RAC Reviews

  Ratings based on 111 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

RAC state that they are committed to finding their customers a great deal on their car insurance. Smart Money People is the place for RAC reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Breakdown Cover

RAC European cover refuced to come !

Hi, I bought a single-trip European brake-down cover and paid £63 a day thinking that will cover if anything happens, BUT! In Europe, my screen wipers fail, in the rain on the motorway, and RAC refused to come to help me up !!! Terrible response after co Read more

Hi, I bought a single-trip European brake-down cover and paid £63 a day thinking that will cover if anything happens, BUT! In Europe, my screen wipers fail, in the rain on the motorway, and RAC refused to come to help me up !!!
Terrible response after complaint to the RAC complaint, team !!!

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
aurius s.'s avatar
aurius s.
Write a review

Breakdown Cover

A 60 hour recovery nightmare

A 60 hour nightmare! I'm only giving one star because zero isn't an option. I have just had an unbelieveably bad experience with the RAC. My van broke down and I requested help at 12.30pm on Sunday. It was agreed that they would send a recovery truck to Read more

A 60 hour nightmare!
I'm only giving one star because zero isn't an option. I have just had an unbelieveably bad experience with the RAC. My van broke down and I requested help at 12.30pm on Sunday. It was agreed that they would send a recovery truck to transport me and my van 120 miles to my home. To cut a long story short,they left me stranded, a lone woman with health problems, left for 12 hours at the roadside on a dark lane. Initially I was refused a hotel for the night but 4 hours later after practically begging, I was booked into one and told that I would be collected at 10am the next day. I spent all day waiting and was eventually taken back to my van at 5pm, only to have to return back to the hotel for another night when the van couldn't be recovered that evening. They lied to me repeatedly and I had no idea what was going on. Eventually they got me a taxi home on Tuesday afternoon with my van arriving home at midnight. It was 60 hours in total from when I first contacted them. Disgusting lack of concern and the worst customer service I've ever come across. I must say though, the patrol man who attended twice, was a lovely man and he did his best to help but the people on the other end of the phone made his job very difficult.

Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Deborah Clare's avatar
Deborah Clare
Write a review

Car Insurance

Extortionate Cancellation Fee

Abosolute rip off when cancelling a policy if you sell your car

Reviewed on 24th May 2022
Steve's avatar
Steve
Write a review

Car Insurance

Absolute shambles of a company

“If i could give 0 stars i would. Worst insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. In am accident i. January reported straight away. Received a text message in April to say a claim was made against me and that was the last i heard anything. Tried several tim Read more

“If i could give 0 stars i would. Worst insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. In am accident i. January reported straight away. Received a text message in April to say a claim was made against me and that was the last i heard anything. Tried several times to contact them and got nowhere. Passed about departments and cut off. Finally received a phone call in May from some travel bureau who informed me about the goings on of the claim as RAC clearly don’t care for their customers enough to keep them updated! Quick to take your money and to send out renewal quotes!!

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
Cla's avatar
Cla
Write a review

Car Insurance

Terrible

The Worst company ever. Do not buy any service from it.

Reviewed on 30th April 2022
Wei Ge's avatar
Wei Ge
Write a review

Car Insurance

The worst company ever

had a provisional licence holder on the policy. He passed and would now never drive the car. But since he has now passed, I had to do one of 2 things. Either change his details to full, or remove him from the policy. If not, any other driver if they were Read more

had a provisional licence holder on the policy. He passed and would now never drive the car. But since he has now passed, I had to do one of 2 things. Either change his details to full, or remove him from the policy. If not, any other driver if they were to be involved in any accident, the insurance would be void. And they charged me 250 to remove him from the policy.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Abid Hayat's avatar
Abid Hayat
Write a review

Breakdown Cover

DON'T USE THEM, APPALING CUSTOMER SERVICE!! & COMPLAINTS TEAM

Terrible customer service APPALING!!!!! DONT USE I had my breakdown policy with the RAC, I was happy with them until I had accidentally (without knowing or any contact) missed a payment, February 2021, I then a few days later called them out as I had bro Read more

Terrible customer service APPALING!!!!! DONT USE
I had my breakdown policy with the RAC, I was happy with them until I had accidentally (without knowing or any contact) missed a payment, February 2021, I then a few days later called them out as I had broken down. I was told on the phone that the payment had not gone through, so I asked them if I could pay the monthly premium and I was told no as this account had been closed, I then had to pay £180 upfront as I had no other alternative other than being stuck on my own on a motorway layby.

