Want to share your consumer credit feedback? Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2019 is now open!Vote now

Virgin Money Reviews

Ratings based on 1021 reviews Last review 2 weeks ago
4.42 / 5Great overall rating

Virgin Money reviews can help you to find out more about this bank founded by Richard Branson back in 1995. So if you're looking to find out what's great, what's ok, and what could be better, be it about the products, service or channels on offer, our Virgin Money reviews are here to help! Smart Money People is your place for Virgin Money reviews.

5 748
4 138
3 29
2 27
1 79

Your Virgin Money Reviews (1021)

Write a review
16th April 2019

Excellent service

I absolutely love the service I have received from Virgin Money and of course the perks that you get such as their lounges which is quite handy if you want a cup of coffee for free while in town! Competitive interest rate and forward thinking banking!

Read more

I absolutely love the service I have received from Virgin Money and of course the perks that you get such as their lounges which is quite handy if you want a cup of coffee for free while in town! Competitive interest rate and forward thinking banking!

Write a review
15th April 2019

Don't have a clue what they're speaking about!

Customer Service is a complete joke. Get told different things every time you phone, even if it's just half an hour later!

Reply from Virgin Money
Good Afternoon Nikki, thanks for getting in touch. If you'd like me to look in this further please email your details over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I'll take it from there. Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
13th April 2019

AVOID THIS PROVIDER

AVOID THIS PROVIDER AT ALL COSTS. I would honestly give these guys a 0 if I could. I applied for a credit card application on 13 March, their website advises 5 working days for a response but they took a month. Within the month I called several times...

Read more

AVOID THIS PROVIDER AT ALL COSTS. I would honestly give these guys a 0 if I could. I applied for a credit card application on 13 March, their website advises 5 working days for a response but they took a month. Within the month I called several times to find out the progress of my application and was misinformed many times. I spoke to a manager called Chloe ID number CK8811 who was the rudest person I have ever had the misfortune to speak to. She refused to file a complaint when I requested on the 23rd March and refused to give me information on my own application. I eventually got rejected for the credit card and have still not received ANY information as to why I was rejected even though I have requested this many times. I checked on Experian before applying for the credit card and I had a very good credit rating so there really should not be any reason for this rejection. Worse experience I have ever had!!

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. Can you email your details over to us at reviewhelper@virginmoney.com so we can help further? Thanks, Jane
Write a review
26th March 2019

Surely the 5 star reviews here are fake?

I haven't a clue what is in the heads of the people running Virgin Money. If you read the negative reviews you'll see the legitimate reasons why people are frustrated....

Read more

I haven't a clue what is in the heads of the people running Virgin Money. If you read the negative reviews you'll see the legitimate reasons why people are frustrated.

I have been with this bank for several years (I have no choice) and despite responses by Virgin saying 'thank you for your feedback, we will try and improve' they've done nothing other than add insult to injury.

As mentioned by other people here, you can not do much online and have to go into a branch to do transfers. You can call them up but to make a new transfer you have to go to the branch.

That isn't helped by them closing their branches!!!

I live in London where you'd think this wasn't a problem but instead of being able to go to my branch in east London I now have to go to a branch in tourist central Piccadilly Circus.

I was told in a letter that apparently my branch in east London closed because the landlord had put the rent up. Whoever heard of such a thing from a bank???!!

Then when I go all the way to Picadilly Circus I find out where the money they saved has been spent on... free coffee and sandwiches and a grand piano!!!!

I asked the teller what the hell this was and she said 'to improve customer experience''. You think sandwiches and a grand piano are preferable to me over not having to travel across London or being able to do ANYTHING online???

No double as a response to this review I'm going to get an empty 'Thanks for your feedback xxx, I'll be sure to pass that on to the relevant teams for you. If there's anything else we can help with in the meantime, just get back in touch! Thanks, Jane'.... absolute, empty rubbish. Enough of the lip service Virgin staff and !"£$% do something!!!!

This bank wouldn't exist without some sort of support from the rest of the Virgin brand.

Reply from Virgin Money
Good afternoon, thanks for taking the time out to share your feedback. I’d like to take a look into your experience and share this with relevant department so that they can review and respond to you directly. So that I can do that, can you please email your name, address and contact number across to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com? Thanks, Lindsay.
Write a review
20th March 2019

Virgin Money... Vague, complicated, uninformative, unhelpful, and that's just our on-line customer services.

Constant terms and conditions changes no one can understand or could ever keep up with. Answers that never actually answer the question you asked. Constant web-page maintenance, without any warnings, or any alternative telephone service, or any other...

Read more

Constant terms and conditions changes no one can understand or could ever keep up with. Answers that never actually answer the question you asked. Constant web-page maintenance, without any warnings, or any alternative telephone service, or any other way to get to your account if you need to access your money during these endless maintenance updates. Complaints are met with endless stock email responses from names less people, usually referring to topics you did not complain about because customer services didn't bother to read your complaint all the way through and made assumptions on what they thought you might be complaining about. Yes Virgin Money interest rates are good compared to many others, but they expect you to do all the work, because they are damn well not going to help you if they don't have too.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. If there's something you'd like us to take a look into for you just email your details to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com. Thanks, Jane
Write a review
8th March 2019

really worried about having this travel insurance as the reviews are so bad on it

I took virgin travel insurance out on line I tried to access my account online but could not, so I telephoned virgin travel insurance, I explained that I was a bit concerned as I could not access my travel insurance account online saying it has not...

Read more

I took virgin travel insurance out on line I tried to access my account online but could not, so I telephoned virgin travel insurance, I explained that I was a bit concerned as I could not access my travel insurance account online saying it has not recognised my policy number, got me worried, the customer service assistant said she would email and post my insurance documents, still worried about my cover in case me and my family should need to use it, so I thought I would look at the reviews, now I am even more worried, the majority of the people happy with their policy's, are the ones who have not had to make a claim yet!! please reassure me feel like taking another one out or asking for my money back.

Write a review
27th February 2019

Waste of time and money - do not use this company!

Our luggage was rummaged through on a flight abroad and expensive earphones, speaker, mobile phone and jewellery was stollen. Upon returning we called them, told them everything, at which point they asked us for numerous documents, receipts and a...

Read more

Our luggage was rummaged through on a flight abroad and expensive earphones, speaker, mobile phone and jewellery was stollen. Upon returning we called them, told them everything, at which point they asked us for numerous documents, receipts and a mobile provider letter. We spent ages prepping all the documents required, only to be told a month after our trip that as the products were not in hand luggage, it's not their problem and they will not honour our claim. Will never use this company for anything ever again!

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Kerri, thanks for getting in touch. If you'd like me to take a closer look please email your name, address and contact number across to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I'll take it from there. Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
27th February 2019

On-Line ISA misery

I opened a Double Take E-ISA for a better interest rate on my older Access ISA. From start to finish I have had trouble with the passwords issued to me - to the point when trying to make an on-line access, I was asked to provide the 9th digit of the...

Read more

I opened a Double Take E-ISA for a better interest rate on my older Access ISA. From start to finish I have had trouble with the passwords issued to me - to the point when trying to make an on-line access, I was asked to provide the 9th digit of the 'one-time' digit posted to me which only comprised of 8 digits. Their help and support lines, which you have to pay for, are poor. For the preservation of my blood pressure, I've closed the account and can fully understand now why Virgin Money customer ratings are so low !

Reply from Virgin Money
Good Morning Malcolm. If you'd like me to investigate further, please email your name, address and contact number across to reviewhelper@virgmoney.com and I'd be happy to. Thanks, Lindsay