Share your insurance feedback and make your voice heard.Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards

Virgin Money Essential Current Account Reviews

Ratings based on 45 reviews Last review 5 months ago

The Virgin Money Essential Current Account is a basic bank account designed to help you keep on top of your money. It has no overdraft, so no overdraft fees to worry about, and no charges for unpaid Direct Debits or standing orders, making it free for everyday use. You can service the account in Virgin Money Stores, Post Offices and with limited online services. It’s open to everyone – so whether you’ve been in financial difficulty, want to avoid it in the future, or simply fancy a simple, fee-free account, you’re welcome to apply.

Brought to you by Virgin Money.

5 29
4 8
3 2
2 3
1 3

Your Essential Current Account Reviews (45)

13th April 2019

AVOID THIS PROVIDER

AVOID THIS PROVIDER AT ALL COSTS. I would honestly give these guys a 0 if I could. I applied for a credit card application on 13 March, their website advises 5 working days for a response but they took a month. Within the month I called several times...

Read more

AVOID THIS PROVIDER AT ALL COSTS. I would honestly give these guys a 0 if I could. I applied for a credit card application on 13 March, their website advises 5 working days for a response but they took a month. Within the month I called several times to find out the progress of my application and was misinformed many times. I spoke to a manager called Chloe ID number CK8811 who was the rudest person I have ever had the misfortune to speak to. She refused to file a complaint when I requested on the 23rd March and refused to give me information on my own application. I eventually got rejected for the credit card and have still not received ANY information as to why I was rejected even though I have requested this many times. I checked on Experian before applying for the credit card and I had a very good credit rating so there really should not be any reason for this rejection. Worse experience I have ever had!!

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. Can you email your details over to us at reviewhelper@virginmoney.com so we can help further? Thanks, Jane
26th March 2019

Surely the 5 star reviews here are fake?

I haven't a clue what is in the heads of the people running Virgin Money. If you read the negative reviews you'll see the legitimate reasons why people are frustrated....

Read more

I haven't a clue what is in the heads of the people running Virgin Money. If you read the negative reviews you'll see the legitimate reasons why people are frustrated.

I have been with this bank for several years (I have no choice) and despite responses by Virgin saying 'thank you for your feedback, we will try and improve' they've done nothing other than add insult to injury.

As mentioned by other people here, you can not do much online and have to go into a branch to do transfers. You can call them up but to make a new transfer you have to go to the branch.

That isn't helped by them closing their branches!!!

I live in London where you'd think this wasn't a problem but instead of being able to go to my branch in east London I now have to go to a branch in tourist central Piccadilly Circus.

I was told in a letter that apparently my branch in east London closed because the landlord had put the rent up. Whoever heard of such a thing from a bank???!!

Then when I go all the way to Picadilly Circus I find out where the money they saved has been spent on... free coffee and sandwiches and a grand piano!!!!

I asked the teller what the hell this was and she said 'to improve customer experience''. You think sandwiches and a grand piano are preferable to me over not having to travel across London or being able to do ANYTHING online???

No double as a response to this review I'm going to get an empty 'Thanks for your feedback xxx, I'll be sure to pass that on to the relevant teams for you. If there's anything else we can help with in the meantime, just get back in touch! Thanks, Jane'.... absolute, empty rubbish. Enough of the lip service Virgin staff and !"£$% do something!!!!

This bank wouldn't exist without some sort of support from the rest of the Virgin brand.

Reply from Virgin Money
Good afternoon, thanks for taking the time out to share your feedback. I’d like to take a look into your experience and share this with relevant department so that they can review and respond to you directly. So that I can do that, can you please email your name, address and contact number across to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com? Thanks, Lindsay.
13th January 2019

Efficient staff, great product, transparent and fair charges, convenient and excellent website

very convenient for me, as I travel back and forward between countries. No fees incurred for foreign purchases and a very low fee for overseas cash withdrawals. Would be even better if one could add and pay beneficiaries from this account.

