Hastings Direct Reviews

  Ratings based on 494 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

Hastings Direct reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about what it's like to have an insurance policy with Hastings Direct. Smart Money People is the UK's independent financial services review site. Read and write Hastin...

READ MORE

Hastings Direct reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about what it's like to have an insurance policy with Hastings Direct. Smart Money People is the UK's independent financial services review site. Read and write Hastings Direct reviews, and together we can help to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Car Insurance

DID NOT RENEW CAR INS

DID NOT RENEW MY CAR INS AS STATED IN LETTER AFTER CHECKING BANK DETAILS CORRECT. UNABLE TO VISIT FAMILY TODAY SUNDAY. CANNOT DRIVE TO WORK TOMORROW, MONDAY. LOST A DAYS WAGES. GOOD JOB I CHECKED OTHERWISE I COULD OF BEEN PROSECUTED BY THE POLICE.

Reviewed on 7th August 2022
SHANNY 's avatar
SHANNY
Write a review

Car Insurance

Avoid this shower at all cost. 0 stars should be an option!

Worst insurance provider it’s ever been my misfortune to deal with. They took my money from my credit card without my permission even after they had acknowledged that I did not want to renew.

Reviewed on 4th August 2022
Q's avatar
Q
Write a review

Car Insurance

Extortionate fees and charges

I've been with this company for a while. I tried to cancel my policy when it was up for renewal but it was an impossible task. I was paying £35 a month for a 13 plate Focus. The engine blew, and I ended up with a 2.2 SRi Vectra, which cost the same per mo Read more

I've been with this company for a while. I tried to cancel my policy when it was up for renewal but it was an impossible task. I was paying £35 a month for a 13 plate Focus. The engine blew, and I ended up with a 2.2 SRi Vectra, which cost the same per month as the Focus. I have just changed to 64 plate Seat, and when I changed the car on my policy, it jumped from £35 to £66 a month!! Having dropped from a Group 22 car to a Group 11 car. Checked on Compare the Market and numerous providers were offering identical cover for £35 a month. So I called Hastings to be told that the best price they could find was £140 a month, and if I want to cancel I have to pay a £45 admin fee, and in top of that a further £55 due to the loss of interest as my policy is paid monthly. Needless to say, I will not be renewing.

Reviewed on 4th August 2022
Ian Whitlock's avatar
Ian Whitlock
Write a review

Car Insurance

Renewed without my consent

They renewed my policy without me telling them. In the website there is a button to renew your policy I didn't press this and it still renewed. I called them and they charged me 20 pounds to cancel it but it was there fault. They would budge on it after 2 Read more

They renewed my policy without me telling them. In the website there is a button to renew your policy I didn't press this and it still renewed. I called them and they charged me 20 pounds to cancel it but it was there fault. They would budge on it after 2 trips to consult with his supervisor.And then he hung up on me. Don't go with this shower of fraudsters.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Ray Murray's avatar
Ray Murray
Write a review

Car Insurance

Would give -50 stars if i could, AVOID!!

The WORST insurance going, absolutely disgusting company! Avoid at all costs!!! The whole front of my car was ripped off by a wreckless driver as i was coming out of my driveway. Insurance said it was my fault and i “shouldn't have been coming out of my d Read more

The WORST insurance going, absolutely disgusting company! Avoid at all costs!!! The whole front of my car was ripped off by a wreckless driver as i was coming out of my driveway. Insurance said it was my fault and i “shouldn't have been coming out of my driveway” alright then let me just not go to work or ever leave my house again!!!! Non stop battle for the past three weeks trying to sort it out, got a different story every time i called them! One person told me i would need to admit liability to be entitled to a courtesy car, another person told me that it was my fault because i was reversing out… IV’E NO FRONT END!! Another person told me i had admitted liability - deffo didn't do that!!! Coming up to 4 weeks since the accident and i still don't have a courtesy car, but the man who hit me (also conveniently insured with hastings) got one 2 days later! I wonder if i was a man would i have recieved a car quicker? Very clear discrimination there. Not ONCE has this company reached out to me since the accident!! I’ve had to ring them (any many other companies they associate with) myself!!!!! The stress they have caused me is like no other!! Please please please avoid!!!!!!!! Not to mention they’ve already double my premium (due in august) without even discussing anything with me or letting me know what is happening with my claim!!!!! Ive never been so angry and so disgusted by the way a company treats people!!! I have started a formal complaint against them and there even making that a pain!!!!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!

Reviewed on 31st July 2022
Nicole Rowland's avatar
Nicole Rowland
Write a review

Car Insurance

Would give Zero if I could

Would give 0 stars if I could. Money Supermarket sent me to Hastings while trying to insure my car, paid the deposit, submitted DD details then received nothing. Got in touch with customer services after being redirected from live chat, couldn't get a Read more

Would give 0 stars if I could.

