The Co-operative Bank Current Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 310 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a The Co-operative Bank custom...

READ MORE

The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a The Co-operative Bank customer is really like. And remember, if you are a The Co-operative Bank customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of The Co-operative Bank Current Account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Current Account Reviews

310 reviews

Review The Co-operative Bank's Current Account now

very good bank

really excellent customer service and very reliable, co-op is professional and more upmarket than people realise

Reviewed on 24th June 2022
Vania Terzopoulou's avatar
Vania Terzopoulou

The Unco-operative Bank: Run away before they drive you insane

We have used this bank online for a couple of years, all is OK until you want contact them. You have to use the phone, at 9 pence a minute, and the hold times are upwards of an hour, easily 40 minutes and on several occasions, having waited for ages the s Read more

We have used this bank online for a couple of years, all is OK until you want contact them. You have to use the phone, at 9 pence a minute, and the hold times are upwards of an hour, easily 40 minutes and on several occasions, having waited for ages the system cuts off. If and when you get through it is pot luck whether or not you get a helpful member of staff, most are helpful I must add. A recent need to send money abroad has revealed some insanity on their part, which would have affected us had we not decided to leave immediately. After absurdly repeated security questions we were asked for the EXACT date and time of the last transaction, without which correct answer the attempt to move our money could not proceed - the assistant simply could offer nothing more, they have no discretion, they won't refer upwards to a manager and they won't call back. The question is unanswerable, even their own online transactions do not record or report the time, exact or otherwise. End of first attempt to do what we wanted to do with our own money. We made a formal complaint.
A day later a message said that the complaint had been resolved during the conversation! No such resolution has occurred, no further conversation has been had. After repeating the complaint a letter arrived saying that the complaint had been resolved 'Following our conversation'. The letter was signed by a Nicola Cook and it said if further discussion was needed call us on... and we'll be happy to discuss this with you'. Needless to say a call was made (50 minutes on the phone waiting) however Nicola Cook refused to come to the phone because - you guessed it - the complaint had been resolved following a conversation. Realising that the Unco-operative Bank operates in a parallel universe, we have applied at once to a different bank. In the meantime we had to take our money out of the bank's grasp and through the Post Office were able to transfer via Western Union, a process that was obstructed and delayed for another day by the bank. It also proved impossible to set up a PayPal means of transfer. Perhaps they feel they have more need of our money than we do.

Reviewed on 11th June 2022
Mr and Mrs H's avatar
Mr and Mrs H

A responsible bank

Does what a bank should do, and is efficient and helpful to customers

Reviewed on 11th June 2022
Lav64's avatar
Lav64

Excellent service

Staff are helpful, if you need help.

Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Aa8's avatar
Aa8

out-dated and slow

I've been with the co-operative for years but they honestly make life harder. They're online banking is slow, they don't update my spending fast enough, transferring money isn't nearly as easy as other banks. When I received a tax rebate cheque I coul Read more

I've been with the co-operative for years but they honestly make life harder. They're online banking is slow, they don't update my spending fast enough, transferring money isn't nearly as easy as other banks.

When I received a tax rebate cheque I couldn't for the life of me work out how I was meant to deposit the money. other banks you can scan the cheque in but I needed to order a special book from them and go to the post office. I could have gone to one of their branches, but there are so few in London and they close at 4.30 / 5 so I would need to take time off work to visit. Lost of banks operate without branches but it doesn't feel like cooperative bank are equipped to deal with or without them.

Honestly feels like they haven't invested in online banking enough and it shows in the every day use.

Reviewed on 11th April 2022
Claudette's avatar
Claudette

Completely gone to pieces

I have banked with the Co-op for 21 years. They used to be great with a 24/7 call centre, quick response times, very helpful and good service. Over the years it's just got worse and worse. They keep shortening the hours for the call centre. Pretty soon i Read more

I have banked with the Co-op for 21 years. They used to be great with a 24/7 call centre, quick response times, very helpful and good service. Over the years it's just got worse and worse. They keep shortening the hours for the call centre. Pretty soon it'll be open for 5 minutes every second Tuesday. You are lucky if you get through in an hour and a half and while some of the staff are still pleasant and helpful, it isn't all of them. They are only interested in feedback for the call centre staff and not at all interested in hearing about issues wrong with their systems and management. After 21 years I'm changing banks because I'm tired of their ever-deteriorating customer service and lack of care. Real pity, I used to sing their praises.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
Simon's avatar
Simon

