RAC Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 98 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

RAC car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest RAC car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process....

READ MORE

RAC car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest RAC car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used RAC before, you too can write a short RAC car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

98 reviews

Review RAC's Car Insurance now

Do NOT waste yr money

Terrible company. Cancelled insurance policy 2 wks ago still no refund and been to,d today another 8-10 working days… They take yr money and don’t return it

Reviewed on 23rd November 2022
Lisa Hudson's avatar
Lisa Hudson

Gave up after eight hours stranded

When it went wrong, it went badly wrong. First (and last) time I called them out it was 11.30pm in November in a city centre multi storey car park. They didn't phone to check my details or location for 4.5 hours, then there was nobody available to come ou Read more

When it went wrong, it went badly wrong. First (and last) time I called them out it was 11.30pm in November in a city centre multi storey car park. They didn't phone to check my details or location for 4.5 hours, then there was nobody available to come out. At 7am I was told someone MIGHT be out to me in the next 90 minutes. Lone female stuck in a freezing car park overnight and I wasn't a priority. After eight hours I gave up on these clowns and will be writing to find out why they can't meet a basic service. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 18th November 2022
Claire Gibb's avatar
Claire Gibb

Competitive Rates

Real people at the end of a phone to speak with and helpful they also answered promptly

Reviewed on 4th November 2022
Paul 's avatar
Paul

£25 fee address change

Have to change address on my car insurance policy. 25£ fee for that? Very expensive

Reviewed on 30th October 2022
Krystian Pietraszewski's avatar
Krystian Pietraszewski

Worst insurance company

The weirdest insurance. please don't buy insurance from them

Reviewed on 28th October 2022
Sakshi Madaan's avatar
Sakshi Madaan

Rac insurance they are thifts

They are thifts ,my and my friend have the same isuue with them ,first they take your money and after they call you to say was a mistake and the insurance need to increse so stay far away from this insurance company.

Reviewed on 17th October 2022
ADRIAN V's avatar
ADRIAN V

Renewal up by 25%, painful to cancel

Wish I'd read these reviews before signing up with them. 12 years NCD and they raised my premium from 234 to 290. Been trying to cancel for 20 mins now. Their website says you can cancel online but the options not there, surprise! So you have to call, aft Read more

Wish I'd read these reviews before signing up with them. 12 years NCD and they raised my premium from 234 to 290. Been trying to cancel for 20 mins now. Their website says you can cancel online but the options not there, surprise! So you have to call, after 3 mins of irrelevant pre-recorded message, now on hold for 15 mins. This is one of those companies that makes you jump through hoops to cancel in the hope you'll give up.

Reviewed on 1st October 2022
Den's avatar
Den

Avoid

If you miss a direct debit - they charge you £20, I have been off sick from work since March and struggled to pay this month's insurance ( I had made 2 changes to the policy last month so had an extra £50 in charges) - I chatted to them to explain I had b Read more

If you miss a direct debit - they charge you £20, I have been off sick from work since March and struggled to pay this month's insurance ( I had made 2 changes to the policy last month so had an extra £50 in charges) - I chatted to them to explain I had been off and that I could pay the £70 odd outstanding today and that going forward I will pay on the 29th of the month as I have started a new job, all was going OK and then the lady said RAC & BISL have decided you can't afford monthly payments and have cancelled the policy with immediate effect. I was shocked. I ended up having to pay a deposit with another company and go elsewhere, I will never use RAC or BISL again.

Reviewed on 27th September 2022
Gavin's avatar
Gavin

Reliable company

Reliable company with helpful customer service.

Reviewed on 27th September 2022
Carmen Fraser's avatar
Carmen Fraser

Covea/rac

Top rip-off stay away from them both

Reviewed on 8th September 2022
Gordon Del's avatar
Gordon Del

Terrible company

DO NOT Use this rip off company, you will regret it. Worst customer service I have ever experienced, charge £35 admin fee for a slight amendment to the policy. Insisted on a black box being installed within 2 weeks or the policy would be cancelled, but Read more

DO NOT Use this rip off company, you will regret it. Worst customer service I have ever experienced, charge £35 admin fee for a slight amendment to the policy. Insisted on a black box being installed within 2 weeks or the policy would be cancelled, but the installation company kept failing to turn up for the fitting appointment.
Followed up with aggressive letters and emails from RAC stating the policy will be cancelled with immediate effect for not getting the box installed. RAC insurance is the worst and deserves minus stars. I will never ever use these crooks again.

Reviewed on 6th September 2022
Andy Mackay's avatar
Andy Mackay

black box policy - they charge you for the service they CANNOT provide.

I purchased black box insurance through RAC as they are (I thought) a trustworthy and repeatable company. As per the policy you must have the box fitted by their engineers within 14 days. You must book this online, however they had no availability (AT ALL Read more

I purchased black box insurance through RAC as they are (I thought) a trustworthy and repeatable company. As per the policy you must have the box fitted by their engineers within 14 days. You must book this online, however they had no availability (AT ALL) on the portal they provide, so I selected suitable dates and the portal advised they would be in contact to fit the box when availability came up.
They failed to get a date for the box to be fitted (lack of provision/availability on their side) I made multiple attempts to book via the portal with no luck. They then sent notice of cancellation, so I emailed them (as the phone lines take approximately 40 minutes to get through and I work during their working hours) I got no response. I managed to get through on the phone one evening (they ended up answering after their closing time) to be told this lack of availability was a common problem, nothing they could do, they will begin the complaints process on my behalf, please call tomorrow???? My policy has been cancelled by them, I had to fight for a full refund, threaten action via an ombudsman if they did not refund me. I managed to get an almost complete refund for my policy after a lengthy phone-call. I will still refer this to the ombudsman as it is huge issue if they cannot provide a service that is required for the policy, and are penalising their customers for this. Fight for your money back and do not blindly agree to the charges.

