Aviva Reviews

  Ratings based on 717 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

Aviva reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out what life as an Aviva customer is really like. As one of the UK's largest insurance companies, Aviva has sold millions of insurance policies across many products. Read and write Aviv...

READ MORE

Aviva reviews written by our Smart Money People can help you to find out what life as an Aviva customer is really like. As one of the UK's largest insurance companies, Aviva has sold millions of insurance policies across many products. Read and write Aviva reviews today, and together we can help to increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Aviva Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Fees & Charges

56% of feedback is Product related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Best Life Insurance Provider' in the 2017 Insurance Choice Awards

Health Insurance

Disgusting!

Wanted some preemptive counselling for my nine year old. They talked me round in circles and did absolutely everything they could not to help the child. Absolutely disgusted by them. Have left immediately. I just want health security for my family and am Read more

Wanted some preemptive counselling for my nine year old. They talked me round in circles and did absolutely everything they could not to help the child. Absolutely disgusted by them. Have left immediately. I just want health security for my family and am willing to pay yet I've just spent hours on the phone fighting for my daughter to no avail. Worse support that the poor NHS. At least the NHS Has its heart in the right place. I repeat: disgusting.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Danielle Holden's avatar
Danielle Holden
Write a review

Car Insurance

one of the most incompetent companies

Aviva is a total rip off they charge customers beyond limit and the service they provide is the poorest I have ever received from any insurance company, please shop around for better companies and better rates before you get into this mess. I trusted Aviv Read more

Aviva is a total rip off they charge customers beyond limit and the service they provide is the poorest I have ever received from any insurance company, please shop around for better companies and better rates before you get into this mess. I trusted Aviva for three years but I was completely wrong and should have listened to my friends not to insure my cars with Aviva, not only the prices are exorbitantly high but the customer service is so poor and incompetent they don't really care, when I met with an accident I called registered my claim which was not even registered and and was given assurance that they'll be in touch, after which I received a letter from the other party solicitors making a claim only to find out my claim wasn't registered after I called Aviva back I was told that somehow my claim hasn't been registered all they did was apologise over the phone. the worst was yet to come they sent my car to a body shop for repairs saying its Audi Recognised but my car came back worse then I could even imagine the interiors were shabby I had to clean the car myself at home and sanitise it, it was sent back again and it got even worse there was blemishes and dinks and chips put on my car and all swirl marks. I'm completed disappointed my car use to be gleaming before it went for repairs. I have now requested to send my car to a proper Audi centre and get it done again but I'm told it will at least take 8 weeks to prove that the body shop is responsible for doing so even after providing with pictures. so if you ever wanna waste your money then think twice before insuring your car with Aviva, i have finally got a new insurer which is £1200 cheaper the Aviva.

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Steve Fernandes's avatar
Steve Fernandes
Write a review

Health Insurance

False assurances and mis-sold insurance

A complete waste of money! Beware when taking out a medical insurance policy to cover you in the event of illness and inability to work. At a time when you are unwell and at your most vulnerable, Aviva will not pay out for the first month and will keep yo Read more

A complete waste of money! Beware when taking out a medical insurance policy to cover you in the event of illness and inability to work. At a time when you are unwell and at your most vulnerable, Aviva will not pay out for the first month and will keep you waiting without financial support for a number of months. They will also bring up your whole medical history and try to find an excuse not to support your claim.

Reviewed on 10th May 2022
Alison Luxford's avatar
Alison Luxford
Write a review

Health Insurance

The Worst! - try to wheedle out of paying legitiate clam

I took out Aviva Healthcare for me and my wife in April Last year - they asked about any conditions or treatments in the prior 5 years - I confirmed hat there weren't any. I renewed the policy last month and initiated a claim as my doctor had recommended Read more

I took out Aviva Healthcare for me and my wife in April Last year - they asked about any conditions or treatments in the prior 5 years - I confirmed hat there weren't any. I renewed the policy last month and initiated a claim as my doctor had recommended a colonoscopy (Due to my dad dying of Bowel cancer 12 yrs ago), when I started the claim, they looked at my records and saw that I had previously had a colonoscopy July 10th 2016 - 6 Years ago.... they refused to honour the claim stating that I had had a a investigation (Which found nothing) withn 5 Years... I pointd out that it was 6 years ago... and they defaulted to he start date of he policy - April 24th 2021 - which was 4 Years and 10 months after my previous investigation ... and have now said that as I consulted my doctor.. I would have to wait another 5 years before they would consider covering this procedure how is this effective preventative support... in five years, a Polyp can go from being harmless to stage 4 inoperable cancer!!!

