Tesco Bank Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 313 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Tesco Bank car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Tesco Bank car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our r...

READ MORE

Tesco Bank car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Tesco Bank car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Tesco Bank before, you too can write a short Tesco Bank car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

313 reviews

Review Tesco Bank's Car Insurance now

Steer clear, no courtesy car offered for a month incompetent & unhelpful

Following my car accident, was promised multiple times a courtesy car would be made available, car wrote off, paid out but no assistance with any transport costs

Reviewed on 17th June 2022
Hilary's avatar
Hilary

Poor

I had a car accident,they left me with no car for 9 days after that they said we can't fix your car.they pay money but not enough to fix it.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Taleb Alhaj's avatar
Taleb Alhaj

Very poor customer service

I had a car accident. They spend 9 days just wasting time, after 9 days they said can fix the car and they don't pay enough money to fix it by my self.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Taleb Alhaj's avatar
Taleb Alhaj

Just misleading

Went over my annual mileage with the black box and had already bought top up miles wanted to cancel the policy and switch to another insurer and they told me I had to pay the rest of the year off still because I went over the amount although I still bough Read more

Went over my annual mileage with the black box and had already bought top up miles wanted to cancel the policy and switch to another insurer and they told me I had to pay the rest of the year off still because I went over the amount although I still bought their stupid top up miles wtf???

Reviewed on 11th June 2022
Shahriya Ahmod's avatar
Shahriya Ahmod

Tesco pet insurance does not pay claims

I had a healthy dog when I took out the policy. But a few months after taking out the policy she was in pain and stiff on her legs. So I took her to the vet and tried to claim for the treatment. Tesco refused to pay out as she had a leg issue a year befor Read more

I had a healthy dog when I took out the policy. But a few months after taking out the policy she was in pain and stiff on her legs. So I took her to the vet and tried to claim for the treatment. Tesco refused to pay out as she had a leg issue a year before. They never called to discuss the claim and completely failed to investigate it properly. I was claiming for an injury that’s been caused by rough play of a growing pup. I have a broken wrist thanks to the pup’s rough play (she bounded into me and tripped me up) and I have a witness see one time in the park when the pup knocked into the older dog and sent her flying. My older dog yelped in pain and rolling around afterwards. But rather than call and have me explain the circumstances. Tesco looked for any excuse not to pay out. Rather than it be an injury they prefer to make out that it’s an existing illness. Had they called they would have learnt I have a video of my dog playing with a 10 week pup in full health with no leg issues. Which dates the video at the point I took out insurance. I can also show a video of her playing now which shows her back to full health. So they’re trying to make out she had a condition before insurance is complete nonsense.

Reviewed on 3rd June 2022
Rachel Gibbs's avatar
Rachel Gibbs

please stay away

i would give 0 stars if i could. the engineer came out to fit my black box but told us he wouldn’t do it as my car is “modified”, and that tesco does not insure modified cars. i was unaware of this as i wouldn’t necessarily class a STICKER as a modificati Read more

i would give 0 stars if i could. the engineer came out to fit my black box but told us he wouldn’t do it as my car is “modified”, and that tesco does not insure modified cars. i was unaware of this as i wouldn’t necessarily class a STICKER as a modification. we were then told that if i were to remove the “modification” they would insure me. i paid £50 to get the “modification” removed, only to be told they would be unable to insure me whether i had it removed or not, despite being told otherwise. i only bought insurance with them as the quotes were very cheap, well you definitely get what you pay for with tesco bank insurance. customer service is also appalling. tried discussing a complaint on the phone, and they hung up on me. please go elsewhere do not waste your money and time.

Reviewed on 19th May 2022
Kacey Dutfield's avatar
Kacey Dutfield

adsvcansjl scasuoca

ascanjk ascnaio sdioio asfasd iiuioijpj dfu iojihjdipahwpa

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
JF759's avatar
JF759

Customer service sucked

The people will not help they only assume that you are laying and they can't make you belive that in case of worst you are coverd . They are rubbish. I made a small claime with them they didn't even listen they just declined as froud.

Reviewed on 10th May 2022
Pawel Masalski's avatar
Pawel Masalski

Robbers

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have Read more

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have to pay the debt but hey convinced all my family and friends to cancel all dealings with Tesco’s got 8 mobile contract 3 house insurance and 2 cars so good customer service you robbing company AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 18th April 2022
Austin Kelly's avatar
Austin Kelly

Robbers

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have Read more

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have to pay the debt but hey convinced all my family and friends to cancel all dealings with Tesco’s got 8 mobile contract 3 house insurance and 2 cars so good customer service you robbing company AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 18th April 2022
Austin Kelly's avatar
Austin Kelly

Robbers

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have Read more

Declined my renewal policy via phone but it was not logged on system had taken out insurance with another company three month later get letter from debt collection agency for not paying Tesco policy contacted them they fobbed me off not interested I have to pay the debt but hey convinced all my family and friends to cancel all dealings with Tesco’s got 8 mobile contract 3 house insurance and 2 cars so good customer service you robbing company AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 18th April 2022
Austin Kelly's avatar
Austin Kelly

Competitive quote

Hello I found Tesco Car Insurance quoting a competitive price compared to household names. Worth the effort.

