Admiral Reviews

  Ratings based on 15,529 reviews       Last review 3 days ago    

Admiral Insurance reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about life as an Admiral customer. If you have experience of Admiral, write your Admiral review today. With your reviews, we can increase trust and transparency in F...

READ MORE

Admiral Insurance reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about life as an Admiral customer. If you have experience of Admiral, write your Admiral review today. With your reviews, we can increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Car Insurance

Cancelling mid policy charges

The setup of admiral insurance and its documentation are excellent , but beware. I remember now why i didn't like Admiral having cancelled insurance mid term with them before. Paying monthly, you'd expect to pay a maximum of the next months fee. Noooo Read more

The setup of admiral insurance and its documentation are excellent , but beware.

I remember now why i didn't like Admiral having cancelled insurance mid term with them before. Paying monthly, you'd expect to pay a maximum of the next months fee. Nooooo. £56 cancellation fee. What a set of crooks.

I won't be buying car insurance from them ever again, thats twice. Nver again.

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
Kelvin Staniforth's avatar
Kelvin Staniforth
Write a review

Car Insurance

It is pointless to be choose this company

I had my accident on 2019 and my case is still open. I am trying to make them understand since last year that I am fully recovered and I want to close this case as is affecting my mental health. I suffered an accident, witch was not my fault, someone Read more

I had my accident on 2019 and my case is still open.
I am trying to make them understand since last year that I am fully recovered and I want to close this case as is affecting my mental health.

I suffered an accident, witch was not my fault, someone fall asleep on the motorway and hit us with more than 60mph when we were stopped on the hard shoulder for an emergency.

They change my case handler so many time that I lost count.
It is very frustrating that looks like they don't care about people.
Before at least you could speak about your case by phone, now the don't even call you back for weeks or never.

They just send a letter to my partner saying they are not longer able to represent him.
It is only 3 months before the 3 year limitation period end and then we are gonna be left out with the case closed without getting any compensation.

I will no recommend this company at all.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Rose's avatar
Rose
Write a review

Car Insurance

Been waiting on a decision for over 3 weeks

My car has had damage to the underside. It has gone to the main dealer who have documented and quotes for this and are still chasing for an answer. Terrible service

Reviewed on 15th June 2022
Dinesh Nathan's avatar
Dinesh Nathan
Write a review

Home Insurance

Cancelation fee scam

Support was almost impossible to contact and when you do get through the information given by agents is terrible. Unable to explain why I was being charged a cancelation fee or why my insurance renewed automatically when I did not knowingly agree to any Read more

Support was almost impossible to contact and when you do get through the information given by agents is terrible.
Unable to explain why I was being charged a cancelation fee or why my insurance renewed automatically when I did not knowingly agree to any type of renewal.
I was told I would have to send my new, PRIVATE, policy details in order to get charge withdrawn, again without being to explain why.
Reluctantly sent the policy and still only reduced the cancelation charge from £50 to £25.
Also expect customers to pay to an external debt collector instead of providing ways to pay directly.
Ridiculous.

Reviewed on 10th June 2022
Roberto Silva's avatar
Roberto Silva
Write a review

Personal Loan

Terrible company

Like a lot of previous reviews, I was told a loan with admiral was pre approved. Applied online with a hard credit search to be told couldn’t complete all security checks. Then had an email 24 hours later to state they couldn’t do one of their security c Read more

Like a lot of previous reviews, I was told a loan with admiral was pre approved. Applied online with a hard credit search to be told couldn’t complete all security checks.
Then had an email 24 hours later to state they couldn’t do one of their security checks and there was nothing I could submit to change it.
Disgrace of a company and there should be stricter control and regulation.
Don’t go anywhere near them.

Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Thomas Campbell's avatar
Thomas Campbell
Write a review

Home Insurance

Bad with House Insurance Claims

I'm amazed at all the 5 star reviews, however, the majority of these are to do with either initially setting up a policy or renewing a policy without having made any claims on it. It appears that it is a totally different story when a claim has to be made Read more

I'm amazed at all the 5 star reviews, however, the majority of these are to do with either initially setting up a policy or renewing a policy without having made any claims on it. It appears that it is a totally different story when a claim has to be made. One never gets to speak to the same person handling the claim and one has to go through the whole process of describing what the claim is about and then there are contradictions in what is covered and how they can execute the work required. For example telling the customer to contact a particular contractor who is totally incapable of carrying out the work required and not even able to appoint a sub contractor who can actually do the work. Why should the customer have to phone company after company after company to get things moving. This is not how the fluffy tv adverts portray Admiral. Don't ever think that when you make a claim someone says "don't worry, leave it with us, we will sort everything out for you". Ot's not like that at all. So all you people who have never had to make a claim but give Admiral a 5 star rating, be warned. Of course they are nice and helpful when they want your money. Not so nice and helpful when you need them. In fact they just add to the stress of the situation. In my book, shop around and always take note from reviews such as mine. Experience counts !

