Coverwise Annual Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 21 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    
  Visit website

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or...

READ MORE

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different policies to choose from, finding the right policy for you can be quite confusing. Reading our Coverwise travel insurance reviews can help you find out what other travellers have to say. You can also write your Coverwise travel insurance review too!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Coverwise Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Ease

53% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: Branch

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Annual Travel Insurance Reviews

21 reviews

Review Coverwise's Annual Travel Insurance now

Reluctant to pay out

Been trying to claim since October. They ask for documentation, which you provide. Long delay getting back to you, only to request further evidence. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Impossible to speak to anyone on the phone. I have never claimed on travel insuran Read more

Been trying to claim since October. They ask for documentation, which you provide. Long delay getting back to you, only to request further evidence. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Impossible to speak to anyone on the phone. I have never claimed on travel insurance in 35 years and they are clearly making it as difficult as possible.

Reviewed on 17th April 2022
gilroykelly's avatar
gilroykelly
Get Product

No one answers the phone

The company that doesn't answer the phone or answer emails. Spent an entire day trying to speak to someone to sort out renewal of our travel insurance, however despite me hanging on the phone for over 30 minutes at a time, I never got to the front of the Read more

The company that doesn't answer the phone or answer emails. Spent an entire day trying to speak to someone to sort out renewal of our travel insurance, however despite me hanging on the phone for over 30 minutes at a time, I never got to the front of the queue and kept getting cut off. Resorted to sending an email asking someone to ring me at their earliest convenience but got no response. As a result of the lack of communication from Coverwise, my policy expired. Oh well, off to a different company who actually wants my money.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
wendy's avatar
wendy
Get Product

Every excuse under the sun to make claiming as difficult as possible.

No matter how many support documents you provide with your claim they will still come back and tell you information is missing. The "missing" information will then be something you've already provided (because they must not check the documents thoroughly Read more

No matter how many support documents you provide with your claim they will still come back and tell you information is missing. The "missing" information will then be something you've already provided (because they must not check the documents thoroughly) or the something you've already provided in a different format.

On their claims form they do not ask for bank details. Getting your bank details will also delay the claim and will fall under the "missing" information section.... even though they never asked for this information.

Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

Reviewed on 9th April 2022
Hannah McCann's avatar
Hannah McCann
Get Product

Do not answer calls

Just sat on hold for 2 hours. I'm sure if I called to make payment I'd be straight through.

Reviewed on 21st February 2022
Blake Dooley's avatar
Blake Dooley
Get Product

Appalling customer service if you need to make a claim

It may be cheap but they are useless if you need to claim. Constantly fobbed off.

Reviewed on 5th January 2022
Paul's avatar
Paul
Get Product

Emergency medical assistance number did not work

I had an accident and I called the medical assistance line once I had been given pain relief and felt a little better. The line was out of order. I tried multiple times whilst at the hospital. I called U.K. offices who said they were aware there was a fau Read more

I had an accident and I called the medical assistance line once I had been given pain relief and felt a little better. The line was out of order. I tried multiple times whilst at the hospital. I called U.K. offices who said they were aware there was a fault on the line and they would email them but no guarantee they would call me back. I went on Twitter to the underwriters. I emailed cover wise. Nothing. We decided to go back to the airport and call again from there. Eventually the line was ‘working’ however, I called twice and was waiting over 48 minutes each time and no one answering. If it hadn’t been for the kindness of strangers , the staff at Keflavik airport we would have been stuck. My husband put everything on his credit card - we were unable to get advice or any assistance. It was frightening.

Reviewed on 4th January 2022
Alison Lynch's avatar
Alison Lynch
Get Product

Avoid like COVID-19.