Money Supermarket sent me to Hastings while trying to insure my car, paid the deposit, submitted DD details then received nothing. Got in touch with customer services after being redirected from live chat, couldn't get an answer so was delayed collecting the new car.

Unbeknownst to me, my family were arranging a surprise birthday for me the following day, a surprise which was unfortunately spoiled when I had to collect the car a day late due to needing to insure elsewhere, because when Hastings finally got back in touch and explained that my policy didn't bind, they couldn't offer me insurance after all, despite me going back to Money Supermarket And being offered the exact same quote.

I eventually got the deposit refunded days later, then out of the blue the complaints department got in touch with me, so I complained, wasn't going to as I'd got the deposit back. They explained that the issue that prevented my policy working was known, and the refund process was also known, but not followed. They told me it would be used as a training experience for the staff. Small consolation to me as they told me all this while I was on a short break that was planned by my kids as a birthday present, so all told, two weekends disrupted.

They offered me £50 compensation, which had to be a cheque, then I got a voicemail saying the could bank transfer it instead, but it still hasn't arrived, so I've started including the CEO in the email thread, which does get them moving briefly, but then silence again.

Thanks to the power of the web, I've now got the CEOs mobile number and personal email, both of which I've made use of, but as yet, nothing. We're over 3 weeks down the line from the original attempt to insure, and I'm getting royally p&_£#ed off with it now, hence my review.

Avoid them like the plague folks, no good will come of doing business with Hastings.

Reviewed on 28th July 2022
Pete Howell's avatar
Pete Howell
Write a review

Car Insurance

Awful customer service

Incredibly bad customer service, from the start until the end 1 month later.

Reviewed on 28th July 2022
Etienne Pansegrauw's avatar
Etienne Pansegrauw
Write a review

Personal Loans

Fantastic service

Absolutely brilliant service from start to finish. Highly recommended, thank you

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
Sam's avatar
Sam
Write a review

Car Insurance

Amazing

I have a blackbox with hastings. It isn't bad at all! Although it is sensitive, that's how it should be as its keeping drivers safe. I drive normally and carefully and have never gone below 90. They don't constantly email to say you've done something wron Read more

I have a blackbox with hastings. It isn't bad at all! Although it is sensitive, that's how it should be as its keeping drivers safe. I drive normally and carefully and have never gone below 90. They don't constantly email to say you've done something wrong. (Not for me anyway) No curfews. Very cheap. Very reliable.

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Lightydreamer 21's avatar
Lightydreamer 21
Write a review

Personal Loans

Dated service

I would say they do what you really need, ie give you the money fairly promptly too which is a plus, however, there is no online/app access to view the state of the loan which is normally a given these days. If you want to make an additional payment or ch Read more

I would say they do what you really need, ie give you the money fairly promptly too which is a plus, however, there is no online/app access to view the state of the loan which is normally a given these days. If you want to make an additional payment or check the outstanding balance you have to go through the rigmarole of calling them. It feels like they are actively discouraging you from paying it off early. Hopefully this will be improved in the future.

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Sam Bean's avatar
Sam Bean
Write a review

Personal Loans

Saved the day when my own bank let me down

I am a key worker and need a new car to get to work. My own bank a Spanish one beginning with letter S gave me the impression I was getting a loan at 3.1% I have a great credit rating and own my own house with no mortgage. When the loan was processed the Read more

I am a key worker and need a new car to get to work. My own bank a Spanish one beginning with letter S gave me the impression I was getting a loan at 3.1% I have a great credit rating and own my own house with no mortgage. When the loan was processed they actually changed the rate to 13.4 which put the monthly payments out of my reach. I had to go back to the car dealer and let him down. My dealer suggested I use Moneysupermarket.com to search for a better rate. Hastings Direct quoted me a rate of 5.1% and what they said didn't change. I can afford the monthly payments now and go to see the new car tomorrow. Felt relieved. Application was very straightforward and I would recommend.

Reviewed on 19th July 2022
RuthieDL's avatar
RuthieDL
Write a review

Car Insurance

They do not settle total loss claims at true value of car

BEWARE: Cheap insurance for a reason, having suffered a total loss, this company goes to great lengths to avoid paying the true value of my car, even after providing evidence, thousands away and truly shocking behaviour. Clearly cheap insurance for a rea Read more

BEWARE: Cheap insurance for a reason, having suffered a total loss, this company goes to great lengths to avoid paying the true value of my car, even after providing evidence, thousands away and truly shocking behaviour. Clearly cheap insurance for a reason as I have found out.

Reviewed on 13th July 2022
JO's avatar
JO
Write a review

Car Insurance

Read the small print...