Reviewed on 3rd May 2022
chris jones's avatar
chris jones
Write a review

Car Insurance

AVIVA - INCOMPETENCE PERSONIFIED

DO NOT INSURE YOUR VEHICLE OR ANYTHING ELSE WITH THIS SHOWER OF NUMPTIES!! Two weeks after my accident AVIVA are still unable to provide me with a courtesy car/hire car (War in Ukraine, COVID pandemic, this is just some the excuses from them). To reach t Read more

DO NOT INSURE YOUR VEHICLE OR ANYTHING ELSE WITH THIS SHOWER OF NUMPTIES!!
Two weeks after my accident AVIVA are still unable to provide me with a courtesy car/hire car (War in Ukraine, COVID pandemic, this is just some the excuses from them). To reach this unsatisfactory outcome i had to endure 28 hrs of calls with 13 different advisors and am no further on. I did make a suggestion that i would put a SORNED vehicle that i have back on the road which initially they agreed to meeting the costs of mot/tax etc, but only two hours later they called back to say i had been misled and that they could not help. I have been constantly lied to, talked over, spoken down to and told each time i called that the complaint had been escalated to the highest level - bullsh*t!!
After only a couple of calls to AVIVA your health and well being will head south so i would suggest to any prospective customers to avoid this lot and any of the companies that AVIVA own and go elsewhere - you have been warned!!

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Gordon Donaldson's avatar
Gordon Donaldson
Write a review

Car Insurance

Worse insurance company ever.

Notified them a potential issue with my car and it is now marked with claim. put my insurance up for hundreds, I told them i dont need their help any more and they confirmed it would only be a notification, but! it has left a mark! Never claimed any money Read more

Notified them a potential issue with my car and it is now marked with claim. put my insurance up for hundreds, I told them i dont need their help any more and they confirmed it would only be a notification, but! it has left a mark! Never claimed any money from them. what a joke of a company

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Daz Jin's avatar
Daz Jin
Write a review

Pension

Cant get a response or payout, they seem to be deliberately withholding payment,

The worst ever experienced, appalling service.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Pete's avatar
Pete
Write a review

Pension

Worst service ever experienced

It took me a MONTH to get my money.

Reviewed on 21st April 2022
ole kragh's avatar
ole kragh
Write a review

Health Insurance

Avoid like the plague

Dreadful service. From the first call, their attitude was ‘how are we going to get out of this?’ Wish I’d stuck with BUPA.

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Russell Wailes's avatar
Russell Wailes
Write a review

Pension

Really poor customer service

Join a Aviva Pension Scheme if you are happy to be held waiting for some one to talk to you for upwards of a Hour . Staff promise paperwork will be emailed but sometime the same details arrive quicker by post ! How the hell can that happen. You always and Read more

Join a Aviva Pension Scheme if you are happy to be held waiting for some one to talk to you for upwards of a Hour . Staff promise paperwork will be emailed but sometime the same details arrive quicker by post ! How the hell can that happen. You always and a mean always need to chase up requests for drawdown document to be sent and for payments rto be received. Poor staff levels, poor staff training, poor systems and procedures and department within Aviva doo not taqlk to each other, Try any other Pension Provider they cannot be as bad as Aviva Pensions

Reviewed on 19th April 2022
Steve Jones's avatar
Steve Jones
Write a review

Health Insurance

Thieves

This Company took over my previouse insurer. I have been with them for 40 years and currently pay them £650 a month. You take insurance out for those occasiions when you need medical help especially life saving. A number of times over the last 40 years Read more

This Company took over my previouse insurer.
I have been with them for 40 years and currently pay them £650 a month.
You take insurance out for those occasiions when you need medical help especially life saving.
A number of times over the last 40 years I have had to pay up to £3600 out of my own pocket.
Now they have given 6 months notice they won't cover my heart condition.

