Virgin Money Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,282 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

Virgin Money reviews can help you to find out more about this bank founded by Richard Branson back in 1995. So if you're looking to find out what's great, what's ok, and what could be better, be it about the products, service or channels on offer, our Virgin Money reviews are here to help! Smart Money People is your place for Virgin Money reviews.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Essential Current Account

shame they are leaving rural communities without a branch

I have been with Clydesdale who are now Virgin Money for over 20 years, fabulous service at the branch and a great app for ordinary services. It is now online or go 50 miles to the nearest branch and no face to face for the real personal service. It is a Read more

I have been with Clydesdale who are now Virgin Money for over 20 years, fabulous service at the branch and a great app for ordinary services. It is now online or go 50 miles to the nearest branch and no face to face for the real personal service. It is a pity and one that may make me move something I never thought I would consider

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
dphsborders@msn.com's avatar
dphsborders@msn.com
Write a review

Credit Cards

Appalling service

This is the worst bank ever. They don’t know how to resolve basic problems. The branches are so poor nothing seems to work properly. I’ve been waiting for over an hour to get through. If that voice says one more time your call will be answered shortly I’l Read more

This is the worst bank ever. They don’t know how to resolve basic problems. The branches are so poor nothing seems to work properly. I’ve been waiting for over an hour to get through. If that voice says one more time your call will be answered shortly I’ll go mad. They really need to get up to speed. Will now be taking my business elsewhere and I’ve been a Clydesdale customer since I was 16 shocking service now that they are Virgin

Reviewed on 4th August 2022
Carol Dryburgh 's avatar
Carol Dryburgh
Write a review

Essential Current Account

EXCELLENT replacement for Yorkshire Bank

I was Phished recently. VM detected this and drew my attention to the problem within MINUTES. The whole business was resolved at no cost to me within 24 hours. OUTSTANDING service

Reviewed on 31st July 2022
Larry Privett's avatar
Larry Privett
Write a review

Credit Cards

I send them four ID as a proof of identity to no avail

I send them four proof of my addresses some how non was good enough they were utility, pension letter tax letter and insurance documents

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Hadi's avatar
Hadi
Write a review

Mortgages

Shocking timescales for mortgage applications

We really regret using virgin for our mortgage application. We applied 28th June and we are still waiting for any sort of communication from our broker or virgin on the decision!! Our chain is at a critical stage with both side pushing for completion with Read more

We really regret using virgin for our mortgage application. We applied 28th June and we are still waiting for any sort of communication from our broker or virgin on the decision!! Our chain is at a critical stage with both side pushing for completion within the next 2 weeks. Getting through to Virgin on the phone is near impossible with 2 hour hold times to get through to someone who can't help, so out through to another team with another 1 hour 40 min wait time! Obscene!! Unsurprisingly they were very quick to take the valuation fee!! Never again will I use Virgin. This really is unacceptable.

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Gary's avatar
Gary
Write a review

Essential Current Account

Nothing is ever an issue.

Couldn’t recommend a better bank account to deal with. I find the app really useful. The live chat aspect is really helpful and can help without phoning.

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
Louise's avatar
Louise
Write a review

Credit Cards

Absolutely appalling service

Absolutely disgraceful service Absolutely disgraceful service. They were late in opening my account and only actioned my application when I sent an email not to bother. They opened a complaint in May advising someone would contact me. No body did. Even Read more

Absolutely disgraceful service

Absolutely disgraceful service. They were late in opening my account and only actioned my application when I sent an email not to bother. They opened a complaint in May advising someone would contact me. No body did. Eventually got a letter saying a response to the complaint would be addressed within 6wks. After 6wks another letter saying apologies but will be another 4wks possibly. I submit a closure of account form. This is completed within 24hrs, but no communication to confirm this; I had to find out for myself.
Absolutely appalling service from a credit card company, little or no response and delays after delays. I would recommend everyone avoid like the plague and hope that the FOS jump on this cowboy outfit.

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
Morton's avatar
Morton
Write a review

Mortgages

Unacceptable delay, no communication, about to lose our sale. DO NOT USE FOR MORTGAGES!

Can’t believe a broker would recommend virgin as a lender, it’s now 22 July and our buyers have been waiting for mortgage offer since 2 June. Little to no communication. If our buyers don’t receive their mortgage offer from virgin by end of the month our Read more

Can’t believe a broker would recommend virgin as a lender, it’s now 22 July and our buyers have been waiting for mortgage offer since 2 June. Little to no communication. If our buyers don’t receive their mortgage offer from virgin by end of the month our whole chain will fall through and we will lose our dream house, all because of Virgin money’s ridiculously incompetent processes. They say online it’s 22 days from application to offer.. I asked if this is calendar or working days... they didn’t know!?!? SO incompetent never known anything like this. To put in context, nationwide got our mortgage offer out in 5 days. DO NOT USE VIRGIN!!!

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
IML's avatar
IML
Write a review

Access Savings

Instant Access Savings

In addition to my current account, I have an M Plus savings account. Both are accessible through the excellent easy to use Ap. Most things can be done using the Ap. The M Plus savings account allows instant access without penalty. It gives over 1.5% retur Read more

In addition to my current account, I have an M Plus savings account. Both are accessible through the excellent easy to use Ap. Most things can be done using the Ap. The M Plus savings account allows instant access without penalty. It gives over 1.5% return on the first £25000, with 0.75% on anything over that. East to access, use and transfer money. I recommend Virgin Money for service, technology, branch access and wide range of products.

