Legal and General Pension Reviews

  Ratings based on 19 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Legal and General pension reviews written by Smart Money People like you. For many of us, our pension is an important part of our financial future. Finding a pension provider that you can trust and rely on is a must for many people. Take a look at our Leg...

READ MORE

Legal and General pension reviews written by Smart Money People like you. For many of us, our pension is an important part of our financial future. Finding a pension provider that you can trust and rely on is a must for many people. Take a look at our Legal and General pension reviews to find out what life at Legal and General is really like. If you hold this pension, we'd love you to write an honest review here too!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Pension Reviews

19 reviews

Review Legal and General's Pension now

Withdrawal of pension

Very slow, inefficient service when it comes to trying to withdraw money from your pension pot - each time I have done this it takes months and numerous phone calls and e mails. Last year they even managed to send me my annual report showing I had double Read more

Very slow, inefficient service when it comes to trying to withdraw money from your pension pot - each time I have done this it takes months and numerous phone calls and e mails. Last year they even managed to send me my annual report showing I had double the amount I actually had. When I queried this I was told “ This has been down to human error. It appears that our quote system has loaded your policy value twice and this was missed when it was manually checked.”

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Phil Nethercote's avatar
Phil Nethercote

L&G are having a severely adverse effect on my wellbeing!!!

My husband took out his pension with early ill health retirement last year. We did not receive the promised p45 to go with this, which means I cannot prove my household income for the last tax year to student finance, which has resulted in the strong poss Read more

My husband took out his pension with early ill health retirement last year. We did not receive the promised p45 to go with this, which means I cannot prove my household income for the last tax year to student finance, which has resulted in the strong possibility that I will not be able to complete my final year at university as I cannot get any funding. My childcare grant has been stopped and I am now in debt paying for this. The damage of the incompetence of this company is too difficult to write in a review. I WILL NOT GO QUIETLY THROUGH THIS PROCESS ANYMORE. I WILL DO ALL I CAN TO TARNISH THIS COMPANY.

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Bethan Grimes's avatar
Bethan Grimes

Work place pension

Loosing money on pension going down hill fast compared to other pension providers

Reviewed on 30th May 2022
Bertie's avatar
Bertie

Wouldn't trust them as far as I could throw them

After contributing into my work place pension scheme for years I retired last March. I had made it clear prior to my retirement that I wanted all of my pension paid to me in a lump sum. At the time of writing I am still waiting for my money. I am simply Read more

After contributing into my work place pension scheme for years I retired last March. I had made it clear prior to my retirement that I wanted all of my pension paid to me in a lump sum.
At the time of writing I am still waiting for my money. I am simply being fobbed off and ignored by a company that I now consider to be nothing more than a bunch of crooks. Because as they prevaricate my pension pot is strangely going down in valve and at an alarming rate.
I have now involved the Financial Ombudsman although I am wondering at what point I should get the Police involved.
Peter Moran

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Peter Moran's avatar
Peter Moran

Waste of space.

Will not respond to emails. On phone will leave you standing racking up the bill. Bloody useless

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Terry James Gilkes's avatar
Terry James Gilkes

Poor performance

I pay in £440.00 every 4 weeks but over the last six months my pension pot has dropped in value, beginning to think I would be better off not investing with them

Reviewed on 4th May 2022
Roy Stevens's avatar
Roy Stevens

Useless

Transfer your funds to a different company. They don’t want to pay your pension to you , they are slow unresponsive and a pain. I will be transferring my pension fund to a different provider ASAP . Disillusioned.

Reviewed on 7th April 2022
Debbie Alderslade's avatar
Debbie Alderslade

Very slow performance

I requested my pension in a lump sum went through several forms waited 2 weeks and funds have only just gone to payment which will take an additional 5_15 days ,so the whole process has already taken over a month with waiting for forms ect ,I have dealt w Read more

I requested my pension in a lump sum went through several forms waited 2 weeks and funds have only just gone to payment which will take an additional 5_15 days ,so the whole process has already taken over a month with waiting for forms ect ,I have dealt with standard life recently and the whole process took 5 days and money was in bank ,it seems the process here is inefficient and I wouldn't recommend them ,I do have one positive which was the staff are helpful .

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Linda Cosgrove's avatar
Linda Cosgrove

Poor performance

I have an L & G company pension which I am stuck with. Approx 550 is paid in every month but during the last 6 months the value has decreased when the stock market has increased. How can this be? Who are they throwing my pension payments at?

Reviewed on 21st February 2022
Paul Mason's avatar
Paul Mason

Incompetent at every level of investment

I have a Thales comany Pension so can not get rid of L&G but I contribte 1900 a month and over five years they have made les than 1% and over last four monts lost more than I invested across seven of their top funds. I have a SIPP and have made over 30% Read more

I have a Thales comany Pension so can not get rid of L&G but I contribte 1900 a month and over five years they have made les than 1% and over last four monts lost more than I invested across seven of their top funds. I have a SIPP and have made over 30% every year with my SIPP. These guys are clowns and crooks

Reviewed on 9th February 2022
Robin Dajee's avatar
Robin Dajee

This company should be ashamed of themselves

This company will not help anyone who has sought help for alcohol in anyway at any point they will decline you, they also won’t give you cover if you are currently suffering with mental health as statistically within 1 year many people kill themselves the Read more

