Bath Building Society Mortgages Reviews

  Ratings based on 111 reviews       Last review 21 hours ago    

Bath Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Bath Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your...

READ MORE

Bath Building Society mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Bath Building Society mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Mortgages Reviews

111 reviews

Review Bath Building Society's Mortgages now

Fixed rate query

Understandably the fixed rates have been pulled but the chat function and assistance was very handy.

Reviewed on 28th September 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thanks you for taking the time out and providing this feedback. I'm glad the chat function was of assistance. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Excellent service.

Had a complicated FTB case to place and needed guidance through the application process. Ben Hutchings (head of mortgages) and his team were very helpful and easy to deal with. Mortgage offer has now been received meaning very happy customers and a very h Read more

Had a complicated FTB case to place and needed guidance through the application process. Ben Hutchings (head of mortgages) and his team were very helpful and easy to deal with. Mortgage offer has now been received meaning very happy customers and a very happy mortgage adviser.

Reviewed on 21st September 2022
Rob Lynn Mortgages & Protection's avatar
Rob Lynn Mortgages & Protection

Reply from Bath Building Society

Rob, thanks for your feedback and glad we could help out with a complicated case for you. I will pass on your feedback to the team. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgages

Tom was very helpful

I was looking to find out more about a rather niche product, but Tom was very quick, professional, and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend him.

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for the feedback and glad Tom was of assistance. I will pass on your comments to him. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Excellent on live chat, not good at returning calls

Having used Bath for the first time, they could do with making their system more user friendly.

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for providing this feedback. I will pass this on so that we can look to improve our service. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Nick helped quickly

Nick called me which was a nice touch and we resolved the query quickly, so really efficient for us both

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad Nick was able to get in touch with you to resolve your query. We always look to give the best possible service to our customers. I will pass this on to him. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Communication

Communication is not very great, however when through to chat with someone they were helpful. They didn't have my email address on the system to request additional documents from me, despite communicated via email while initiating the process of mortgage Read more

Communication is not very great, however when through to chat with someone they were helpful. They didn't have my email address on the system to request additional documents from me, despite communicated via email while initiating the process of mortgage application. so clear gap in departments.

Reviewed on 14th September 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate this. We are always looking to improve our service and clearly we didn't meet our normal standards this time. I will forward this on so that we can look into. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Lovely experience

Lovely professionals. Questions answered fast and precise.

Reviewed on 30th August 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for taking the time out and giving us this feedback. I'm glad we could be of assistance. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Avoid at all costs go to another building society if you value your sanity

Hard to find words to describe but I'll have a go, inefficient, uncaring, incompetent, took 4 months to process a simple application which at the outset they said would be quick and easy. They then informed they would not deal with a conveyancing company Read more

Hard to find words to describe but I'll have a go, inefficient, uncaring, incompetent, took 4 months to process a simple application which at the outset they said would be quick and easy. They then informed they would not deal with a conveyancing company , only solicitors, an email reasonably asking someone senior to review this simple case was met with a letter of deadlock, take it to the ombudsman, which we will. These people couldn't care less, worst people we have ever dealt with, and not by a small margin. If Mickey Mouse ran a Building Society it would be better than this shower, I was shocked at how they clearly couldn't care less. (And that's being polite)

Nicola thank you for response, I now have some hope that if you remain involved we will be able to bring this simple application to a rapid conclusion.

Reviewed on 17th August 2022
Dave Pickett's avatar
Dave Pickett

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for the feedback Mr. Pickett. Unfortunately, I am unable to discuss the mortgage application without the applicant's consent, however I can assure you that the Society is taking every possible to step to minimise any further delays. In regard to the Society’s criteria for Solicitors, the broker who submitted the application would have been informed of the Society's requirements at the outset and should have relayed this. I can confirm that we will prioritise this application once any outstanding information is received. Nicola Rees, Head of Mortgage Operations

Quick Service

Great work from Oliver on the chat desk. Really efficient and got me to the right answer quickly.

Reviewed on 2nd August 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for your feedback and glad Oliver was of assistance. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Very efficient and friendly

Nick was great, he came across as knowledgeable and helped with my query very quickly

Reviewed on 27th July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for your feedback and glad Nick was of assistance. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Good service

The chat facility is good. Oliver and Tom have been helpful

Reviewed on 27th July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for the feedback. I will pass on to Oliver & Tom. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

Great service!

