Fancy a chance to win £1,000? Share your insurance feedback and make your voice heard.Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards

Virgin Money Reviews

Ratings based on 463 reviews Last review 1 week ago
4.34 / 5Great overall rating

Virgin Money reviews can help you to find out more about this bank founded by Richard Branson back in 1995. So if you're looking to find out what's great, what's ok, and what could be better, be it about the products, service or channels on offer, our Virgin Money reviews are here to help! Smart Money People is your place for Virgin Money reviews.

5 315
4 79
3 18
2 12
1 39

Your Virgin Money Reviews (463)

Write a review
15th August 2018

Terrible service, no app, online payment is so difficult to access.

They have no app, which is ridiculous and basically unheard of. Because of this and the draconian security needed to sign onto their web portal, and admittedly moving house, being in the middle of renovations and living out of boxes, I was a day late...

Read more

They have no app, which is ridiculous and basically unheard of. Because of this and the draconian security needed to sign onto their web portal, and admittedly moving house, being in the middle of renovations and living out of boxes, I was a day late with a payment and they removed my interest free offer. I called as soon as I realised, waiting for nearly half an hour to speak to someone. The customer service then made me wait a week for a call back, offering a conversation, but in the end just said they couldn't help again. They also called in the middle of my weekend. Knowing I'd be lucky to get another call back I regretfully took the call. The woman said she had no authority to do anything. Not sure why I waited for the call. Steer clear of this terrible service! Not worth it.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi there, I can see I've went back to your review with us over on Trust Pilot. Hope that helps. Thanks, Abbie
Write a review
14th August 2018

Awful product and yet worse customer service

I signed up for the new virgin Atlantic air miles card which replaces my previous mbna virgin Atlantic card. The approvals process took 4 weeks, the card should have taken 7-10 days from approval to arrive. It arrived on day 12 at which point I had...

Read more

I signed up for the new virgin Atlantic air miles card which replaces my previous mbna virgin Atlantic card. The approvals process took 4 weeks, the card should have taken 7-10 days from approval to arrive. It arrived on day 12 at which point I had already ordered a replacement card, delaying things by a further week. When the cards finally turned up they were blank, ie no 16 digit number, no name and no start or expiry dates. A replacement was ordered and took another week to arrive.

Virgin money gave me incorrect international payment details on 3 occasions causing 4 missing payments and a hugely embossing conversation with my customers causing a loss of business.

Due to a low spending limit of 5k it takes 4 transactions to make an 18k payment and it takes 5 working days to clear the balance and reset available spending allowance.

Two emails of complaint have gone unanswered and it’s three weeks since they were made. An automated email was received to prove that the emails did find their way into the correct mailbox.

Over the phone staff contradict each other, are not trained adequately and do not deliver on promises to call back.

It feels like the company were established yesterday and are still going through training,

Unfortunately if I want to keep collecting air miles with virgin Atlantic I have no option than to tolerate this ameateurish service.

Avoid like the plague if possible !!

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi there, I can see I've went back to your review with us over on Trust Pilot. Hope that helps. Thanks, Abbie
Write a review
8th August 2018

Credit card interest free period removed

I was a day late paying a minimum payment on my credit card due to error. I have had my credit card a while now never been late or missed any payments prior to this I contacted virgin money to make them aware of the error and despite this and...

Read more

I was a day late paying a minimum payment on my credit card due to error. I have had my credit card a while now never been late or missed any payments prior to this I contacted virgin money to make them aware of the error and despite this and explaining my situation they have refused to put my interest free period back on surely they should give loyal customers 1 chance for human error

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Shona, thanks for feeding this back. If you'd like me to look into this one at my end please send your address and contact number to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com. Thanks, Abbie
Write a review
7th August 2018

poor customer service

We were given incorrect advice about what ID was required for KYC checks. I was told that my marriage certificate was invalid and that I needed to get a new passport in my married name.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for getting in touch about this Rebecca. If you need a hand with this one, can you forward your address and contact number to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I'll take it from there? ^AR
Write a review
1st August 2018

Just awful process to open cash ISA

Just awful! These people are so disorganized and maddening. Do not give your money to this...

Read more

Just awful! These people are so disorganized and maddening. Do not give your money to this company!!
I invested in a cash ISA and from the moment of applying, they began a barrage of asking for all sorts of information. I get the whole proof of identity etc, but it was asked for over and over, even when I had already sent it on a number of occasions. Then began the forms and requirements as to proof of where my money was coming from. Again, I somewhat understand anti money laundering measures, but its 20k for heavens sake Not a substantial sum that should require such hard work on my (a customers/investors) part. I have never had to work so hard and provide such documentation in order to give a company my money.
They asked for a lot of personal information and documents from me, which i did not feel comfortable with continuing to give. Then after several attempts of giving the documents they wanted, they kept coming back and asking for more. Even though they could have asked for it all the first time around!!!?
The worst part for me, is their threats and holding my money to ransom. In short, they basically said that I cannot have access to/withdraw 'MY' money unless i give them everything they ask for. The matter was even escalated to management and investigations team. They finally came up with a solution and wanted some final documents from me. They even wrote a letter, stating exactly what it is that they want from me to resolve this. Guess what?! I sent them these forms and proof of where my source of funds come from (which i found very invasive). They contacted me back, saying that they now want proof of address and identity!! haha!. Not only are they asking for further things, after stating clearly in a letter from management, that I only had to provide one last thing (none of which was proof of identity etc). Also its forms and documents that I already sent them at the beginning of the application. Actually a few times over.
Absolutely appalling organization, bad service and blatantly invading my privacy. They even tried to make out that its a legal requirement and everyone asks for this information. Which i know is nonsense, since I opened a different ISA in a previous year and was not asked to provide any of this. Apparently its company specific. Therefore, it appears that this company like to really put out their customers and make their life difficult and basically hold your money for however long they deem, whilst i play thier ridiculous paperwork games. I want out of the investment and make good on any returns i have made, but they wont let me, until i jump over more hurdles that they are creating. If they make it so that i lose money because of this, then that in itself is beyond acceptable.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for getting in touch Dan, if you could email your details to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com I'd be happy to look into this further for you. Thanks, Jane
Write a review
31st July 2018

