CAF Bank Current Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 29 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

Looking for CAF Bank current account reviews? we're Smart Money People, the #1 site for financial services reviews, so take a look below to see what our community has to say about this charity-oriented product. Whether it's comments on opening an account,...

READ MORE

Looking for CAF Bank current account reviews? we're Smart Money People, the #1 site for financial services reviews, so take a look below to see what our community has to say about this charity-oriented product. Whether it's comments on opening an account, day to day servicing, interest rates, or anything else to do with operating an account for a charitable organisation, please leave your own review of CAF Bank's current account and help others discover which products will work best for their charity.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

CAF Bank Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

50% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 55-64

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Current Account Reviews

29 reviews

Review CAF Bank's Current Account now

Efficient with good service

Charity has been banking with CAF for a decade or more. Internet banking works well with dual authorisation. Managed transfer to CIO quickly and sensibly whereas Lloyds were unbelievably difficult and trying to open an account with Barclays was an eye ope Read more

Charity has been banking with CAF for a decade or more. Internet banking works well with dual authorisation. Managed transfer to CIO quickly and sensibly whereas Lloyds were unbelievably difficult and trying to open an account with Barclays was an eye opener into how big banks see charities - a requirement for trustees to meet them in person; a full financial check on all 12 trustees required etc. We said no. At least HSBC said no to our turnover of £25k without going further. So CAF is a good choice for a small charity that wants the basics. Yes its £8 per month but I cant remember having a problem and consider the comparable cost of an accounts package to do gift aid and making tax digital to HMRC.

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Keith J White's avatar
Keith J White

So Grateful

I found myself in charge of four CAF Bank accounts and there was very little information re access, passwords etc. It took quite a while for the mandates and change of contact details to be registered - therefore four stars - but today I spoke to the fri Read more

I found myself in charge of four CAF Bank accounts and there was very little information re access, passwords etc. It took quite a while for the mandates and change of contact details to be registered - therefore four stars - but today I spoke to the friendliest, most professional customer services assistant. She talked me through everything and stayed on the line as we sorted all four accounts. A huge weight was lifted from my shoulders. Thank you Franki,

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Anne Little's avatar
Anne Little

Deteriorating Service

Recently had issue after issue with CAF, so raised a formal complaint. A month later and apparently they aren’t to blame for anything! Time to find another bank that values its customers and appreciates £250k of credit balances.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
RP14560's avatar
RP14560

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi there. Feedback is very important to us and if you would like to contact us to discuss further we’d be pleased to hear from you. If you have the time to share more please send us an email to cafbank@cafonline.org. Best wishes, CAF Bank team

Excellent online facility

Like all banks, it is not easy to talk to someone but their service and customer training has improved a lot over the pandemic. Good online banking.

Reviewed on 5th March 2022
Charlie Hutchings's avatar
Charlie Hutchings

Competance with kindness

CAF Bank has a different outlook. By comparing their service with the other clearing banks, you realise that the customer's needs come first, and their charges are reasonable and fair

Reviewed on 28th February 2022
Janet's avatar
Janet

Very good service

Friendly understanding staff willing to help with problems.

Reviewed on 27th February 2022
Edward Walton's avatar
Edward Walton

Trouble free banking

Our charity has used charity bank for quite a number of years now and the service which we get is really impressive. Personal contact is always easy to establish and any issues are dealt with in a very professional manner

Reviewed on 27th February 2022
robin tomlinson's avatar
robin tomlinson

Dreadful access difficulties

I constantly have difficulty accessing the bank online. This is because I live in a poor area for mobile telephone communication and this means I always have difficulty getting the six figure security code you insist on sending to my mobile telephone. P Read more

I constantly have difficulty accessing the bank online. This is because I live in a poor area for mobile telephone communication and this means I always have difficulty getting the six figure security code you insist on sending to my mobile telephone. Please, please update your systems so that, at least I can receive the security codes on my landline. After all my Lloyds bank account has no difficulty sending codes by landline.

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
PW365 H79's avatar
PW365 H79

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi there. We really appreciate your feedback and would like to further discuss the issue you are experiencing. If you have the time, do please send us an email at cafbank@cafonline.org and our Customer Service Team will be on hand. Best wishes, CAF Bank Team.

Efficiency

If I need to ring CAF Bank I have, without exception, had my query resolved. I have a "real" person answer the phone quickly, and if they don't have an answer for me, they'll pass me on to someone who does.

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Alan Whiting's avatar
Alan Whiting

Simple and efficient banking, and good value

Our church current account switched to CAF from Barclays in Oct 2020 to reduce the level of charges incurred and get online access - one of the best decisions we ever made.

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Eric Bridgstock's avatar
Eric Bridgstock

Feeling safe!

CAF staff are friendly, efficient, patient and nothing is too much trouble when I need support because the tech defeats me! Charity now safer and more efficient.

