Go Girl Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 110 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Go Girl car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Go Girl car insurance reviews to help you find out what other customers have to say, and whether this policy is right for you...and your car! For exa...

READ MORE

Go Girl car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Go Girl car insurance reviews to help you find out what other customers have to say, and whether this policy is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our reviews to find out how good the claims process is. And remember, if you've used Go Girl before, you too can write a short Go Girl car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Worst Insurance Company' in the 2016 Insurance Choice Awards
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

110 reviews

Review Go Girl's Car Insurance now

poor customer service and ripping off young drivers

They called up to request a further 74.28 including a 24 pound admin fee because we forgot about a windscreen claim on her car. As far as i could see there is NO mention of the windscreen being a reportable claim. Such a ripoff company, as soon as the in Read more

They called up to request a further 74.28 including a 24 pound admin fee because we forgot about a windscreen claim on her car. As far as i could see there is NO mention of the windscreen being a reportable claim.
Such a ripoff company, as soon as the insurance is over we will NEVER use them again and i will inform as many people on my social media as i can not to use them.
Disappointed to say the least.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
alan greenwood's avatar
alan greenwood

Reply from Go Girl

Hi Alan, we are sorry to see this review. Unfortunately we do rate on Windscreen Claims as we would any other type of incident and this should have been made clear to you when taking the policy out. If you would like us to investigate further, please email your Policy/Certificate Number to gogirlfeedback@sabre.co.uk . Kind Regards.

Hidden costs and poor service

I was very disappointed with Go Girl insurance. Their communication is poor and they loaded extra costs on my policy. I certainly wouldn't recommend...

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
JonW's avatar
JonW

Reply from Go Girl

Hi JonW we are sorry to see this review and hear of your dissatisfaction with the service you received. If possible, would you be able to email your Policy/Certificate Number to us at gogirlfeedback@sabre.co.uk so we can look into this for you? Kind Regards.

appalling service

Truly poor service cant get through, waiting 30- 40 mins just to ask a question. they are owned by sabre insurance, they are as bad. avoid if you can.

Reviewed on 25th April 2022
John Tea's avatar
John Tea

Reply from Go Girl

Hi John, we are sorry to see this review and the issue you had trying to get in contact with us. If you have a policy with ourselves, would you be able to email your Policy Number along with the issue you are having to gogirlfeedback@sabre.co.uk so we can look into this further for you? Kind Regards.

Inhuman

Insured a small car for my two sons to pass for 3500a year and said ok , it’s a risk . The eldest passed and when I notified them they added 1500 to the policy stating that he is higher risk now

Reviewed on 5th February 2022
Dulinszky Izabella's avatar
Dulinszky Izabella

Reply from Go Girl

Hi Dulinszky, I am sorry to see this review. Would you be able to email your policy number to gogirlfeedback@sabre.co.uk so we can look into this further? Kind Regards.

Read the reviews, and avoid this coNpany

Go cheap, prepare to get stung Sorted car insurance for my partner, added myself as a named driver, came to £500approx…. Looked into putting her daughter on the policy as a provisionally licenced driver which cost an extra £100 so agreed to that. Last we Read more

Go cheap, prepare to get stung
Sorted car insurance for my partner, added myself as a named driver, came to £500approx…. Looked into putting her daughter on the policy as a provisionally licenced driver which cost an extra £100 so agreed to that. Last week her daughter passed her test and took out her own insurance policy (thankfully not with gogirl) so my partner did the honest thing and called up to advise gogirl of the change. She was quoted £550 to add her daughter to the policy or £120 to REMOVE her daughter and the only explanation given was that insurance premiums can fluctuate!?! My question of why it should increase the premium by, essentially, £220 (£100 to insure the daughter and £120 to remove her) was met with, its in the small print…. So people, if you decide to go with the cheaper companies on price comparison websites as you dont have the funds to go more reputable, PLEASE read the small print or you could end up being stung if your circumstances change…
Incidentally, gogirl is also the name of a popular american female urination device, which is interesting because this company also takes the p!ss

Reviewed on 14th January 2022
Neil Bright's avatar
Neil Bright

Reply from Go Girl

Hi Neil. I'm sorry to see this review. Can I trouble you to email the policy number to gogirlfeedback@sabre.co.uk so we can look into this further for you? Kind Regards.

