Halifax Fixed Rate Mortgage Reviews

  Ratings based on 101 reviews       Last review 4 months ago    

Halifax mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Halifax mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to...

READ MORE

Halifax mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Halifax mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Your Fixed Rate Mortgage Reviews

101 reviews

Review Halifax's Fixed Rate Mortgage now

They Lost my ID and didn't admit it until we followed up

In the stages of verifying my identity, they lost my ID and didn't admit it until we followed up several times. They did offer compensation, but it wasn't even close to being enough to compensate for the time it took us to fix their mistake. This caused u Read more

In the stages of verifying my identity, they lost my ID and didn't admit it until we followed up several times. They did offer compensation, but it wasn't even close to being enough to compensate for the time it took us to fix their mistake. This caused us a month delay and put us in a worse negociating position with the sellers of the house.

Reviewed on 21st July 2022
Bobby's avatar
Bobby

Wretched service, liars!

We started looking for houses only after we spoke to mortgage brokers at Halifax and received the letter of principle. We found our dream house (much below the threshold set by Halifax), had hours of discussions with Halifax and then hired the attorneys a Read more

We started looking for houses only after we spoke to mortgage brokers at Halifax and received the letter of principle. We found our dream house (much below the threshold set by Halifax), had hours of discussions with Halifax and then hired the attorneys and others to process the buy. Halifax even deducted the mortgage plan charges etc from our account, but a few days later Halifax cancelled our mortgage application with no reason specified whatsoever. Absolutely none given!

We lost the money we had paid to the attorneys and for services likes checks and valuation. Forget the loss of face in front of my agent and the buyer, I now sit with a lower credit score because Halifax & others had already run several credit checks. Very unprofessional service was delivered to us, believing their representatives will be the BIGGEST MISTAKE you will commit in your life. I will be moving my accounts out of Halifax and will also socialise this blunder to my friends so that no other wannabe house buyer suffers due to their incompetence.

Reviewed on 14th July 2022
Vinay Murthy's avatar
Vinay Murthy

Inefficient Mortgage Advisors

Avoid these guys for mortgage, the approval in principal letter Halifax provides is crap and never trust it. They got our hopes high and finally even without giving a proper reason they cancelled our loan application. We lost around £1000 because their in Read more

Avoid these guys for mortgage, the approval in principal letter Halifax provides is crap and never trust it. They got our hopes high and finally even without giving a proper reason they cancelled our loan application. We lost around £1000 because their inefficient service.

Reviewed on 6th July 2022
N.Nanditha Urs's avatar
N.Nanditha Urs

Dont know there own policy not for the disabled

Got an agreement in principle from them and phoned to make sure it was right as we have a weird situation of being full time carers to our disabled kids. Was told they would accept all benefits and great we had a large deposit. Long story short after 3 mo Read more

Got an agreement in principle from them and phoned to make sure it was right as we have a weird situation of being full time carers to our disabled kids. Was told they would accept all benefits and great we had a large deposit. Long story short after 3 months of looking for a property and being told we can lend you more than you need. They now say we can’t lend to you. Apparently to risky as our kids are disabled and could die and we wouldn’t be able to pay mortgage even though I told them kids have autism , no life limiting conditions. No interest in helping. Only an apology for the staff not knowing they won’t accept the disabled. They should just say online go away you don’t matter. It would be much easier.

Reviewed on 7th June 2022
Asdparents 's avatar
Asdparents

mis sold mortgage

Told us we could let our house and still re negotiate a fixed deal. Later changed their minds. Cost me about £2000, the response was , you shouldnt have listened to our advisor and should have read the fine print. nice

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Alex Select's avatar
Alex Select

Heartless customer service.

Been with bank for 20 years an never missed a payment. Recently told have throat cancer so went on to sick pay whilst undergoing treatment. Asked bank for help with payment holiday whilst on sickpay..bank refused point blank telling me to go speak to a de Read more

Been with bank for 20 years an never missed a payment. Recently told have throat cancer so went on to sick pay whilst undergoing treatment. Asked bank for help with payment holiday whilst on sickpay..bank refused point blank telling me to go speak to a debt advisor. Heartless policies that go totally against Halifax adverts... "for the up and the downs in life...and every thing inbetween".
Could not be further from the truth, happy to take your money but turn their back when you ask for help.
Disgusting policies and principles hiding behind glossy adverts. Please avoid.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Jonathan Hancocks's avatar
Jonathan Hancocks

Transparent Information

I always feel like I trust Halifax, I have been with them for years

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
MothGirl's avatar
MothGirl

Perfect

Very supportive staff, always on hand for advice, explained everything and gave me a very reasonable mortgage.

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Vinnymiff's avatar
Vinnymiff

Excellent customer service

The whole experience of transferring our mortgage was so simple and bagged a great fixed rate too! Love the app for tracking it too

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Elizabeth 's avatar
Elizabeth

First class mortgage service

We have a mortgage with the Halifax which we've had for more than 7 years on a fixed rate without any problems. We have decided to move house and needed an agreement in principle which we completed online. We made an error in completing the form, so rang Read more

We have a mortgage with the Halifax which we've had for more than 7 years on a fixed rate without any problems. We have decided to move house and needed an agreement in principle which we completed online. We made an error in completing the form, so rang in and spoke to Bradley Clarke, a mortgage consultant, who immediately sorted out the issue and emailed over the agreement in principle then and there. He was polite, friendly and very reassuring. It reminded us why we stay with the Halifax for our mortgage. Thank you for your help tonight - much appreciated.

