Hanley Economic Building Society Mortgages Reviews

  Ratings based on 130 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Hanley Economic Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source...

READ MORE

Hanley Economic Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Hanley Economic Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Mortgages Reviews

130 reviews

Review Hanley Economic Building Society's Mortgages now

Fantastic and friendly service

Jane was an absolute star through the whole mortgage journey !!. She was approachable, friendly and responsive, She updated me every step of the way . Thank you Jane for the amazing service!! Danielle who booked my initial appointment was also very helpfu Read more

Jane was an absolute star through the whole mortgage journey !!. She was approachable, friendly and responsive, She updated me every step of the way . Thank you Jane for the amazing service!! Danielle who booked my initial appointment was also very helpful and courteous. It was my first experience dealing with Hanley EBS. Thanks to both Danielle and Jane it was definitely the best experience I've had with any lender out there on high street...10/10

Reviewed on 19th June 2022
BeenA's avatar
BeenA

Amazing, Stress Free, Experience with the Human Touch

My wife and I have just remortgaged with the Hanely, having taken a mortgage with them a few years ago to buy a new build house. They are a joy to deal with compared to some of our experiences in the past. Simple, straight forward communication both on th Read more

My wife and I have just remortgaged with the Hanely, having taken a mortgage with them a few years ago to buy a new build house. They are a joy to deal with compared to some of our experiences in the past. Simple, straight forward communication both on the phone, with really knowledgeable members of staff and in writing. They are happy to talk you through the process and our remortgage, on a really competitive deal, could not have been any more straight forward. I would recommend them to everyone. This is banking as it should be.

Reviewed on 10th June 2022
Paul's avatar
Paul

Professional, Swift, and Informative

My husband and I were seeking additional funds for our self-build mortgage. The mortgage advisor, Jane Longmore, was so helpful, professional, and informative. The full process was very smooth, and the additional funding request was approved in record tim Read more

My husband and I were seeking additional funds for our self-build mortgage. The mortgage advisor, Jane Longmore, was so helpful, professional, and informative. The full process was very smooth, and the additional funding request was approved in record time. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
Karen McGowan's avatar
Karen McGowan

Fantastic service from start to finish

We applied for a new build mortgage and the customer care service we received from Lana Beech at the Hanley was professional, friendly, responsive and highly efficient. Fantastic service from start to finish!

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Peter Mav's avatar
Peter Mav

Excellent personal service

Our Mortgage Advisor was very customer focussed, responsive to our request and gave us the right information to make informed decisions. Our needs were quite specific as we were funding a significant house renovation. She understood our needs and was ve Read more

Our Mortgage Advisor was very customer focussed, responsive to our request and gave us the right information to make informed decisions.
Our needs were quite specific as we were funding a significant house renovation.
She understood our needs and was very clear about what was possible and not possible with the products available.

Reviewed on 5th March 2022
Jamie's avatar
Jamie

A person not a number

Cashier’s know people by name ,and are always helpful. Go beyond to be helpful.

Reviewed on 11th February 2022
Phil Tyler's avatar
Phil Tyler

Lana was a legend!

Me and my wife had a very individual situation, moving from Singapore to then being self-employed in the UK had its own rings to jump through. As soon as we approached the Hanely we had a very welcoming and helpful team help us obtain and sort a mortg Read more

Me and my wife had a very individual situation, moving from Singapore to then being self-employed in the UK had its own rings to jump through.

As soon as we approached the Hanely we had a very welcoming and helpful team help us obtain and sort a mortgage to buy our dream home.

Throughout the process, we had our own advisor (Lana) who not only was very helpful she was also very understanding and personable with our situation.

I'm not going to stand and say that buying a house is stress free. But we were lucky to have someone responsive and helpful throughout the process.

Reviewed on 10th February 2022
William Foden's avatar
William Foden

amazing staff!

helpful , knowlegable staff that gave lots of information and help with getting the right mortgage

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Emma J Walters's avatar
Emma J Walters

Ideal for my needs.

I was recommended the retirement mortgage by a good friend who had just taken one out herself with the Hanley. Jane Longmore handled her application. Jane also handled my application . ....She was pleasant ,polite and professional. Guided Read more

I was recommended the retirement mortgage by a good friend who had just taken one out herself with the Hanley.
Jane Longmore handled her application.
Jane also handled my application .





....She was pleasant ,polite and professional.
Guided me through the whole process patiently.
It was easy to get in touch with her when I needed , by both email and telephone.
She always responded promptly.
I am now in my new home

I would not hesitate to recommend the Hanley to others looking for a mortgage.

Reviewed on 10th December 2021
Phyllis Armstrong's avatar
Phyllis Armstrong

Fantastic service

As a first time buyer, I was clueless when it came to the process of buying a house and getting a mortgage. Jane at The Hanley was there every step of the way to support me with my application to ensure I was able to secure my AIP and ultimately the mortg Read more

As a first time buyer, I was clueless when it came to the process of buying a house and getting a mortgage. Jane at The Hanley was there every step of the way to support me with my application to ensure I was able to secure my AIP and ultimately the mortgage that had allowed me to buy my first home. The customer service from Jane and the team is second to none. Thank you again for your support and dedication during what I am sure has been one of the busiest times, it has really been appreciated.

