Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards is now open!
Vote today and you could win £1,000 (T&Cs Apply).
VOTE NOW
Ratings based on 1466 reviews Last review 4 days ago
4.21 / 5Great overall rating

NatWest reviews can help you to find out more about this bank. NatWest say that they have one simple goal: To be the best bank for customer service, by 2020. Smart Money People is the place for NatWest reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase...

Read Full Description

NatWest reviews can help you to find out more about this bank. NatWest say that they have one simple goal: To be the best bank for customer service, by 2020. Smart Money People is the place for NatWest reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

5 831
4 361
3 124
2 55
1 95

Your NatWest Reviews (1466)

Write a review
24th May 2020

Brilliant

I can’t recommend Nat West enough. I moved my mortgage from Halifax and the process was faultless. Great communication and everything happened as they promised it would. In addition, the support and comms that I have received during the coronavirus p...

Read more

I can’t recommend Nat West enough. I moved my mortgage from Halifax and the process was faultless. Great communication and everything happened as they promised it would. In addition, the support and comms that I have received during the coronavirus pandemic has been second to none. I am now in the process of moving my bank accounts and all other investments (albeit small) to them as I couldn’t have wished for better service. 5*, thank you Nat West.

Write a review
31st March 2020

Appalling service and incompetency

Utterly appalling service and...

Read more

Utterly appalling service and incompetency.
I tried 3 times to move a direct debit payment for a NatWest loan from my NatWest account so that I could close the account. I sent off the required form to the Manchester address twice - no result. I then went into the branch at Covent Garden where they did the same - sending it via the normal post and ALSO through their internal mail system. No result - the payments were still debited from the NatWest account. I was told I could make a complaint from the Covent Garden Branch and stayed to do so, staying with the manager in his office waiting on the 'phone for almost 20 minutes. Unfortunately, the complaints team must have been very busy that day as we never got through to anyone. After 20 mins I had to go back to work but the manager kindly stayed on the 'phone to wait. He rang me later in the afternoon to say that he had got through but couldn't make a complaint as I had not been with him in the office at the time. The direct debit - almost a year after I first started to try to change it is still coming out of the NatWest account I wanted to leave. I also went into the Strand branch where they were less helpful - they said it was nothing to do with the branch and couldn't help although they did say they would try and call someone. I sat waiting in my lunch hour. The lady who went to call had still not returned after almost 15 minutes and I left.
Today, trying to help my mother who is elderly and has no online banking we spent an hour waiting for someone to answer the phone. A fortnight ago, mum went round and round the automated system before giving up trying to speak to someone.
At the present time, all phone helplines are of course very busy - but I have called the mortgage company, a loan company and a credit card company within the last few days - waiting a maximum of 15 minutes to speak to someone, and in 2 cases, considerably less.

NatWest - I don't believe you couldn't have arranged the direct debit to be taken from another bank, I don't believe you make a proper effort to provide easy access to telephone service with an agent - very important for those who are elderly.
I am very happy to be contacted about what I consider to be dirty tricks.

Write a review
31st March 2020

Appalling service and incompetency

Utterly appalling service and...

Read more

Utterly appalling service and incompetency.
I tried 3 times to move a direct debit payment for a NatWest loan from my NatWest account so that I could close the account. I sent off the required form to the Manchester address twice - no result. I then went into the branch at Covent Garden where they did the same - sending it via the normal post and ALSO through their internal mail system. No result - the payments were still debited from the NatWest account. I was told I could make a complaint from the Covent Garden Branch and stayed to do so, staying with the manager in his office waiting on the 'phone for almost 20 minutes. Unfortunately, the complaints team must have been very busy that day as we never got through to anyone. After 20 mins I had to go back to work but the manager kindly stayed on the 'phone to wait. He rang me later in the afternoon to say that he had got through but couldn't make a complaint as I had not been with him in the office at the time. The direct debit - almost a year after I first started to try to change it is still coming out of the NatWest account I wanted to leave. I also went into the Strand branch where they were less helpful - they said it was nothing to do with the branch and couldn't help although they did say they would try and call someone. I sat waiting in my lunch hour. The lady who went to call had still not returned after almost 15 minutes and I left.
Today, trying to help my mother who is elderly and has no online banking we spent an hour waiting for someone to answer the phone. A fortnight ago, mum went round and round the automated system before giving up trying to speak to someone.
At the present time, all phone helplines are of course very busy - but I have called the mortgage company, a loan company and a credit card company within the last few days - waiting a maximum of 15 minutes to speak to someone, and in 2 cases, considerably less.

NatWest - I don't believe you couldn't have arranged the direct debit to be taken from another bank, I don't believe you make a proper effort to provide easy access to telephone service with an agent - very important for those who are elderly.
I am very happy to be contacted about what I consider to be dirty tricks.

Write a review
7th March 2020

Malevolent scrutiny!

Utterly disappointed with the ridiculous policies the bank implements....

Read more

Utterly disappointed with the ridiculous policies the bank implements.
When you withdraw a large sum of money (apparently for Natwest 3000 is large) you have to tell the bank what you are going to use it for! What? and how is it your business at all? You would not even have this money if I did not decide to place it into my natwest account! Naughty and potentially discriminating! I wonder if they apply the policy in Westminster or Notting Hill with their thick pocket clients?