Any good reviews for coverwise is simply due to ease of buying and price ...Please read their claims reviews ,after all that's THE most important part of any insurance . You will then realise on EVERY review site they get 1 star as you can't give lower . Read more

Any good reviews for coverwise is simply due to ease of buying and price ...Please read their claims reviews ,after all that's THE most important part of any insurance . You will then realise on EVERY review site they get 1 star as you can't give lower . You are paying for a insurance in name only ! Good luck if you have the misfortune to need a claim . Like me it's a life lesson in checking the fine print and reviews of their claims procedure . Don't be fooled by reviews which are based solely on price and ease of ordering as you will be sorry you did.!!

Reviewed on 19th November 2021
The man who can.'s avatar
The man who can.
Get Product

Be aware of excess waivers

Coverwise's doesn't make it obvious, but comes with excess waiver for medical bills of £125 per claim. This means seeing a doctor on vaccation for small medical incidents, which are the majority a traveller regularly encounters, will likely not being cove Read more

Coverwise's doesn't make it obvious, but comes with excess waiver for medical bills of £125 per claim. This means seeing a doctor on vaccation for small medical incidents, which are the majority a traveller regularly encounters, will likely not being covered. Better invest a bit more and get a more profound cover, otherwise this travel insurance seems useless for most.

Reviewed on 30th October 2021
Jose's avatar
Jose
Get Product

Be aware of excess waivers

Coverwise's doesn't make it obvious, but comes with excess waiver for medical bills of £125 per claim. This means seeing a doctor on vaccation for small medical incidents, which are the majority a traveller regularly encounters, will likely not being cove Read more

Coverwise's doesn't make it obvious, but comes with excess waiver for medical bills of £125 per claim. This means seeing a doctor on vaccation for small medical incidents, which are the majority a traveller regularly encounters, will likely not being covered. Better invest a bit more and get a more profound cover, otherwise this travel insurance seems useless for most.

Reviewed on 30th October 2021
Jose's avatar
Jose
Get Product

Avoid at all cost

Make sure you untick the 'roll over' button because they will dip into your pocket without telling you and should you have the misfortune of having to speak to them - they are the rudest.

Reviewed on 27th January 2021
Henry Mortimer's avatar
Henry Mortimer
Get Product

Avoid. Unprofessional, poor customer service. Every possible reason to delay claim resolution

Ongoing claim since end of July. Every step is delayed at any possible matter, every time calling for an update is later/tomorrow, still assesing. Unable to escalate to manager. Shame i can't rate 0 star

Reviewed on 13th January 2021
Maggie Fijak's avatar
Maggie Fijak
Get Product

Easy and trustable

Process is very easy and it's a company on which I have a 100% trust.

Reviewed on 21st July 2019
Chetan's avatar
Chetan
Get Product

Great experience

I had a great experience with Coverwise, the purchase process was easy and staright forward so I could focus on my trip planning. Also, the price was low for a decent travel insurance policy. 5 Stars!

Reviewed on 25th June 2019
Mark's avatar
Mark
Get Product

Good prices for insurance

If you are looking for competitive price travel insurance try coverwise. I could nt find cheaper policy even with pre existing medical conditions.

Reviewed on 14th August 2017
Rosanna Howard's avatar
Rosanna Howard
Get Product

Annual travel insurance

Sorting out the renewal of my policy was simple and straight forward. There was no problem sorting out my medical review. More than happy with the price and would recommend.

Reviewed on 24th December 2016
Natasha Jarvis's avatar
Natasha Jarvis
Get Product

Very Bad Customer Service

Very Bad Customer Service Need to make a clam 10 August 2016 so call them up i got the run round i had to phone 5 times and then for them to not send out the right forms for me to fell out. they did not take in my complaint .of that had to call in many ti Read more