Although I wasn't able to get all of the answers I required immediately, Oliver had no hesitation in providing me with details to contact him via email where he would be able to help me further with my query. It gave me confidence that I would always have Read more

Although I wasn't able to get all of the answers I required immediately, Oliver had no hesitation in providing me with details to contact him via email where he would be able to help me further with my query. It gave me confidence that I would always have help when needed from Bath Building Society

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for the feedback and glad Oliver could help you with your query. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales

mixed bag

Tim, the advisor was brilliant; available, supportive and prepared to listen and respond flexibly. The staff are all very pleasant and available. However, we encountered difficulties with the underwriters, who made things hard going and all innovation for Read more

Tim, the advisor was brilliant; available, supportive and prepared to listen and respond flexibly. The staff are all very pleasant and available. However, we encountered difficulties with the underwriters, who made things hard going and all innovation for solutions to the problems we encountered had to come from us. They seemed to be overly cautious and, in our view, a bit tick boxy in approach. We were required to undertake legal advice for three adult kids and ourselves which didn't tell us anything we didn't already know (I'm trained as a lawyer!) at a cost of nearly £1000 when the advice for the kids could be summarised; you have no rights now but this charge means you are signing away your non-existent rights! If we hadn't been under so much time pressure in the purchase I think we probably would have sought a different provider (despite Tim).

Reviewed on 16th July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for taking the time to review our service, we appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments on to Tim. I'm sorry that you felt our approach was ‘tick boxy’. We offer an individual approach to underwriting (we don’t use automated credit scores) so we can remain flexible when dealing with our mortgage cases. You mention the requirement to obtain independent legal advice was unnecessary. In this type of case, when not all parties to the mortgage are beneficial owners of the property, it is a requirement that all borrowers are fully informed of their legal rights and obligations under that contract. In some cases, the acting Solicitor may decide it is unnecessary to provide such advice, for example, if the borrower is legally trained. The Solicitor then has the right to let us know and waive their right to ILA. Craig Brown, Head of Underwriting & Credit Management.

Broker Support

Nick was great along with Adam, very supportive and knowledgeable

Reviewed on 6th July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we'll definitely be passing it on to Nick and Adam, Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales.

great service

Efficient, helpful, great service being received on my urgent case.

Reviewed on 1st July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for taking the time out to give us this feedback, I will pass on to the team. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales.

very helpful info via online chat

Very help via online. able to answer my questions efficently

Reviewed on 1st July 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

I am glad that we were able to help and hope that we can help you in future when needed. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer.

Slow, convoluted, backward process

I am a property developer and investor who is well versed in the world of mortgages and have in excess of £30m funds currently borrowed. This one simple transaction undertaken with BBS was by far the most ridiculous process I have ever had the misfortune Read more

I am a property developer and investor who is well versed in the world of mortgages and have in excess of £30m funds currently borrowed. This one simple transaction undertaken with BBS was by far the most ridiculous process I have ever had the misfortune of being involved with. Nearly 17 weeks for a simple remortgage is really, very unimpressive.

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

I am sorry that you feel let down by the service you have been given. Without knowing your name or having your contact details it is difficult to respond or follow this up. Should you want to make this a formal complaint then you can find out how to do this on our website by clicking on the 'we're here to listen' link on the bottom of every page on our website. Alternatively, if you would like me to follow this up, you can email me directly at colinmcdougall@bibs.co.uk. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer.

WARNING WARNING AVOID AVOID

WARNING WARNING AVOID AVOID Do not let these people loose you your dream home which is happening to me right now because of them. More so in this time of such high demand for homes where the seller has their choice of buyers and you are lucky if your offe Read more

WARNING WARNING AVOID AVOID
Do not let these people loose you your dream home which is happening to me right now because of them. More so in this time of such high demand for homes where the seller has their choice of buyers and you are lucky if your offer is the one accepted. You need a mortgage provider that will give you a decision either way as soon as possible not one that will delay you for weeks and then decline you for a reason they knew about in the first place which has just happened to me with Bath leaving me having to start again with another lender and a impatient seller wanting answers. It's a nightmare. We as mortgage seekers are advised not to have multiple applications going at once so it is imperative that the provider we choose respects our situation and the trust we have put in them. One of these unfortunately is not Bath. They've got the slogans but do not live up to them and have been a complete frustration and hinderence to me with every question they asked being answered immediately and them taking days to get back each time and if the seller doesn't wait for me Bath will be the sole reason why I have lost my much needed purchase. No matter how they respond to this with - they needed more info - or whatever, it is all rubbish because all further questions were answered perfectly satisfactory and they have fundamentaly given the reason of decline as something they knew of from the start and there is simply no excuse for time wasting like this when customers are on the clock already with some of the biggest decisions and stress in their lifes. Don't let them ruin things for you.
Good luck

UPDATE (05/07/2022): Wow, this place really is the pits. They will leave you high and dry without a care .They came back with nothing but more bath b s but the main showstopper with these people is that they will blatantly refuse you a mortgage on something that their own criteria list says is acceptable and if you've arrived at them through a broker then bath have lost you the money you've paid the broker too. When you can't trust what a building society has in black and white there is a serious problem. It's like they're a law unto themselves being a small backstreet like building society which they try to sell as a good thing but you don't get Barclays going back on what it says in the window do you. Don't give them the chance to do it to you. Now I go to the ombudsman because this behaviour can't be allowed to continue

