Virgin Money Cash ISA Reviews

  Ratings based on 198 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Cash ISA Reviews

198 reviews

Review Virgin Money's Cash ISA now

My Credit Score Raised

On my credit I had issues of payment irregularities, my credit score had dropped to 509, with loads of negative items, this was as a result of being unemployed for a long time. I couldn't get a personal loan to cater for my three kids. I tried every cred Read more

On my credit I had issues of payment irregularities, my credit score had dropped to 509, with loads of negative items, this was as a result of being unemployed for a long time. I couldn't get a personal loan to cater for my three kids. I tried every credit hack in the book, but no positive result. Then, I saw good reviews on Credit Karma about Rootkits Credit Specialist. I reached out to them reluctantly and we started the procedure. 9 days later I was told to check my credit report, and when I did, to my greatest surprise I was in the 790s. Right now I've been approved for a low interest rate loan. I'm recommending their services as promised. You can contact them on Mail: ROOTKITSCREDITSPECIALIST@GMAIL.COM or Mobile: 815 524 8116.

Reviewed on 1st July 2022
Charles Doser's avatar
Charles Doser

Cash ISA Issues

Already a customer of Virgin, I opened a new Cash ISA with them on Monday 30 May. Still unable to access the account on 2 June either online or by getting someone to answer the phone. Other banks manage this instantly. Virgin's systems seem to be a mess.

Reviewed on 2nd June 2022
Maisie Maisie's avatar
Maisie Maisie

Avoid Virgin if you want to open an ISA with them

I opened a cash Isa with Virgin money on 19th May which they state will take a few days to become operational. Contacted them on 23rd May via telephone as I still wasnt able to use the account & was informed that I would need to provide ID before I could Read more

I opened a cash Isa with Virgin money on 19th May which they state will take a few days to become operational. Contacted them on 23rd May via telephone as I still wasnt able to use the account & was informed that I would need to provide ID before I could use it & they usually request this by post. Advised I had not received anything by post whereupon staff member said he would e-mail me a link to provide ID. Info was subsequently uploaded on 23rd May but as of 26th May still unable to access account! Letter received today 26th requesting ID be uploaded...could this not have been requested by e-mail when opening account? One week from opening & still none the wiser! Actually think I will now look elsewhere to open. My advice is to avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 26th May 2022
Helen's avatar
Helen

Avoid at all costs. Pathetic customer service. Awful app.

Even if you pay £160 per year for the "premium" card it is incredibly difficult to get someone on the phone. The website clearly says "We can discuss your account and explain what options are available to you. We’re here 8am to 8pm Monday to Friday and 8a Read more

Even if you pay £160 per year for the "premium" card it is incredibly difficult to get someone on the phone. The website clearly says "We can discuss your account and explain what options are available to you. We’re here 8am to 8pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 1pm on Saturday" but that is simply not true. I am not sure what time the customer service team actually clock off but it's a lot earlier than 8 pm. I have called at 6.30 pm and 7 pm on different days and there has been no one available on both days. It is as if they make it deliberately frustrating by making you jump through a dozen hoops (press 1 for this, press 2 for that, input your DOB, input your card number) before THEN TELLING you the team is not available. And the app is SO UNHELPFUL. You cannot, despite Virgin's claim to the contrary, use the app to resolve a number of issues. It just refers you to the website, which tells you to call or check the useless app. A complete and utter waste of time. And redeeming the airline vouchers is also incredibly frustrating and difficult, and if you speak to the credit card customer service team they are absolutely clueless about that too. PATHETIC.

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Arthur's avatar
Arthur

No communications with this bank

I have held a Cash ISA with Virgin Money for several years. I have not received any correspondence from them since December 2019. My log in details no longer work seemingly because as they have been taken over by Yorks and Clydesdale. No answers on their Read more

I have held a Cash ISA with Virgin Money for several years. I have not received any correspondence from them since December 2019. My log in details no longer work seemingly because as they have been taken over by Yorks and Clydesdale. No answers on their helpline phone.

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
John Smith's avatar
John Smith

My brother and I, cheated out of £,7000 by Virgin Money bank (Beverley).

My brother and I had to deal with them before, and after my mother's passing. They are a no-star bunch of crooks. We have experienced. VM Beverley Went against a signed letter authorising transfer of money from M plus saver to M plus current account. Fal Read more

My brother and I had to deal with them before, and after my mother's passing. They are a no-star bunch of crooks. We have experienced.
VM Beverley Went against a signed letter authorising transfer of money from M plus saver to M plus current account. Fallaciously cited concerns with money laundering laws - at time of TV docu regarding HSBC getting away with money laundering breaches of law. (Early part of 2022).
Then dictated refusal of payment out of accounts to the estate (executor). On grounds of needing to comply with probate laws; when the amount was well under the prescribed £30,000 limit.
Then paid out but with a shortfall of nearly £7,000.
Went through the charade and flimflam of an investigation, taking several months of prevarication and procrastination.
Completely whitewashed their reply citing no case to answer to me, as the named executor of the estate was my brother. However had been perfectly happy to deal with me by letter throughout. Having served them with notice of death (certificate) on my brother' behalf - living in Hull.
Case has been taken up with the FOS and still ongoing as at 29 April 2022.
Have asked for due remedy involving restitution; standard rate interest over period of weeks between payment of bulk of account residue to date; and compo damages.
However FOS dragging heels and giving impression of being complicitously and duplicitously situated.

Having seen very adverse reviews of VM would warn people against having anything (further) to do with these unregulated 'Rogue Trader' crooks. And their operation in a manner disturbingly similar to modern day Nazism.
Presided over by Sir Richard Branson; no less...