All I want to do is order a cheque book

All I want to do is order a cheque book, more than 1 hour on hold then cut off. Plus they charge for the phone call. Still need a cheque book.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Robert Fox's avatar
Robert Fox

No frills but competent

No frills but competent bank account with an easy to use online banking interface. What more do you need? Recommended

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
David Cooper's avatar
David Cooper

Dreadful telephone banking

I do most of my banking online or via the app, but when something goes wrong (in this case the Coop losing my ID documents and sending a bank card and PIN to someone else's address!) and your nearest branch is 50 miles away, telephone banking felt like th Read more

I do most of my banking online or via the app, but when something goes wrong (in this case the Coop losing my ID documents and sending a bank card and PIN to someone else's address!) and your nearest branch is 50 miles away, telephone banking felt like the only option. Was on hold for minimum 25 minutes each time only to get passed around and sometimes cut off. I was promised return phone call that never came. 20 years ago the Coop were brilliant. Now it feels like the service has been scaled down so far it's pretty much non-existent. Sadly I will be switching as soon as I'm able.

Reviewed on 26th March 2022
K Martin 's avatar
K Martin

Great customer service

Whether it’s on the phone or in branch the staff are always friendly helpful and knowledgeable. I particularly love their ethical policy

Reviewed on 16th March 2022
Jo Newing's avatar
Jo Newing

Co-op tip top.

They are always friendly when I phone them with a query, very reliable with money transfers.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Keith Fellows's avatar
Keith Fellows

All you need from a bank

Very professional and efficient bank, and you can pay your money into the bank with humans, Everything you can expect from a great bank

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
Simon Hodding's avatar
Simon Hodding

ethical & charitable bank

This bank cares for the environment and for people

Reviewed on 4th March 2022
CRB's avatar
CRB

Very helpful

Never had any problems with them, always clear and easy communication. Would not consider changing.

Reviewed on 2nd March 2022
Joanna Coleshill's avatar
Joanna Coleshill

Long wait times on phone with no alternative

I've been a coop bank customer for 14 years - their call centre wait times are longer than ever and they offer no other contact channel. I had a payment declined as they suspected fraud - fair enough, but I cant get it approved as the wait times are ridic Read more

I've been a coop bank customer for 14 years - their call centre wait times are longer than ever and they offer no other contact channel. I had a payment declined as they suspected fraud - fair enough, but I cant get it approved as the wait times are ridicoulous and there are no other cahnnels. poor customer service

Reviewed on 1st March 2022
Guy Keshet's avatar
Guy Keshet

Ethical bank

Good bank with excellent customer service that invests your money ethically

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
isabel forster's avatar
isabel forster

Professional company

I always find dealing with this company easy and professional. Their staff are helpful and courteous and eager to please.

Reviewed on 20th February 2022
Mary J Heald's avatar
Mary J Heald

just not good

terrible call waiting times, old fashioned technology and poor customer service

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
mackdoon's avatar
mackdoon

Just dreadful banking service

Wait times on the phone of over 30 minutes to speak to customer service, for bank that claims to be "putting customers first", doesn't quite ring true does it? I've had a terrible time with them blocking large transactions (3 times in the last 6 months) f Read more

Wait times on the phone of over 30 minutes to speak to customer service, for bank that claims to be "putting customers first", doesn't quite ring true does it? I've had a terrible time with them blocking large transactions (3 times in the last 6 months) for no apparent reason, causing me embarrassment when paying for goods and then having to wait the 30 minutes plus to speak to someone. I will be closing & transferring my account as soon as possible. Avoid.

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
Bt Gorman's avatar
Bt Gorman

Ethical and easy

The Co-op Bank doesn't invest in fossil fuels, deforestation or other industries that exploit people or planet. It was easy to swap to, has easy to understand terms, good benefits and perks.

Reviewed on 2nd February 2022
Blainalass's avatar
Blainalass