UPDATE (06/07/2022): That does sound so good for everyone that Bath will cooperate fully with the ombudsman seeing though they have no choice and I've been nothing but fobbed off with bath's responses that have not addressed at all the main charge of declining me a mortgage on facts that their criteria list says are acceptable and not even doing it when they first knew of these facts but wasting weeks of my valuable time and putting at risk my purchase and don't worry I hereby give you permission to discuss my case on this public forum because i'm the one with nothing to hide so let's go, explain to the people how you don't adhere to what you have in black and white. You make out You're on this transparency kick with such a comprehensive alphabetical criteria list that customers and brokers can work by which would be great if you honoured it so either honour it or delete it, which will it be ?

UPDATE (07/07/2022): "Very simple"! Lol, maybe for you but not for your customers. 1."We have criteria requirements to follow" We know, you publish them and a large respected London brokerage agrees I'm a pass according to it. 2. "Affordability checks to follow" My monthly mortgage payment would be 28% of my gross income with no dependents or debt and very frugal outgoings so is that a affordability decline at Bath is it so customers know ?

UPDATE (08/07/2022): I'm glad everyone can see what I've had to put up with off of this shower. Have a word at the some lenders this and some lenders that round in circles till you're dizzy and still haven't answered the simple question about themselves. Not one straight answer comes back off of these people from fair questions and I just ask myself why, And I was putting down 25% deposit so when they recon they're looking out for their members, they're not if they're turning good business away. Something isn't right there

Reviewed on 28th June 2022
Stephen 's avatar
Stephen

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for your feedback Mr. Murphy. This probably not an appropriate place to discuss your mortgage application. As such. I have passed your comments on to our Head of Underwriting who is going to look after this complaint and ensure that it is responded to appropriately. You should expect a formal response in writing within the next few days. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer. UPDATE (06/07/2022): Thank you for your feedback Mr Murphy. We have already responded to your complaint in writing and followed this matter up with several emails. It is not appropriate for us to comment on your complaint in a public forum but we respect your right to take this matter up with Ombudsman who we will fully co-operate with. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer. UPDATE (07/07/2022): It is very simple. As a lender we lend responsibly. We have criteria requirements to meet and affordability checks to follow. In your case our underwriters did not believe you to be a good credit risk. As such your mortgage application was declined. That decision is final. We continue to assess and review our criteria on an ongoing basis. If these need further clarification we will do our best to ensure that they are clear. UPDATE (08/07/2022): Thank you again for your feedback. Our brokers do not make lending decisions on our behalf. If your broker would like to contact us directly to discuss what our lending criteria is or how they could be made clearer then we will be happy to discuss this directly with them. Affordability is something that can not always be agreed upon. Every single person that applies for an overdraft, credit card, loan or mortgage probably thinks they can afford to repay their debts. Clearly this is not the case. No lender agrees 100% of credit applications regardless of whether customers are eligible to apply or not. This will mean that some lenders do not lend to customers who may well have been able to afford such credit and have potentially lost good customers. That is a risk that each lender must take and it needs to be balanced with the risk and costs associated with such lending defaulting. Being a Member owned Building Society, the cost of bad debt would be absorbed by all our Members. Our decision regarding your own application has been communicated to you. This decision has been reviewed by our Head of Underwriting and has been escalated within the Society to our Chief Executive Officer. This decision will not be changed. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer. UPDATE (09/07/2022): Thank you for your feedback. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer.

Very helpful

I had a few awkward questions to garner initial mortgage information and Oliver was most helpful

Reviewed on 28th June 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you for taking the time out to give us this feedback, we always try our best! I will share your comments with Oliver. Ben Hutchings, Head of Mortgage Sales.

Very clear and helpful

My call was answered by Ian, who was very polite and helpful with regard to information about mortgages and the different types that are available, including rent a room loans, which I knew very little about. It seems that Bath have some very good product Read more

My call was answered by Ian, who was very polite and helpful with regard to information about mortgages and the different types that are available, including rent a room loans, which I knew very little about. It seems that Bath have some very good products, which were explained very clearly and which was much appreciated. Ian said he would email me some further details, which came through in just a few minutes, which is also a major plus point.
Having worked in Financial Services for many years (but not very often on the mortgage side) I was pleasantly surprised at the efficiency of the service. Far better than my previous experiences with lenders over the years.
Thank you
Patrick

Reviewed on 23rd June 2022
BBS Member Feedback's avatar
BBS Member Feedback

Reply from Bath Building Society

Thank you Patrick for your kind comments. We try our best! I will be sure to pass this feedback on to Ian. Colin McDougall, Chief Commercial Officer.