Smart Money People Logo

Hinckley & Rugby Building Society: Mortgages reviews

4.45
Based on 322 reviews, last reviewed 1st Mar 2024
56% increase in 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
300% increase in 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
77%
See only 4 star reviews
8%
See only 3 star reviews
4%
See only 2 star reviews
4%
See only 1 star reviews
7%

Latest highest rating:

5

Excellent service & very helpful staff Excellent service & very helpful staff Reviewed on: 1st March 2024
Jaz's avatar
Jaz

Latest lowest rating:

1

Cannot access egress mail as there is no link Cannot access egress mail as there is no link Reviewed on: 27th February 2024

About the Mortgages

Your home is likely to be your largest financial purchase, so finding the right lender is key. We collect Hinckley & Rugby Building Society mortgage reviews to help you make an informed decision.

Hinkley & Rugby Building Society is a mutual organisation that provides a range of mortgage products. Before taking out a mortgage product, make sure that you’re confident with the terms, conditions and interest rates. Always contact the lender or an independent advisor if you have any questions or need help understanding your options.

Are you considering Hinckley & Rugby Building Society as your mortgage lender? Gain valuable insight into the Society by reading the reviews on Smart Money People. Find out what mortgage products homeowners have and how satisfied they have been throughout the term. Learn more about the customer service received and whether borrowers would recommend the lender to family and friends. All of this and more can be found in our Hinckley & Rugby Building Society mortgage reviews.

Did Hinckley & Rugby Building Society help you purchase your dream home? Share your experience with others by writing a review. Tell us why you chose Hinckley & Rugby Building Society. Did you feel supported throughout the application process? Has the Society kept you up to date with any important mortgage news and changes? Would you recommend your mortgage product to family and friends? Write a Hinckley & Rugby Building Society mortgage review today.

Review Hinckley & Rugby Building Society: Mortgages now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

Hinckley & Rugby Building Society Mortgages reviews (322)

Excellent service & very helpful staff

5
Excellent service & very helpful staff Reviewed on: 1st March 2024
Jaz's avatar
Jaz

Cannot access egress mail as there is no link

1
Cannot access egress mail as there is no link Reviewed on: 27th February 2024
Reply from Hinckley & Rugby Building Society Thank you for getting in touch. Egress is an external software system that allows us to send confidential information safely. Egress have let us know that they are unfortunately experiencing some issues which are impacting all users in the UK – they are working to fix the problem and they will keep us informed on their progress. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience but be assured that your personal information is safe. We will re-send our email as soon as possible once the issues have been fixed. Response date: 29th February 2024
Hinckley & Rugby Building Society Logo
Hinckley & Rugby Building Society

Fab customer service, patient, professional - nice...

5
Fab customer service, patient, professional - nice to talk to a real person and not someone script reading and going through the motions which is sadly the norm these days. Friendly, efficient - great service Reviewed on: 26th February 2024
Ryan R's avatar
Ryan R
Reply from Hinckley & Rugby Building Society Hi Ryan Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with our mortgage team. We are very happy to hear that you found our representatives to be patient and professional. It's always our goal to provide a genuine and friendly interaction so it's great to hear our approach is well received. If you are interested in helping us shape the services offered by the Society going forward, perhaps you’d consider joining our Member Panel? For more information and to send us your interest please visit https://www.hrbs.co.uk/member-panel/ Response date: 29th February 2024
Hinckley & Rugby Building Society Logo
Hinckley & Rugby Building Society

Compliance issues, GDPR Breaches and incompetence

1
I’ve never written an online review but felt this necessary. I recently had the misfortune of dealing with Rugby Hinkley for my mortgage (which I now have with them), and the experience was and currently is, nothing short of a nightmare. From GDRP breaches to flat-out lying! If I could give them zero stars, I would. From start to finish, their ineptitude and lack of professionalism left me questioning how such a company could still be in business. Firstly, the communication was abysmal. My inquiries [via my broker] fell into a black hole, never to receive a timely or coherent response. Phone calls went unanswered, emails were ignored, and the few times I did manage to get my questions answered, they seemed clueless about my file. It was as if their left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing. Not only that they sent me confidential documents of another mortgage application that had nothing to do with mine. I replied to that email to let them know and I simply got a reply “Ignore that email” – Talk about a GDPR breach! The incompetence extended to the handling of my application. Documents were lost, information was incorrectly recorded, and I was constantly asked for the same information multiple times. It was a frustrating and time-consuming process that left me wondering if they even understood the basics of mortgage processing. Not only that the exchange was pushed back and back due to lost files. On the last day, I had a deadline to send them a direct debit mandate that was sent months prior, during the initial application process. This was hours before my 4pm deadline [or the exchange and completion were not going to happen] which would have caused the whole chain to collapse. I took two days off work to babysit their ineptitude and excuses. The sellers of the property managed to get hold of my number [not the done thing] so we could try and work together to work this out. But perhaps the most infuriating part was the lack of transparency. Claiming they had not received documents when I had proof from my solicitors. Quote from my solicitor “In 13 years as a mortgage solicitor, I’ve never seen anything like this. I will be recommending clients stay clear of them.” It's a blatant lack of integrity that I find utterly unacceptable. To add insult to injury, the exchange and completion process was a disaster. Dates were missed, causing unnecessary delays and putting my entire home purchase in jeopardy. It was clear that Rugby & Hinkley had no regard for their customers' time or the gravity of the financial decisions we were making. I cannot wait until my two years is up to change provider. In summary, dealing with Rugby & Hinkley was a regrettable experience that I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. Their incompetence & lack of communication, make them a prime example of what's wrong with the mortgage industry. If you value your time, money, and sanity, I strongly advise you to steer clear of this company. There are plenty of reputable mortgage providers out there – Rugby & Hinkley is not one of them. UPDATE 1: I didn’t post this when I originally intended to as I felt the dust had settled and I would gain anything from it. However, since then my first payment was due to come out on the 15th of January and it didn’t. A few days later I had a letter from R&H claiming I didn’t send them my mortgage direct debit mandate. How is this even possible? To exchange the property they required it and my solicitor sent it to them on the final day (for the 4th time) they now have 4 direct debit mandates! And official correspondence to my solicitor stating that they have received it. UPDATE 2: The saga continues. I’ve now received an email from their completions department from a ‘Lending Support Officer’ stating that I owe £849.60 in interest because I didn’t set up a direct debit mandate! I am seeking legal advice to get out of the mortgage and transfer to another company on the grounds of compliance issues and GDPR breaches. Reviewed on: 24th February 2024
Rhys's avatar
Rhys
Reply from Hinckley & Rugby Building Society We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the service provided. We are taking this feedback seriously and will be in touch with you shortly. We hope that we will be able to provide more context around the processing of your application, and answer any questions you may have. Response date: 26th February 2024
Hinckley & Rugby Building Society Logo
Hinckley & Rugby Building Society

Do you have a different Hinckley & Rugby Building Society product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review

There's still more to see!

Hinckley & Rugby Building Society has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products