Tesco Bank Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 67 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

Tesco Bank home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Tesco Bank handle your home insurance claim? Our Tesco Bank home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you...

READ MORE

Tesco Bank home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Tesco Bank handle your home insurance claim? Our Tesco Bank home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Tesco Bank? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Home Insurance Reviews

67 reviews

Review Tesco Bank's Home Insurance now

Long wait

we have been on the phone for 45 minutes and still waiting for someone to answer. customer service is terrible. Certainly would not recommend this to anyone.

Reviewed on 4th November 2022
Gaurav Wadhawan's avatar
Gaurav Wadhawan

Great value and service

Great service and value with my Tesco Clubcard. Product is rich in cover and covers me for all expected with a little extra

Reviewed on 13th October 2022
Markmcv123's avatar
Markmcv123

still waiting

we have been on the phone for 40 minutes and still waiting for someone to answer. customer service is appalling. Certainly would not recommend this company to my enemies let alone my friends.

Reviewed on 7th September 2022
ken watts's avatar
ken watts

Good value insurance

Good pricing and good customer service.

Reviewed on 14th August 2022
Frances Finnegan's avatar
Frances Finnegan

Quick and easy process

The first time I’ve ever claimed through home insurance and I can’t believe how easy and quick the process was. Within a hour of calling and sending evidence off, the money was processed to go into my bank for a claim I made. It has never been as easy to Read more

The first time I’ve ever claimed through home insurance and I can’t believe how easy and quick the process was. Within a hour of calling and sending evidence off, the money was processed to go into my bank for a claim I made. It has never been as easy to make a claim in my experience. The lady I spoke to was very friendly and informative. I would highly reccomend Tesco home insurance.

Reviewed on 10th July 2022
Rosiee Stockdale's avatar
Rosiee Stockdale

Absolute joke!

I tried to make a claim and was told my insurance is void if you are having building work, basically if you want to claim you're best off lieing about the situation, I know we should read our policies but who knew you have to inform the company that wor Read more

I tried to make a claim and was told my insurance is void if you are having building work, basically if you want to claim you're best off lieing about the situation, I know we should read our policies but who knew you have to inform the company that work is being done so you then adjust your policy! If I had said my item was stolen without work being done they would have paid out!!! Took them 6 weeks to tell me this, makes you wonder why we pay insurance, seems there's always some way they'll get out of it!!!! Only ever claimed twice on my insurance in 28 years, we have insurance for these reasons but seems irrelevant.

Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Nicola Wickens's avatar
Nicola Wickens

Terrible company just want more money even if the mistake is theirs

Tried to make a claim for an incident but before I could had to pay an extra premium including £25 admin fees because they didn’t ask me for certain information on the application form with GoCompare. Made me feel like a liar, which I am not. If you don’t Read more

Tried to make a claim for an incident but before I could had to pay an extra premium including £25 admin fees because they didn’t ask me for certain information on the application form with GoCompare. Made me feel like a liar, which I am not. If you don’t ask me and you don’t allow me to enter information on your application form. How can you justify charging me for YOUR mistake. I would stay away from this company. They will now lose me in all aspects of Tesco’s business name. I won’t be shopping with insuring or a banking with these people again for such a blatant and dishonest practice. Also they may want to get there systems improved. From what I gather they have a LOT of Computer Problems.

Reviewed on 2nd June 2022
Steve Johnson's avatar
Steve Johnson

Fantastic service

I was an idiot and accidently dropped one of my airpods down the sink. I called up Tesco bank and within 15 minutes total (after sending receipts, serial numbers etc) they'd accepted the claim. No excess (as it was accidental loss) and the money was in my Read more

I was an idiot and accidently dropped one of my airpods down the sink. I called up Tesco bank and within 15 minutes total (after sending receipts, serial numbers etc) they'd accepted the claim. No excess (as it was accidental loss) and the money was in my account within 48 hours. Highly recommended!

Reviewed on 15th April 2022
Ben Woodward's avatar
Ben Woodward

storm damage not covered

Tesco insurance decided to define storm damage: It must be due to a SINGLE VIOLENT EVENT where the wind reaches 55MPH (which is storm force 10 on the beaufort scale) whereas the Beaufort scale makes it clear that structural damage can occur at lower win Read more

Tesco insurance decided to define storm damage:
It must be due to a SINGLE VIOLENT EVENT where the wind reaches 55MPH (which is storm force 10 on the beaufort scale) whereas the Beaufort scale makes it clear that structural damage can occur at lower wind speeds.
A claim will be summarily rejected unless the wind reaches.Clearly this small print will allow Tesco to reject almost every claim.

Some other more reasonable insurance companies use a weaker wind strength without the need for it to be a single event.

Reviewed on 24th February 2022
Stephen Axon's avatar
Stephen Axon

What a shambles - avoid

Tesco marketing is a well-oiled machine when they take your money BUT when you need to claim Tesco/AXA cannot be contacted - ever. Will not be renewing my policy with Tesco but returning to Direct Line who are far more accessible when stuff happens. In Read more

Tesco marketing is a well-oiled machine when they take your money BUT when you need to claim Tesco/AXA cannot be contacted - ever. Will not be renewing my policy with Tesco but returning to Direct Line who are far more accessible when stuff happens. Insurance is only worth the paper it's written on when you need to claim. Tesco ... concentrate on selling spuds and don't diversify until you can handle it.