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Imran Khan's avatar
Imran Khan

Very bad

I couldn't upload No-Claims Bonus Proof, I did that on day seventh but they already cancelled me! Never ever recommend this company for a car insurance

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Martyna's avatar
Martyna

Dan sernadiszaf

Hshshejsyshjauiite maritantimnti re a al 7 miclarinh

Reviewed on 22nd March 2022
Dan Chiriac's avatar
Dan Chiriac

. Avoid Tesco car insurance at all costs

They fish you in when you’re looking for your first car insurance, once your in their trap they will undoubtedly double the cost when your policy automatically renews & when you call wanting to cancel you get charged cancellation fees & other hidden cost Read more

They fish you in when you’re looking for your first car insurance, once your in their trap they will undoubtedly double the cost when your policy automatically renews & when you call wanting to cancel you get charged cancellation fees & other hidden costs. Their customer service team are not as honest & stand with you need to pay without coming out with a resolution. Pathetic

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Paulo's avatar
Paulo

AVOID TESCO CAR INSURANCE!

I had a incident with my car 4 weeks ago and was told by tesco car insurance, my car will be collected and receive a courtesy car within 2 days. 4 weeks later, chasing this up 3/4 times a week with insurance, enterprise and the local garage they recommend Read more

I had a incident with my car 4 weeks ago and was told by tesco car insurance, my car will be collected and receive a courtesy car within 2 days. 4 weeks later, chasing this up 3/4 times a week with insurance, enterprise and the local garage they recommended with them and these parties all claiming my car is drivable! Despite warning lights, broken open bonnet all visible on the car and no one has physically inspected it. 4 WEEKS ON AND I AM STILL CARLESS, WELCOME TO TESCO CAR INSURANCE! AVOID ! AVOID! AVOID!

Reviewed on 10th February 2022
D's avatar
D

Disappointed

I am currently going through a claim with tesco bank insurance. I always tick that I want a courtesy car which I did this time. When I came to ask about my courtesy car I was told that although I have it I cannot have one as the car was involved in a fire Read more

I am currently going through a claim with tesco bank insurance. I always tick that I want a courtesy car which I did this time. When I came to ask about my courtesy car I was told that although I have it I cannot have one as the car was involved in a fire! To say I am disappointed is an understatement as I understood that when you have that on your policy it covers you for any situation.

Reviewed on 23rd January 2022
Sh's avatar
Sh

Excellent communication skills

Eay to access, knowledgeable able to answer questions positively. Well done Tesco great service, friendly and reliable

Reviewed on 22nd January 2022
Anita Bokhammas's avatar
Anita Bokhammas

Absurd

Never had a car insurance asking me out of the whole week how many days I would use the car lool Tesco car insurance are absurd and pathetic

Reviewed on 6th January 2022
Sal's avatar
Sal

Scammers!!STAY AWAY!

Hello guys, I'm extremely disappointed with Tesco car insurance!!!! One word: SCAMMERS!!! I had my car insurance form 20/12/20 with Tesco bank, on 22/01/21 someone hit my car and run away, luckily my mother heard the banging noise and managed to take a Read more

Hello guys, I'm extremely disappointed with Tesco car insurance!!!! One word: SCAMMERS!!!
I had my car insurance form 20/12/20 with Tesco bank, on 22/01/21 someone hit my car and run away, luckily my mother heard the banging noise and managed to take a picture of his no plate. I've made the claim, on 18\12\2021 I received the renewal proposal which was way more expensive than the previous one, when I've checked my insurance account I noticed that the renewal is automatic, so that made me ask myself what kind of trick is that (there is a cancellation fee).
So I called customer service to cancel the renewal and ask for my no claims bonus proof, which they send with 0 years instead of 2 years. I've contacted customer support they asked me to call the claim department, claim department asked me to call the customer support department.
At some point, the claim support had more "patience" with my case and decided to open "open my eyes"
So because they didn't had enough time (almost 1 year without a few days) to resolve my claim the big company can't provide me with No-Claims Bonus proof until the claim is closed, but if I really need those 2 years of no claims bonus proof I need to pay the difference of money to cover my car repair (I paid £450 few days later after I made the claim as they requested, not saying that the voluntary excess it was only £250) the damage of my car was almost nothing: the front grill cracked, the plate no holder and 1cm scratch. £1300 for that ?? that is ridiculous for a 10-year-old car with almost no damage, they didn't paint the bumper! I still have my old scratches!
So basically I would need to pay +£2000 for insurance now instead of £800 because they didn't manage to resolve an easy claim with pictures proof. First, they said after a few months that were negotiating with the wrong insurance company, couple of months ago they found the right insurance company but the communication is very slow. Jokers !!!
I think that all this was made on porous because greediness purposes. I've made a complaint on Financial Ombudsman Service website, I'd like a bit of advice from someone that had a similar experience. Thanks

Reviewed on 5th January 2022
Ovidiu Sebastian Agavriloaie's avatar
Ovidiu Sebastian Agavriloaie