NatWest Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,850 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

NatWest reviews can help you to find out more about this bank. NatWest say that they have one simple goal: To be the best bank for customer service, by 2020. Smart Money People is the place for NatWest reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trus...

READ MORE

NatWest reviews can help you to find out more about this bank. NatWest say that they have one simple goal: To be the best bank for customer service, by 2020. Smart Money People is the place for NatWest reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Best Banking App Winner Winner of "Best Banking App 2017" in the British Bank Awards

Business Banking

Excellent Customer Service

Staff are knowledgeable and helpful.

Reviewed on 17th August 2022
Madhu Katwala's avatar
Madhu Katwala
Write a review

Basic Account

Bad customer service

Shocking customer service. Incompetent old fashioned bank

Reviewed on 10th August 2022
Haych's avatar
Haych
Write a review

Basic Account

Worst bank, go elsewhere

Marketing stunts is all they are. Different types of accounts with "benefits" like silver, gold and platinum where you have to pay, BUT ALL FOR NOTHING. you hardly use any of the benefits but when you need something they can never, ever resolve. Empty Read more

Marketing stunts is all they are. Different types of accounts with "benefits" like silver, gold and platinum where you have to pay, BUT ALL FOR NOTHING. you hardly use any of the benefits but when you need something they can never, ever resolve.

Empty promises, shocking banking system with zero internal communication.

Deposited a cheque to a branch. Branch have a record but natwest doesn't.

A customer service team that can't serve its customer as each branch has its own system and the central system is dated.

Average bank when nothing goes wrong. But the worst bank when it goes wrong.

I will be finding an alternative bank

Reviewed on 10th August 2022
Haych's avatar
Haych
Write a review

Basic Account

Basic banking

NatWest provide very basic backing, not much product provided.

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
Carlos's avatar
Carlos
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Random unnecessary changes

I can no longer view my balance after each transaction on the app. This useful feature was removed for some reason and there are similar pointless changes whenever the app gets updated.

Reviewed on 6th August 2022
Danny Naismith's avatar
Danny Naismith
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Delayed process, wrong valuation and worst service

They delay the process without making you aware. Working very close to the deadline so if you miss the deadline with the current mortgage provider you will have to pay variable rate. Isnt professional at all, please shop around.

Reviewed on 2nd August 2022
nik k's avatar
nik k
Write a review

Business Banking

I would give natwest 0 stars if I could

I would give natwest 0 stars if I could. I am overseas and have been logged out of my bank account. I have supplied them with my: Sort code / account number / customer number / pin / address home / mothers maiden name and about 5 other specific deta Read more

I would give natwest 0 stars if I could.

I am overseas and have been logged out of my bank account. I have supplied them with my:

Sort code / account number / customer number / pin / address home / mothers maiden name and about 5 other specific details.

They still won’t give me access, leaving me stranded overseas with no way of getting to my money. They say I need to receive a text when I try to log into the app, but I can’t because I have no signal.

As soon as I get home, I am cancelling the account.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
G Silk's avatar
G Silk
Write a review

Business Banking

Business Profile Mess

NatWest requesting these profiles is a nightmare, the web page sometimes opens with a blank page, you spend hours on the phone to achieve very little. They are requesting information they have had for years, which has not changed, why they dont just ask i Read more

NatWest requesting these profiles is a nightmare, the web page sometimes opens with a blank page, you spend hours on the phone to achieve very little. They are requesting information they have had for years, which has not changed, why they dont just ask if any details have changed? Probably thats to easy and the accountants handling this for NatWest (I think KPMG) wouldnt be able to charge an extortionate.

Reviewed on 22nd July 2022
Brian Acton's avatar
Brian Acton
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Avoid, avoid, avoid

Very close to losing sale and purchase, application 24 days in when selected for a "random" UW review, 36 days in no resolution, BDM offered no timescale, phoned daily to be told "don't know" day 38 gave up and moved on. Absolutely no care or consideratio Read more

Very close to losing sale and purchase, application 24 days in when selected for a "random" UW review, 36 days in no resolution, BDM offered no timescale, phoned daily to be told "don't know" day 38 gave up and moved on. Absolutely no care or consideration given to the customer, doesn't help when everyone is seemingly working from home either.

Reviewed on 19th July 2022
David's avatar
David
Write a review

Reward Account

NatWest Rewards is amazing

NatWest provides an excellent service throughout. I am a customer for over 10y and seen the app improvement. For me the best app . Everything one needs is there!