I will say the people I spoke to on the phone were really helpful and sympathetic when I did get through, that's the only positive of this entire experience.

Reviewed on 6th September 2022
Hannah Driver's avatar
Hannah Driver

RIP OFF

Trying to INFLAT MY PREMIUM BY 50% LIES ABD LIED AND LIED WHEN I HAVE EVERYTHING RECORDED. Trying to take amounts out the bank I was not aware off AVOID AVOID AVIOD - just awful

Reviewed on 30th August 2022
Fanny Ann's avatar
Fanny Ann

Awful experience with car insurance and renewal

Absolutely APPALLING experience My auto renewal lapsed and I was not informed immediately meaning that I unknowingly drove to work uninsured, when I called to rectify this situation they told me that the only way to fix this was to start a new policy and Read more

Absolutely APPALLING experience
My auto renewal lapsed and I was not informed immediately meaning that I unknowingly drove to work uninsured, when I called to rectify this situation they told me that the only way to fix this was to start a new policy and they would price match it to the agreed renewal quote. Well, the new quote had doubled and so they could not price match apparently! There was no good reason as to why the quote had skyrocketed this way as nothing had changed and even they could not explain this. Subsequently I was stranded in the carpark with no insurance absolutely bewildered as to why I was now being penalised for their administrative error. Through no fault of my own the auto renewal did not go through even though I called 2 days before to confirm and had the emails to back this up, they could not rectify the situation! I was absolutely appalled at how they could try and charge me double after THEIR error! This caused me a lot of stress and I was extremely dissatisfied with the outcome. Only after escalating the situation was I offered temporary insurance for me to drive home, after that they told me to get quotes from a different provider! Rest assured that I will NEVER go with the RAC for anything again and I will absolutely advise my family and friends to do the same.

Reviewed on 20th August 2022
Alisha's avatar
Alisha

Valuable car insurance

Not the cheapest but seems good value, even if they don't provide my breakdown insurance.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Charles Cotton's avatar
Charles Cotton

(ZERO STARS) Rip-off - Avoid at all costs - car insurance premium increased 38% by auto-renewal

My RAC black box car insurance premium were £420+ annually for the first two years, however I was charged £584 during this year's renewal (38% increase!) This was renewed automatically and charged to my credit card. They claimed to have sent a renewal no Read more

My RAC black box car insurance premium were £420+ annually for the first two years, however I was charged £584 during this year's renewal (38% increase!) This was renewed automatically and charged to my credit card. They claimed to have sent a renewal notice by post, but unfortunately I have moved addresses and did not receive this. It is year 2022 and they are still expecting their customers to read all their physical mails, despite having my email address and mobile number registered to my account. If I were to cancel the insurance, I'd incur a £125 cancellation fee - effectively holding me ransom!

Nonetheless, having called their customer service to enquire the basis of the premium increase (the car only ran less than 2000 miles the past year and was without any claim/incident) - they were not able to justify the reason for the increase in premiums (official reason: premium was quoted by the companies they use). I have used a price comparison website at this point and the same RAC policy is being offered to me at £440 (with a few competitors offering similar pricing).

I have logged a formal complaint and have been told a formal response will take 4 weeks. In the meantime I will also log a similar complaint to Financial Ombudsman Service and other review forums to warn the public. Despite what is advertised, avoid this company at all costs, it’s just not worth it! Just look at the other reviews on this page..

Reviewed on 11th August 2022
Shihan's avatar
Shihan

Appalling

They are impossible to contact, do not reply if you leave a message, claim they haven't recieved information when it has been sent to them multiple times and seem unwilling to perform basic insurance functions such as consider a claim.

Reviewed on 2nd August 2022
Tim Clarke's avatar
Tim Clarke

Sympathetic

During a claim everything was made clear to me of the process from start to finish.

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Steve Harrison's avatar
Steve Harrison

RAC are Crazy don't use them

Had my car insurance with RAC insurance for many years so decided to take the private plate off Mot the vehicle when it's needed in two months then look to sell it as I don't use it very much but with the car insurance due now. I phoned the RAC up to re Read more

Had my car insurance with RAC insurance for many years so decided to take the private plate off
Mot the vehicle when it's needed in two months then look to sell it as I don't use it very much but with the car insurance due now. I phoned the RAC up to renew my insurance for the year and said that I would probably be selling it after a couple of months after it mot as we don't use it.....Then they said sorry we can't insure you then....WHAT!!!
We can't insure you if you know your going to sell the vehicle after a couple of months...... FINE.....
Now insured with the AA and as for my RAC cover that we have had for 10 year and never needed well I don't care if the AA are more expensive I will be going with them.
NEVER AGAIN WILL WE USE THE RAC.
.....RAC VERY POOR SERVICE....

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
Sjf's avatar
Sjf

Ridicoulous Charge

My Landord of my house, wishes to sell up, this means i had to find some new place to live, imagine my horror to be told there is an admin charge of £25 to change address. Its all paperless, so its quite clearly a money grabbing excersie, I will simply n Read more

My Landord of my house, wishes to sell up, this means i had to find some new place to live, imagine my horror to be told there is an admin charge of £25 to change address. Its all paperless, so its quite clearly a money grabbing excersie, I will simply not renew my policy with them,
DO NOT USE

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
Graham Ditch's avatar
Graham Ditch