This company will not help anyone who has sought help for alcohol in anyway at any point they will decline you, they also won’t give you cover if you are currently suffering with mental health as statistically within 1 year many people kill themselves they say doesn’t matter how long you have suffered and doesn’t matter that they don’t pay out for a year anyway
There are many other reasons not to go with these people some being staff refuse to put a person onto a supervisor
Don’t know answers to questions and won’t go find out the answers
Honestly this company should be ashamed of themselves not professional and no morels
0 stars

Reviewed on 21st October 2021
Bella 's avatar
Bella

AVOID

Overview Reviews About Legal & General Logo Legal & General Reviews 11,054 • Average 3 stars: Average 3.2 In the Insurance agency category Reviews Excellent 43% Great 16% Average 9% Poor 7% Bad 25% Filter by: All reviews company Read more

Overview Reviews About
Legal & General Logo
Legal & General
Reviews 11,054 • Average
3 stars: Average
3.2

In the Insurance agency category

Reviews
Excellent 43%
Great 16%
Average 9%
Poor 7%
Bad 25%
Filter by:
All reviews company policy service time customer service year month money claim week ...
Search reviews
Bev Corby
6 reviews
1 star: Bad
4 minutes ago
AVOID!
Pension Pot Payment

- Aug application submitted.
- Informed payment would be mid Sept.
- mid Sept, scheduled payment delayed, excuse... due to employer making usual monthly payment into pension account.
- Told manager would telephone - a few days later same person phoned saying no managers available.
- End Sept error with payment!
- 8th Oct to current date, still waiting for manual payment and/or yet another fictitious payment date!

If you want easy pension set up, Legal and General excel in taking your money.

If you want professionalism - AVOID Legal & General!

If you want to access Pension pot or make claim - AVOID Legal & General!

If you value your well being and mental health - AVOID the stress
caused by Legal & General

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
Bev Corby's avatar
Bev Corby

Avoid!!

Terrible company causing my husband stress!! L&G appear to excel at customers taking out policy's and handing over their regular hard earned money. Paying out is another story. Pension pot withdrawal takes forever for no good reason. My husband has been m Read more

Terrible company causing my husband stress!! L&G appear to excel at customers taking out policy's and handing over their regular hard earned money. Paying out is another story. Pension pot withdrawal takes forever for no good reason. My husband has been misled and misinformed many times. He is still waiting for pay out. If you value your health and want to avoid stress then avoid L&G Pension scheme.

Reviewed on 28th September 2021
Bev Corby's avatar
Bev Corby

Misleading, Very poor customer care

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!! Legal and General are possibly the worst company I have ever dealt with for customer care. They promise everything and deliver nothing. I was told I would get my pension lump sum fo Read more

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!!

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!!!
Legal and General are possibly the worst company I have ever dealt with for customer care.
They promise everything and deliver nothing.
I was told I would get my pension lump sum for the end of September and now told November!
I was told a manager was going to phone me - this never happened.
The reply they give on Trust Pilot is just a front to make them look as if they care but nothing comes of this!
Andy

Reviewed on 15th September 2021
Andrew Corby 's avatar
Andrew Corby

Make it really difficult to access your pension pot

Terrible company when it comes to wanting to access your money. They will drag the process out for a minimum of 2 months (if you're lucky), but more likely to take 3 or 4 months. No idea why this is when Standard Life do everything on line and pay o Read more

Terrible company when it comes to wanting to access your money.

They will drag the process out for a minimum of 2 months (if you're lucky), but more likely to take 3 or 4 months.

No idea why this is when Standard Life do everything on line and pay out within 10 days.

Joke of a pension provider.

Reviewed on 7th July 2021
Joe's avatar
Joe

Makes my pension pot understandable

My work based pension feels like pretend money but L&G do a decent job of informing me how my pot is growing and performing and appear pretty darn trustworthy

Reviewed on 14th July 2020
Jenna Hegarty's avatar
Jenna Hegarty

Nice and easy

Great online self service website, easy to access and to manage your investments.

Reviewed on 14th July 2020
Angela Chidley's avatar
Angela Chidley

Reliable pension provider but not very transparent

I held FSAVC pension with Legal and General before I transferred it to Hargreaves Lansdown in March 2014. Whilst my pension grew in value whilst held with Legal and General, the only limited information available to me regarding performance was the annua Read more

I held FSAVC pension with Legal and General before I transferred it to Hargreaves Lansdown in March 2014. Whilst my pension grew in value whilst held with Legal and General, the only limited information available to me regarding performance was the annual statement sent out by post. In addition, the charges were not clear. By contrast, my pension is now held as a SIPP with Hargreaves Lansdown where I have complete flexibility in terms of reviewing investment performance, investment deals, etc. and all charges are entirely clear. Whilst I had no major complaints with Legal and General, I do regret not initially building up my pension within a SIPP with Hargreaves Lansdown.

Reviewed on 5th July 2017
Richard Chew's avatar
Richard Chew

Too much back and forth

I needed to understand how to use my pension pot and although L&G were helpful it felt like they went back and forth a bit too much causing additional delay.

Reviewed on 4th August 2015
Jainoor's avatar
Jainoor