Reviewed on 6th June 2022
Robin Coates's avatar
Robin Coates
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Deliberately Obstructive and Slow

It's now been two months since I put in a claim for a replacement train ticket home from a ski holiday with no indication of an end in sight, or indeed any communication from Admiral for weeks at a time. I raised my claim with their online form which, Read more

It's now been two months since I put in a claim for a replacement train ticket home from a ski holiday with no indication of an end in sight, or indeed any communication from Admiral for weeks at a time.

I raised my claim with their online form which, though detailed, was a decent process. I attached evidence of my original booking, an explanation that I had missed this train due to a coach leaving the resort late, and the new tickets I had to purchase to get home as well as proof of payment from my bank.

This should be straight forward under my Annual Multi Trip Platinum policy with winter sports and gadget cover added. It has been anything but.

They then sent me two more sets of forms by email which were lengthy but were trying to get all the same information that I had already submitted. What's worse, they were non-editable .pdfs and I haven't got a printer/scanner at home. When I asked for them to be posted or an editable version sent I received no reply, so 2 weeks later I called.

I was asked to upload some additional evidence, which I did, and nothing for a couple more weeks until I again called them.

The last thing I had from them was an email saying they will only progress the claim if the company that provided the coach writes a letter stating why they were late and how much by. Utterly irrelevant, no answer they can give is material to the validity of the claim. I gave it a try anyway and, naturally, the coach company hasn't responded, neither have Admiral in the few weeks since I questioned why they were asking for this.

They are too big a business for this to be sheer incompetence, so my only conclusion is that they deliberately frustrate the claims process. I am now engaged in a formal complaint which I have been told will take 8 weeks for them to deal with.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Andrew's avatar
Andrew
Write a review

Home Insurance

Do not bother ever claiming. Be warned.

You could pay for the claim yourself in the amount Admiral hike up the insurance after a claim. Admiral went for the cheapest quote for work needed and no monitoring of claim as it progressed very slowly.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
K Noon's avatar
K Noon
Write a review

Home Insurance

Excessive costs to make changes

I got contects insurance for a rental property via Admiral (through a price comparrison site), for a reasonable cost. I moved house and then the prices offered were shocking: Original contents insurance for 1 year = £73. New property: To add buildings Read more

I got contects insurance for a rental property via Admiral (through a price comparrison site), for a reasonable cost.
I moved house and then the prices offered were shocking:
Original contents insurance for 1 year = £73.
New property:
To add buildings for the remaining 7 months = £210 (best via comparrison site for 1 year £168).
To change contents only to new address = £58.63

The call handler admitted that if you go via a comparrison site you get as "new customer" discount!!!!

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
Steve Greenway's avatar
Steve Greenway
Write a review

Car Insurance

Will not fulfil claim after taking car in for weeks saying they are unable to contact their engineers,

A catalog of errors, delays and apparent ignorance

Reviewed on 4th May 2022
james hill's avatar
james hill
Write a review

Car Insurance

AVOID ADMIRAL

My insurance has just risen from £646 to £1093 for NO reason. Ive net had a claim for 2022 nothing has changed since 2021. How can they justify that ???? My advice. AVOID ADMIRAL

Reviewed on 1st May 2022
martin coleman's avatar
martin coleman
Write a review

Car Insurance

When you have an accident check what price you get back for car

I was going to renew my car insurance a friend recommended me and he had accident he phone me and stated the car was a write off they tried to give him quarter of the value I went to Marks and Spencer's insurance I never heard anything like it utter rubb Read more

I was going to renew my car insurance a friend recommended me and he had accident he phone me and stated the car was a write off they tried to give him quarter of the value I went to Marks and Spencer's insurance I never heard anything like it utter rubbish.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
roger 's avatar
roger
Write a review

Car Insurance

Admiral to the rescue

My daughter had an awful experience with 1st Central Insurance. She ended up buying new insurance from Admiral which was so quick and easy to set up.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
David 's avatar
David
Write a review

Home Insurance

adding a property to multy cover

Absolute shocking service, call centre, dial this number and that number and on hold that long the call just ended. After 4 attempts and half a day the matter is still not sorted. Seems like cheap labour have taken over the call centres and there is no e Read more

Absolute shocking service, call centre, dial this number and that number and on hold that long the call just ended. After 4 attempts and half a day the matter is still not sorted. Seems like cheap labour have taken over the call centres and there is no e mail address advertised to start a chat going. Stay well clear!