Reviewed on 8th July 2022
Ivy S.'s avatar
Ivy S.
Write a review

Business Banking

dont do it, go somewhere else

lost my debit card,week later new one arrived,all good but for some reason they suspended my account,waited a week for a code, which could be sent by maiil,tex or email,guess which they used,then it didn't work,second one sent,didn't work, guess what,yep Read more

lost my debit card,week later new one arrived,all good but for some reason they suspended my account,waited a week for a code, which could be sent by maiil,tex or email,guess which they used,then it didn't work,second one sent,didn't work, guess what,yep that didn't work,so now we await the third code,which if and when i get it i have to ring them ? EMAIL,TEXT,please ,but not snail mail.
they say i can still travel the ten plus ,no sorry 12 plus to the nearest bank,as they closed the nearst two,and stand and sort y affairs,or use the cassh points ? did i mention i am disabled ? well if you are as well i would not recommend this lot.

Reviewed on 8th July 2022
carl williams's avatar
carl williams
Write a review

Business Banking

Don't waste your time and money

I'm a business customer and I use Natwest Bankline and phone app daily. The app has some concerning faults - like showing doubled transactions - 60K bill payment doubled up will raise your heart rate in a second, this leads to going through and check pape Read more

I'm a business customer and I use Natwest Bankline and phone app daily. The app has some concerning faults - like showing doubled transactions - 60K bill payment doubled up will raise your heart rate in a second, this leads to going through and check paper statements one by one. The app also has a error message every time I try to create a payment template.

Using bankline on Google Chrome means that after the latest update you are not able to view standing orders, direct debits or payment summaries. Cache needs to be cleared weekly just to do basic banking.

Reporting this to Natwest is waste of time, you can do this via their chat which will kick you out when the connection is timed out. Even if you do manage to raise a complaint or feedback it takes weeks or months to be reviewed - and you don't get a confident reply - no refunds for the time you have wasted due NatWest errors.

Don't get me started on the "Business profile update" - it is impossible to get right if you have multiple companies due the disastrously badly designed program where you have to submit numerous documents. They will not inform you why the submission has failed and the phone waiting times are long, you will get cut off or they simply dont answer. But of course the Business Profile update is mandatory as they will freeze your account if you don't do it in time. As an example, I started the process for 3 companies in March, I've just got an email 1st of July to state 2 companies have been approved.

Do not use this bank for anything important.

Reviewed on 7th July 2022
Nina Malo's avatar
Nina Malo
Write a review

Home Insurance

Do not cover cancelled flights

Zero stars, now or ever. The recent strike action that happened in the UK has not been covered by NatWest. At all. Increased costs for rebooking flights, incurred additional travel costs, and problems with car rental, are not covered. Absolutely lo Read more

Zero stars, now or ever.

The recent strike action that happened in the UK has not been covered by NatWest. At all. Increased costs for rebooking flights, incurred additional travel costs, and problems with car rental, are not covered.

Absolutely look elsewhere, as one of the most likely risks of additional costs is not covered, at all.

Reviewed on 6th July 2022
Henri Le Muir's avatar
Henri Le Muir
Write a review

Personal Loan

Personal loan application for home improvements

Applied for 40k home improvement loan but taken over 10 days to process. Slow bank slow loan approvals. Called and they couldnt give updates. Tried to contact chat bot on app but they refuse to help with my loan application. Get this fixed or you will los Read more

Applied for 40k home improvement loan but taken over 10 days to process. Slow bank slow loan approvals. Called and they couldnt give updates. Tried to contact chat bot on app but they refuse to help with my loan application. Get this fixed or you will lose customers

Reviewed on 6th July 2022
Jan uieo's avatar
Jan uieo
Write a review

Business Banking

Save yourself time and hassle to go somewhere else

Wish we had listened to the bad reviews here on how frustrating the process of opening/ registering a business account with Natwest which could of save us hours of frustrations on the phone calls with the staffs who are so limited with what they can do by Read more

Wish we had listened to the bad reviews here on how frustrating the process of opening/ registering a business account with Natwest which could of save us hours of frustrations on the phone calls with the staffs who are so limited with what they can do by the out dated system which obviously is broken. Took us 3 attempts over the courses of 3 weeks having completed the business banking online banking registration, and every single time the staffs were saying they haven't not received our applications; and there is a known fault/ error with the application system which apparently they cannot do anything about it. They can't escalate to management either. Absolutely no words to describe how terrible our experience with NW Business banking is!

