Santander Mortgage Reviews

  Ratings based on 136 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Santander mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Santander mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to...

READ MORE

Santander mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Santander mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Mortgage Reviews

136 reviews

Review Santander's Mortgage now

Avoid, Avoid, Avoid!

Please avoid this bank! They are a complete nightmare! Applied for mortgage only 40% of house asking price as we have 60% of deposit. They are giving us the complete run around. Conversation I had yesterday with them was them telling me to rent close to Read more

Please avoid this bank! They are a complete nightmare!
Applied for mortgage only 40% of house asking price as we have 60% of deposit. They are giving us the complete run around. Conversation I had yesterday with them was them telling me to rent close to the area we want to buy a house, and then apply for mortgage!! Doesn’t matter that we are transferring our jobs (with our employers) apparently we have to transfer, rent and then apply!! Oh to top it off, FIND A NEW HOUSE TO BUY!!

Reviewed on 23rd October 2022
Patricia Hylton's avatar
Patricia Hylton

Avoid, unable to talk to customer service

Constantly calling and messaging, after 3 months still not managed to speak to a member of staff despite escalating to complaints.

Reviewed on 13th October 2022
Remain Anonymous's avatar
Remain Anonymous

credit fix

We wanted to buy a car, but we found out that my credit score was really low to do anything. I had about 13 cards in collections. One was a medical bill I guess. We hired a credit repair agency to assist me with my credit. Within a few weeks, they raised Read more

We wanted to buy a car, but we found out that my credit score was really low to do anything. I had about 13 cards in collections. One was a medical bill I guess. We hired a credit repair agency to assist me with my credit. Within a few weeks, they raised my score to 791, took care of all collection cards and added a seasoned line of credit. We got the new car ASAP. FixMyCredit is a sweetheart, you can hire them too; fixmycredit at writeme d0t com.  

Reviewed on 13th October 2022
Sheila Haden's avatar
Sheila Haden

Avoid!!!

Their rates are now 6.8%!!! I tried to renew a few weeks back on 3.7% but due to their systems being down I wasn’t able to. Now I am being told I have no option but to renew on 6.8% due to my situation which means I have to sell my home! They lie. A Read more

Their rates are now 6.8%!!!
I tried to renew a few weeks back on 3.7% but due to their systems being down I wasn’t able to. Now I am being told I have no option but to renew on 6.8% due to my situation which means I have to sell my home!

They lie. And they just so happen to loose the recording proving I tried to renew on 3.7%. They are crooks!

Reviewed on 10th October 2022
Samantha West's avatar
Samantha West

RIP OFF

Santander charging 5.95 '/, Already

Reviewed on 28th September 2022
allan owen's avatar
allan owen

A true disgrace

The lawyer Integrar they use is a total disgrace and make Santander mortgages impossible. There is no way i shall use them again. Stay well away if you want a mortgage processed in anything less than 3 months

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
Nick Frost's avatar
Nick Frost

Mortgage review

Don’t try applying for a mortgage with this company. Despite having banked with them for 5 years, they still refused to accept evidence of my address. Completely useless.

Reviewed on 14th August 2022
Graham Cooper's avatar
Graham Cooper

Short mortgage offer and product fee not refunded

Santander only offered 5 months mortgage (so no good when buying a new build). Better interest rate shopping elsewhere (E.g. Halifax) as offer expired and do not refund on £999 "product fee" - Beware!

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
Anna Tuyen's avatar
Anna Tuyen

Wonderful

They have always been straight forward, quick to respond and great at keeping me informed

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Pete Chapman's avatar
Pete Chapman

My Santander creditcard is blocked

My Santander creditcard was block 8-days ago. I went to the branch to show my passport and proof of income the next day. I was told the card will be unblocked within 48-hours. I have been calling their customer services twice a day for over a week. It tak Read more

My Santander creditcard was block 8-days ago. I went to the branch to show my passport and proof of income the next day. I was told the card will be unblocked within 48-hours. I have been calling their customer services twice a day for over a week. It takes 30-60 minutes wait time plus 30 minutes if the call is transferred to another department. The calls were also disconnected many times. Every time I call, the customer services said sit back and keep an eye on your mobile and wait for a call back for their security team. Santander creditcard department is one of the worst to help customers. I have applied for another creditcard today. Please don't waste time with Santander.

Reviewed on 27th April 2022
Sami Minhas's avatar
Sami Minhas

Time wasters

My entire mortgage experience with Santander was awful... Took them 9 weeks to get my mortgage application done, very poor communication and openly discriminated against maternity leave. It was shocked at how bad the entire service was. I have never had t Read more

My entire mortgage experience with Santander was awful... Took them 9 weeks to get my mortgage application done, very poor communication and openly discriminated against maternity leave. It was shocked at how bad the entire service was. I have never had this to deal with for past mortgages I have had, I would not recommend at all

Reviewed on 21st April 2022
Laura Miranda's avatar
Laura Miranda

Rubbish

Had a mortgage with Santander for years, no problems. Went to get another one when buying another property and got strung along for 8 weeks after getting a MIP while asking for bits of information then got rejected on the stupidest of reasons. Consulte Read more

Had a mortgage with Santander for years, no problems.
Went to get another one when buying another property and got strung along for 8 weeks after getting a MIP while asking for bits of information then got rejected on the stupidest of reasons.
Consulted a mortgage broker and he said they are awful to deal with and is now securing me with another mortgage.
The sellers of the property we are buying are now understandably anxious as we are at the bottom of a chain. All in all I'd avoid like the plague.