After being insured with Hastings for a number of years I just rung to cancel my policy as I sold my car. Despite being fully paid up to date I get a £45 admin fee for the pleasure. Read the small print guys, they get their money in other ways from you. A Read more

After being insured with Hastings for a number of years I just rung to cancel my policy as I sold my car. Despite being fully paid up to date I get a £45 admin fee for the pleasure. Read the small print guys, they get their money in other ways from you. Absolutely disgusting.

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
Jon Vine's avatar
Jon Vine
Write a review

Car Insurance

AVOID

10 weeks since my accident other party admitted fault cctv evidence presented but still out of pocket after the stated my bike was a write off avoiding all calls and emails from me

Reviewed on 2nd July 2022
Sarah Doody's avatar
Sarah Doody
Write a review

Personal Loans

Easy to apply and fair rates

Applying was easy, straight forward and rates offered were better than the banks.

Reviewed on 2nd July 2022
Vincent Wheeler's avatar
Vincent Wheeler
Write a review

Personal Loans

Straight forward process

Everything was as expected. No surprises. I'm pleased with the loan amount and interest rates were very competitive. My rate was illustrated before I applied and that was the rate I got, so very pleased.

Reviewed on 1st July 2022
Jon A's avatar
Jon A
Write a review

Personal Loans

Easy Application Process, Better Ongoing Management Required

The loan application process was easy, quickly dealt with and the funds made available within a very short time. I think beginning to end it only took me three days and I had funds in my account. What Hastings need to improve on is providing customers wi Read more

The loan application process was easy, quickly dealt with and the funds made available within a very short time. I think beginning to end it only took me three days and I had funds in my account.
What Hastings need to improve on is providing customers with an on line portal or an app whereby we can track our loans personally.
When you visits the website there is no option to do this and the only access provided is via email which relies on people providing a response whereas with an on line account as so many loan companies have now, you can get a fairly instant answer and manage your account efficiently

Reviewed on 26th June 2022
Steve Lane's avatar
Steve Lane
Write a review

Car Insurance

Substitute Vehicle Cover a Joke

Purchased substitute vehicle cover. They won’t provide this if the accident is deemed not your fault (bizarre, Hastings Direct loves to reward bad driving) and split liability. They take weeks to respond to emails and phone calls. If they write off your c Read more

Purchased substitute vehicle cover. They won’t provide this if the accident is deemed not your fault (bizarre, Hastings Direct loves to reward bad driving) and split liability. They take weeks to respond to emails and phone calls. If they write off your car they will ‘lose’ the information you submit to drag out the proceedings to make you take a lower offer. Cheap but exceptionally poor service. Will not be renewing with them. Choose them at your own risk.

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
Nadia Marken's avatar
Nadia Marken
Write a review

Car Insurance

Terrible thieving bars****

Took my money, cancelled my policy for a ap or blackbox that was clearly faulty by their own admission

Reviewed on 20th June 2022
Reem Chedid's avatar
Reem Chedid
Write a review

Car Insurance

Abysmal customer service---no stars should be an option

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I have been a customer of Hastings Direct for a few years and had several problems. Their administration is not fit for purpose. Each year they have sent me a quote but I have searched online and found a much cheaper one.....with Read more

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I have been a customer of Hastings Direct for a few years and had several problems. Their administration is not fit for purpose. Each year they have sent me a quote but I have searched online and found a much cheaper one.....with Hastings Direct!!! iObviously I took up the cheaper quote but HD continued to take monthly payments from my bank account. When I complained I was informed I had TWO live policies. This should not be possible. I did receive a refund after my vociferous complaining. Last year on June 1st I paid £280 to insure my Mercedes S320 but sold the vehicle and bought a Citroen C!. I informed HD who gave me a quote of £230. I therefore expected a refund of £50. No such luck. I was charged £20 to substitute the vehicle on my policy. I have tried to obtain a refund but have been fobbed off with various excuses and attempts by HD to justify their position and not to uphold my complaint. Fortunately my debit card had expired and they did not have the means to take out the £280 they quoted to insure my Citroen for 2022-23. In previous years they retained my card details and took out monies WITHOUT MY PERMISSION as they automatically renew a policy UNLESS YOU CANCEL IT ONE MONTH BEFORE THE ANNIVERSARY DATE. I wrote emails and sent messages on their chatline (when it was working) but had no replies. This company is THE worse insurance company in the UK and there are hundreds of other dissatisfied customers who have confirmed that my experiences are not unique...the list of complaints of poor customer service are legion. I am now insured with AXA....for £50 less than the quote from Hastings Direct.. (Prof. Adrian Brett)

Reviewed on 15th June 2022
Adrian  Brett's avatar
Adrian Brett
Write a review