Reviewed on 21st February 2022
Catherine's avatar
Catherine

underwritten by axa and when I went to claim axa had no record of my policy!

disgusting service by tesco, roof was damaged by storm eunice and as I sit here my roof has a gaping hole in it and I'm on hold again to tesco and axa, axa have no record of my policy but tesco say my policy is active, axa say to speak to tesco and tesco Read more

disgusting service by tesco, roof was damaged by storm eunice and as I sit here my roof has a gaping hole in it and I'm on hold again to tesco and axa, axa have no record of my policy but tesco say my policy is active, axa say to speak to tesco and tesco say I need to speak to axa!!

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Diane's avatar
Diane

Easy to use website

Bought home insurance via Tesco bank online. The process was efficient due to the easy to use website. Questions asked were clear. Documents regarding the insurance were emailed in a timely manner.

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
Blodyn's avatar
Blodyn

Avoid this scam

When I claim, Tesco Home Insurance tried every excuse to pay me to fix the doors, after their interrogations through the phone, suddenly they told me your insurance has been canceled. They are just a scam avoid them!

Reviewed on 13th January 2022
Josiah Wong's avatar
Josiah Wong

Great until you want to claim

Full of praise until you want to claim ,come up with every excuse possible wind not strong enough rain not enough STAY CLEAR

Reviewed on 14th December 2021
TOM WELSH's avatar
TOM WELSH

Queries about possible changes to policy

I recently called about my Tesco Bank Home Insurance because we were "thinking about" a holiday away for over 60 days. The emphasis is on the "thinking about". I was told by the advisor that he would call me back the next day or on the Monday after the Read more

I recently called about my Tesco Bank Home Insurance because we were "thinking about" a holiday away for over 60 days. The emphasis is on the "thinking about". I was told by the advisor that he would call me back the next day or on the Monday after the weekend. However, a week later I hadn't heard back but assumed he was busy and decided to give him a further few days. I then received an email saying my policy would be cancelled in 7 days. I called them, only to find that because I had told them "I would be away for over 60 days" (wrong) that they would cancel the policy. At the moment this is under review because I explained that it was only a query, not fact. Perhaps if the advisor had listened to my query first they wouldn't have made that mistake. I am having second thoughts about using them now so we will have to see how this goes over the next week or so.

Reviewed on 16th August 2021
Val's avatar
Val

Home Insurance Emergency Cover

Apparently a shower that does not turn off is not considered an emergency. So we can either run the shower permanently and risk flooding (not to mention the waste of precious water) or we can switch off the water supply to our property in today’s 30 degr Read more

Apparently a shower that does not turn off is not considered an emergency. So we can either run the shower permanently and risk flooding (not to mention the waste of precious water) or we can switch off the water supply to our property in today’s 30 degrees heat ! So my advice would be don’t pay for the Emergency Cover because I think, like us, you will find a very limited interruption of what an “emergency” is when you come to claim.

Reviewed on 26th July 2021
Steve 's avatar
Steve

Expensive

Received my renewal which was massive. So I did another comparison with tesco as a new customer. The quote came in £550 cheaper for the exact same cover. So I called them cancelled the existing cover set up a new policy like for like and saved £550.

Reviewed on 16th January 2021
Shaun's avatar
Shaun

amazing service

We have had Tesco Home Insurance for a couple of years now and this year we took Emergency cover as an extra. So delighted we did. We had a blocked toilet and so rang Home Manager . They took details of our predicament and arranged for an engineer to Read more

We have had Tesco Home Insurance for a couple of years now and this year we took Emergency cover as an extra. So delighted we did. We had a blocked toilet and so rang Home Manager . They took details of our predicament and arranged for an engineer to call. Metro Rod arrived within the hour and provided a wonderful service. Happy knowledgeable guys, very professional and dutifully unblocked our toilet. Thank you very much.

Reviewed on 8th January 2021
Yvonne Jenkins's avatar
Yvonne Jenkins

DISGUSTING SERVICE

I had Tesco home emergency cover through SCUMBAG AXA INSURANCE I lost all heating and hot water and put an EMERGENCY claim in a plumber came 24hrs later and diagnosed the fan then went another week to only have the boiler condemed ? walking away offering Read more

I had Tesco home emergency cover through SCUMBAG AXA INSURANCE I lost all heating and hot water and put an EMERGENCY claim in a plumber came 24hrs later and diagnosed the fan then went another week to only have the boiler condemed ? walking away offering no advice or offer to arrange a quote AXA then REFUSED TO PAY A MEASELY £100 TOWARDS THE £3100 I paid British gas to replace my boiler as they said mine had not been maintained correctly even though they asked for no proof! British gas quoted me on saturday and installed on tuesday and done everything exactly as agreed to a fine art absolutely disgusting service and a disgrace i hope AXA read this and it costs you more than it cost me never was about money it was principle

Reviewed on 13th October 2020
nunnya's avatar
nunnya

DO NOT GO THERE!!!

One week & 28 calls later i am still waiting for settlement, which was agreed 5 days ago. I have had to await calls from 2 other companies & had endless promises! I was also promised a further call yesterday which i have still not received! I have been t Read more

One week & 28 calls later i am still waiting for settlement, which was agreed 5 days ago. I have had to await calls from 2 other companies & had endless promises! I was also promised a further call yesterday which i have still not received! I have been told to call another company who are finalising it, but, as i rightly pointed out, my contract is with Tesco so it is not for me to be calling anyone else. Also, i am awaiting a replacement email, as the original one stated my excess at £800, it is actually £50 - apparently it was a typing error on the draft document! Inefficient, confused, uninterested - that is the only way i can describe this poor excuse of an Insurance Company. I think they should stick to being a supermarket - i award them 3 stars for that!

Reviewed on 25th September 2020
Mw's avatar
Mw