Reviewed on 5th January 2022
Louise's avatar
Louise

Atrocious Service, Cost us Thousands

We're doing a remortgage to Halifax of our current mortgage. They've had the case for multiple weeks, and were progressing with free legals through Optima as per their standard conditions. Their free legal service is now saying that they won't deal wit Read more

We're doing a remortgage to Halifax of our current mortgage.

They've had the case for multiple weeks, and were progressing with free legals through Optima as per their standard conditions. Their free legal service is now saying that they won't deal with the case putting us right back to the beginning.

Our remortgage is relatively standard and Halifax have said that they are happy to lend against our house, but that the case should never have come to them in the first place.

This has led to thousands of pounds worth of interest payments on our behalf and on top of that, we now need to pay for our own legal costs to move the mortgage.

Frankly, if it was going to go this way, I'd have used someone else and I'll never remortgage to Halifax again. I'll also be looking into taking them to court for compensation for our losses.

Reviewed on 16th November 2021
Chris's avatar
Chris

Terrible people

Banked with them 20 years and wouldn’t help me one little bit. Offered me an AIP for 161k then when we went to branch offered me 112k! Zero debts and good background. Horrid people and terrible bank. Closing all my accounts with them ASAP. Avoid them :(

Reviewed on 21st October 2021
Jimmy Mole's avatar
Jimmy Mole

Solid lender with good rates

Was able to secure a good 5 year fixed rate. Not really had to interact as I always pay on time. Will probably remortgage with them again if their rates are competitive in 2024.

Reviewed on 17th June 2021
Paul Hughes's avatar
Paul Hughes

Helpful and honest

Banked with Halifax for long time so was obvious choice for my mortgage

Reviewed on 20th March 2021
Simon 's avatar
Simon

Always had a good deal

Would always go halifax if i could morgage credit card great customer care and 24 hr telephone bank support

Reviewed on 17th February 2021
Alex's avatar
Alex

Deceiving plans and patronizing costumer support

When initially sign up they will say "anything" to make you sign up even if you have concerns. but when these concerns later come up, if you signed the customer service will then laugh down the phone at you. not professional and deceiving. be careful bef Read more

When initially sign up they will say "anything" to make you sign up even if you have concerns. but when these concerns later come up, if you signed the customer service will then laugh down the phone at you. not professional and deceiving. be careful before you sign anything from these guys

Reviewed on 2nd February 2021
Annie's avatar
Annie

Awful - Greedy Banker *anker

Horrific company, even you have 50% deposit on a new home, halifax still wouldnt let you port and brrow. Worst thing is that before you sell to buy, they tell you they will lend to you to put you in motion for 2 sets of legal work, then when you are clos Read more

Horrific company, even you have 50% deposit on a new home, halifax still wouldnt let you port and brrow.
Worst thing is that before you sell to buy, they tell you they will lend to you to put you in motion for 2 sets of legal work, then when you are close to completion for both they pull the plug on you to force you to pay the early repayment charge, they make sure you cannot go forward and backwards to trap you in.

Reviewed on 10th December 2020
Yang Ni's avatar
Yang Ni

covid computer says no

terrible company that fails to treat customers fairly .... even if you can prove your earnings / commission they only take 30% of it into account and tar everybody with the covid brush even if you can prove you havnt been affected by it - terrible company Read more

terrible company that fails to treat customers fairly .... even if you can prove your earnings / commission they only take 30% of it into account and tar everybody with the covid brush even if you can prove you havnt been affected by it - terrible company to deal with

Reviewed on 9th December 2020
mark's avatar
mark

Halifax makes it IMPOSSIBLE to redeem your mortgage- you can never leave!!!!

By far the WORST WORST WORST company I’ve ever dealt with. 2hrs 30 mins on the phone, nothing whatsoever resolved. Complete incompetence- can anyone believe Halifax can’t actually send emails. They haven’t ‘got the faculty’ to email urgent documents to Read more


By far the WORST WORST WORST company I’ve ever dealt with. 2hrs 30 mins on the phone, nothing whatsoever resolved. Complete incompetence- can anyone believe Halifax can’t actually send emails. They haven’t ‘got the faculty’ to email urgent documents to anyone, even if it means they will be ruining a sale from going through and ruining their chance to get redeemed FOR THE SECOND TIME!!! Halifax makes it IMPOSSIBLE to have their mortgage redeemed. So much red tape in place and incompetence that they literally ruin sales from going through so that there is NO WAY to ever redeem your mortgage to them !!! Wow, horrified, in shock! Don’t get a mortgage with Halifax, unless it’s too late for you, as it sadly is for me!

Reviewed on 2nd October 2020
Sheni Lewery's avatar
Sheni Lewery

Will not allow you to port your mortgage and penalise you fir trying to leave.

With the current situation banks have reduced lending And Arne asking for a 15% deposit, even though the Government has tried to help the housing market by stamp duty break. Most banks will provide existing customers along with first time buyers a mortga Read more

With the current situation banks have reduced lending And Arne asking for a 15% deposit, even though the Government has tried to help the housing market by stamp duty break. Most banks will provide existing customers along with first time buyers a mortgage with a 10% deposit. So if you are with the halifax as an existing mortgage customer and you took out a mortgage 2 years ago with a 5 year fixed rate and you want to move. A mortgage of £300000 would mean you would be ok with £30000 deposit. Beau asked of their greed they now want £45,000 deposit and if you have not got the additional £15,000 you can not port your mortgage so to move home you have no choice but to find another lender and pay a penalty for not staying with the Halifax. So either find another £15,000 before the stamp duty dead line in March or pay the Halifax over £5000 to be able to move now.. Won’t allow you to port your mortgage and penalise you fir trying to leave.

Reviewed on 18th September 2020
Lorraine Shepherd's avatar
Lorraine Shepherd