GoGirl Claim - BIG problem

I am in the midst of making a claim from this company. My God....they will find a way to take more money by "additional Premium" if they can dig up anything, even if its truely stupid reason. Here's the reason. Car policy under my name, additional driver Read more

I am in the midst of making a claim from this company. My God....they will find a way to take more money by "additional Premium" if they can dig up anything, even if its truely stupid reason. Here's the reason.
Car policy under my name, additional driver my daughter with Singapore full license. 2-3 weeks after purchase insurance cover with GoGirl, she convert her Singapore License to UK full license. Recently accident happened. Trying to make claim. Now they say i need to pay 609 pounds "additional Premium" because she is now Full UK license instead of Singapore License and failed to inform them within 14 days of change. If i dont pay within 7 days, all claims will be void.

Insurance in UK is Cheaper with foreign drivers license? Since Singapore is a "Designated Countries"
no new test is needed to convert to FULL UK license.

I am still trying to find out what exactly they trying to charge me 609 Pounds for. So far they did not give exact reason.

thanks for any advice ...will post updates...

Reviewed on 6th July 2021
QUACH DQ's avatar
QUACH DQ

THE WORST

Literally, the worst company to deal with. Rude, unhelpful, keep making me pay more money THEN trying to get out of insuring me. I have never had to deal with something like this before, its extremely stressful and unprofessional, I urge you to AVOID!!

Reviewed on 5th May 2021
Claire 's avatar
Claire

AVOID

The company do not uphold their contract when you purchase downgrading then refusing to make changes without charging £45. I like honesty and to be treated with respect and you are not by this company

Reviewed on 20th October 2020
CJS's avatar
CJS

Not your usual insurance company!

We have had a good experience with this company. Competitive price for my son as a young driver. Issues following an accident were quickly and efficiently sorted out resulting in the local council admitting liability and paying out therefore meaning my so Read more

We have had a good experience with this company. Competitive price for my son as a young driver. Issues following an accident were quickly and efficiently sorted out resulting in the local council admitting liability and paying out therefore meaning my son keeps his no claims bonus, gets his excess refunded and is able to afford to insure for another year. This is all due to the tenacity of the senior claims negotiator that we dealt with called Katherine Elkin. She is definitely an asset to the company and because of her have used the company again to insure which doesn’t usually happen! Well done!

Reviewed on 30th July 2020
Lynda Ellis's avatar
Lynda Ellis

AVOID AT ALL COST!

Avoid this insurance company at all cost . They are highly unprofessional and operate like criminals finding any sort of excuse to increase your premium once you have purchased the policy. There staff are highly incompetent and all should be fired or at l Read more

Avoid this insurance company at all cost . They are highly unprofessional and operate like criminals finding any sort of excuse to increase your premium once you have purchased the policy. There staff are highly incompetent and all should be fired or at least retrained in customer service.

They have processed a claim without my knowledge and consent and made ridiculous accusations in an attempt to cancel or increase my premium after a non fault accident. After disputing the matter, providing evidence and speaking to an investigator the company had realised they were wrong they refused to admit to and increased my premium over £15,000 and demanded that I pay within 7 days or else my policy would be cancelled and they will not be refunding my premium.

I have made several complaints the company have refused to take any action and i have passed the matter onto the financial ombudsman and I have asked specialist to look into the matter.

AVOID! at all cost the cheap premium is not worth the headache and nightmare of customer service you will receive from this incompetent and criminal like insurance company. They do not deserve a single star.

