Smart Money People Logo

RAC: Car Insurance reviews

1.78
Based on 166 reviews, last reviewed 18th Apr 2024
No new 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
88% decrease in 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
13%
See only 4 star reviews
8%
See only 3 star reviews
1%
See only 2 star reviews
3%
See only 1 star reviews
75%

Latest highest rating:

5

Hit by third party insured with RAC I'm currently insured with Admiral, but was hit by a third party insured by RAC. My insurance offered me to go through their third party company Auxil... Read more Reviewed on: 18th November 2023
AJ44's avatar
AJ44

Latest lowest rating:

1

RAC - Rates Are Criminal They seem to think that because my wife's car was stolen in 2022 that they could increase my premium from £303.94 to £470.56 for her to be a named dri... Read more Reviewed on: 18th April 2024
Richard B's avatar
Richard B

About the Car Insurance

At Smart Money People, we collect RAC car insurance reviews from genuine RAC customers to help you make an informed decision when choosing your next insurer.

RAC was founded in 1897, best known for its breakdown cover. The company offers a range of car insurance policies, including pay-by-mile, temporary, learner driver, young and new drivers, and classic car insurance. Check out our RAC car insurance reviews to see how genuine customers rate these policies.

Everybody’s requirements for car insurance are different, so consider what’s most important to you before choosing a new provider. Perhaps you want a basic third-party level of cover for the lowest cost? Or maybe you want a fully comprehensive cover with additional add-ons. Whatever your needs, find out how satisfied existing customers are by reading the RAC car insurance reviews on Smart Money People.

Have you had a car insurance policy with RAC? Share your experience with our Smart Money People community to help other drivers just like you. Together, we can help people like you make better decisions. Did you have any experience with RAC’s customer service team? Did you have any issues arise throughout the term of your policy? How well were these problems dealt with? Were you satisfied with the level of cover you received for the price of the policy? Leave an RAC car insurance review today.

Review RAC: Car Insurance now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

RAC Car Insurance reviews (166)

RAC - Rates Are Criminal

1
They seem to think that because my wife's car was stolen in 2022 that they could increase my premium from £303.94 to £470.56 for her to be a named driver in my policy and when I said I'll take her off the policy, they hit me for a further £54.32. I did make the mistake of not reviewing the details through a compare website so initially didn't realise that I'd overlooked her claim. I'll take that on the chin, a genuine oversight on my part. When I wanted to change my cherished plate back to the vehicle's original one, £25.00, some companies don't charge, RAC do, it's in the T's&C's of course, seems ridiculous since it's all automated but they try and explain it in their gobbledygook insurance speak. When I needed to change to a newer vehicle, they wouldn't quote so I cancelled which cost me another £45.00. so unless you've got a very mature money tree in your back garden that needs pruning, ignore any cheap looking quote from RAC insurance, it's only cheap until they invoke a clause that helps them empty your wallet or chop down the money tree. Reviewed on: 18th April 2024
Richard B's avatar
Richard B

Theyre terrible, they use 3rd party companies to run...

1
Theyre terrible, they use 3rd party companies to run their claims, they say they have cotacted us but zero emails, or telephone calls, avoid at all costs, do not use they are shockingly bad. Just can't put into words how we feel and we will never use ths company again. Dont say you have not been warned. Reviewed on: 1st March 2024
Robin Harper-Coulson's avatar
Robin Harper-Coulson

DO NOT USE RAC Insurance THEY RIP YOU OFF.

1
DO NOT USE RAC Insurance THEY RIP YOU OFF. In November 2023, I called on behalf of my mother to see if she could claim for an accident to her car (nothing to do with her) and was informed we were not able to claim, so we didn’t. Then in Feb 2024, I then called to change the policy to a new smaller car and was informed that it couldn’t happen as the was an outstanding claim, then followed 25 to 30 hours of telephone calls between the RAC Customer Services, Claims, Liability, Underwriters & Acromass…….. But no one knows what anyone else is doing, I chased and had it confirmed there was no claim Acromas let RAC know 2 or 3 times, the RAC connected Acromas and it was confirmed again, but no one at the RAC communicates they haven’t a clause what the other departments are doing, and leave it up to the customer to try and sort. The RAC is very quick to take your money but do not do anything for it, just a bunch of insurance fraudsters!! DO NOT USE RAC INSURANCE!!!! Reviewed on: 13th February 2024
Colin S's avatar
Colin S

RAC insurance is worst car insurance company

1
I had hit and run accident called RAC the agent did not understand my safety and wellbeing horrible insurance company the name of the claim handling company is Carpenter from Liverpool call centre worst customer service. Reviewed on: 11th February 2024
Joe's avatar
Joe

Do you have a different RAC product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review
Are you a business? Get insights, reply to reviews, invite customers and understand their needs

There's still more to see!

RAC has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products