Very Bad Customer Service Need to make a clam 10 August 2016 so call them up i got the run round i had to phone 5 times and then for them to not send out the right forms for me to fell out. they did not take in my complaint .of that had to call in many times and they did not they said over the phone i was cover and then said i need a dr. form for my dr. sing which he did and stamp then the Customer Service said i was lying over phone which i said i was not or dr. would not have it dr. sing the form for them to see then they said we need need to see dr. doctors medical reports which they got then they said because i said i was not 100 % when see my dr. on day i got home when i was going fly for my holiday they would not pay out on my claim this has taken 16 weeks i have chatted to ombudsman and
they have said this is not right and that 21 December that need a answer for my claim this means this has taken 17 weeks for me get claim look at and this not right i would not recommend any one to use AXA Travel Insurance or cover wise .co.uk they will use any way not pay you and delay your claim as much as possible and put you off as much as they i have made over 15 calls to cover wise and AXA Travel Insurance to try and get what i took my Insurance out for i hope this dose not happen to any one else 17 weeks of stress is not right for any to have go trough to get there claim look at and and for AXA Travel Insurance cover wise to give you what you pay for when you don't know what is going to happen in life.

Reviewed on 15th December 2016
Scott Bryant's avatar
Scott Bryant
Get Product

con artists

So I ended up in hospital and tried to claim in Florida. Cover wise said everything is fine and sent paper work to hospital. The when I got home AFTER the event I get a request for medical records which goes against their own policy and told me I would ha Read more

So I ended up in hospital and tried to claim in Florida. Cover wise said everything is fine and sent paper work to hospital. The when I got home AFTER the event I get a request for medical records which goes against their own policy and told me I would have together this at my expense, that is your job and if you don't follow your own process that's your fault!

After this I get a letter saying my policy is void due to visiting the doctors 5 years ago about 1 bout of diahreah and this was somehow related to a parasite I got infected with only found in America's? And I visited the docs AFTER I got home? Pure incompetent!

Raised a complaint and told that you need to declare ALL instances you went to the docs in 5 years?? NOT ongoing conditions? So unless you have your medical records in front of you or you remember EVERY instance and date, you are being sold a void policy- VERY MISLEADING. Absolute con artists and I will be going to lawyers as your questions are very confusing and resulted in costing me stress and money.

Avoid!

Reviewed on 15th November 2016
mark grey's avatar
mark grey
Get Product

Bad Customer service

they sent out my policy ok but when i went to claim they did not sent out all right document to me then i got email, say i did not do all of them when they did not even send all i need in first palace then i had to call back and it 4 call for them to get Read more

they sent out my policy ok but when i went to claim they did not sent out all right document to me then i got email, say i did not do all of them when they did not even send all i need in first palace then i had to call back and it 4 call for them to get it right. then i had to get my DR to sing and stamp the form then i got a new email say the dr did not sing it when he did it going to be 25 days before i get my money back.if i do i would not use cover wise for any thing.because they take there time and do not send out right info for you they give you run a round when you need to clam. very very bad.

Reviewed on 4th September 2016
Scott Bryant's avatar
Scott Bryant
Get Product

Ripped Off By Lying Claim Line Staff

It all looks good until you make a claim. I called Coverwise Claim Line twice and was told blatant lies and deliberately mislead by two different members of staff. This resulted in my insurance claim being rejected and I lost £400. Coverwise work with A Read more

It all looks good until you make a claim. I called Coverwise Claim Line twice and was told blatant lies and deliberately mislead by two different members of staff. This resulted in my insurance claim being rejected and I lost £400. Coverwise work with AXA who are also awful. Please avoid to save yourself being ripped off too.

Reviewed on 21st June 2016
Adrian Murphy's avatar
Adrian Murphy
Get Product

Travel Insurance

Jose A C Calado Yes they're are the must disgusting insurance company , been in Spain last week all our documents are stolen and they refuse to pay saying we shall not carry the documents. Shame is the Government not do nothing about this kind of company' Read more

Jose A C Calado Yes they're are the must disgusting insurance company , been in Spain last week all our documents are stolen and they refuse to pay saying we shall not carry the documents. Shame is the Government not do nothing about this kind of company's let theme been on market stolen money from people would feel protect if something happening and they belongs to AXA insurance company

Reviewed on 6th April 2016
Jose A C Calado's avatar
Jose A C Calado
Get Product