Outstanding Service and value

Allround happy from customer service to to speed of transactions and transfers.I would recommend them most highly to friends and family.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for your feedback Simon, great to hear you're happy with your Credit Card! Just get back in touch if there's anything else we can help with. Thanks, Jane
Write a review
22nd July 2018

Not what I expected

I explained my elderly father( 88 ) diagnosed with cancer with supporting doctors letter so the holiday was cancelled prior to the flight. Virgin wanted a further document completed by the doctor when the first letter was sufficiently detailed. The...

Read more

I explained my elderly father( 88 ) diagnosed with cancer with supporting doctors letter so the holiday was cancelled prior to the flight. Virgin wanted a further document completed by the doctor when the first letter was sufficiently detailed. The first letter was a charge and so would the second and my father did not want to bother his doctor further. You felt Virgin was unhelpful, lacked consideration and was making the claim difficult to process rather than being understanding. Very disappointing " experience " and I wont renew on expiry

Reply from Virgin Money
So sorry to hear that Clive, if you'd like us to take a look into this for you just email your details to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com. Thanks, Jane
Write a review
29th June 2018

Easy to use

The online accessibility of the virgin money credit card is a big plus. The account is easy to manage, the credit decision was very fast and the interest free period competitive

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. Glad to hear you're happy with your Credit Card, just get in touch if there's anything we can help with. Thanks, Jane
Write a review
10th June 2018

Friendly modern company

Virgin took over Northern Rock and my account. Their office is fresh and modern, their staff friendly and helpful, and their products are clearly explained in their literature and by their staff.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Elizabeth, thanks so much for getting in touch with your lovely feedback. You know where to find us if you need a hand with anything in the future. Thanks, Lindsay.
Write a review
7th June 2018

Virgin Money Pre-Paid Mastercard

I found the pre-paid card was a great way to help the offspring when they were travelling abroad. The scheme allowed for a second named card to be added on the same account. Website management page gave useful information on where the money was going....

Read more

I found the pre-paid card was a great way to help the offspring when they were travelling abroad. The scheme allowed for a second named card to be added on the same account. Website management page gave useful information on where the money was going. I thought it was a good way to manage travel money for them without much risk. Overall no more expensive than Western Union etc.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for your feedback. Lindsay
Write a review
5th June 2018

Beware of auto renewal on 12 month policy paid by credit card.

First 12 month policy branded as 'Virgin' no problems with that but I did not recall accepting auto renewal by credit card. Only realised a second year had been taken during a credit card statement check when an entry from Insure and go appeared. Took...

Read more

First 12 month policy branded as 'Virgin' no problems with that but I did not recall accepting auto renewal by credit card. Only realised a second year had been taken during a credit card statement check when an entry from Insure and go appeared. Took far to long to get the unwanted policy cancelled and the money to be refunded. Had to threaten to withdraw investments and cancel mobile contracts before VM would act.
This happened a few years ago so I would hope their marketing has been made clearer now.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hello, if you’d like to discuss this further Dee just pop your details over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I’ll take it from there. Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
3rd June 2018

Great, Provided you never need to get your money out

So far a 5 week wait and have still not recieved our money (Sell instruction completed on 23rd April losing the ISA status of the investment). VM claim they can not identify us after moving home. They have so far sent a compensation cheque to our new...

Read more

So far a 5 week wait and have still not recieved our money (Sell instruction completed on 23rd April losing the ISA status of the investment). VM claim they can not identify us after moving home. They have so far sent a compensation cheque to our new address and have paid dividends into our bank account whilst continuing to use our new address for letters. Latest trick was to claim they could not accept a certified copy of a bank statement - the banks stamp clearly gives the branch and phone number signed by the cashier.
June 8th - No further progress. Our bank can not understand why VM would not accept their certified copy of a bank statement. They advise staff not to use full names for their own safety. Ombudsman advisor indicated they would like to recieve this as a formal complaint to investigate but to try and get the money first to avoid a longer delay.
June 17th: Still waiting for funds that were due on 23rd April..
Cheque finally arrived 29th June..be warned.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Dee, let’s see what I can do to help. Can you email your name, address & contact number over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I’ll take a look? Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
26th April 2018

Awful customer service

Awful customer service Lure you in with a 0% balance transfer then con you in to start paying interest I have already sent my details to your email address and it just gets ignored

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for getting in touch Dale, if you'd like me to take a look into this for you just email your details to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com. Thanks, Jane