Reviewed on 14th April 2022
MJ's avatar
MJ

SLAS that they simply cant meet!

Renegotiated on cost of property, sent back to Santander for amendment over 2 weeks ago (which was supposed to take at most 5 working days) now risk losing our propeety because of their delays. Sort out your SLAS Santander as this is peoples lives you are Read more

Renegotiated on cost of property, sent back to Santander for amendment over 2 weeks ago (which was supposed to take at most 5 working days) now risk losing our propeety because of their delays. Sort out your SLAS Santander as this is peoples lives you are ruining here! AvOID if you can!

Reviewed on 7th April 2022
Helen Grice's avatar
Helen Grice

Very Difficult to Deal With

Don't even THINK about using this company for your mortgage!! We sold our house in Feb. & the loan was paid off the same day the next payment was due. They drafted the payment anyway & refused to reverse it. It's now over 30 days since the closing & we're Read more

Don't even THINK about using this company for your mortgage!! We sold our house in Feb. & the loan was paid off the same day the next payment was due. They drafted the payment anyway & refused to reverse it. It's now over 30 days since the closing & we're still waiting for that refund. They sent a letter last week which had to be signed & returned verifying our new address... this was covered at the closing! We finally received the escrow refund just yesterday. Why didn't they issue 1 check for both items? Because they'll make money off OUR money (which is over $4,000). When we initially refied this loan to remodel, they were horrible to deal with & it took forever to get the loan approved which delayed construction over a month. Since we already had a mortgage with them & always made payments on time, there was no reason for such a hassle. I wish I could leave less than a 1 star rating because they're the worst lender ever!!

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
Sue Wolfe's avatar
Sue Wolfe

Poor communication, huge delays.

My application is stuck at mortgage center for 2 weeks due to poor communication. I was supposed to complete a week ago. DO not recommend.

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Angie Svensen's avatar
Angie Svensen

Avoid like the plague

Buyers lender uses santander we got to exchange and completion date, told money had been received we were all good to go. Packed up my entire house went to new property etc, only to be told there was a delay with exchange and that the mortgage application Read more

Buyers lender uses santander we got to exchange and completion date, told money had been received we were all good to go. Packed up my entire house went to new property etc, only to be told there was a delay with exchange and that the mortgage application had been sent to the valuer, 45 mins later we are told santander have requested a return of funds and wernt prepared to lend. Absolute nightmare and costly... we lost our sale and purchase. We will never ever accept a offer from anyone who uses santander as their lender in the future.

Be warned!

Reviewed on 23rd January 2022
Jane Greenall's avatar
Jane Greenall

Easy and straightforward

For a first time buyer of a property the whole process was straightforward and simple. Good service and staff were always helpful.

Reviewed on 13th January 2022
Darren Cousins's avatar
Darren Cousins

Zero Rating! Avoid at all cost!

Possibly the worst experience ever. They have a service level agreement on their website which they set themselves yet fail to deliver on. We have lost our dream home because of the time they had taken to approve a mortgage following a valuation, it shoul Read more

Possibly the worst experience ever. They have a service level agreement on their website which they set themselves yet fail to deliver on. We have lost our dream home because of the time they had taken to approve a mortgage following a valuation, it should not take more than 4 weeks to make a decision following a valuation it's absolutely ridiculous! I would avoid this lender at all cost unless you have all the time in the world to wait for a decision!! Absolutely ZERO Rating

Reviewed on 2nd December 2021
A.Wahid's avatar
A.Wahid

Joke of a bank

7 weeks into our application for a relatively small loan on our mortgage (with a good proportion of equity) and we are still being asked stupid questions and being sent back and forth between the underwriters and info gathering team. We have been to the Read more

7 weeks into our application for a relatively small loan on our mortgage (with a good proportion of equity) and we are still being asked stupid questions and being sent back and forth between the underwriters and info gathering team. We have been to the underwriters 4 times now, every time we need to provide more information we go to the back of the que and have to wait 9 days just for them to review the new information!!!! Cannot escalate a complaint apparently as online applications have no way of doing this. Rude unhelpful staff who sound peeved you dare to call. Sorted our loan out with Nationwide within a couple of days and told santander where to stick it. Certainly wont be remortgaging with them when the time comes and i will be switching my other accounts!!!

Reviewed on 14th November 2021
Angela B's avatar
Angela B

Wrong evaluation

After having my mortgage amended to another property and approved. Santander after 6 weeks evaluated the previous property instead of the current one im buying. The stress and delays is affecting my mental health. I get pushed from one advisor to another. Read more

After having my mortgage amended to another property and approved. Santander after 6 weeks evaluated the previous property instead of the current one im buying. The stress and delays is affecting my mental health. I get pushed from one advisor to another. Nobody takes any ownership. You might think you are getting a good rate trust me it isnt worth it. They are con merchants

Reviewed on 12th November 2021
King San UK's avatar
King San UK