Barclaycard Reviews

  Ratings based on 425 reviews       Last review 3 days ago    

Barclaycard reviews from our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about Barclaycard whose five core values are Respect, Integrity, Service, Excellence and Stewardship. Smart Money People is the place for Barclaycard reviews. Read and write...

READ MORE

Barclaycard reviews from our Smart Money People can help you to find out more about Barclaycard whose five core values are Respect, Integrity, Service, Excellence and Stewardship. Smart Money People is the place for Barclaycard reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Barclaycard Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Incentives

53% of feedback is Product related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: Online

Best Finance App Winner of "Best Finance App" in the Consumer Credit Awards 2017

Barclaycard Products 425

Platinum Credit Card

terrible ....

Terrible service. I have been scammed for just over £1000 while abroad. It took Barclaycard 10 months only to tell me they are unable to help, using covid as an excuse. Absolutely terrible .....

Reviewed on 3rd March 2021
Magdalena's avatar
Magdalena
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Avoid at all costs

Greetings,... Read more

Greetings, all!

I was trying to add "zero stars", but unfortunately that is not possible.

This is without doubt the worst credit card company I have ever had the misfortune to open an account with. (And let me tell you, they are up against some pretty stiff competition!).

Last summer (July 2020), despite my credit report showing no missed or late payments with Barclaycard, and a good/excellent credit score, Barclaycard slashed my available credit from five thousand pounds to about fifty pounds with zero notice. The first I learned was when I received an automated email saying I was nearing my credit limit. Needless to say I panicked, concluding (as you would) that someone had used up my entire 5K available credit.

A day *after* the arbitrary limit reduction I received a letter, informing me that they had reduced my limit due to missed/late payments or a poor credit rating. Both of these grounds were demonstrably false.

Fortunately, I was at home when this happened and not travelling. Imagine I had been travelling with my Barclaycard as my only source of payment, believing I had 5 grand available? The possible consequences really don't bear thinking about.

On complaining, they told me their terms and conditions allow them to slash credit limits without notice and without warning, even for customers with no missed/late payments and a good credit score, and that they do not need to give a reason.

If you are happy having a credit card whereby they can slash your credit limit at will with no notice, for no reason, and then offer not so much as an apology, then go for it. Otherwise, avoid Barclaycard at all costs!

Reviewed on 23rd February 2021
Julian Wagstaff's avatar
Julian Wagstaff
Write a review

Business Credit Card

Barclaycard Review

Love the app, so easy to use.....

Reviewed on 17th February 2021
Mark H's avatar
Mark H
Write a review

Freedom Rewards Credit Card

Out of Stock?!

Tried to redeem Freedom Points into Amazon vouchers. Out of Stock, apparently. Why's that then? How is that even possible. Am I asking for an actual physical thing? No...just an email with a code on. Typical shoddy customer service.

Reviewed on 12th December 2020
Llewon's avatar
Llewon
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Interest overcharge following fraud, incompetent customer service

Please be careful and check your statements! Following a badly dealt with case of card fraud they’ve been overcharging me interests. This has been going on 3 months. Only today I’ve been on the phone almost 5 hours trying to sort it out. My credit sco... Read more

Please be careful and check your statements! Following a badly dealt with case of card fraud they’ve been overcharging me interests. This has been going on 3 months. Only today I’ve been on the phone almost 5 hours trying to sort it out. My credit score was also affected. Stay away from these incompetent daylight robbers!

Reviewed on 30th November 2020
Cristina Massei's avatar
Cristina Massei
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Mr

They not helpful don't care how long u be in with them

Reviewed on 5th October 2020
Ibrahim's avatar
Ibrahim
Write a review

Hilton HHonors Credit Card

Good rewards and service

The cards quickly build up to give you free nights at Hilton Hotels. Customer Service is good too when you hit issues such as needing charebacks.

Reviewed on 11th July 2020
Gary Andrews's avatar
Gary Andrews
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Easy to manage, generous offers

Find the app very easy to navigate. Like that statements are paperless. I often get good offers and the balance transfer fee is lower then other cards I have. All round great product!

Reviewed on 11th July 2020
AshR27's avatar
AshR27
Write a review

Business Credit Card

Amazing

They sorted everything out for me, it was quick and easy. They explained what would happen sorted out everything. Very informative

Reviewed on 9th July 2020
Johann Baynham's avatar
Johann Baynham
Write a review

Initial Credit Card

Terrible for mobile banking.

