Metro Bank Current Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,909 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Metro Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Metro Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a Metro Bank customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Metro Bank customer,...

READ MORE

Metro Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Metro Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a Metro Bank customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Metro Bank customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of Metro Bank Current Account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Current Account Reviews

1,909 reviews

Review Metro Bank's Current Account now

Poor. Left clients with no money abroad

Froze all my money while I was travelling because I just logged in the app, refused to unlock my accounts (personal and business!) even after I provided all document till I back and get into their branch in person. The Metro bank didn’t learn a thing from Read more

Froze all my money while I was travelling because I just logged in the app, refused to unlock my accounts (personal and business!) even after I provided all document till I back and get into their branch in person. The Metro bank didn’t learn a thing from the 2-year Covid pandemic. Even after I got into the branch it took them 30 hrs and three more chasers to unlock my money. My direct debits and other payments were all late thanks to Metro. I left official complain as they didn’t provide any alternative method to unlock accounts while I am abroad, what if I travel for months? Metro refused to admit there is any issue, said it is a special sanction policy. So far I know they block you in Turkey and Finland. I dried my accounts the next day. Never wanna use this bank ever again

Reviewed on 22nd August 2022
Liza Galaktionova's avatar
Liza Galaktionova

A BANK THAT PRACTICES PREJUDICE IN THE 21ST CENTUARY AGAINST IRANIANS

I was basically told by the business account representative at the Putney branch that Iranians face extra scrutiny when trying to open up bank accounts with Metro Bank. This is due to the sanctions currently implemented against the government of Iran. How Read more

I was basically told by the business account representative at the Putney branch that Iranians face extra scrutiny when trying to open up bank accounts with Metro Bank. This is due to the sanctions currently implemented against the government of Iran. However even though I tried to explain that I'm a British citizen and have lived over here for some 44 years and furthermore have no dealing with Iran whatsoever, I was told it wouldn't make any difference as I was born in Iran and that would be the obstacle in the process of opening up an account at Metro Bank!!! This is 21st century prejudice/racism and cannot be ignored if the society we live in screams out that the West is the beacon/herald of justice and equality. Before I close down on this just to let everyone know that the Metro Bank is about to receive a law suit by Iranian business people. Read about it on the Guardian. SHAME ON YOU!

Reviewed on 16th August 2022
Shahram Kordestani's avatar
Shahram Kordestani

Hardly Customer Focused

Just opened an account and called in for my Bank card.. Sorted out online banking and then tried to set up the phone app, as that would be more convienient. However, when I tried to log on via the app I got a message Somethings not Right? Try again .. So Read more

Just opened an account and called in for my Bank card.. Sorted out online banking and then tried to set up the phone app, as that would be more convienient. However, when I tried to log on via the app I got a message Somethings not Right? Try again .. So I did and got the sam message. ( I did check step by step with my good lady I wasnt entering the wrong data twice) On the third attemp I was locked out. So called customer service. He reset the app and asked me to try again whilst he was on the line, so I did, twice more, again each step checked meticulously and got the same "Somethings not right" At the second attempt ( as it was near going home time) he said he couldnt help and that I would have to call back in the morning !!!!!!!! Will be closing the account tomorrow. Luckily I hadnt transfered funds into the account so nothing lost.

Reviewed on 14th August 2022
Buster West's avatar
Buster West

Own Ratesetter loans

Metro owns Ratesetter loans who are disgraceful and do not conform to the Credit Consumer Act 1974 and openly tell me this. Tried to pay loan early but interest charged in full. This is a loan of my terminally ill husband and i was trying to clear his lo Read more

Metro owns Ratesetter loans who are disgraceful and do not conform to the Credit Consumer Act 1974 and openly tell me this. Tried to pay loan early but interest charged in full. This is a loan of my terminally ill husband and i was trying to clear his loan early.
I would ha e nothing to do with this bank.