With insurance some people claim and some people like my wife never claim. Thats why we insure in the first place.

This company is a disgrace and I wish I had never heard of them.

If your thinking of useing them DON'T you will be sorry. Once they refuse treatment it's to late to go somewhere else and you can die for all they care.

Reviewed on 15th April 2022
John Russell's avatar
John Russell
Write a review

Car Insurance

Over 3 months & just ignored

My vehicle, being driven under 3rd Party cover, was stationary at ATS in December 2021 when an Aviva customer drove into it, causing it to be a likely financial write-off. The driver accepted total responsibility and Aviva said they would deal direct with Read more

My vehicle, being driven under 3rd Party cover, was stationary at ATS in December 2021 when an Aviva customer drove into it, causing it to be a likely financial write-off. The driver accepted total responsibility and Aviva said they would deal direct with me. Multiple E-Mails have been sent and never one response received from them. My pride and joy car has been on my driveway now for over three months. Aviva clearly does not care about people and their upset, just money. I would never have a policy with this company, will do my best to ensure family and friends avoid too and have no choice now but to find out how to take legal proceedings against them, all because they don't have the basic courtesy to communicate.
Shame on you Aviva, you are a disgrace to your sector.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
FrasNM's avatar
FrasNM
Write a review

Health Insurance

Any means not pay

I cannot recommend this company based on my own experience, when I needed them most they basically called me a liar (without actually saying it) and said they couldn't pay based on we couldn't prove when the illness started, even though it was on my docto Read more

I cannot recommend this company based on my own experience, when I needed them most they basically called me a liar (without actually saying it) and said they couldn't pay based on we couldn't prove when the illness started, even though it was on my doctors record. Avoid these charlatan's.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Steve's avatar
Steve
Write a review

Car Insurance

Professional & Quality Insurer

I've been with Aviva for just one year and all my contact with them has been professional and prompt. I would recommend.

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Helen Swales's avatar
Helen Swales
Write a review

Car Insurance

DONT USE THIER RECOMMENDED REPAIRERS

Seven weekas ago I had an accident on the motoway that very windy day - blown into the barrier. I should have used BMW but Aviva said it was £250 extra excess. They could move the car to a repair company near to me and provide a loan car. They did move Read more

Seven weekas ago I had an accident on the motoway that very windy day - blown into the barrier. I should have used BMW but Aviva said it was £250 extra excess. They could move the car to a repair company near to me and provide a loan car. They did move it and seven weeks later I dont have any idea of when the car will be repaired nor do I have a loan car. The garage (IRG Bristol) fianlly says they have produced an estimate and are wating for Aviva to approve, Aviva says thay havent had it!!!! Tha garage says they dont have any loan cars and Aviva says they should hire one!! Impossible to get answers? Do I go to the Finacial Ombudsman or hire a solicitor but I dont think it likely to make a difference. So DONT use thier approved repair companies, I should have used BMW who sent a hire car (it's part of the waranty within a few hours - brillaint service but it went rapidly downhill with Aviva

Reviewed on 3rd April 2022
Ian Gott's avatar
Ian Gott
Write a review

Pension

Rub and poor customer service

My father has been having no end of chew with his pension and claiming it because he has a power of attorney in place who deals with his money they won’t pay out they want all sorts of information then when provided loose it and find other excuses not to Read more

My father has been having no end of chew with his pension and claiming it because he has a power of attorney in place who deals with his money they won’t pay out they want all sorts of information then when provided loose it and find other excuses not to pay out a joke of a company want the money in put won’t pay out

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
caroline Smithson's avatar
caroline Smithson
Write a review

