The Co-operative Bank Current Account Reviews

Ratings based on 260 reviews Last review 3 days ago

The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a The Co-operative Bank...

Read Full Description

The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a The Co-operative Bank customer is really like. And remember, if you are a The Co-operative Bank customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

5 155
4 57
3 15
2 12
1 21

Your Current Account Reviews (260)

5th October 2020

A new look that drives away business customers?!

I never write reviews, certainly not ranting negative ones but I am so cross and disappointed in the COOP I need to vent. I was a happy loyal customer but 'upgrading' to a totally unusable online interface means I have to take two businesses elsewhere...

Read more

I never write reviews, certainly not ranting negative ones but I am so cross and disappointed in the COOP I need to vent. I was a happy loyal customer but 'upgrading' to a totally unusable online interface means I have to take two businesses elsewhere - and I don't have the time. You even piloted this new dashboard with one of our accounts - didn't ask for feedback, didn't listen when I queried things by phone and still rolled it out to all customers. It is NOT fit for purpose.

22nd September 2020

Businesses banking just got worst

Did a 8 years old design this .Great if you love colours and big font . But try it as a business tool daily Paying BASC to customers many times in one day . The top brass at Co op must be crazy .

11th September 2020

Absolutely outrageous

I have banked with the co operative bank for several years with a few minor complaints that were dealt with quickly by their exceptional customer service people. No longer, I frequently have my card declined in stores despite being several hundred...

Read more

I have banked with the co operative bank for several years with a few minor complaints that were dealt with quickly by their exceptional customer service people. No longer, I frequently have my card declined in stores despite being several hundred pounds in credit. As a disabled customer I rely on my card totally, when this has happened at an out of town location I have had to transfer from my wheelchair to my car, locate and drive to an ATM,transfer from my car again, get back into the car, drive back to the store to pay in cash, after transferring from car to wheelchair, then get back into the car. Ten minute transaction taking over half an hour. Getting from my wheelchair into the car is a painful experience which I would rather not repeat over and over again in short spaces of time. The reason my card was repeatedly declined? Apparently the transactions have been flagged up as dubious by their seemingly totally random fraud/security algorithm. This has happened to me twice in my local sainsbury's where I shop several times a week . The other reason that was given was (possibly) the amount of transactions, which is outrageous. I am in the process of switching to another bank.

12th July 2020

THE BANK THAT GOES THE EXTRA MILE

I'VE BEEN WITH THE CO-OP BANK FOR TEN YEARS, AND HAVE FOUND THEIR STAFF TO BE VERY HELPFUL, AND DO THEIR UTMOST TO MAKE THEIR CUSTOMERS HAPPY. THEY ARE SUPER EFFCIENT, AND IN A NUTSHELL, THIS BANK ALWAYS GOES OUT OF ITS WAY TO HELP ITS CUSTOMERS.

Read more

I'VE BEEN WITH THE CO-OP BANK FOR TEN YEARS, AND HAVE FOUND THEIR STAFF TO BE VERY HELPFUL, AND DO THEIR UTMOST TO MAKE THEIR CUSTOMERS HAPPY. THEY ARE SUPER EFFCIENT, AND IN A NUTSHELL, THIS BANK ALWAYS GOES OUT OF ITS WAY TO HELP ITS CUSTOMERS.

25th May 2020

International transfer lost in cyberspace

Their systems are archaic. The on-line chat has a 10 person queue and the system logs you out automatically before you get to the head of the queue. How does that work for customers? It doesn't!...

Read more

Their systems are archaic. The on-line chat has a 10 person queue and the system logs you out automatically before you get to the head of the queue. How does that work for customers? It doesn't!
The phone service is a 30 minute wait - real expensive to call from Australia where I live and, because of the Bank's reduced operating hours, the call has to be made in the middle of my night.
Over a week ago, I requested an international transfer of almost £1000. This is my UK pension money that I transfer each month. It is sorely needed in these times of coronavirus. Not only hans't my transfer arrived, the Bank has not replied to my enquiries and complaints. This is not the first time monies have not arrived and the Bank has had to be chased up.
With service like this, I really don't see this bank surviving much longer.

21st May 2020

Incompetent,uncaring,bureaucratic cretins

Having spent the best part of two months trying to open a simple current account with no credit or borrowing facilities, as a non resident of the UK ,I can safely state that the Coop Bank is the worst bank I have ever had the misfortune of wasting my...