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Clair Barnard's avatar
Clair Barnard

Don't use this bank if at all possible

The most frustrating service I have ever experienced. They make it as difficult as possible for you to set up or access your account and continuously find problems and never offer to help you solve them. Definitely detrimental to your mental health.

Reviewed on 4th November 2021
Rose's avatar
Rose

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi Rose. We are sorry to read you are having difficulties. Please contact our Customer Service Team on 03000 123 456 or via cafbank@cafonline.org and they will assist.

Frustrating shambles

How l wish we hadn't gone with CAF bank. They don't seem to communicate how things work efficiently and now l can't pay cash in because all the HSBC branches near me are closed . I have been told that CAF are trying to think how to resolve this issue but Read more

How l wish we hadn't gone with CAF bank. They don't seem to communicate how things work efficiently and now l can't pay cash in because all the HSBC branches near me are closed . I have been told that CAF are trying to think how to resolve this issue but haven't as yet found a solution its 2021 not 1950 .

Reviewed on 17th September 2021
Wendy's avatar
Wendy

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi Wendy. We are sorry to hear you have been having problems. Please call 03000 123 456 or email cafbank@cafonline.org and we will do our best to help.

CAF Bank staff

We hit a problem regarding acceptance of a cheque by another bank to pay our staff salaries. This was a complicated urgent matter and Vicky and Sharon (CAF staff members were more than helpful and very patient in resolving this problem and it took ove Read more

We hit a problem regarding acceptance of a cheque by another bank to pay our staff salaries. This was a complicated urgent matter and Vicky and Sharon (CAF staff members were more than helpful and very patient in resolving this problem and it took over 2 hours of their time guiding us as novices through IT processes - thank you so much. Very customer friendly staff.

Reviewed on 26th July 2021
Age UK Oldham's avatar
Age UK Oldham

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi, thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are delighted we were able to help you, best wishes from CAF Bank team

Awful service

I spent an hour on the phone this week talking to a lady trying to sort out basics and discuss on line banking. By the end of the hour I wanted to either cry or get angry but basically I gave up. Looking for an alternative bank now.

Reviewed on 22nd July 2021
Sue Townsend's avatar
Sue Townsend

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi Sue, we are really sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience. Please do get in touch with us so that we can resolve any issues you may be having. Best wishes, CAF Bank team

Stay as far away from this bank as you can...

If I could have given a zero star rating I would! The time it takes to get the simplest task done is unbelievable, what takes a few min's online at most every other bank can take 30 days or more as they still require you to fill in a form, print it and po Read more

If I could have given a zero star rating I would! The time it takes to get the simplest task done is unbelievable, what takes a few min's online at most every other bank can take 30 days or more as they still require you to fill in a form, print it and post it to them. Very unhelpful and sometimes rude staff don't help to resolve issues you may have.
All in all a very poor bank with online facilities that were outdated 10 years ago.

Reviewed on 8th July 2021
Andrew Quinton's avatar
Andrew Quinton

Reply from CAF Bank

Hi Andrew, we are really sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience. We will get in touch to discuss your concerns. Best wishes, CAF Bank team

Regularly can't do basics online

it is so poor...such an effort to get anything done. Letters have been 'lost', website doesn't work. account gets blocked.....it is a very very poor experience overall

Reviewed on 28th May 2021
James's avatar
James

Expensive

We are a very small local charity with cash at bank of about £30,000. The number of transactions on our bank account are few and far between - no more than 5 per year. CAF Bank introduced a monthly fee of £5 some years ago, rising to £8 per month recently Read more

We are a very small local charity with cash at bank of about £30,000. The number of transactions on our bank account are few and far between - no more than 5 per year. CAF Bank introduced a monthly fee of £5 some years ago, rising to £8 per month recently. I challenged their charges by letter and asked them to take into account the frequency of our transactions. They were completely intransigent - no negotiation, no dialogue - their letter in reply was both impersonal and abrupt summarised as "take it or leave it". The inappropriateness of their charges is further compounded by they extremely poor and clunky website whiuch is not in the slightest user friendly. So we left CAF Bank for NatWest who offer a free banking service for charities.
Not recommended

Reviewed on 13th May 2021
MM's avatar
MM

So disappointing!

Despite their claims to act as a trusted intermediary between you and your charity of choice, they are unhelpful, slow to respond and do not act in the interests of the organisations they claim to help. It took weeks for them to transfer money from the CA Read more

Despite their claims to act as a trusted intermediary between you and your charity of choice, they are unhelpful, slow to respond and do not act in the interests of the organisations they claim to help. It took weeks for them to transfer money from the CAF account to the selected charities. I wish I had gone directly. Avoid CAF.

Reviewed on 3rd February 2021
Katemba's avatar
Katemba

Avoid this bank at all costs

We have endless problems with CAF. Cards get blocked if someone spends, for example, £1500. The staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful. Even though it’s hard to move banks as a charity, we will, and as soon as possible.

Reviewed on 20th January 2021
Vbg2005's avatar
Vbg2005