M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 64 reviews       Last review 5 months ago    

M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your ...

READ MORE

M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer before, you too can write a short M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

64 reviews

Review M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer's Car Insurance now

Unable to add 2nd vehicle online

I purchased a 2nd car and needed to add it to my insurance. (No issues with the policy before, but then I have never claimed on it!) I attempted to get a quote for the 2nd car online - this was late on a Saturday night after purchasing the car - surely, Read more

I purchased a 2nd car and needed to add it to my insurance. (No issues with the policy before, but then I have never claimed on it!)
I attempted to get a quote for the 2nd car online - this was late on a Saturday night after purchasing the car - surely, it should be a simple task to add the reg and details to update the policy, right?
Nope.
Couldn't find it on the site, so went to their chat:
"Agent: If you need to add any additional cover to your policy such as a second vehicle, please contact one of our Customer Service Representatives. ...
If you require assistance, you can contact one of our Customer Service Representatives by calling 0344 412 2157."
Called the number. Obviously the office is now closed - so I am unable to insure my new vehicle until at least 10am tomorrow.
WHY can't this simple addition be automated? WHY do I need to speak to someone?
Really poor. Granted the premium is cheap but now I see why.

Reviewed on 26th February 2022
RNC's avatar
RNC

Utter crap AVOID AVOID AVOID

Taken money for a cancled policy . Lost the compansation ,by pay in to wrong account . Told it my falt i have to track it down . AVOID AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 16th February 2022
Nbw w's avatar
Nbw w

Car insurance

They took my money before my renewal date I cancelled it now they have kept me hanging on for weeks to get MY MONEY back terrible company and even worse customer services. DONT GET INVOLVED WITH M&S CAR INSURANCE.. BOW ZERO TATINGS

Reviewed on 7th February 2022
Karen Murphy's avatar
Karen Murphy

Incompetent

My car hit whilst parked legally 5 months ago, which they declared a write-off without looking at the damage. They are deducting the excess because they don't know who's at fault?! The claim has still not been paid and keeps getting passed to different Read more

My car hit whilst parked legally 5 months ago, which they declared a write-off without looking at the damage. They are deducting the excess because they don't know who's at fault?! The claim has still not been paid and keeps getting passed to different organizations that don't honor the value already agreed to, current down about £700 from what was originally agreed. Nothing happens without chasing everyone involved constantly.

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
Jonathan Bunce's avatar
Jonathan Bunce

Charges for everything

Charged for change of address, change of reg number and then, when I sold my car, wanted to charge for change of vehicle. I was told that the current underwriter didn’t quote for my new model! So, of course, there was an admin fee to change the vehicle. A Read more

Charged for change of address, change of reg number and then, when I sold my car, wanted to charge for change of vehicle. I was told that the current underwriter didn’t quote for my new model! So, of course, there was an admin fee to change the vehicle. As a result I insured my new car with the insurer who had provided the drive away cover (who also quoted a cheaper price) . I cancelled the M&S policy and, guess what, was charged TWICE for the cancellation- once the M&S ‘admin’ fee and once the underwriters ‘admin’ fee. In all I paid £100 in admin fees on top of my policy.

Reviewed on 29th January 2022
Marion Stewart-Smith's avatar
Marion Stewart-Smith

Fees for everything!!!!

For every change (including change of address) you want to make to your policy, they charge £25!! And they don't make this aware to people when they sign up. With other insurance providers those would have been free.

Reviewed on 16th December 2021
Grace's avatar
Grace

SHAMBLES

Second year of insurance with M and S However on Monday 22/11 had a back end crash .Everything was going great when I reported it until it went through to the next stage showing as I was at Fault ,which of course I wasn’t. This of course caused a delay u Read more

Second year of insurance with M and S However on Monday 22/11 had a back end crash .Everything was going great when I reported it until it went through to the next stage showing as I was at Fault ,which of course I wasn’t.
This of course caused a delay until that was sorted
Now Thursday 3 1/2 days later repair shop rings to arrange for my car to go in .But in the original conversation the insurance guy told me ,cos bumper hanging off my car is classed as UNDRIVABLE But the repair document is not showing this so they want me to take it in when it is supposed to be picked up dud to it being undrivable.
You can’t make this up a total shambles after the trauma of n accident Think the service has been slapdash ,maybe that’s too good a word for it
Will defo think twice about renewing Think this is the WORST service had from any previous insurance companies





