Tesco Bank Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 323 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Tesco Bank car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Tesco Bank car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

Tesco Bank car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Tesco Bank car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Tesco Bank before, you too can write a short Tesco Bank car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

323 reviews

Review Tesco Bank's Car Insurance now

Awful, stressful and unprofessional

Impossible to arrange box for my grandson's car after I'd paid for the year. They admitted after hours of phone calls they were having problems with RTS fitting company but wouldn't cancel insurance. Deadlines missed to get box fitted, they assured me a Read more

Impossible to arrange box for my grandson's car after I'd paid for the year. They admitted after hours of phone calls they were having problems with RTS fitting company but wouldn't cancel insurance. Deadlines missed to get box fitted, they assured me all would be well and it would happen
Then I had email telling me insurance was being cancelled because box not fitted.
Don't go near Tesco with a barge pole

Reviewed on 14th September 2022
Jilly 's avatar
Jilly

Shit

Been with tesco 4 a number of years and now they want pics of all drivers licences front and back the paper part number log book every page surely it's against the law 2 be sending them via a email cause any1 can get in2 they system and use my details 4 o Read more

Been with tesco 4 a number of years and now they want pics of all drivers licences front and back the paper part number log book every page surely it's against the law 2 be sending them via a email cause any1 can get in2 they system and use my details 4 other things also when I had a accident when some1 went in2 me they couldn't give 2 shits about my car or my injuries never going with this company again

Reviewed on 10th September 2022
Sarah's avatar
Sarah

Every litte help helps but Tesco doesn't!

After accident car written off. Tesco wrote cancelling insurance. I had cover for approx 2 months. I paid for 12 months. Tesco say they will not insure me in future. Because they cancelled all cover I am not covered when I test drive replacement vehicle. Read more

After accident car written off. Tesco wrote cancelling insurance. I had cover for approx 2 months. I paid for 12 months. Tesco say they will not insure me in future. Because they cancelled all cover I am not covered when I test drive replacement vehicle. I had driving of other cars third part only on my policy. DONT INSURE WITH TESCO

Reviewed on 2nd September 2022
Wendy Ford's avatar
Wendy Ford

Fraudulent declarations

My husband car was hit and written off whilst parked by an uninsured driver. Police were involved and driver was arrested at the scene. Tesco have been dragging their heels saying they need more information to claim the money back from the third party. Re Read more

My husband car was hit and written off whilst parked by an uninsured driver. Police were involved and driver was arrested at the scene. Tesco have been dragging their heels saying they need more information to claim the money back from the third party. Received renewal in the meanwhile and the claim is down as husband hit third party and is at fault. Asked them to correct it to unoccupied vehicle and none fault to be told ‘we can put whatever we want’ t&cs state that if any information is found to be incorrect it can invalidate the insurance. Yet they refuse to correct an error therefore the insurance would be invalid.

Reviewed on 26th August 2022
Stephanie Backhouse's avatar
Stephanie Backhouse

Cancellation

Tesco car insurance is one of the worst insurance as they cancelled my policy with no sensible reason please people out there don't buy policy out with this insurance company as they just Rob you then they cancel it so disappointed with them ROBBERS ROBBE Read more

Tesco car insurance is one of the worst insurance as they cancelled my policy with no sensible reason please people out there don't buy policy out with this insurance company as they just Rob you then they cancel it so disappointed with them ROBBERS ROBBERS ROBBERS

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
Javad Rashidi-Monfared 's avatar
Javad Rashidi-Monfared

Unreasonable and Inept

Tesco Bank Box Insurance promotes “benefits in terms of black box for young drivers” but this is flawed and misconstrued. They find any excuse to delay or withdraw bookings to fit the black box in and then cancel the policy for me refusing to prosecute my Read more

Tesco Bank Box Insurance promotes “benefits in terms of black box for young drivers” but this is flawed and misconstrued. They find any excuse to delay or withdraw bookings to fit the black box in and then cancel the policy for me refusing to prosecute my wife which is a third party related offence. Don’t recommend to anyone.

Reviewed on 5th August 2022
Mohammad Asif Manaf's avatar
Mohammad Asif Manaf

Excellent from outset

After being involved in a no fault accident and then reading reviews here i literally wanted to jump off a very high bridge . But in reality the service level I've received is outstanding. They've kept me informed all the way even though i insisted on my Read more

After being involved in a no fault accident and then reading reviews here i literally wanted to jump off a very high bridge . But in reality the service level I've received is outstanding. They've kept me informed all the way even though i insisted on my own garage for repairs . Courtesy car provided next day and claim paid out in just 8 days with a price higher than i was expecting as car was written off .
I honestly have received excellent customer service throughout and really helpful and sympathetic support from Tesco. Big well done to Tesco Car insurance.

Reviewed on 3rd August 2022
Martin's avatar
Martin

Merely a number

Merely a Number I have been insuring my Mazda Bongo through Tesco Car Insurance for a number of years. Not had a claim or any problems. This year they decided to not insure my vehicle. Make no mistake at all, to Tescos you are not a customer they show an Read more

Merely a Number
I have been insuring my Mazda Bongo through Tesco Car Insurance for a number of years. Not had a claim or any problems. This year they decided to not insure my vehicle. Make no mistake at all, to Tescos you are not a customer they show any loyalty to at all... Merely a number that they will throw a way. Shameful. Anyway I managed to renew through a different company and it was cheaper for exactly the same level of cover. Never really liked Tescos ethos anyway tbh

Reviewed on 23rd July 2022
Darren  Glanville's avatar
Darren Glanville

Avoid avoid avoid

Avoid avoid avoid. Tesco Bank Box Insurance is an utter rip off. Young drivers should steer well clear of this car insurance policy. The prices are sky high and what they don't tell you is if you use all of you mileage allowance before the end of the firs Read more

Avoid avoid avoid. Tesco Bank Box Insurance is an utter rip off. Young drivers should steer well clear of this car insurance policy. The prices are sky high and what they don't tell you is if you use all of you mileage allowance before the end of the first year and something happens like you lose your job or the car goes off the road, they will charge you for the remainder of the insurance.
The customer service is utterly disgusting. Very nasty people to deal with.
My car had to be taken off the road with a major engine problem. Coupled with the ridiculous insurance premiums, fuel price increases and having lost my job, I contact Tesco to tell them about my issue. They didn't care and just said if you cancel we want over £400.