Read more

Having spent the best part of two months trying to open a simple current account with no credit or borrowing facilities, as a non resident of the UK ,I can safely state that the Coop Bank is the worst bank I have ever had the misfortune of wasting my time trying to deal with.The bank advertise current accounts for non residents on the internet making the claim that the procedure to open an account is simple.Once the process starts,only then are the mindless cretins in the bank's so-called security and vetting department in Skelmersdale revealed.The documentation demands from the aforementioned department go far beyond supplying a copy of one's paasport and copy proof of a residential address.No, the bank must have either "certified" copies or original documents.Bearing in mind that the person ,in this case, is applying from outside the country it is impossible to pop along to a branch in the UK and show original documentation.Certification means a written statement on the copy documentation from a notary public or the like ,which is not only an expensive exercise in the country where I am resident as well as being impossible during a lockdown.Correspondence from Skelmersdale to the Netherlands took three full weeks to arrive .One letter said that if I did not reply within 28 days my application would be rejected.I managed to reply within 28 days using expensive couriered post.To no avail -we must have certified documentation.Remember,I was trying to deposit money with this bank not borrow from them.I complained.I receieved an email telling me my complaint had been dealt with.Two weeks after that,again with a three week delay I received a letter telling me my complaint about lousy service,uncontactable telephone numbers and postal delays was not the fault of the bank but the peopkle delivering the letters and the Covid crisis.In short don't touch this bank with the proverbial barge pole.The whole organisation ,including the management and complaints team based in Manchester are totally useless and not fit for purpose.

7th April 2020

Switch to Co-Op and live the banking nightmare!!!

Horrific unreliable service....

Read more

Horrific unreliable service.

Can safely say this is the worst banking facility you will ever get with the most incompetent customer support, specifically the incredibly rude barking chav I spoke to called Helen from their security / fraud department whom hung up the call midway.

Having opened a current account with them only a week ago, it only took a few days of using the account to notice what a disgrace this so called bank is, anyone thinking of transfering over, think twice and then think again, the overwhelming negative reviews against Co-Op are not to be taken with a pinch of salt, only wish I had seen the reviews before I signed up and went through this nightmare with these crooks.

This is the only UK bank which will withold your faster payment transfer for an unknown amount of time and interrogate you on why you are transfering money, what the money is for, why you have used your overdraft and everything else under the sun.

These crooks held onto my faster payment made from my co-op account to another of my bank account in the same name, which i transfered to pay some bills.
There terms and conditions are a joke, it states faster payments usually are instant but can take upto 2 hours, "subject to further checks" and here is the golden point. They seem to think they are within their means to hold onto transfers for a indefinite amount of time, with no valid justification, just "random security checks" and no matter the impact on the customer. In 20 years of banking, I've NEVER had any bank or faster payment take more than a few min, maybe once it took upto 2 hours but when you join co-op you will realise those banks are a god-send with these crooks citing indefinite timeframes until their checks are complete.

Having waited over a day, and missed paying my bills which impacted my credit file, called several times, logged complaints to no use. These scum freeze your account whilst they are doing their "checks".

Am now just waiting to get my money out of and close my account. Having logged a internal complaint, I have the reference to escalate to the Financial ombudsman to shed light on their immorale ways. Major pain to have dealt with these crooks, but the morale of the story is everyone, go with larger establishments that are actually solely banking institutions, co-op are a food retailer and have branched out to banking, insurance and everything else that they deem viable to con people on....Jack of all trades master of none!

Just be prepared to experience delays, terrible support and utter incompetency if you ever try these crooks for your banking needs, something as a simple transfer will turn into a FBI interogation and them witholding funds for no valid reason or timeframe.

Shocking unethical and immorale banking policies and distasteful customer support - Stay away!

1st March 2020

In decline!!!

I've been with the bank for nearly 50 years having had an account created for me by my parents. I prefer telephone banking but over the years access hours have reduced and the wait time to speak to a call handler has increased - clearly my time...

Read more

I've been with the bank for nearly 50 years having had an account created for me by my parents. I prefer telephone banking but over the years access hours have reduced and the wait time to speak to a call handler has increased - clearly my time waiting is less important to their time. The staff are great when I do manage to get through but despite me not wanting to do my banking online I am told that it is now compulsory for them to ask me each month I ring up if I want to do online banking. When I said I wanted to complain about the telephone banking service reducing I'm told that it isn't a complaint that would be feedback. I've stuck with the coop because they used to be a people bank and I prefer talking to people but clearly with reducing access to this service and now having to wait longer to get through, the coop does not see the people part is important to them and they just want to focus on online transactions. Really sad the service offered to loyal customers is in decline!!!!

9th February 2020

Excellent customer service

I have always found their CS advisors helpful and knowledgeable. They listen to your issue and respond sensibly rather than just parroting a script. My only issue is that the pricing and rates are OK but not the best.

9th February 2020

Ethical banking and extra benefits

Problem-free current account plus travel insurance, breakdown cover, phone insurance and airport lounge access. We have certainly had our money's worth from this account over the years.

Articles related to The Co-operative Bank