Fancy a chance to win £1,000? Share your insurance feedback and make your voice heard.Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards

The Co-operative Bank Reviews

Ratings based on 215 reviews Last review 2 weeks ago
4.15 / 5Great overall rating

The Co-operative bank pride themselves on customer service and customer satisfaction levels. They aim to be the most efficient and financially sustainable retail and SME Bank in the UK. Smart Money People is the place for Co-operative bank reviews....

Read Full Description

The Co-operative bank pride themselves on customer service and customer satisfaction levels. They aim to be the most efficient and financially sustainable retail and SME Bank in the UK. Smart Money People is the place for Co-operative bank reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

5 123
4 46
3 19
2 9
1 18

Your The Co-operative Bank Reviews (215)

Write a review
8th September 2018

Ethical? I don't think so ...

I wanted to believe that this was an organisation I could trust - silly me!...

Read more

I wanted to believe that this was an organisation I could trust - silly me!

In 2008 I joined the Coop under the Ownhome mortgage deal and was given every assurance that this would always give me access to the full range of their mortgage deals. In 2018, when I have come to the end of my 2nd fixed term deal, Coop have changed their minds and are no longer offering any Ownhome clients any mortgage deals. That puts me on their standard variable rate with no option other than to move the mortgage to another vendor (if one is available!) or revert to their 4.99% Standard Variable Rate.

I don't really have enough words to explain how deeply disgusted I am in the way Coop have acted. Even worse any complaint I make will not change what is happening or bring any sanctions to the bank.

Write a review
31st August 2018

Still Does not reply to emails

I have been quite happy with the Co operative Bank, locally and general account...

Read more

I have been quite happy with the Co operative Bank, locally and general account operation.
I received a letter from The Head of Customer Services, removing my overdraft service.
I have emailed to Customer Service on multiple occasions. I have yet to get a reply from any of them.
This lack of attention to customer queries and the common politeness of Customer Services gives me little confidence in the Management Control on the Head of Customer Services gives me little confidence in the Management. I emailed the Board directly but received no reply. 100% failure all round.
Time for a complete review of the Management Ethic.
I have not changed Banks because it is too complicated.
Why does the Bank find it necessary to do automatic Credit Checks for every customer every year, despite the customers conduct with the Bank after 6 years exemplary conduct of the Account?
Then a letter is sent by the Head of Customer Services, who has no telephone number, no email address, and no Mail Address.
This person does not exist!
I have a small CCJ from a company that was recently fined after admitting to forging documents and using other company details without permission, and using false names on communications.
The Co operative bank do not seem in the slightest interested in facts. When the Judgement was received in contacted Experian that had dropped my Credit reference from 800 to 400, and explained the position, they were aware of this company and promptly increased my reference to 840 out of 1000, an increase.
Co operative does NOT answer.
Credibility does not seem to be a priority.
Why when the rest of the operations is acceptable, slow but sure.

Write a review
12th July 2018

Coop demonises Israel

The Cooperage have made it their policy to demonise the tiny state of Israel which they have no right to...

Read more

The Cooperage have made it their policy to demonise the tiny state of Israel which they have no right to do.
Israel is a democracy with elected government made up of Israeli Jews and Arabs.
Israel supports womens rights, gay rights education and helps with life saving surgery for some of its more violent neighbours, Israel helps other nations with technology and agriculture and so on.
It's neighbours have some detestable practices including hanging people for being gay, forbidding female education and women's rights, imprisoning people for practising faiths other than Islam and funding terrorist organisations.
Thank Co-op seels to demonise Israel and refuse to do business with any company that supports Israel and yet does nothing of concern to Israel neighbours, this is hypocrisy and to try to interfere with Israel as a sovereign nation is abhorrent.
I have closed my coop account and hope that others on reading this review will also bank elsewhere.
Ask the Co-op directly what their policy on Israel is and ask yourself do Co-op have the right to persecute a sovereign democracy?
Co-op the shameful bank !!!!!

Write a review
1st July 2018

Ethical Banking on the High Street

The Co-Operative Bank is a great ethical choice on the high street when so many banking providers aren't in a world where this should be an important priority and on everyone's conscience. I like the knowledge that my money isn't being used around...

Read more

The Co-Operative Bank is a great ethical choice on the high street when so many banking providers aren't in a world where this should be an important priority and on everyone's conscience. I like the knowledge that my money isn't being used around the world by my bank for nefarious means. I have never had problems banking with them and their customer service is good. Their mortgage products are often first choice for most too.

Write a review
22nd June 2018

Still notanswering emails, unacceptable in the electronic world

The Coop has not answered one...

Read more

The Coop has not answered one mail.
Pretty pathetic.
I had a letter from the Head of Customer services. If any person in authority signs a letter to you, they must be accesible. This person apparently does not exist. She has no phone number, email or contact address. Responsible Officers of any compant, entity, etc, must be contactable.
She cannot be contacted!

Write a review
2nd June 2018

Doesn't reply to emails, Customer Services.

County Court Judgement for £175. Parking ticket from 2014, Judged by CC in 2017. Original ticket misdescribed car colour and Index number. All dealt with whilst I was out of the country for 3 ...

Read more

County Court Judgement for £175. Parking ticket from 2014, Judged by CC in 2017. Original ticket misdescribed car colour and Index number. All dealt with whilst I was out of the country for 3 months.
I have provided evidence to Co-op. They recently cancelled my overdraft. I tried to appeal, but the person who signed the letter, Joanne Mayer, Head of Customer Contact, doesn't exist! No phone number, no email, cannot be contacted through Co-Op Customer Services. I recently wrote to the Coop board about this, 4 times! NO acknowledgement, well apart from automatic reply.
The AGM was held recently, seems they were more interested in senior management and board, remuneration and bonuses.
Very dissapointed, they are awarding huge salaries and bonuses, but cant be bothered to look at a shocking injustice. The company, MIL Collections, has gone round the cOuntry buying up old tickets for as little as £1.00, Rushing them to court, for a Judgement.
This has forced a change in the Law in May, that oblidges them to prove contact with Owner of Vehicles. They were recently fined in court following admitting to Forging Original Ticket Issuers details. Giving letters and contacts with falce names.
The Coop is assisting these, bottom feeders to claim false charges.
NO one at the Coop Bank seems interested. Oh apartfrom Salaries and Bonuses.
I thought they were the Peoples Bank, how stupid am I.

Write a review
13th March 2018

Worst bank ever !!!!!

Bank does not send my card out when it is nearing expiry and when asked why they state it is to prompt me contacting them. If the need to speak with me so much why do they not call me? Not ethical and not thinking of the customer so we will see what...

Read more

Bank does not send my card out when it is nearing expiry and when asked why they state it is to prompt me contacting them. If the need to speak with me so much why do they not call me? Not ethical and not thinking of the customer so we will see what the ombudsman has to say about this.

Write a review
11th February 2018

Co-op Current account

I love the co-op bank & shops due to their fair ethics. I hAve always found the staff to be helpful and patient & they go the extra mile. I wouldn't bank with anybody else now & am glad i'm proud to be with the Co-operative bank! Long may they continue!

Read more

I love the co-op bank & shops due to their fair ethics. I hAve always found the staff to be helpful and patient & they go the extra mile. I wouldn't bank with anybody else now & am glad i'm proud to be with the Co-operative bank!
Long may they continue!

Articles related to The Co-operative Bank