Saga Reviews

  Ratings based on 8,231 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Saga is a British company focused on serving the needs of those aged 50 and over. It has 2.7 million customers. Smart Money People is the place for Saga reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Car Insurance

Shocking service

One of their customers hit me. I’ve won my claim and been chasing my access for 5 WEEKS!! They ignore my emails and trying to speak to someone on the phone is IMPOSSIBLE. Good luck to anyone that takes out a premium with them or god forbid has an accident Read more

One of their customers hit me. I’ve won my claim and been chasing my access for 5 WEEKS!! They ignore my emails and trying to speak to someone on the phone is IMPOSSIBLE. Good luck to anyone that takes out a premium with them or god forbid has an accident with their terrible drivers. Matter is still ongoing and I’ve now had to formally complain. Awful service. I’d recommend my insurance AGEAS-amazing. Saga? TRAGIC.

Reviewed on 10th June 2022
Em's avatar
Em
Write a review

Car Insurance

The worst customer service

All fine until I claimed for a windscreen replacement. They sent National Windscreens to do the work. Heavy handed fitter damaged my car dash while doing the job. Subsequently denied it of course. Saga said it wasn’t their problem and there was no basis f Read more

All fine until I claimed for a windscreen replacement. They sent National Windscreens to do the work. Heavy handed fitter damaged my car dash while doing the job. Subsequently denied it of course. Saga said it wasn’t their problem and there was no basis for me to claim on my insurance for the damage their agent had inflicted. Outrageous.

Reviewed on 6th June 2022
Alan's avatar
Alan
Write a review

Car Insurance

I would give them no stars if i could

i would give saga no stars if i could,i had my catalytic converter stolen from my vehicle on 31st march and gave them details same day,they told me my car would be a total loss as it was an old car and i couldnt have a courtesy car as it is a theft,i have Read more

i would give saga no stars if i could,i had my catalytic converter stolen from my vehicle on 31st march and gave them details same day,they told me my car would be a total loss as it was an old car and i couldnt have a courtesy car as it is a theft,i have been phoning and emailing them to no avail eventualy engineer came out 28th april and looked at it and took pics and said it would be total loss,since then i have been calling aprox 40 times all i get is a message saying due to global events they cant answer the phone and email says they will get back to you but they never do,i'd like to know what global events are stopping them answering the phone or email for a total loss claim yet they answer the sales line no problem,i have now been waiting over 2 months with no car like a prisoner in my own home,cancelling appointments then rebooking and rebooking again,i would never use saga again.

Reviewed on 4th June 2022
steve c's avatar
steve c
Write a review

Car Insurance

Atrocious poor sevice

That do not answer the phone or reply to e-mails unless they are taking your money avoid this company at all cost. Their service is at best atrocious, you have been warned.move on to a decent company you won’t regret it

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
peter.pafc@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
peter.pafc@hotmail.co.uk
Write a review

Car Insurance

Atrocious poor servce

Do not get involved with saga car insurance, when you need them they do not answer the phone or e-mails unless they are taking your money, their service overhaul is atrocious,you have been warned

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
peter.pafc@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
peter.pafc@hotmail.co.uk
Write a review

Home Insurance

Steer well clear of Saga insurance. Appalling service!

On Friday Feb 18th, storm Eunice brought our gable wall down at 1.30 p.m. I telephoned Saga at 3 p.m. the same day and was told someone would phone me back within 24 hours. They didn't. Even though the cavity wall was exposed, nothing was done to protect Read more