Car Insurance

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

I NEEDED TO ASK SOME INSURANCE QUESTIONS ABOUT TEMPORARY COVER AND CHANGING VEHICLE AND WHAT THESE WOULD COST. I TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT AVIVA NUMBERS WHICH ALL LED DOWN A SEEMINGLY ENDLESS STREAM OF OPTIONS WHICH ALL ENDED UP NOWHERE NO MATTER WHICH ONES Read more

I NEEDED TO ASK SOME INSURANCE QUESTIONS ABOUT TEMPORARY COVER AND CHANGING VEHICLE AND WHAT THESE WOULD COST. I TRIED SEVERAL DIFFERENT AVIVA NUMBERS WHICH ALL LED DOWN A SEEMINGLY ENDLESS STREAM OF OPTIONS WHICH ALL ENDED UP NOWHERE NO MATTER WHICH ONES YOU CHOOSE. THE ONLY WAY I GOT THROUGH TO AN ACTUAL PERSON WAS TO PRETEND I NEEDED TO MAKE A CLAIM AND THAT SNOTTY WOMAN PUT ME THROUGH TO CUSTOMER SERVICES WHICH LED ME STRAIGHT DOWN THE SAME OPTIONS TO NOWHERE. I'M NOT ABLE TO PURCHASE THE CAR I'M INTERESTED IN BECAUSE I CAN'T GET ANY INFORMATION FROM AVIVA, IT'S SO INFURIATING, WHY CAN'T THEY JUST ANSWER THE PHONE TO CUSTOMERS, IT WOULD BE SO SIMPLE, JUST CALL, ASK YOUR QUESTION AND DONE. I WILL BE LOOKING FOR NEW COVER WHEN MINE EXPIRES.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
ALEX's avatar
ALEX
Write a review

Health Insurance

Sneaky and dishonest

I have had numerous surgeries from 2010 so felt I would like to cover me and my husband going forward as we got older. I have only had call to phone in two years (and £3000) and have been dismissed by automaton customer service reps both times, who turn a Read more

I have had numerous surgeries from 2010 so felt I would like to cover me and my husband going forward as we got older. I have only had call to phone in two years (and £3000) and have been dismissed by automaton customer service reps both times, who turn a genuine query or request for mere advice, into an interrogation about how long you have experienced symptoms, with the sole purpose to stitch you up by inferring everything is before you were insured, so you're not covered. As an extreme example I asked the representative if I came to them with a brain tumour, would me having a headache when I was seven count as a pre-existing condition, and, to her robotic credit, she said it would depend on my policy. Avoid.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
ALTH's avatar
ALTH
Write a review

Pension

Now devaluing an agreed pay out figure, taking 18% of pot!

I've been in touch with Aviva now 3 times to cash in a poor performing pension from 2 previous employers going back 25 years. Initially I was told that the 'cash in value' 3 weeks ago was over the 20k so wouldn't qualify for SLS payment as I'd already use Read more

I've been in touch with Aviva now 3 times to cash in a poor performing pension from 2 previous employers going back 25 years. Initially I was told that the 'cash in value' 3 weeks ago was over the 20k so wouldn't qualify for SLS payment as I'd already used one, leaving just 2 available - so that option couldn't be used, spoke again 4th Mar (5 working days ago) and a depreciation had occurred of £688, taking the sum just below 20k meaning the SLS method could be applied, so agreed to the figures, digitally signed, the charges and depreciation taking the final sum to me of £18500 - 12% in fees and depreciation. Today, lo and behold - an email via secure Aviva saying a further 6% to come off - another £1200 - a total of 18% - that's more than the taxman would be taking! What's the crack here - is the Aviva Xmas party underfunded or what! Awaiting communication back!

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Mr P's avatar
Mr P
Write a review

Car Insurance

DO NOT GO THERE PEOPLE

AFTER JUST ONE YEAR THEY RAISED MY PREMIUM WITHOUT ANY CLAIMS BY €100!!LADY ON THE PHONE ADVICED ME TO GO TO OTHER COMPANY

Reviewed on 9th March 2022
Rafal Sych's avatar
Rafal Sych
Write a review