Write a review
18th February 2020

whatever you do don't open a business account and personal account without he is bank!

ok! so I have banked with Natwest for over 20 years. Two years ago I decided to open a business account with them and it has to be the worse mistake ever! I tried making a standard international transfer with the bank and guess what? because I am also...

Read more

ok! so I have banked with Natwest for over 20 years. Two years ago I decided to open a business account with them and it has to be the worse mistake ever! I tried making a standard international transfer with the bank and guess what? because I am also a business customer, I am not allowed to transfer money internationally without paying a fee! I no longer have the option of a free standard transfer. How is this even possible or fair? Called the customer service and that was a joke in itself as the representative told me the standard service had been cancelled for everyone which is a lie!!! Later found out from another rep that it is because I have a business account. but this was a personal transfer form a personal account! spoke to complaint department and she couldn't be bothered. well time to move on....

Write a review
18th February 2020

A nightmare to deal with them after a bereavement

I was living overseas, and both my wife and I had Natwest accounts. Natwest first demanded I provide information while refusing to say why but with the threat hey would close my account if I didn't give it to them. They refused to tell me where to...

Read more

I was living overseas, and both my wife and I had Natwest accounts. Natwest first demanded I provide information while refusing to say why but with the threat hey would close my account if I didn't give it to them. They refused to tell me where to send it saying it would be in an email that they didn't send, and when I rang the second time and they started again I hung up.

My complaints on the way the calls had gone only focused of course on the fact that I hung up, it ignored that I was practically begging them to tell me over the phone where to send what they wanted.

Natwest have a habit of that, listening and reading only as much as they want, with an attitude 'if you don't like it go to the ombudsman'.

They closed my account anyway, and made clear, they were under no obligation to say why!

My wife they just wrote and said they were closing her account, very sorry etc., but they also wouldn't say why. It was an account I was putting money into pay for her cancer treatment, I asked them not to, they ignored me completely and they did of course close it, and put the funds into some dormant account. She couldn't do anything with the cheque they sent because she had no other sterling account.

She passed away from the cancer, and since then it has been a battle with natwest all the way. First writing to advise them she died, which they simply acknowledged. Ringing them up, the person on the phone refused to tell me what to send to get the money that was in the dormant account back, but I could write to Bereavement Services (BS).

The BS department ignored every part of my letter and just sent me the same response I already had.

I rang them up about this, complained no one read my extensive letter, and I was then promised a cheque would be sent out.

I also at the same time complained.

When nothing arrived, I got back onto them yet again, only to be told now, I needed to get a Grant of Probate, in order to protect the customers funds. Err, that is the dead customer, whose funds were put into the account by me, from my own natwest account?!

I finally received an email telling me I needed to get a grant of probate.

Someone also rang me to discuss this, but by now, with natwest lying to me, refusing to tell me what was needed, lying to me again, when the person on the phone started with the usual garbage about recording the call for 'training and quality', I lost it, and hung up.

I emailed them asking for details of the money that was in the dormant account so I could get it back, but that was ignored.

I received then a letter that ignored most of my complaint, said they had no idea what happened, but I needed to get a grant of probate. They failed to tell me anything usefull that would be necessary to get that grant of probate.

I emailed again, and was ignored.

I made another complaint, which was in December, and I've only received the response now 8 weeks later 18 February, telling me I hung up them so it was my fault I didn't receive information.

However, finally, after 4 months of constantly contacting this bank, I finally have the information I need to do what the bank demands I must do in order to get my own money back!

Oh, they also said, where I complained about their response to the first complaint, they 'think it was fair'.

Yeah, I'm sure they do.

There are so many reviews of how this bank behaves towards customers, this approach that I have dealt with seems now deliberate policy.

I would hope the ombudsman does something, and yes I have made a complaint, but I don't hold my hopes too high that this arrogant bank will be brought to heal.

If you have an account, I really recommend moving to somewhere else.

Write a review
9th February 2020

A great current account

Recently switched my current account to natwest reward, pay £2 monthly fee and receive cash back on my bills making the fee worthwhile. Switcher service made the transition seamless. Online application was quick and easy as is online banking in ...

Read more

Recently switched my current account to natwest reward, pay £2 monthly fee and receive cash back on my bills making the fee worthwhile. Switcher service made the transition seamless. Online application was quick and easy as is online banking in general with natwest. Due to receive £150 cash back this month for making the switch which will prove a wee boost to my savings. Have been in branch for the first time this week and found staff friendly and helpful. The only downside I can see is fairly restrictive local branch opening hours making banking in branch impossible to achieve around full time working hours.

Write a review
8th February 2020

Top Notch Security

I don't like everything about NatWest, but they do get the important bits right. I've had three fraud attempts from different avenues in the last few years; two card closings and one online fraud and they have intercepted all of them, based on my...

Read more

I don't like everything about NatWest, but they do get the important bits right. I've had three fraud attempts from different avenues in the last few years; two card closings and one online fraud and they have intercepted all of them, based on my spending patterns. I really can't fault this service. They let me know straight away, stop y card and no money ever leaves my account into the wrong hands.

Articles related to NatWest