Reviewed on 21st July 2022
A Berry's avatar
A Berry
Write a review

Credit Cards

so difficult to open account ,phoned several times keep waiting over 20 minutes, when I got through help was in short supply, eventually gave up and went else where

Bad customer care, they need to be able to provide help but failed to receive it

Reviewed on 16th July 2022
stuart brown's avatar
stuart brown
Write a review

Credit Cards

Terrible customer srvice

It's all such a mess, no answer on telephone lines - app is confusing

Reviewed on 11th July 2022
Jim Powell's avatar
Jim Powell
Write a review

Cash ISA

Patronising mollycoddlers

I do have the capability and intelligence to know if my card has been stolen or lost, your extra security measures are annoying and patronising. I entered a Virgin Bank to report my card wasn't t working (as a result of Virgin patronising security measur Read more

I do have the capability and intelligence to know if my card has been stolen or lost, your extra security measures are annoying and patronising.
I entered a Virgin Bank to report my card wasn't t working (as a result of Virgin patronising security measures) my wallet was open as I informed bank staff of faulty card. I went to take bank card from wallet, staff member noticed a similar looking card within wallet, asking if it was my new bank card(yeah cause I'm too stupid to have know to use new card) I informed her it was my credit card. Yet she persisted asking if it was my new Virgin card. Even reaching into my wallet to try and get the card out.i told the patronising pushy Virgin Bank Staff member that I was not stupid and did know what is and is not my bank card. Horrid woman!

Reviewed on 9th July 2022
dav's avatar
dav
Write a review

Credit Cards

Worst credit card company I have ever had to deal with

Awful customer service and an app that is a waste of time . Trying to contact someone took 3 days and they were useless and gave wrong information. Avoid at all cots

Reviewed on 4th July 2022
alan clubb's avatar
alan clubb
Write a review

Credit Cards

Worse Experience

They have approved the card after doing all the searches on my credit history and reduced my credit score. Once I got the credit card with approved credit limit they simply freeze my card even I haven’t done a single transaction. When spoke to help Read more

They have approved the card after doing all the searches on my credit history and reduced my credit score.

Once I got the credit card with approved credit limit they simply freeze my card even I haven’t done a single transaction.

When spoke to help centre (Joffrey from support centre)I found my account is under review even I haven’t made a single transaction and even not accessed my account yet.

Very terrible experience.

WORSE SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED

Reviewed on 4th July 2022
Bilal Hassan's avatar
Bilal Hassan
Write a review

Credit Cards

Terrible company

The reviews are true! Truly bad customer service. Avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
Graham A L Ellis's avatar
Graham A L Ellis
Write a review

Credit Cards

Not worth the hassle

If you ever need to contact them be prepared it may take hours or days or even weeks to try and resolve any issues. Not even used the card yet and I am done with them. They are so unhelpful on the phone even though they are the ones that lost the money Read more

If you ever need to contact them be prepared it may take hours or days or even weeks to try and resolve any issues. Not even used the card yet and I am done with them. They are so unhelpful on the phone even though they are the ones that lost the money for the balance transfer! Go elsewhere.

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
Arls's avatar
Arls
Write a review

Credit Cards

Appalling Customer Service!

Like so many others, it took me days / weeks to eventually get through to somebody on the phone (due to the fact that I was unable to use online services). And when I did, the "customer service" (what a joke) agent was disinterested, rude, unhelpful and Read more

Like so many others, it took me days / weeks to eventually get through to somebody on the phone (due to the fact that I was unable to use online services).
And when I did, the "customer service" (what a joke) agent was disinterested, rude, unhelpful and clearly had no idea what they were doing. I was constantly being told to "hang on a minute" and "wait a second" whilst they did something in the background and when I asked if they were able to actually help me they told me I was being rude and cut me off.
Needless to say, I have closed my account with them, raised a formal complaint and will not be using them again.
What a terrible company! Avoid!

Reviewed on 28th June 2022
Ian Cooper's avatar
Ian Cooper
Write a review

Travel Insurance

Cannot make a claim

I cannot register via the website to make a lost baggage claim. It just rejects my details. Tried calling the number: rings twice and hangs up. Tried emailing: no reply. DO NOT USE THESE COWBOYS HIDING BEHIIND THE VIRGIN BRAND. PATHETIC!

Reviewed on 27th June 2022
Russ Wilson's avatar
Russ Wilson
Write a review

Mortgages

Absolutely rubbish I can believe people are waiting 1 hour on the phone to speak to anyone from customer service. That tells you something Say no more

Absolutely rubbish go elsewhere

Reviewed on 27th June 2022
james woods's avatar
james woods
Write a review

Mortgages

Was a loyal custome.shocking customer service

Loyal customer for over 30 years until recently. There have been a number of poor service events over the last couple of years however they can be forgiven due to Covid. I recently engaged some builders who had left a flyer through my door, they carried o Read more

Loyal customer for over 30 years until recently. There have been a number of poor service events over the last couple of years however they can be forgiven due to Covid. I recently engaged some builders who had left a flyer through my door, they carried out the work and I was very satisfied with the work, however when I tried to pay invoice via online the transaction and account were frozen. Note the Online system acknowledged and confirmed the builders bank details. Customer services directed me to the fraud team who refused to pay the invoice as quote ‘hadn’t undertaken due diligence on the builders’ (he further stated I should have reviewed Companies House prior to using the builder). Even though the building work had been completed to my satisfaction and I had more than adequate funds in my account. Made formal complaint and still waiting for someone to contact me!!!!!…………..Now changed to a competitor. Note. I’ve wasnt overdrawn and normally have over £10k in account.

Reviewed on 23rd June 2022
Norrie's avatar
Norrie
Write a review