Reviewed on 2nd August 2022
Karen Langley's avatar
Karen Langley

Disgrace

Do not use this bank under any circumstances. Money disappearing from my account. Then taking transactions twice and claiming it wasn't there fault. Then putting phone down. This bank should not be trusted with anyones money under any circumstances. Read more

Do not use this bank under any circumstances.
Money disappearing from my account.
Then taking transactions twice and claiming it wasn't there fault.
Then putting phone down.
This bank should not be trusted with anyones money under any circumstances.
Dangerous and scary how there allowed to operate
Looks like i will taking them to court

Reviewed on 27th July 2022
Lloyd Hayes's avatar
Lloyd Hayes

Too many branch closures

Metro Bank is a great company however they keep closing down branches and this is not at all accpetable

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
Christopher Rainbow's avatar
Christopher Rainbow

worst bank ever

the staff are rude and aggressive / and if you ever loose access to account , no chance of get back , worst bank ever been with , even toothless ombudsman cant help , all I wanted to do was change address, and as phone number was deleted as forgot to top Read more

the staff are rude and aggressive / and if you ever loose access to account , no chance of get back , worst bank ever been with , even toothless ombudsman cant help , all I wanted to do was change address, and as phone number was deleted as forgot to top up as so much stress with mother / father / best friend all die in quick secession / they insist you go in, as they have to look at your face or wont action , i moved out of area after father died there nearest bank was over 150 miles away / in a pandemic they thought it was fine to travel that far, and take off mask, and i was shielding, I am on autistic spectrum / dyslexia its so hard / other financial institutions have this on record and have always helped me / but any disability metro / you back in 1800s and stuffed , they say modern but they not they are draconian and dictatorial , even phone bank very abrupt and rude , so went ombudsman who also think it is ok, to travel over 100 miles and take off mask in pandemic, when shielding , waste of time bank , not enough branches for a we must see face to access account, so did online switch to nation wide , which went so smooth , was easier than try just change address with metro crap / what a difference so helpful, metro bank dont waste you time / ombudsman also dont waste your time . Just glad i never put legacy in metro bank or would not have access to inheritance !

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
tony preston's avatar
tony preston

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR BEING AMAZINGLY PERFECT!

On the 1st July 2022, I heard a brilliant interview with Ian Miles-recruitment coordinator He was amazingly perfect of the very highest degree. He was very professional, thorough and precise! Angelo-one of the customer service agents working was also impe Read more

On the 1st July 2022, I heard a brilliant interview with Ian Miles-recruitment coordinator He was amazingly perfect of the very highest degree. He was very professional, thorough and precise! Angelo-one of the customer service agents working was also impeccably flawless and immaculate to the very highest degree!
THANK YOU VERY, VERY, MUCH FOR BEING AMAZINGLY PERFECT TO THE VERY HIGHEST DEGREE! I WISH THEM THE VERY BEST IN THE FUTURE!

Reviewed on 4th July 2022
Sachin Thumba Naik 's avatar
Sachin Thumba Naik

The worst bank in UK

Shouldn't receive any star!!!! The worst bank ever! I was getting paid by my Employer every month since 5 years Last month I didn't received my wages... When I called Metro bank customer services I was told that transfer been rejected by them as it's Read more

Shouldn't receive any star!!!!
The worst bank ever!
I was getting paid by my Employer every month since 5 years
Last month I didn't received my wages...
When I called Metro bank customer services I was told that transfer been rejected by them as it's doesn't match name in the system...
I'm foreigner and believe me - impossible to meet someone with same surname as mine in here....!!!
I was advised to call my Employer ( who has another 400 employees on payroll) and advice them to make another bank transfer with name as appear on my card....
I did what's been advised... and guess what...
after waiting over 48 hours ( as Staines branch manager advised that this is time for transfer to arrive to your bank account - if you banking with Metro!) transfer been rejected again!
As name didn't match my bank account.
It was matching for 5 years and suddenly stopped....
If you want to receive normal transfers ( max 2 hours wait) please categorically avoid opening account with Metro bank!!!!