Reviewed on 29th April 2022
Antony Clayton's avatar
Antony Clayton

A Spiral of Decline

Once upon a time a fine Northern Rock account, then Virgin/Cleveland? But uncompetitive rates and then when opting for closure and cheque the result is another letter requesting another signed form. No other institution I have dealt with has such a delayi Read more

Once upon a time a fine Northern Rock account, then Virgin/Cleveland? But uncompetitive rates and then when opting for closure and cheque the result is another letter requesting another signed form. No other institution I have dealt with has such a delaying tactic and you provide your own envelope and stamp. Steer clear.

Reviewed on 23rd April 2022
Jeffrey Waller's avatar
Jeffrey Waller

Dreadful - trapped in a system that does not work

Opened a cash ISA - Virgin system will not recognise any of the information supplied to me by Virgin. This means that I can not sign in. No one will answer the telephone and so I am trapped with a cash ISA with no money in and have missed my tax allow Read more

Opened a cash ISA - Virgin system will not recognise any of the information supplied to me by Virgin. This means that I can not sign in.

No one will answer the telephone and so I am trapped with a cash ISA with no money in and have missed my tax allowance.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
GG's avatar
GG

App Needs To Include ISA's

Great service but the mobile app has to include ISA's otherwise no complaints.

Reviewed on 26th March 2022
Martin's avatar
Martin

Great service, great website, good rates

Whenever I needed assistance from the Virgin Money team I was always assisted nicely and issues resolved. Very happy with my experience to date

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
MichaelB's avatar
MichaelB

Best interest rate at present.

Best interest rate at the moment with 2 penalty free withdrawals in 12 month period

Reviewed on 16th September 2021
Naomi Lewis's avatar
Naomi Lewis

Lack of app

Decent rate. The the lack of an app and the complexity to logging in makes the account very inconvenient to use. No idea why they have not addressed this by 2021!!

Reviewed on 27th February 2021
Sam's avatar
Sam

Easy to deal with, good rate

Signing up for the ISA was very easy and you can arrange a transfer from your current one on line, which makes it quick and very easy. I have used Virgin Money for other products and been very happy.

Reviewed on 6th June 2020
Mark Madeley's avatar
Mark Madeley

Great Product

Easy to set up and at a decent rate. Some issues with validating identity but sorted in the end

Reviewed on 6th May 2020
Lisa Anderson's avatar
Lisa Anderson

Access problems and difficult customer service

I have an ISA with Virgin for over a year. The bank doesn't offer an app to its ISA customers. To authenticate on their website you need to use your customer ID, password and a code sent to your mobiles. In the past year it happened me quite frequently to Read more

I have an ISA with Virgin for over a year. The bank doesn't offer an app to its ISA customers. To authenticate on their website you need to use your customer ID, password and a code sent to your mobiles. In the past year it happened me quite frequently to not being able to access the account for days as the access code is not sent to my mobile. This is totally unacceptable, in particular in this period of insecurity. As soon as this is over, I will switch to a more reliable provider.

Reviewed on 5th May 2020
Mattia Gerli's avatar
Mattia Gerli

money tree

good solid helpful information,friendly helpful staff

Reviewed on 29th April 2020
paul overfield's avatar
paul overfield

Great Account and Excellent customer service

I went on to their website and requested a call back at 12.00pm. They called exactly on time , dealing with my enquiry efficiently and effectively . sending out an application form , which was promptly received, and returned . I then got a call a couple Read more

I went on to their website and requested a call back at 12.00pm. They called exactly on time , dealing with my enquiry efficiently and effectively . sending out an application form , which was promptly received, and returned . I then got a call a couple of days later acknowledging my application . The interest rate is also very competitive .

Reviewed on 27th April 2020
Mark Thomas's avatar
Mark Thomas

Worst bank in UK

This is the worst bank in the uk I open a account on the 16-01-2020 then on the 19-01-2020 I get a email saying my bank accounts has been put on hold with out a reason they asked me to upload my ID through the link sent by ba.Direct I have been doing this Read more

This is the worst bank in the uk I open a account on the 16-01-2020 then on the 19-01-2020 I get a email saying my bank accounts has been put on hold with out a reason they asked me to upload my ID through the link sent by ba.Direct I have been doing this from 19-01-2020 till 24-01-2020 then the retail sales team called me up to find if I have loaded my ID on the link I said yes they said ok we still don’t have it can you reply to the email from ba.direct and send my ID that way and I did then I get a email that I can’t send my ID that way and it will not be load to my account and I have to use the link if the staff members had a Half a brain they would let the department know what’s going on but it looks like they are to lazy to do this

Reviewed on 25th January 2020
Jose Marcio Gois Martins's avatar
Jose Marcio Gois Martins

HELPFUL STAFF

Easy to speak to staff in local branches.

Reviewed on 5th January 2020
BARBARA STEPHENSON's avatar
BARBARA STEPHENSON

Loyalty does pay

I have been a customer with Virgin Money for quite a while and at one time when my Cash Isa matured I was offered a rate which I accepted thinking it was a competitive rate but few weeks after that I found that they had launched a better rate which upset Read more

I have been a customer with Virgin Money for quite a while and at one time when my Cash Isa matured I was offered a rate which I accepted thinking it was a competitive rate but few weeks after that I found that they had launched a better rate which upset me as I had huge amount accumulated in my account over the years , so I asked the manageress at my local branch and she staright away honoured that whci made me very happy,she could have easily said no but nice to honoue regular loyal customer,well done Virgin Money and thank you in these low interest rate era.
e

Reviewed on 6th November 2019
Chandulal Gokani's avatar
Chandulal Gokani