On Friday Feb 18th, storm Eunice brought our gable wall down at 1.30 p.m. I telephoned Saga at 3 p.m. the same day and was told someone would phone me back within 24 hours. They didn't. Even though the cavity wall was exposed, nothing was done to protect it. It took 45 days, a series of phone calls, often waiting for up to 2 hours, and dealing with agents Working from Home, none of whom were credible. We were passed on endlessly to other names, but always had long waits on the phone. In all, I spoke with 17 different people, and each one wanted to start from scratch again.
Turns out that in our case, Saga use underwriters called Acromas, who were just as inept in dealing with us and they in turn used a company called Davies to investigate our claim. Just as inefficient as the others!
Obstructive is the only word to describe all three organisations.
To add insult to injury, when I complained to Saga, the complaint of poor service was "Not Upheld" because they claimed that the damage was caused by exceptional and unexpected weather. I pointed out that storm Eunice was well forecast, both in terms of timing and severity, for over a week which should have given Saga et al the opportunity to ensure that they had sufficient staff working to handle claims.
NEVER EVEN CONSIDER USING SAGA INSURANCE PRODUCTS.
..... and a last comment.
My neighbour who suffered no damage at all in the storm, was telephoned by her insurers, (Churchills), to see if she had suffered any damage and how they could help. Another neighbour received a text message the day after the storm offering help if it were needed.

Reviewed on 7th May 2022
Royston KItley's avatar
Royston KItley
Write a review

Home Insurance

rip off

trying to charge for renewal not wanted or asked for

Reviewed on 27th April 2022
Tony Beard's avatar
Tony Beard
Write a review

Home Insurance

Something Changed

It appears Saga have either changed underwriters for insurance or they have made a corporate decision to refuse claims. The ratings over the last 6 months are abysmal. Saga are a sales agent the underwriters are being obstructive with claims and extremely Read more

It appears Saga have either changed underwriters for insurance or they have made a corporate decision to refuse claims. The ratings over the last 6 months are abysmal. Saga are a sales agent the underwriters are being obstructive with claims and extremely difficult.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Bob.b's avatar
Bob.b
Write a review

Home Insurance

Sales operator sub let insurance.

Failed on security qustions when trying to make a claim. Did i have contents and buildings cover answered yes. No i didn't not with Lloyds building insurance as contents underwritten by a different company ? Finally spent 2 hrs on phone with person trying Read more

Failed on security qustions when trying to make a claim. Did i have contents and buildings cover answered yes. No i didn't not with Lloyds building insurance as contents underwritten by a different company ? Finally spent 2 hrs on phone with person trying to tell me i wasn't covered as leak on roof was prior to new policy, then went to check what the rainfall was for my area a month before. Then offered a survey to establish when leak occurred by a company with 50no 1 star ratings about refusal to support claims. It appears my home insurance isn't worth the paper it's written on as a phone operator working from home thinks my leak started prior to their responsibility. How do i know im not a roofer and don't climb into the loft on a daily basis. 21/2 to 3hrs still not resolved. Avoid like the plague, home working has a lot to answer for.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Bob.b's avatar
Bob.b
Write a review

Car Insurance

No fault accident claim

I must let people know about the atrocious service received when another car ran into my wife's car. It's been a week now and still no further forward. the automatic help line tells you to send an email and then automatically cuts off. Now 3 days later a Read more

I must let people know about the atrocious service received when another car ran into my wife's car. It's been a week now and still no further forward. the automatic help line tells you to send an email and then automatically cuts off. Now 3 days later and still no response to the email. Disgusting service !

Reviewed on 21st April 2022
Mick Oxley's avatar
Mick Oxley
Write a review

Health Insurance

Possibly the worst decision I have ever made

It look very good on paper, and a strong brand etc, however the reality is very different. Communicating with them is nigh on impossible and when you have any issues they simply blame AXA and walk away.There is no customer service, focus or care, stay we Read more

It look very good on paper, and a strong brand etc, however the reality is very different. Communicating with them is nigh on impossible and when you have any issues they simply blame AXA and walk away.There is no customer service, focus or care, stay well clear.