Reviewed on 25th November 2021
Eileen Stothard's avatar
Eileen Stothard

Shocking

Took 3 days to recover my car, incurred a parking fine as result of this. I had to instigate communication as recieved very little from M&S, their underwriter and accident repair. Waited 2 weeks to be advised that my car is a write off. Have made numerous Read more

Took 3 days to recover my car, incurred a parking fine as result of this. I had to instigate communication as recieved very little from M&S, their underwriter and accident repair. Waited 2 weeks to be advised that my car is a write off. Have made numerous complaints and feel as if I have wasted my time. Not even a manager was free to speak with me. No communication at all, so I wouldn't bother to attempt to choose M&S as your preferred insurer as they do not seem to take any responsibility.

Reviewed on 16th August 2021
Joanne Ward's avatar
Joanne Ward

Too expensive

I am 65 years old with a good clean driving history. I changed my car last year and was concerned about the premium. I decided to stay with M&S for the year. To my astonishment my renewal shows an increase of £38 approx. Why I ask. I contacted the call ce Read more

I am 65 years old with a good clean driving history. I changed my car last year and was concerned about the premium. I decided to stay with M&S for the year. To my astonishment my renewal shows an increase of £38 approx. Why I ask. I contacted the call centre and was told there was no movement on the price. Normally there is flexibility on the commission. This seems to be a case of profiteering by the administrators. I went online and got a policy £160 cheaper for the same cover-unbelievable. I will be very careful when using M&S in the future if at all.

Reviewed on 11th August 2021
Mark's & Spenser's avatar
Mark's & Spenser

Increased premium for no reason

I got a renewal quote from M & S for my car insurance and it was as high as i have never seen it before. I knew i couldn't pay all that as i have never claimed and Gosh have i been driving for long. Got 20 quotes twice as cheap and i didn't hesitate to ch Read more

I got a renewal quote from M & S for my car insurance and it was as high as i have never seen it before. I knew i couldn't pay all that as i have never claimed and Gosh have i been driving for long. Got 20 quotes twice as cheap and i didn't hesitate to change. My issue with them is that even when customers don't actually want to change insurance providers you are forced to because M&S basically don't do price matching so i pity people who don't look at their quotes and their premiums auto renew. So with that, they will be the last on my list to ever consider. All the best.

Reviewed on 14th April 2021
Joe's avatar
Joe

Susan sunderland

worse experience ever in over 37 years of insuring my car insurance. changed my car the first 5 months of policy so took private plate off at a cost of £25 admin charge then was told i would be charged another £25 when changing my car in just over a week Read more

worse experience ever in over 37 years of insuring my car insurance.
changed my car the first 5 months of policy so took private plate off at a cost of £25 admin charge then was told i would be charged another £25 when changing my car in just over a week then if i wanted to put my private plate on car it would be another £25 a total of £75 ,but to add to the insult the monthly payments would go up by £31 pound.
I am a 57 year old woman with full no claims for over 17 yrs
have no car convictions or any speeding points in short wouldnt ever buy any insurance from this company .

Reviewed on 6th April 2021
sue's avatar
sue

Terrible customer service

Lack of communication when I rang about my car breakdown, staff appear to not be bothered at all. Blame shift to other department and not taking responsibility on behalf of the company. Worst service I`ve received ever.

Reviewed on 25th January 2021
Melody's avatar
Melody

Disappointed!!

So, it took me all morning to cancel my previous policy (competition 25% cheaper) because there is no telephone no. and it all has to be done in a roundabout way on-line. Received an email saying that my policy had been cancelled. Then, 7 days later my Read more

So, it took me all morning to cancel my previous policy (competition 25% cheaper) because there is no telephone no. and it all has to be done in a roundabout way on-line.
Received an email saying that my policy had been cancelled.
Then, 7 days later my car renewal documents come through in the post.
I don't know now if my policy is cancelled or not so have to go through the entire tedious process again.
Please don't put yourself through all the stress I've been through, avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 16th December 2020
John's avatar
John

BUYER BEWARE

I can a agree with nearly all the below comments. I don't need to be told during a house move when I call to change my address that it will cost me £25. When doing the same with my other car insured with Direct Line it cost me nothing and I received a reb Read more

I can a agree with nearly all the below comments. I don't need to be told during a house move when I call to change my address that it will cost me £25. When doing the same with my other car insured with Direct Line it cost me nothing and I received a rebate!!