Also avoid there parent company Sabre insurance!!!!!

Reviewed on 7th April 2020
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous

Rip off company

Rip off company - tried to cancel after 5 weeks and wanted to charge 28% cancellation fee + £25 admin fee No help, leeway or sympathy just kept referring to T's & C's Avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 23rd December 2019
Mr M's avatar
Mr M

AVOID WORST INSURANCE COMPANY

spoke to APRIL on the phone who told us she couldnt help us. Basically, they dropped my insurance without warning citing that we had not sent them sufficient documentation. They claimed our insurance had to be dropped because my step mother had not told t Read more

spoke to APRIL on the phone who told us she couldnt help us. Basically, they dropped my insurance without warning citing that we had not sent them sufficient documentation. They claimed our insurance had to be dropped because my step mother had not told them she had used her no claims bonus on another car. THIS IS UNTRUE. She sent them a 56 page document detailing what was the situation and no one batted an eyelid until they cancelled our policy out of nowhere. They claim they never got the emails - but on the portal they are all sitting there and have been marked read - including proof that they knew she was insured on another car. These crooks have only refunded half of what we paid even though the fault fully lies with them. Wouldnt even give them one star if that was an option. If they had put their hands up and apologised and refunded what is owed then I wouldnt need to warn everyone off but clearly they are nothing but money grabbing thick idiots. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Reviewed on 17th July 2019
Sophie's avatar
Sophie

GoGirl

Love this company, easy to talk to 24/7 help and advice whenever you need them. 10/10

Reviewed on 5th July 2019
Heather Chapman's avatar
Heather Chapman

What a Con! Avoid at all costs

What an absolute disgrace. I would have left two stars if that was possible Searched for quote to add my 17yr twins onto my car insurance. Quoted £98 which was a acceptable. One has now passed and the increase in premium was £3600. The only other option Read more

What an absolute disgrace. I would have left two stars if that was possible
Searched for quote to add my 17yr twins onto my car insurance. Quoted £98 which was a acceptable. One has now passed and the increase in premium was £3600. The only other option is to take them off at an astronomical £185 + £25 admin fee. Pay £42 deposit or insurance will be cancelled within 7 days. They state that they offer discounts for learner drivers but nowhere on their site does it state that this is the case. I was told it was I the t's and it's and when I asked for a copy i was told it was a mistake.
I would recommend Marmalade for your learners. A little expensive overall but well worth it.

I understand that as a parent of a youg driver it will be expensive but a complete lack of transparency and honesty has left me feeling very bitter regarding GoGirls policy and procedure but what is absolutely horrendous is one really dissapointed young adult. Can't wait to see what happens when the next one passes!

Reviewed on 21st June 2019
SMcD's avatar
SMcD

Cooling off Period

Telephoned to cancel within minutes of taking out the Policy on line. Was advised that the Policy had not yet been processed and there is a £25 cancelling fee (reduced from £40 as there standard !) Not happy over the cancelling fee and now noticed that t Read more

Telephoned to cancel within minutes of taking out the Policy on line. Was advised that the Policy had not yet been processed and there is a £25 cancelling fee (reduced from £40 as there standard !)
Not happy over the cancelling fee and now noticed that they have taken for the full value of the Insurance.
When you speak to their representatives they are very abrupt and unhelpful.
No doubt I will have the pleasure in speaking to them in chasing my money return.
DONT TOUCH

Reviewed on 22nd May 2019
Patrick Murray's avatar
Patrick Murray

You really should get a quote from this company !!!

have had 3 car policies with Swinton for several years each year each premium gets higher despite no claims and increased no claim discount we recently swapped a Mercedes over to Go Girl saving £450 a year. My second car is coming up for renewal in May Read more

have had 3 car policies with Swinton for several years each year each premium gets higher despite no claims and increased no claim discount we recently swapped a Mercedes over to Go Girl saving £450 a year. My second car is coming up for renewal in May and I have just cancelled my renewal with Swinton and insured with Go Girl saving £300. My third car is due for renewal in July and I will be changing that over too and just to confirm the saving is for a LIKE FOR LIKE POLICY in fact one of the policies we have a lower excess !!! You have to be mad not to get a quote from this company !!!

