Tell us about your insurance providers and you could win £1000!
Tell us about your insurance providers and you could win £1000! Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards
Vote in the Insurance Choice Awards

Virgin Money Reviews

Ratings based on 184 reviews Last review 3 days ago
4.32 / 5Great overall rating

Virgin Money launched to give customers a better deal. In their quest to make things better, Virgin Money never stops looking at how every bit of banking works – from making things more comfortable for their customers to using their expertise to do some good in the world. Smart Money People is the place for Virgin Money reviews.

Brought to you by Virgin Money.

5 118
4 38
3 10
2 4
1 14

Your Virgin Money Reviews (184)

Write a review
17th September 2017

Shocking effort on their online banking facility

I switched to the Essential Account earlier this year. No complaints about the customer service but the online banking facility is so dated. I cannot set up any standing orders or even perform a basic one off money transfer, family and friends have...

Read more

I switched to the Essential Account earlier this year. No complaints about the customer service but the online banking facility is so dated. I cannot set up any standing orders or even perform a basic one off money transfer, family and friends have also had difficulty in paying money in with a £25 charge to use faster payment?? Having been used to my previous banks online banking app on which I could do absolutley anything and everything and even make payments to my phone contacts instantly I am now desperate to move my account, I don't have the time nor inclination to keep going into the branch in my work lunch hour to do the most basic of transactions. Additionally on a number of occasions my request to withdraw cash at an ATM has been declined for no apparent reason, leaving me without cash and concerned about what has happened to my account balance only to check later and find out there is plenty of money available?! I even had this happen in a garage with contactless, so we tried the pin entry method but no it was declined so I ran outside to the ATM to check balance and had to withdraw the cash as the account had more than enough in balance...this is absolutely inconvenient and quite embarrassing!!!!

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for your feedback Stacey! We'll be sure to pass this onto the relevant teams for you. Just drop us another message if you have any further questions! Thanks, Jane
Write a review
9th September 2017

Leave well alone

PLEASE BE...

Read more

PLEASE BE AWARE:
Horrendous company who after having a plus balance balance on a credit card ,refused to pay back the funds.Had to report to Hampshire Police that Virgin Money UK had commited theft against me today. Once you open an account they refuse to close it as per your legal entitlement - leaving you powerless.
Outrageous customer services and I would recommend that if you want days of worry,pain and anguish this is the company for you!

Reply from Virgin Money
We'd be happy to take a look into this for you Scott, and would just need a few details to find you on this end. Can you email your postal address and best contact number to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com? Thanks, Jane
Write a review
4th September 2017

Amazing for medical conditions

As a young person with pre-existing conditions; I can't access a lot of medical travel insurace specialists. Virgin Money is amazingly affordable and inclusive of all conditions - I never use any other company.

Reply from Virgin Money
Great to hear from you Emily, glad we were able to help get you sorted with your Travel Insurance! Hope you have an amazing time on holiday. Thanks, Jane
Write a review
30th August 2017

Getting your money out is much harder than putting it in

We wanted to close my wife's on line ISA Account. However the account was password locked and there is no online way of sorting it.So we wrote and sent recorded delivery. After 3 weeks no reply, so my wife rang and the account was reset. We then...

Read more

We wanted to close my wife's on line ISA Account. However the account was password locked and there is no online way of sorting it.So we wrote and sent recorded delivery. After 3 weeks no reply, so my wife rang and the account was reset. We then authorised the closure and paid £30 to have money sent BACS (very expensive). 24 hours later, the money is still not in the account.

Reply from Virgin Money
Good Evening Ray, I hope you've managed to get everything sorted by now. If you'd like me to step in, please email the details over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I'd be happy to. Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
25th August 2017

Excellent rates

It is a great and easy service. Easy to set up help to buy ISA in preparation for my first home. All online which was slightly more challenging but was very easy to close down and they responded quickly to my questions about the steps to follow in...

Read more

It is a great and easy service. Easy to set up help to buy ISA in preparation for my first home. All online which was slightly more challenging but was very easy to close down and they responded quickly to my questions about the steps to follow in order to receive my government bonus. Overall, very happy with the service.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for sharing your experience Alex! Hope you're very happy in your new home. Just give us a shout if you need help with anything else in the future. Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
24th August 2017

Top interest rate, super easy setup

Really easy to set up, great interest rates. What more could you want from an ISA account? The only real let down is the lack of an app!

Reply from Virgin Money
Great to hear from you Travis! We've been focused on mobile optimisation for some time now to make the site mobile friendly. We've no updates to share on an app just yet, but as soon as there's an update we'll be sure to keep you in the loop! Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
22nd August 2017

be nice to have a card to use - update

The card that was due did not turn up when it should have. However a card turned up yesterday and another today!! I am now out of the 60 day 0% transfer period so the card is useless to me now. No one has contacted me despite my complaints. This is...

Read more

The card that was due did not turn up when it should have. However a card turned up yesterday and another today!! I am now out of the 60 day 0% transfer period so the card is useless to me now. No one has contacted me despite my complaints. This is the worst service I have ever received. The most disappointing this is - No one cares.

Reply from Virgin Money
Sorry for the delay in replying to you Joanna. Did you email your details over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com so we could step in and take a look? Thanks, Lindsay
Write a review
16th August 2017

be nice to have a card to use

took out this card in june yet despite 3 phone calls I have still not received the card. was wanting to take advantage of the 60 day 0% interest offer but that time has now elapsed. I have now emailed a complaint as I do not have the time or will to...

Read more

took out this card in june yet despite 3 phone calls I have still not received the card. was wanting to take advantage of the 60 day 0% interest offer but that time has now elapsed. I have now emailed a complaint as I do not have the time or will to sit through another phone call. cannot believe a company like this cannot even manage to get a card to a new customer.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for getting in touch Joanna. We'd be happy to look into this further for you and would just need a few details. Can you email your postal address and best contact number to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com? Thanks, Jane
Write a review
4th July 2017

Easy and affordable

Purchased an annual worldwide travel policy through virgin, the cover was easy to obtain, affordable and the documentation, easily accessible. Phoned virgin to clarify a winter sports condition and they answered the phone quickly and clarified the...

Read more

Purchased an annual worldwide travel policy through virgin, the cover was easy to obtain, affordable and the documentation, easily accessible. Phoned virgin to clarify a winter sports condition and they answered the phone quickly and clarified the clause, great customer service.

Reply from Virgin Money
Great to hear you're happy with your Travel Insurance policy Jack! If you need to reach the team, you can call from abroad 24/7 on +44 207 748 8908. Have a fab holiday! Thanks, Jane
Write a review
30th June 2017

Easy transfer

Great rate for transfer from another Credit Card and 0% for 25 months... for both transfers and purchases and it was all done through an easy step by step application without the 'jargon'

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for getting in touch Karl, it's great to hear you're happy with your new Credit Card! Let us know if there's ever anything we can do to help. Thanks, Jane