Reviewed on 29th October 2020
Roger Courtice's avatar
Roger Courtice

Dysfunctional when it comes to car insurance

1) M&S are now behaving like other companies and 'rewarding' loyalty with price hikes. 2) I am deaf and cannot teleophone them but most of the functions are not available on their website and there is no chatline facility. At about 10:00am today (5/10/ Read more

1) M&S are now behaving like other companies and 'rewarding' loyalty with price hikes.
2) I am deaf and cannot teleophone them but most of the functions are not available on their website and there is no chatline facility. At about 10:00am today (5/10/20) they took their website down for maintenance so even that is not available - no warning or explanation they just pulled the plug!

M&S Car insurance certainly know how to avoid customer service.

Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 5th October 2020
Kenjaja's avatar
Kenjaja

Pathetic Insurance quote

How tiresome of these big high street stores to jump on every bandwagon from utilities to vehicle insurance. M&S just quoted me £300 above what I've been paying other insurance companies for the last 3 years! They need to get a grip and use fair decent i Read more

How tiresome of these big high street stores to jump on every bandwagon from utilities to vehicle insurance. M&S just quoted me £300 above what I've been paying other insurance companies for the last 3 years!
They need to get a grip and use fair decent insurance subcontractors to give a fair and true value. A great company mismanaged, sliding down the ladder to oblivion. I don't even buy my shirts from them anymore. Used them all my adult life, 69 now and I can not remember the last time I went into one of their stores.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2020
Lud Milton's avatar
Lud Milton

iNFLATED PREMIUMS VERY Expensive

How tiresome of these big high street stores to jump on every bandwagon from utilities to vehicle insurance. M&S just quoted me £300 above what I've been paying other insurance companies for the last 3 years! They need to get a grip and use fair decent i Read more

How tiresome of these big high street stores to jump on every bandwagon from utilities to vehicle insurance. M&S just quoted me £300 above what I've been paying other insurance companies for the last 3 years!
They need to get a grip and use fair decent insurance subcontractors to give a fair and true value. A great company mismanaged, sliding down the ladder to oblivion. I don't even buy my shirts from them anymore. Used them all my adult life, 69 now and I can not remember the last time I went into one of their stores.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2020
Lud Milton's avatar
Lud Milton

Unhelpful - would give them a ZERO if that was an option.

Insured my car with M&S. Two months later my car died and needed a new engine. As it was under guarantee I asked M&S if they could insure my courtesy car until my car was fixed to which the answer was a big fat NO! My call was escalated to complaints dept Read more

Insured my car with M&S. Two months later my car died and needed a new engine. As it was under guarantee I asked M&S if they could insure my courtesy car until my car was fixed to which the answer was a big fat NO! My call was escalated to complaints dept where I was informed by FAYE SHERATON that there was nothing they could do to help! Really? I WASN'T ASKING FOR A FREEBIE, JUST TEMPORARY INSURANCE FROM A COMPANY THAT I ALREADY HAD INSURANCE with. Unhelpful, discourteous staff. Once a so called pillar of the community, M&s has forgotten what it stood for, has no integrity or after sales and wants to fleece you. DISGRACEFUL!! I give them a ONE because ZERO was not on the choice option. SHAME ON YOU MARKS AND SPENCER!!

Reviewed on 23rd July 2020
S D'Cruz's avatar
S D'Cruz

Extremely disappointing experience and won't be returning.

Moved the goal posts and if you're not happy want £50 to cancel

Reviewed on 18th February 2020
Alex Hall's avatar
Alex Hall

Price hike

I was happy with M&S car insurance until I had to change my address with them,i moved 2 streets away and my quote went from £200 to over £800!no explanation as to why just a case of computer says no so I cancelled straight away and got insurance somewhere Read more

I was happy with M&S car insurance until I had to change my address with them,i moved 2 streets away and my quote went from £200 to over £800!no explanation as to why just a case of computer says no so I cancelled straight away and got insurance somewhere else.So much for loyalty

Reviewed on 19th November 2019
Garry Grayson's avatar
Garry Grayson