Reviewed on 22nd April 2019
Gina Aho's avatar
Gina Aho

Outrageous

I would advise everyone to think twice before setting up car insurance with this company. The customer service is awful but that's just one thing. When i was setting up the insurance, the lady on the phone talked to me like shit and she actually hung u Read more

I would advise everyone to think twice before setting up car insurance with this company.

The customer service is awful but that's just one thing. When i was setting up the insurance, the lady on the phone talked to me like shit and she actually hung up on me DURING the transaction which was..a bad start.

We paid 1420 pounds for 12 months insurance. After 3 months we moved to a new location.

When we sent them an email to update them on our new adress, they sent a really unfriendly email,saying that we need to pay an extra 540 pounds (!!!) because the new location falls under a different premium. It was odd as the area was way less busy and now we had our very own garage and the whole building has cctv surveillance. I called them and asked what the extra is for, they said it's the policy. I asked loads of questions to which the response was "this is the policy".

After this, I visited their website to check the new price for this location. It was odd to see that the price for a new insurance is £1420. I guess the extra £500 got lost somewhere with my faith in the company attached to it.

I called them again and questioned this, but of course the response was that..this is the policy. I asked the lady whether she realises that it is cheaper for me to cancel my insurance and get a new one, even with with them, of course the answer was "this is the policy".

So I cancelled my insurance and found another offer for £700 for 12 month.

I guess I should thank go girl for saving me money but no. Fck this company.

Reviewed on 28th February 2019
Dobi Tamas's avatar
Dobi Tamas

Poor all round

Just now Terrible customer services Terrible customer services, rude staff and extortionate prices for a late payment. Double what banks charge. Their staff refused to offer me any assistance and even went so far as to argue with me. Cannot wai Read more

Just now


Terrible customer services
Terrible customer services, rude staff and extortionate prices for a late payment. Double what banks charge. Their staff refused to offer me any assistance and even went so far as to argue with me.

Cannot wait till the policy expires and I do not have to use them again.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS.....

Reviewed on 10th January 2019
Andre Nasr's avatar
Andre Nasr

Easy to set up not good when you claim

So your car gets stolen and recovered by Police, needs to be assessed, no problem you can get a courtesy car..... you think. Well we haven’t assessed it yet so courtesy car doesn’t kick in until the damage is assessed, a week later still not assessed. No Read more

So your car gets stolen and recovered by Police, needs to be assessed, no problem you can get a courtesy car..... you think. Well we haven’t assessed it yet so courtesy car doesn’t kick in until the damage is assessed, a week later still not assessed. No car, no follow up phone calls, you have to chase them. Bad enough having your car stolen, you expect your insurance company to be there for you.

Reviewed on 9th October 2018
AM's avatar
AM

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

Avoid! We insured a car for my 19 year old daughter, the price was expensive though we had no option but to pay for a new driver, she then moved less than 6 miles to be closer to student accommodation while at university, we were faced with not only a £25 Read more

Avoid! We insured a car for my 19 year old daughter, the price was expensive though we had no option but to pay for a new driver, she then moved less than 6 miles to be closer to student accommodation while at university, we were faced with not only a £25 admin increase (fair enough) though an additional over £700, yes, £700 added to the policy to cover the period from September 2018 - May 2019, this £700 is the equivalent of a full year, we do not live in areas which are considered as "high risk" for insurance purposes, they gave us 7 days to respond or risk loosing the policy and not being insured, the telesales member of staff was absolutely useless, Insurance Ombudsman will be hearing from us.

Reviewed on 17th September 2018
Cheryl Marwick-Watt's avatar
Cheryl Marwick-Watt