Reviewed on 11th April 2022
toby joseph's avatar
toby joseph
Write a review

Car Insurance

Unbelievable

Renewable premium quotation more than doubled from approximately £500 to £1,050.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
Clive Turvey's avatar
Clive Turvey
Write a review

Car Insurance

Very poor customer service

Renewal quote is double the amount of other companies with the same cover

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Paul green Bridlington's avatar
Paul green Bridlington
Write a review

Home Insurance

Total rip off

After being with saga for over 10 years had to do a new home insurance policy as debit card had expired they charged me over £34 for cancellation fee which I didn't cancel my policy and then wanted more than twice as much money for the same policy total r Read more

After being with saga for over 10 years had to do a new home insurance policy as debit card had expired they charged me over £34 for cancellation fee which I didn't cancel my policy and then wanted more than twice as much money for the same policy total rip off now gone with another company even cheaper same cover

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Paul green Bridlington's avatar
Paul green Bridlington
Write a review

Car Insurance

Poor service

My car has been repaired by one of there approved garages independently inspected due to bad workmanship still not been sorted out numerous calls now gone to the FCA ombudsman

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
george mangan's avatar
george mangan
Write a review

Car Insurance

Totally rubbish

After being a customer for over 10 years to have my renewal quote more than double total rip off

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
Paul green Bridlington's avatar
Paul green Bridlington
Write a review

Car Insurance

will not be using again

I sold my car, so cancelled my policy with saga. They then charged me fifty pounds to cancel plus a further twenty five pounds non refundable admin fee i apparantly paid when i set the policy up! Well goodbye saga, thats the last time you will have the op Read more

I sold my car, so cancelled my policy with saga. They then charged me fifty pounds to cancel plus a further twenty five pounds non refundable admin fee i apparantly paid when i set the policy up! Well goodbye saga, thats the last time you will have the opportunity to rip me off

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Andrew Wrenn's avatar
Andrew Wrenn
Write a review

Home Insurance

Absolutely First Class performance

I had a leak in the pipe going into my mains tank and made a claim on their Home Emergency policy . The problem was found late on a Saturday evening and I rang Saga claims 9 am Sunday morning. The claim was logged and I received very informative texts as Read more

I had a leak in the pipe going into my mains tank and made a claim on their Home Emergency policy . The problem was found late on a Saturday evening and I rang Saga claims 9 am Sunday morning. The claim was logged and I received very informative texts as to progress and when a plumber should call. A very competent tradesman called the same afternoon, who quickly isolated the fault and repaired it completely. A perfect and speedy resolution. Thoroughly recommend this company, their brilliant attitude and attention to their customer.

Reviewed on 6th March 2022
Graham Adley's avatar
Graham Adley
Write a review

Car Insurance

Excellent service by one of your staff

I dealt with a gentleman called Asanti who was very helpful and explained everything in great detail. Many thanks to him A previous femail contact was very abrupt and left us cold not wanting to renew our policy with you again.

Reviewed on 4th March 2022
Carol France's avatar
Carol France
Write a review

Pet Insurance

Wouldnt Pay Out For Teeth Extractions.

My Cat Jim Bob had to have all his teeth removed due to the Caliche Virus which caused severe ulcers in the mouth. vet recommended having his teeth removed to stop the virus from causing the ulcers anymore. I spoke to Sag before Jim had surgery and was to Read more

My Cat Jim Bob had to have all his teeth removed due to the Caliche Virus which caused severe ulcers in the mouth. vet recommended having his teeth removed to stop the virus from causing the ulcers anymore. I spoke to Sag before Jim had surgery and was told that yes it would be covered under my insurance, When I submitted the bill they declined it, saying "dental" is not covered, my vet then wrote to them saying it wasn't done for a dental reason as there was nothing wrong with his teeth but to help the cat recover from the awful symptoms he had from the Virus, removing the teeth was the only option. Saga still refuses to pay this bill. I think this is utterly outrageous. I have 5 policies with this company and will now look into finding alternative cover for my other cats elsewhere.

Reviewed on 28th February 2022
Linda Eyles's avatar
Linda Eyles
Write a review