Reviewed on 29th November 2021
Jack1994's avatar
Jack1994

Reply from Hanley Economic Building Society

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review, we will certainly share this with Jane and the rest of the business. Congratulations on purchasing your first home, we wish you many happy years there!

Self build mortgage

I searched the market directly myself and via specialist brokers and the best deal I could find for self build was with Hanley. Furthermore dealing with the team there to get the mortgage set up was thorough but simple, they were very helpful and proactiv Read more

I searched the market directly myself and via specialist brokers and the best deal I could find for self build was with Hanley. Furthermore dealing with the team there to get the mortgage set up was thorough but simple, they were very helpful and proactive throughout. We just need to get the house built now!!

Reviewed on 1st November 2021
murray's avatar
murray

Great service and products

It's been a great experience working with the Hanley. It can be a real challenge in navigating all of the documentation and options available. I dealt with Lana who is exceptional at being by your side helping to guide you through the process. She's patie Read more

It's been a great experience working with the Hanley. It can be a real challenge in navigating all of the documentation and options available. I dealt with Lana who is exceptional at being by your side helping to guide you through the process. She's patient, calm and so knowledgeable and I feel is a reflection of the Hanley Economic culture. I feel in safe hands and would recommend them (and Lana) to anyone.

Reviewed on 15th October 2021
Matt Franks's avatar
Matt Franks

Very reassuring building society to be part of

10/10 for the service provided by Jane Longmore when we applied for a mortgage. Couldn't ask for better. Overall rating only 4 stars because there were a couple of hitches involving the Hanley underwriters which were unnecessary and caused us significan Read more

10/10 for the service provided by Jane Longmore when we applied for a mortgage. Couldn't ask for better. Overall rating only 4 stars because there were a couple of hitches involving the Hanley underwriters which were unnecessary and caused us significant stress at critical times during the application. However, it's good to be part of this Society now.

Reviewed on 11th October 2021
Paul's avatar
Paul

Excellent service from Jane

From the very first telephone conversation right through to our Mortgage acceptance Hanley Economic have been so easy to deal with. Jane Longmore who dealt with us from that initial telephone conversation has not only shown how Professional and efficien Read more

From the very first telephone conversation right through to our Mortgage acceptance Hanley Economic have been so easy to deal with.
Jane Longmore who dealt with us from that initial telephone conversation has not only shown how Professional and efficient she is at her job, she has also been very friendly and helpful in understanding our needs and indeed when technical support was needed was there to assist us with that also.
We would certainly recommend Hanley and are thoroughly satisfied with the service and product we received.

Reviewed on 4th October 2021
Malcolm Johnson's avatar
Malcolm Johnson

Sound honest advice

From the first telephone call to the latest Jane Longmore was helpful and very professional.She explained every option in detail and made sure I chose the right product to suit my requirements.Overall we are very pleased and grateful for the service we re Read more

From the first telephone call to the latest Jane Longmore was helpful and very professional.She explained every option in detail and made sure I chose the right product to suit my requirements.Overall we are very pleased and grateful for the service we received.

Reviewed on 24th September 2021
Lloyd Jones's avatar
Lloyd Jones

Brilliant Service 5*

Lana offered great service from the start of the application and throughout what became a complicated and drawn out sale. Very quick to respond to any query I had and any advice required. Explained everything in an easily understandable way to a first tim Read more

Lana offered great service from the start of the application and throughout what became a complicated and drawn out sale. Very quick to respond to any query I had and any advice required. Explained everything in an easily understandable way to a first time buyer - would highly recommend!!

Reviewed on 8th September 2021
NW's avatar
NW

Reply from Hanley Economic Building Society

Thank you very much for your review, we will certainly share this with Lana and the business.

Efficient effective service from my adviser Anna

The Hanley help me with a mortgage offer as an existing customer moving house. They have been extremely helpful and diligent in their dealings with me and found a product that worked for my needs.

Reviewed on 24th August 2021
Andy W's avatar
Andy W

Friendly and supportive

We recently had a mortgage with the Hanley which I felt was a smooth and easy process. As we are fist time buyers Jane explained everything to us in detail and nothing was ever too much trouble. She made us feel comfortable every step of the way.

Reviewed on 19th August 2021
Daniela Antinoro's avatar
Daniela Antinoro

Fantastic service

My experience with Hanley economic has been wonderful, purchasing a home can be very stressful but Hanley we’re amazing from our mortgage advisor to the underwriter. Would highly recommend

Reviewed on 5th August 2021
Verified Member's avatar
Verified Member

Lana Beech - outstanding Mortgage Adviser!

There were some nuances to our application which Lana quickly got to the bottom of and discussed with Credit to ensure there would not be further issues down the line. She managed expectations and delivered on promises to call at the times she said she wo Read more

There were some nuances to our application which Lana quickly got to the bottom of and discussed with Credit to ensure there would not be further issues down the line. She managed expectations and delivered on promises to call at the times she said she would. Lana was very accessible and responded to emails / voicemails promptly. Despite no doubt having a large caseload, Lana has an incredible knack of making you feel looked after and you have confidence that your application won't be lost in a black hole.

Despite the application process being excellent, responses from Underwriting took far too long and required chasing several times by Lana. To make the process from end to end as good as it can be, this is an area which requires much improvement.

Reviewed on 4th August 2021
Rebecca Cartwright's avatar
Rebecca Cartwright