13th January 2019

Its ok

I cant do anything with my current account online. You can only check your balance. You cant move money cancel direct debits or anything else

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for your feedback Jewean, I'll be sure to pass that on to the relevant teams for you. If there's anything else we can help with in the meantime, just get back in touch! Thanks, Jane
19th December 2018

always friendly,helpful and efficient staff.

I have an isa and a current account with virgin,opened just over a year ago. Unlike other banks I don’t get hassled about my accounts . Information is sent on a regular basis but the customer is allowed to make their own choice having received very g...

Read more

I have an isa and a current account with virgin,opened just over a year ago. Unlike other banks I don’t get hassled about my accounts . Information is sent on a regular basis but the customer is allowed to make their own choice having received very good advice. The staff are professional, helpful and efficient at all times. I can’t recommend virgin money highly enough!!

17th December 2018

A fantastic business, with people at it's heart

Of course t's easy to bank online nowadays, and the Virgin Money site's great, but I love to visit my Haymarket London branch - full of really kind, friendly and knowledgeable staff, involved in honest and principled business dealings, all shown...

Read more

Of course t's easy to bank online nowadays, and the Virgin Money site's great, but I love to visit my Haymarket London branch - full of really kind, friendly and knowledgeable staff, involved in honest and principled business dealings, all shown off in stylish décor with a lovely coffee! Can't think how banking gets any better!

14th December 2018

Brilliant first class service with the human touch!

Regularly visit the Kendal branch - Each and everyone of the staff absolutely brilliant and no stuffiness or looks like the big banks. There to help and actually human - don't feel like you are being judged - no humming when they access your account...

Read more

Regularly visit the Kendal branch - Each and everyone of the staff absolutely brilliant and no stuffiness or looks like the big banks. There to help and actually human - don't feel like you are being judged - no humming when they access your account or signs that you are in the naughty chair/corner!

9th December 2018

Works for me

I've used these for years and have always had good service. They realised before I did that my card had been hacked. I got all money taken back with days and extra security. My only criticism is they do more internet banking.

5th November 2018

Does what it says on the tin. Sadly no smartphone app, yet!

In the 15 months since opening the account the account has performed fine & on the occasion I've been in to the Bolton branch the staff have been super. Called customer services 3 times & they were superb, sorted out my very slight issues, one of them...

Read more

In the 15 months since opening the account the account has performed fine & on the occasion I've been in to the Bolton branch the staff have been super. Called customer services 3 times & they were superb, sorted out my very slight issues, one of them was down to me being a complete t1t.

VM change their card supplier from Visa to MasterCard & the new card was a contactless card, of which I didn't want. So I called CS asked if that feature could be disabled. I was advised that at the time it could not but the adviser did tell me that a lot of people were asking the same. He put my name down to be advised of when the ability to switch off the contactless feature was available. A few months later and I was notified & it was disabled.

Reply from Virgin Money
Good to hear from you Will. I'm pleased to hear you're happy with the account. There's no app available at the moment but I'll certainly pass your feedback on to the team. You know where I am if you need anything. Thanks, Holly
28th March 2018

Usability very poor

I cannot believe what this account has to offer. Can only be taken out in store only. If you want to amend or set up a direct debit or standing order, you have to go in store. Every bank I know you can do almost everything online other than this...

Read more

I cannot believe what this account has to offer. Can only be taken out in store only. If you want to amend or set up a direct debit or standing order, you have to go in store. Every bank I know you can do almost everything online other than this account. The CEO of virgin money really needs to review and update his products.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Phil, thanks for your feedback! I'll be sure to pass that on to the relevant teams for you, just let me know if there's anything else I can help with. Thanks, Jane
8th February 2018

Very basic banking

Very basic banking account,online mamangement terrible, can view account but that’s it. Cannot transfer,look at direct debits etc. Some of these things such as transferring money to another person or company you cannot even do on the phone,you have to ...

Read more

Very basic banking account,online mamangement terrible, can view account but that’s it. Cannot transfer,look at direct debits etc. Some of these things such as transferring money to another person or company you cannot even do on the phone,you have to go in branch to do.would not recommend

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Sarah, thanks for your feedback. We’ll let you know right away if there’s any updates to the account. In the meantime if you have any questions just shout up. Thanks, Lindsay