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Mark Barron's avatar
Mark Barron
Write a review

Car Insurance

Take money without notice!

If you want a car insurance company to take your money direct from the bank without notice you, choose Admiral. Even I had well informed them I had a non-fault claim months ago (Tyres punched in motorway), they already offered a higher than market policy Read more

If you want a car insurance company to take your money direct from the bank without notice you, choose Admiral.
Even I had well informed them I had a non-fault claim months ago (Tyres punched in motorway), they already offered a higher than market policy price, they can still increase the price AFTER two months of the policy started!!
AND they have no single word to inform you that will be happen!
I will not ever choose this company again.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Leung SK's avatar
Leung SK
Write a review

Car Insurance

Believe ALL the poor reviews

I have been a customer for over 9 years and have been appauled with the level of service i have recieved within the last 2 years. They claim Customer Quality is of their top priority when the service of their staffs constantly contradicts this. The Custom Read more

I have been a customer for over 9 years and have been appauled with the level of service i have recieved within the last 2 years. They claim Customer Quality is of their top priority when the service of their staffs constantly contradicts this. The Customer Service staff are shamelessly incompetent, the managers shy away from complaints , When one is available they provide as little help as their advisors. This is an absolute dreadful company and i am shocked that given the outstanding reviews of dissatified customers, they are still in business.

Reviewed on 23rd April 2022
Shelena's avatar
Shelena
Write a review

Car Insurance

DO NOT USE!!!

DO NOT USE!!! Admiral have without doubt the WORST customer service department I have ever dealt with. When ur not waiting in hour long queues only to be hung up on, which has happended to me on three different occasions. The staff are completely incom Read more

DO NOT USE!!!

Admiral have without doubt the WORST customer service department I have ever dealt with. When ur not waiting in hour long queues only to be hung up on, which has happended to me on three different occasions. The staff are completely incompetent and never have any useful information to give u and usually pawn you off to a different department just to be put to the back of a queue again. Even if you have to pay slightly more I would recommend going with another provider as you will save yourself a great deal of stress and time.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Callum Moglia's avatar
Callum Moglia
Write a review

Car Insurance

Windscreen

I had make claim for my windscreen on the 1 April 22 at that date I spook to manger and all promisees,,,no one get back time until today 20 April 22 after I spent hours to tell them about my claim and I find it very ridiculous since I asked them for the Read more

I had make claim for my windscreen on the 1 April 22 at that date I spook to manger and all promisees,,,no one get back time until today 20 April 22 after I spent hours to tell them about my claim and I find it very ridiculous since I asked them for the Mercedes windscreen and they said no we do not provide the original ..I will never recommend it to any one . Please be carful as I believe you pay to much money to get this insurance as I did ..for sure I will never renew it with them

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Mounes Hammadeh's avatar
Mounes Hammadeh
Write a review

Personal Loan

Got there eventually!

I was 100% pre-approved on both Money Supermarket and Clearscore for a 'guaranteed' low rate, so I applied but it went to review and I had to give access to 12 months of bank statements. After coming on here I was worried I'd get rejected/rate would chang Read more

I was 100% pre-approved on both Money Supermarket and Clearscore for a 'guaranteed' low rate, so I applied but it went to review and I had to give access to 12 months of bank statements. After coming on here I was worried I'd get rejected/rate would change but after 48 hours the loan was approved with no further information needed, at the rate I'd been promised. It's a shame it took so long and also that, instead of getting an email to say it was approved, the email said I hadn't completed my application. I ended up having to get in touch with Admiral for them to tell me it had been approved and the email was for me to sign my contract (it didn't say that in any way, shape or form). I did get a text shortly afterwards. Communication needs to be clearer but IMHO it's good that the company does the correct risk assessment and due diligence prior to lending, and the rate was lower than other providers who make quick decisions based on computer-generated algorithms. If the process from application to money arriving could be streamlined, and communication clearer, it would be 5 stars.

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Katherine Bannon's avatar
Katherine Bannon
Write a review

Car Insurance

Company rips off public

How can a company charge you ten pound to call them even when it’s their fault you have to call them because they’re online communication don’t work pure joke

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Andrew Crombie's avatar
Andrew Crombie
Write a review