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
Addam Lindeman's avatar
Addam Lindeman
Write a review

Business Banking

Absolutely shocking system / process of opening a business account

Wish we had listened to the bad reviews here on how frustrating the process of opening/ registering a business account with Natwest which could of save us hours of frustrations on the phone calls with the staffs who are so limited with what they can do by Read more

Wish we had listened to the bad reviews here on how frustrating the process of opening/ registering a business account with Natwest which could of save us hours of frustrations on the phone calls with the staffs who are so limited with what they can do by the out dated system which obviously is broken. Took us 3 attempts over the courses of 3 weeks having completed the business banking online banking registration, and every single time the staffs were saying they haven't not received our applications; and there is a known fault/ error with the application system which apparently they cannot do anything about it. They can't escalate to management either. Absolutely no words to describe how terrible our experience with NW Business banking is!

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
Addam Lindeman's avatar
Addam Lindeman
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Broken processes with no recourse for customers

Buying our first house and every time the process reaches Natwest there’s a mistake or a delay. - Late sending out offer (letter was dated weeks before we received it) - wrong purchase amount that was off by exactly £100. No worries, we caught and fla Read more

Buying our first house and every time the process reaches Natwest there’s a mistake or a delay.

- Late sending out offer (letter was dated weeks before we received it)
- wrong purchase amount that was off by exactly £100. No worries, we caught and flagged it straight away
- two months later this issue was not fixed meaning we can’t request funds
- purchase amount now updated but solicitor still can’t request funds. Deposit is paid and less than a week till closing
- six calls to them in one week. Every time told our problem was escalated to top priority and would be solved in 24 hours. Still no resolution.

Now we’re stuck with NatWest if we want to buy this house. But definitely avoid if there are any other lenders that come close to their interest payments. It’s not the mistakes, it’s the total lack of accountability. Can’t reach any decision maker who could fix our issue - an issue created by NatWest in the first place.

Reviewed on 2nd July 2022
Harry Small's avatar
Harry Small
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Biased, Useless, rates on the website was different to the one I was offered

While applying for a remortgage online I was asked to provide proof of identity and out of 3 options on their website, I provided my driving license. Having been a customer of Natwest for last 20 years, I was asked to provide proof to remain in UK just be Read more

While applying for a remortgage online I was asked to provide proof of identity and out of 3 options on their website, I provided my driving license. Having been a customer of Natwest for last 20 years, I was asked to provide proof to remain in UK just because my name isn't English. Upon complaining I wasn't given clear answer and I was given £100 for the inconvenience. I had number of problems with Natwest and their solicitors, I had nothing but issues throughout and delays. During this painful exercise I didnt realise the mortgage interest rate was changed from 2.27 to 2.47.... !!!!!! Just so disappointing from Natwest ... I will not be recommending their services to anyone. Steer clear!!!

Reviewed on 27th June 2022
Pawan Bhatt's avatar
Pawan Bhatt
Write a review

Black Account

Disgraceful

This has been completely unacceptable. Our Ukranian guest tried to open an account in Stockport branch 7 weeks ago. It has now transpired after numerous visits to the branch along with numerous assurances the card will be with us soon that the application Read more

This has been completely unacceptable. Our Ukranian guest tried to open an account in Stockport branch 7 weeks ago. It has now transpired after numerous visits to the branch along with numerous assurances the card will be with us soon that the application has gone missing. We are now completing yet another application which has taken over an hour. It would seem that the branch IT system cannot trace account applications!!! A friend of ours who is sponsoring a recent arrival went to HSBC after hearing about poor service from NatWest. The account was open within a day. Avoid NatWest at all costs and go to HSBC...or anywhere tbh.
Update... absolutely unbelievable. Iryna just got the email link to try and open an account and yet again it asks for ID that she can not possibly provide. I'm absolutely furious with these clowns, it's almost like they are in cahoots with the government to make things as difficult as possible. It took three days to open a Monzo account. HSBC it is.

Reviewed on 26th June 2022
Des Fallows's avatar
Des Fallows
Write a review

Basic Account

Incompetent employee sent card to wrong address. I cant go for holiday because of this.

Awful experience. They sent my new card to wrong address. When I called them, they didn't try to do anything faster. I have to wait another 3 days. I told them I have week off and wanted to go for holiday. I cant leave because I cant buy flight ticket, pa Read more

Awful experience. They sent my new card to wrong address. When I called them, they didn't try to do anything faster. I have to wait another 3 days. I told them I have week off and wanted to go for holiday. I cant leave because I cant buy flight ticket, pay hotel. Literally nothing. Their employee Asha did mistake and I am going to suffer and lose one week from office holiday. I am going to file lawsuit. This is horrendous. Worst lazy unprofessional bank I have ever had.

Reviewed on 24th June 2022
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Write a review