is their spill to do money from fees! But this stupid way of treating customers is the best way to know with whom you deal and avoid them for future needs!

Reviewed on 13th September 2022
Dragos Stanciu's avatar
Dragos Stanciu

It's not just terrible customer service it's serrible M&S customer service!!

It's not just terrible customer service it's serrible M&S customer service!! It should be amusing but really isn't. M&S you are an absolute disaster area when it comes es to customer service and satisfaction. Why do you have an app that doesn't work?

Reviewed on 12th September 2022
Gareth Parkinson's avatar
Gareth Parkinson

Awful

App is complicated, credit card activation needed four phones, a team of people and a PHD. Only to find the wont allow balance transfer from NEXT directory which was the whole reason for applying. You would think that would be in the info whilst applying. Read more

App is complicated, credit card activation needed four phones, a team of people and a PHD. Only to find the wont allow balance transfer from NEXT directory which was the whole reason for applying. You would think that would be in the info whilst applying. God awful service .Stay away

Reviewed on 11th September 2022
Caroline Littlewood's avatar
Caroline Littlewood

Unbelievable poor service

Been a customer for over 10 years. Always paid balance off in full. Never had to question a transaction or cancel my card from loss or theft. They hamper 1 in 10 transactions in the last 12 months asking me to confirm via the app which rarely works. Absol Read more

Been a customer for over 10 years. Always paid balance off in full. Never had to question a transaction or cancel my card from loss or theft. They hamper 1 in 10 transactions in the last 12 months asking me to confirm via the app which rarely works. Absolute crap!

Reviewed on 7th September 2022
RD's avatar
RD

HSBC Behind M & S unable to effect direct debit

3 months ago I took out an M & S credit card. I did this on-line and completed my direct debit details to pay all owed. Since then I have had nothing at all taken from my bank and only yesterday someone informed of a problem. I checked all the account det Read more

3 months ago I took out an M & S credit card. I did this on-line and completed my direct debit details to pay all owed. Since then I have had nothing at all taken from my bank and only yesterday someone informed of a problem. I checked all the account details which are correct.
In the torturous course of me dealings I have had 3/4 phonecalls all promising all was OK, the direct debit would take effect after their intervention. Each time after saying all now OK failure and I have had to make payments each time.

What I have asked for is precisely why payments have not gone through. HSBC run things in the background.

I have heard that others have had similar problems.

HSBC/M&S/M&S customer care employees get a -6 from me.

So many times I have spoken to employees and have wasted an awful lot of time and have paid money I needn't have had to pay for this is grossly inefficient.

Reviewed on 24th August 2022
David Wiltshire's avatar
David Wiltshire

Why is it so hard to move from paper statements to the App??

I have had enough of trying to register and I have wasted so much time on this!

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
Nick Taylor's avatar
Nick Taylor

Like the Crystal Maze

A ridiculously complicated system that I've pretty much given up on after one whole month of using my credit card. Use this number, log into that, type in that number, turn this on, turn that on, add a different number etc etc etc. It's just a hassle and Read more

A ridiculously complicated system that I've pretty much given up on after one whole month of using my credit card. Use this number, log into that, type in that number, turn this on, turn that on, add a different number etc etc etc. It's just a hassle and a stress. Don't bother.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Simon Evans's avatar
Simon Evans

Lack of customer support

Terrible. Hopeless App. Inept support team. Card cut up!

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
gary j's avatar
gary j

complete savings £15.00 on statement

I have no idea what this is for. Is it a one off payment? or monthly or yearly. I have not signed up for this, and have now cancelled the M & S credit card.

Reviewed on 23rd February 2022
hazel's avatar
hazel

Disgusted

My Father died nearly a year ago. I phoned up to explain and was reassured that they would make sure deceased were put on his record and no further letters sent out. He wasn't in debt at all but my mum continues to receive letters asking him if he wishes Read more

My Father died nearly a year ago. I phoned up to explain and was reassured that they would make sure deceased were put on his record and no further letters sent out. He wasn't in debt at all but my mum continues to receive letters asking him if he wishes to use his credit card. Absolutely disgusted.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
Lucy's avatar
Lucy

Issue with a credit which has been treated as debit

Very poor customer service. Took age to set up the system for online banking - first call on hold for 45 mins and second time another 15 both of them not helpful - would not recommend at all

Reviewed on 10th January 2022
Karen Woolgar's avatar
Karen Woolgar

Endless problems trying to log on to view statement

I have experienced endless problems for days with logging into M&S internet banking to view my monthly statements despite knowing passwords. I use the physical M&S Pass as I prefer not to have endless apps on my phone in case I lose it again. I've manage Read more

I have experienced endless problems for days with logging into M&S internet banking to view my monthly statements despite knowing passwords. I use the physical M&S Pass as I prefer not to have endless apps on my phone in case I lose it again. I've managed to get the code via the M&S Pass but when I enter it, it comes up Bad Request and signs me out. Also experienced a "fail" sign coming up on the M&S Pass despite putting in correct code. Trying to get help by the friendly chat service was no help. Definitely the worse internet banking I've come across. Why we need the mini M&S Pass (about the size of a matchbox) to get a security code I don't know. Much prefer the code is sent to my mobile same as used by Amazon and supermarkets. Definitely thinking of closing my M&S credit card because I don't want all this hassle. Would rather speak on the phone to get it sorted but can't find a phone number on their website. Have had to give 1 star but would have preferred to give none. M&S definitely not what it used to be.

Reviewed on 21st July 2021
Sharon Andrews's avatar
Sharon Andrews

My life savers

Money transfer to make more manageable payments

Reviewed on 17th June 2021
Elaine Angell's avatar
Elaine Angell

The best way to control your money

I put all of my expenses as much as possible on my M&S Credit card and I can keep track of it by the M&S App and then you have about 5 weeks grace before I then pay it all off from by private bank account - it is an ideal way of managing your money as lon Read more

I put all of my expenses as much as possible on my M&S Credit card and I can keep track of it by the M&S App and then you have about 5 weeks grace before I then pay it all off from by private bank account - it is an ideal way of managing your money as long as you pay it all off every month. It works for me and it is great.

Reviewed on 11th April 2021
Jean Bennett's avatar
Jean Bennett