Tide Business Banking Reviews

Ratings based on 368 reviews Last review 1 week ago

Want to read Tide Business Banking reviews from small business owners like you? Read them here on Smart Money People, where our community of reviewers share their experiences on things like charges on the account, availability of capital and customer...

Read Full Description

Want to read Tide Business Banking reviews from small business owners like you? Read them here on Smart Money People, where our community of reviewers share their experiences on things like charges on the account, availability of capital and customer service, and anything else to do with this innovative business banking account. Already used Tide's business banking account? Please post a quick review yourself, and help out other small business owners who are looking to decide if this is the right solution for their needs!

5 304
4 27
3 9
2 4
1 24

Your Business Banking Reviews (368)

13th October 2020

Keep away from this company

Do not use this company. Early on in the pandemic, I was offered a £1,000 credit facility for a fixed monthly payment (equivalent to Wonga/Payday loans in cost!!). Unfortunately, my drivers license expired in January and my mobile phone broke and I ...

Read more

Do not use this company. Early on in the pandemic, I was offered a £1,000 credit facility for a fixed monthly payment (equivalent to Wonga/Payday loans in cost!!). Unfortunately, my drivers license expired in January and my mobile phone broke and I have not able to access my account since March. Fee's continued to accrue, transactions which should not have been authorised were coming out of the account and I was refused access to my account for 7 months as I was unable to verify my ID, which was impossible as the DVLA was closed and only printing licenses for key workers. Therefore I could not access my account at all.

I am now being requested that I pay them £1,000, despite this being almost entirely made up of their own fees for a service I was unable to use. They refused to waive any fees and made threats to take legal action if I did not pay this amount in full, despite my company closing down due to Coronavirus. I tried to compromise with them and asked that at least a couple of months of fees be waived (£60 per month), this was also declined by them.

Do not use this company, they will take whatever they can get, no matter your situation. Their support is non-existant and their staff are incompetent and refuse to take into consideration any other views but their own.

As of today's date, I still don't have access to my account and am unable to assess any of the transactions they 'claim' I owe them.

Note: If tide support reply to this, then they are just trying to make themselves look good, the reality is they have ignored emails for 5+ days at a time, then said I was outside of their 'time-frame'. The issue was also escalated to a manager, who clearly did not read the entire email thread and made accusations against me which were false, trying to pass blame.

25th September 2020

Cheap. And not cheerful about it.

Cheap, and not cheap and cheerful. Don't pay for tide plus either. They do NOT answer your phone calls, or call you back. Couldn't get them to answer my emails either. I tried for about two months. Complete waste of money.

13th August 2020

AWFUL experience, stay away

Awful experience, I've been with them 8mths, and moving ASAP. I have my account hacked and large monies taken, it them them a week to respond to my message and refund the money. I was sat for days stressed, yet they didnt respond to my messages. I...

Read more

Awful experience, I've been with them 8mths, and moving ASAP. I have my account hacked and large monies taken, it them them a week to respond to my message and refund the money. I was sat for days stressed, yet they didnt respond to my messages. I applied in May for their bounce back loans, and believe I was one of the first, I contacted twice to be told "You're near the top, wont be long", after 3mths waiting I then receive an email like everyone else saying they stopped doing it. Totally disappointing, how NOT to run a business. Today just had my HSBC account approved and opened, thankfully transferring all my business and monies away from TIDE. STAY AWAY from them.

10th June 2020

WARNING! Tide may remove access to your money without notice and for no reason.

Although initially impressed I have to give this 1 star due to a SERIOUS PROBLEM with Tide’s app which might mean you lose access to your m...

Read more

Although initially impressed I have to give this 1 star due to a SERIOUS PROBLEM with Tide’s app which might mean you lose access to your money.

The only way to access your money is via the app, you can’t speak to an agent, not even in an emergency.

So if, for no reason, the app on your device stops working there is no way to access your money. NONE.

Recently my app displayed a message saying “For security reasons the Tide app us unable to run on this device”. Even re-installing the app doesn’t fix this.

When I contacted Tide support via the only route possible, messaging, I never got a response after several days! So I had to go to their complaints department – this is clearly completely unacceptable.

Just to be clear, the Tide app can remove access to your money without any notice and if you need to access it, then tough, you can’t. There is no emergency number, nothing.

The unsatisfactory and generic response I received days later was “This issue most commonly occurs when the device on which the Tide app is running is recognized as jailbroken or has malware on it. I would advise going through all apps on your device and uninstalling any potentially malicious apps or, alternatively, you can do a full factory reset of your device.”

As my device is not jailbroken and any apps I downloaded are recognisable ones from the Apple app store this makes little sense. So if I want access to my money, even to close the account, I have no option but to spend HOURS deleting and re-installing apps or doing a phone factory reset. How can this be a solution? HOW? All my other banking apps work perfectly fine and they are secure.

Checking online forums, many other users have experienced this problem. It’s clearly an IT glitch which Tide hasn’t worked out yet and because of that they’re sending customers a perfectly unacceptable generic response which isn’t a satisfactory solution.

Until Tide’s app developers work out what’s going on and prevents customers from losing access to their money I suggest you sign-up with one of Tide’s competitors.

14th February 2020

Avoid

AVOID ...

Read more

AVOID
AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
AT ALL COSTS GO ELSEWHERE.
£4,200 Taken out of my account, there was no funds available Tide allowed a forced payment to go through.
I have disputed emails back and forth, while over 4grand overdrawn with disputes they still allowed the company to take more payments out!
There is no authorized overdraft facility not even I can access any funds unless funds available.
Emails after emails Tide telling me to resolve with this company myself.
This is fraudulent activity!
This should of been refunded back to my account immediately
In fact this amount being unavailable funds should never of gone out! Even if I owed this company money WHICH I DO NOT! It's a civil matter
Police state its Fraud
Its unauthorised I never authorized this
Tide are not abiding by prepay technologies terms
Tide are not upholding the agreements with the financial institutions nor my rights as the consumer
AVOID AT ALL COSTS YOU WILL NEVER GET YOUR RIGHTS

9th February 2020

Easy to use and easy to manage!

It was quick and easy to sign up, I had a little issue the first week but was resolved very quickly so barely noticed. I've now had my account almost a year and it's been effortless to use and manage. everything is easily controlled from the app, it...

Read more

It was quick and easy to sign up, I had a little issue the first week but was resolved very quickly so barely noticed. I've now had my account almost a year and it's been effortless to use and manage. everything is easily controlled from the app, it integrates seamlessly withy accounting software and costs me substantially less per month than any of the other banks out there, what more could you want!

9th February 2020

Great service easy to deal with

I wanyed a bank that understood small businesses dont have time for long winded calls and paper processes . Swapping to Tide has meant slicker quicker finance handling with help just a message away. Its made running my CIC so much easier!

7th February 2020

A Refreshingly Friendly Experience!

When I set my business up, it took 2 weeks and a lengthy appointment which I had to drive thirty minutes to when it came to setting up a bank account. When I'd finally had enough of their impersonal service, I came across Tide and had an account in...

Read more

When I set my business up, it took 2 weeks and a lengthy appointment which I had to drive thirty minutes to when it came to setting up a bank account. When I'd finally had enough of their impersonal service, I came across Tide and had an account in five minutes! Support is always available, and the app itself is so intuitive - I wish I'd been with them from day one!

6th February 2020

Modern business banking

Can tell that their app and supporting services are of a high quality. Everything seem to be forward-thinking and modern for a nominal cost for a startup representaing excellent value for money. I'd definitely recommend.