I then made a complaint about this and of course, it went in their favor as most companies usually do this as they don't want to accept blame or support customers who have been badly treated.

At this point I ended up moving to another breakdown firm who I have now been with for some time and happy with their service.

February 3rd 2022, I got a call from the RAC much to my surprise, I was asked about my renewal, I advised them that I had not stayed with them due to the service I had received, she then re-opened the complaint.

On the 19th day of the complaint, I called up asking for an update as if not I wanted to be able to escalate further, I was told on the phone that someone would then call me back the same day before 7 pm, this didn't happen but around 6.45 pm I had an email to say that they needed a further 20 days to look into my complaint, which I was not happy about but I had to wait.

17th March, I then chased up via the Twitter page I then around an hour later get a snotty email that said the following:

I've now looked into the concerns you raised on 3 February 2022 and wanted to let you know the outcome.

'Our records show that we responded to your complaint under a sperate case reference REF WAS HERE and our findings were emailed to you on 25 February 2021 and read at 10.28.My follow up email was also ready that day at 15.07. I'm confident all of your concerns have been fully investigated and that we're now at the end of our investigation process but can find no justification to change the decisions that we have conveyed to you.
Whilst it is always our aim to resolve matters of contention to our customer's satisfaction, I very much regret that on this occasion we are not able to do so.
Your rights of escalation were provided to you in the email on 25 February 2022 and this complaint will now ne closed. Thank you again for taking the time to get in touch we appreciate your feedback'

They haven't even bothered to look into the new complaint that I put forward, I would not have even put the complaint forward had the lady on the 3rd February this year not mentioned it she did the complaint with me over the phone, something is wrong somewhere.

The customer service and the way they treat customers are unfair! I also was not aware that the £180 was for the year! So I had paid out unknowingly for 2 x breakdown memberships, I suffer from severe anxiety and every time I have dealt with this company they have been so unhelpful and not understanding of this at all.

Don't use them unless you want ripping off and poor customer service!

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Anita Shellabear's avatar
Anita Shellabear
Write a review

Car Insurance

Terrible customer service and fees charged

Charges are made to the customer for the payment card not going through. You can't change the bank details online if it's an outdated card, and it's a nightmare to get through on the phone. They charge you 20 pounds for a failed payment fee regardless o Read more

Charges are made to the customer for the payment card not going through. You can't change the bank details online if it's an outdated card, and it's a nightmare to get through on the phone. They charge you 20 pounds for a failed payment fee regardless of the reason. Disgusting service.

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Samantha Duursma's avatar
Samantha Duursma
Write a review

Car Insurance

Insurance - Appalling Customer Service

If you go with this company and have problems be aware that their system is designed to make it as difficult as possible to contact them. You have to go through their call service who usually take 15 minutes to answer, they are the only people who can con Read more

If you go with this company and have problems be aware that their system is designed to make it as difficult as possible to contact them. You have to go through their call service who usually take 15 minutes to answer, they are the only people who can contact customer care to make a complaint. Customer care do not have an email address or a telephone number, and it can be a couple of weeks before they get back to you, only to acknowledge they are looking into the problem and say they need another month to look into it. Links to contact them do not work. Do not expect them to resolve any problem you may have, avoid at all costs if you value your sanity!