Reviewed on 23rd July 2022
Stephen Riley's avatar
Stephen Riley

National windscreens really

Car windscreen cracks call Tesco only to be told I can only use National windscreen, who have only 3 sites in Scotland what's National about that so I now have to drive on a motorway for 23 miles to get this repaired and wait a week before they can do it. Read more

Car windscreen cracks call Tesco only to be told I can only use National windscreen, who have only 3 sites in Scotland what's National about that so I now have to drive on a motorway for 23 miles to get this repaired and wait a week before they can do it. Shocking service, will not be renewing with them

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
Michele Doyle's avatar
Michele Doyle

Steer clear, no courtesy car offered for a month incompetent & unhelpful

Following my car accident, was promised multiple times a courtesy car would be made available, car wrote off, paid out but no assistance with any transport costs

Reviewed on 17th June 2022
Hilary's avatar
Hilary

Poor

I had a car accident,they left me with no car for 9 days after that they said we can't fix your car.they pay money but not enough to fix it.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Taleb Alhaj's avatar
Taleb Alhaj

Very poor customer service

I had a car accident. They spend 9 days just wasting time, after 9 days they said can fix the car and they don't pay enough money to fix it by my self.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Taleb Alhaj's avatar
Taleb Alhaj

Just misleading

Went over my annual mileage with the black box and had already bought top up miles wanted to cancel the policy and switch to another insurer and they told me I had to pay the rest of the year off still because I went over the amount although I still bough Read more

Went over my annual mileage with the black box and had already bought top up miles wanted to cancel the policy and switch to another insurer and they told me I had to pay the rest of the year off still because I went over the amount although I still bought their stupid top up miles wtf???

Reviewed on 11th June 2022
Shahriya Ahmod's avatar
Shahriya Ahmod

Tesco pet insurance does not pay claims

I had a healthy dog when I took out the policy. But a few months after taking out the policy she was in pain and stiff on her legs. So I took her to the vet and tried to claim for the treatment. Tesco refused to pay out as she had a leg issue a year befor Read more

I had a healthy dog when I took out the policy. But a few months after taking out the policy she was in pain and stiff on her legs. So I took her to the vet and tried to claim for the treatment. Tesco refused to pay out as she had a leg issue a year before. They never called to discuss the claim and completely failed to investigate it properly. I was claiming for an injury that’s been caused by rough play of a growing pup. I have a broken wrist thanks to the pup’s rough play (she bounded into me and tripped me up) and I have a witness see one time in the park when the pup knocked into the older dog and sent her flying. My older dog yelped in pain and rolling around afterwards. But rather than call and have me explain the circumstances. Tesco looked for any excuse not to pay out. Rather than it be an injury they prefer to make out that it’s an existing illness. Had they called they would have learnt I have a video of my dog playing with a 10 week pup in full health with no leg issues. Which dates the video at the point I took out insurance. I can also show a video of her playing now which shows her back to full health. So they’re trying to make out she had a condition before insurance is complete nonsense.

Reviewed on 3rd June 2022
Rachel Gibbs's avatar
Rachel Gibbs

please stay away

i would give 0 stars if i could. the engineer came out to fit my black box but told us he wouldn’t do it as my car is “modified”, and that tesco does not insure modified cars. i was unaware of this as i wouldn’t necessarily class a STICKER as a modificati Read more

i would give 0 stars if i could. the engineer came out to fit my black box but told us he wouldn’t do it as my car is “modified”, and that tesco does not insure modified cars. i was unaware of this as i wouldn’t necessarily class a STICKER as a modification. we were then told that if i were to remove the “modification” they would insure me. i paid £50 to get the “modification” removed, only to be told they would be unable to insure me whether i had it removed or not, despite being told otherwise. i only bought insurance with them as the quotes were very cheap, well you definitely get what you pay for with tesco bank insurance. customer service is also appalling. tried discussing a complaint on the phone, and they hung up on me. please go elsewhere do not waste your money and time.

Reviewed on 19th May 2022
Kacey Dutfield's avatar
Kacey Dutfield

adsvcansjl scasuoca

ascanjk ascnaio sdioio asfasd iiuioijpj dfu iojihjdipahwpa

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
JF759's avatar
JF759

Customer service sucked

The people will not help they only assume that you are laying and they can't make you belive that in case of worst you are coverd . They are rubbish. I made a small claime with them they didn't even listen they just declined as froud.

Reviewed on 10th May 2022
Pawel Masalski's avatar
Pawel Masalski

Robbers

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have Read more

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have to pay the debt but hey convinced all my family and friends to cancel all dealings with Tesco’s got 8 mobile contract 3 house insurance and 2 cars so good customer service you robbing company AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 18th April 2022
Austin Kelly's avatar
Austin Kelly

Robbers

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have Read more

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have to pay the debt but hey convinced all my family and friends to cancel all dealings with Tesco’s got 8 mobile contract 3 house insurance and 2 cars so good customer service you robbing company AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 18th April 2022
Austin Kelly's avatar
Austin Kelly