Reviewed on 27th May 2022
K's avatar
K

Account opening process

Absolutely awful service. Spent two hours in the lobby just waiting for staff to speak with me. I tried to open an account as a Ukrainian and they spent half an hour searching on google if I come from occupied territory or not. After I provided the offici Read more

Absolutely awful service. Spent two hours in the lobby just waiting for staff to speak with me. I tried to open an account as a Ukrainian and they spent half an hour searching on google if I come from occupied territory or not. After I provided the official UK government page for Russian sanctioned territories the manager said we do not care about UK guidance because we are a US owned bank and follow our own rules. The manager promised to follow up on the matter with the head office and get back to me however it has been 3 days and the manager is not replying to any of my emails. Jus to clarify I have been living in the UK for the past 15 years and provided two proofs of address.

Reviewed on 27th May 2022
ALLTHE BEST's avatar
ALLTHE BEST

Excellent innovative service

I’d highly recommend, the service is excellent, they are able to produce a new bank card in the branch, it only takes a few minutes. Very convenient

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Lucinda's avatar
Lucinda

Best bank

Metro bank has great online and telephone support to report any problems, which usually gets sorted by the end of the day. Easy to navigate website and the team are very polite and professional

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Kerry Hedges's avatar
Kerry Hedges

A High Street Bank with branches and real staff.

A couple of years ago I opened a current account with Metro Bank. The difference between them and other banks is that they have branches with are open. You can walk in and speak to a real person who is knowledgable and helpful.

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Alison Barker's avatar
Alison Barker

Fraudsters

Bank riddled with fraudsters. I get a call in June 2020 stating my account has been flagged for raising over 20+ disputes at once. I immediately tell the person on the phone Judy from the fraud team that this is not me and I know nothing regarding any dis Read more

Bank riddled with fraudsters. I get a call in June 2020 stating my account has been flagged for raising over 20+ disputes at once. I immediately tell the person on the phone Judy from the fraud team that this is not me and I know nothing regarding any disputes. I told her to check if this was the correct person she was informing. She then went to hear the phone call and heard a long call with no voices and notes on the system written by an employee however nothing was linked back to me. I was then told that this was iternal fraud occuring within the bank and I should not worry about it. I was told by some very confused sounding employees that its fine. I immediatly requested to have my account shut and removed my funds from the bank. They did not go ahead and close the account and kept it open. I receive a letter some months later stating that my account is in arrears and that I should pay the outstanding funds. I was so confused and told the bank that this account should not be active. They continued to mark the account as a late payment and now two years on I still have a late marker on the account. I appealed through a Experian and the bank now is claiming it never happened and do not agree with what I am saying. I would high recommend staying as far away from this bank as possible. I have heard many things since regarding fraud happening within the bank and money laundering which is being investigated. The same bank I bank at had an employee stealing from customer accounts and then fled the country when he got caught. It is a bank built with amateurs and fraudsters. I will be following this up with trading standards and also the financial ombudsman.

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Ebrio's avatar
Ebrio

What genuine caring people. They will help in anyway they can. They have changed the face of high street Banking. Availability. Welcoming just how it should be.

As above these people have brought back to the high Street a product that was lost years ago. Only previously available in private banks. When you walk into a branch.they are aways pleased to see you and offer every assistance

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Stephen Lowe's avatar
Stephen Lowe

Friendly service

All the staff at Metro Bank are friendly and really helpful and they welcome my dog and make a fuss of him too

Reviewed on 28th March 2022
Dave Drewry's avatar
Dave Drewry

Metro Bank- Sheffield Branch

Sheffield branch are a brilliant and friendly compassionate team.

Reviewed on 28th March 2022
Toby's avatar
Toby

Amazing bank

There is no word to describe metro bank. Metro bank is the best

Reviewed on 28th March 2022
Ajini Goldwyn's avatar
Ajini Goldwyn

Excellent customer service

The service I always receive from Metro Bank is always excellent. Great personal service, they never try to direct you to cash machines and away from the counter like most other banks do. Opening hours are great too,

Reviewed on 27th March 2022
Margaret Volland's avatar
Margaret Volland

Amazing service

So quick to open an account, helpful staff, and easy to access the branches.

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
Christopher Adams's avatar
Christopher Adams