Reviewed on 9th February 2022
Martin Murray's avatar
Martin Murray
Write a review

Car Insurance

False promises

Had a black box which was sold to me as this would lower my insurance on Renewal if I kept over 30s. I average around 70 Called them as my renewal was more than last year last year 700. This year 1000 they haven’t taken the box into consideration on Read more

Had a black box which was sold to me as this would lower my insurance on Renewal if I kept over 30s. I average around 70
Called them as my renewal was more than last year last year 700. This year 1000
they haven’t taken the box into consideration one bit. Which is a shame and a complete con
DO NOT BOTHER getting the black box. It WONT reduce ur insurance

Reviewed on 5th February 2022
Darren Jacobs's avatar
Darren Jacobs
Write a review

Car Insurance

Complete rip-off!!

RAC deserves minor star. We took up an insurance policy with them on the 14th of January 2022. Despite we have got 5 year unprotected no claim discount, they enforced extra document check on us. We cancelled the policy on the 30th, effective on 1st of Read more

RAC deserves minor star.

We took up an insurance policy with them on the 14th of January 2022. Despite we have got 5 year unprotected no claim discount, they enforced extra document check on us. We cancelled the policy on the 30th, effective on 1st of February.

I have received their refund of £191.62 today out of the £648.11 I have paid for one year’s premium. £456.49 has been deducted for 16 days of cover, what a COMPLETE RIP-OFF!!

I have decided to submit my official complaints to the Financial Conduct Authority and the Ombudsman for justice.

This company has been blacklisted by me from now on.

Xinquan Ou/Freda Ou

Reviewed on 2nd February 2022
Freda Ou's avatar
Freda Ou
Write a review

Car Insurance

Complete rip-off!

RAC deserves minor star. We took up an insurance policy with them on the 14th of January 2022. Despite we have got 5 year unprotected no claim discount, they enforced extra document check on us. We cancelled the policy on the 30th, effective on 1st of Read more

RAC deserves minor star.

We took up an insurance policy with them on the 14th of January 2022. Despite we have got 5 year unprotected no claim discount, they enforced extra document check on us. We cancelled the policy on the 30th, effective on 1st of February.

I have received their refund of £191.62 today out of the £648.11 I have paid for one year’s premium. £456.49 has been deducted for 16 days of cover, what a COMPLETE RIP-OFF!!

I have decided to submit my official complaints to the Financial Conduct Authority and the Ombudsman for justice.

This company has been blacklisted by me from now on.

Xinquan Ou/Freda Ou

Reviewed on 2nd February 2022
Freda Ou's avatar
Freda Ou
Write a review

Car Insurance

Cancelled Policy

Rac is a disgrace. Young girl 18 agreed to her policy took initial payment , fitted back box, sent email to tell us a problem spoke to RAC said they would look into it, heard nothing Black box fitted to car, direct debit took and an email after 3 weeks ca Read more

Rac is a disgrace. Young girl 18 agreed to her policy took initial payment , fitted back box, sent email to tell us a problem spoke to RAC said they would look into it, heard nothing Black box fitted to car, direct debit took and an email after 3 weeks cancelling policy no reason why. Daughter now can not obtain insurance due to age and cancellation ok previous policy and done nothing wrong. RAC refused to refund money and charge 125 cancellation fee and we never cancelled. DO NOT TAKE INSURANVE WITH THIS COMPANY.

Reviewed on 25th January 2022
Kerry Keeler's avatar
Kerry Keeler
Write a review

Car Insurance

Not understanding customer needs, terrible attitude.

I worked in the hospitality sector and was laid off owing to the Covid pandemic. Every other company I've had to deal with regarding this issue were sympathetic and usually had strategies in place, not the RAC. We had to sell one car and tried to explain Read more

I worked in the hospitality sector and was laid off owing to the Covid pandemic. Every other company I've had to deal with regarding this issue were sympathetic and usually had strategies in place, not the RAC. We had to sell one car and tried to explain but the RAC didn't want to know and within days had threatened us with a collection agency. Stay away from this company if you want good customer service, It's worth paying the extra.