The mobile app has always been pretty bad but the shortcomings have been amplified due to Covid. 1000's of people have struggled to pay their bills from within the app for months. None of the issues have been fixed yet.

Reviewed on 4th July 2020
James Henry's avatar
James Henry
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

If I could leave a score of zero I would. In fact -100 might be more accurate.

If I could give zero I... Read more

If I could give zero I would.

Absolutely appalled by Barclaycard's customer service or lack thereof over the last three months. Not only is it impossible to actually get through to them (as you'll read in many reviews below), you send a secure message online where it clearly states they will respond in 24 hours and you either get a generic "we've forwarded this on" message or nothing for 4 days. Then when you do get a reply they haven't even done what you asked them to do. I phoned the number I was given by Barclays for their complaints line and guess what?! The complaints department is closed due to Covid 19!! What a surprise.

They currently owe me £2,000 which is sat on my credit card (having received a refund through my travel provider eventually) and yet they seem incompetent or unwilling to refund that credit to my bank account - which you guessed it, is a Barclays account.

If I was sat on £2,000 on their money you can bet your bottom dollar I'd be in all sorts of trouble.

Absolute joke and will be leaving Barclaycard as soon as I get my money back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed on 2nd July 2020
Christina Stone's avatar
Christina Stone
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

No Customer Service at all

It was bad before, but now it is non-existent. Just wasted 1hr30 minutes on hold before I gave up. The only reason I waited that long is because they also ignore their secure message service... supposed to reply in 24 hrs, I reminded them after 5... Read more

It was bad before, but now it is non-existent. Just wasted 1hr30 minutes on hold before I gave up. The only reason I waited that long is because they also ignore their secure message service... supposed to reply in 24 hrs, I reminded them after 5 weeks and they ignored this as well... I am insulted by such obvious disregard for customers they claim to value so much!

Reviewed on 27th June 2020
Dominic K's avatar
Dominic K
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Worst credit card in the world.

No customer service at all , spend hours on my phone trying to contact Barclays.

Reviewed on 27th June 2020
John Smith's avatar
John Smith
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Worst company ever

Because of their technical issues and inability for me to contact them they left an erroneous late payment on my credit... Read more

Because of their technical issues and inability for me to contact them they left an erroneous late payment on my credit report.
Spent weeks trying to contact them, went into branch, raised complaints and never heard anything. I can contact Halifax in under 5 mins.
Got rejected for our mortgage today, estimated cost of £8k because of their incompetence.
My complaint will be being escalated to the FCA.

DO NOT USE THEM.

Reviewed on 26th June 2020
Nathan Paul's avatar
Nathan Paul
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Excellent for using abroad

No charges on cash withdrawals or transactions overseas, highly recommended for those who work overseas regularly

Reviewed on 17th June 2020
SB152's avatar
SB152
Write a review

Business Balance Transfer Credit Card

Bank

A really good service and offers

Reviewed on 11th June 2020
Samantha Hyatt's avatar
Samantha Hyatt
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Good card to have.

A good card to have, your flexible friend, covers you for all your purchases. One to count on

Reviewed on 10th June 2020
Janice Smith's avatar
Janice Smith
Write a review

Freedom Rewards Credit Card

Great customer service

No hidden charge, great customer service and responsible lending

Reviewed on 3rd June 2020
Georgia 's avatar
Georgia
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Excellent customer service and great credit card

This was my first ever credit card, they gave me a good limit with fantastic deal on interest as I had been a loyal Barclays customer for 10 years.

Reviewed on 3rd June 2020
Jayanna Watts's avatar
Jayanna Watts
Write a review

Platinum Credit Card

Customer friendly credit card

I have had quite a few (probably too many) credit cards in my lifetime and Barclaycard has been the simplest, and customer friendly service I have experienced overall. Anything I needed to do with my card, whether that's to change my direct debit or... Read more

I have had quite a few (probably too many) credit cards in my lifetime and Barclaycard has been the simplest, and customer friendly service I have experienced overall. Anything I needed to do with my card, whether that's to change my direct debit or organise a balance transfer etc, it has been very smooth process with no fuss. I've had no issues at all and I'm a very happy customer.

Reviewed on 29th April 2020
Julia's avatar
Julia
Write a review