Reviewed on 5th January 2022
Phil's avatar
Phil
Write a review

Car Insurance

Disgusted

This is breakdown rather than insurance: Disgusted Absolutely fuming. RAC auto renewed my breakdown on a car I no longer own with no warning. I got a text 3 days later telling me it had autorenewed. No pre warning. I had to register and logon to see t Read more

This is breakdown rather than insurance:

Disgusted
Absolutely fuming. RAC auto renewed my breakdown on a car I no longer own with no warning. I got a text 3 days later telling me it had autorenewed. No pre warning. I had to register and logon to see the renewal cost was £145 which was double last years price of £75!!! They assume you won’t bother checking . I have 14 days to cancel but have to pay a £25 cancellation fee and can’t cancel for the next 4 days as it’s Christmas and they are shut. Disgusted.

Update 01.01.2022 - received an email from the compaints department. They will not refund my £25 as it clearly states in the small print it automatically renews. Not surprised but feel feel cheated. I will never use RAC again.

Reviewed on 1st January 2022
Jim S's avatar
Jim S
Write a review

Car Insurance

Poor communication

When trying to chase up a claim neither they or their brokers responded to my request of claim details and claim cost despite making a complaint and being told it would be responded to in the statutory 5 days. Totally disinterested in trying to resolve my Read more

When trying to chase up a claim neither they or their brokers responded to my request of claim details and claim cost despite making a complaint and being told it would be responded to in the statutory 5 days. Totally disinterested in trying to resolve my issue

Reviewed on 1st November 2021
Redlight's avatar
Redlight
Write a review

Car Insurance

Renewed despite direction not to

Renewed despite direction not to in an email and call, renewal was massivlly high got for 59% cheaper, still ignored me and renewed, hung up on me no no claims sent despite having it and wanted to charge me for less than a days cover, no call back from ma Read more

Renewed despite direction not to in an email and call, renewal was massivlly high got for 59% cheaper, still ignored me and renewed, hung up on me no no claims sent despite having it and wanted to charge me for less than a days cover, no call back from manager as requested, twitter team also ignored me. so terrible service.

Reviewed on 1st November 2021
David Mac D's avatar
David Mac D
Write a review

Car Insurance

They are not interested in helping

I’ve driven my car 300 miles in the last year due to COVID. I know this because I just had my MOT. So when my daughter’s partner had his car written off it made sense to let him use mine. He was not at fault. Sat at home when a delivery driver ploughed in Read more

I’ve driven my car 300 miles in the last year due to COVID. I know this because I just had my MOT. So when my daughter’s partner had his car written off it made sense to let him use mine. He was not at fault. Sat at home when a delivery driver ploughed in to his parked car. He’s in his 30s, employed as a professional driver. Lots of no claims, no accidents, no convictions. You’d think it’d be a simple admin fee and small increase. Not with RAC. New 12 month policy at double the cost plus an admin fee of £25. Avoid at all cost!

Reviewed on 22nd October 2021
Stuart's avatar
Stuart
Write a review

Car Insurance

Rubbish service, stay away, don't touch them!

Misled when trying to cancel the policy by customer services when I contacted them to advise that car had been sold. Not told there would be a cancellation fee levied plus a late payment fee for the direct debit being cancelled. Once that had been settl Read more

Misled when trying to cancel the policy by customer services when I contacted them to advise that car had been sold. Not told there would be a cancellation fee levied plus a late payment fee for the direct debit being cancelled. Once that had been settled they levied another addtl fee for something else without any advice to me.

Reviewed on 18th September 2021
Lynda Maguire's avatar
Lynda Maguire
Write a review

Car Insurance

Would not even recommend RAC to an enemy

Wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. Staff are clueless and have no communication with one another and gave me 3 different ETA. With little updates. I had to call them personally to get updates Made me wait almost 4 hours on my own at night time on th Read more

Wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. Staff are clueless and have no communication with one another and gave me 3 different ETA. With little updates. I had to call them personally to get updates Made me wait almost 4 hours on my own at night time on the motorway. Disgusting service, lied about not being able to book a taxi prior to mechanic being on the way but 3 hours later they booked a cab with no mechanic on the way. AVOID RAC AT ALL COSTS!

Reviewed on 15th September 2021
Melissa B's avatar
Melissa B
Write a review