Nationwide Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,585 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Nationwide reviews can help you to find out more about the UK's largest building society. Nationwide building society claim to "do everything with their members' best interests at heart." Do you agree? Smart Money People is the place for Nationwide review...

READ MORE

Nationwide reviews can help you to find out more about the UK's largest building society. Nationwide building society claim to "do everything with their members' best interests at heart." Do you agree? Smart Money People is the place for Nationwide reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Nationwide Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

52% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: Online

Best Mortgage Provider Winner of ‘Best Mortgage Provider’ in the British Bank Awards 2017

FlexPlus

Rubbish travel insurance

Have been flex plus customers for many many years. Twice have tried to claim on travel insurance and both times have been rejected, even after being told initially that we would be covered. We will now close our account, waste of £13 per month.

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Gill's avatar
Gill
Write a review

FlexDirect

Worst bank I have every come across.

Weeks ago a member of their staff cancelled our debit cards by mistake. THEIR MISTAKE. Eventually, they sent the replacements but they didn't turn up, so they have now ordered some more replacement cards. This has been going on for weeks and all the ti Read more

Weeks ago a member of their staff cancelled our debit cards by mistake. THEIR MISTAKE. Eventually, they sent the replacements but they didn't turn up, so they have now ordered some more replacement cards. This has been going on for weeks and all the time we have no access to a cashpoint, we can't buy anything from a shop or anything online. Do they care? They say they are sorry but do nothing. AVOID. Their customer service is a joke.

Reviewed on 21st April 2022
Dawn Boaden's avatar
Dawn Boaden
Write a review

FlexAccount

Excellent service to transgender customer

My transgender son needed to urgently change his bank account name and title to facilitate a change in his passport. Time was of the essence. The nationwide assistant at Cabot circus branch Bristol was friendly supportive and efficient. She sorted it all Read more

My transgender son needed to urgently change his bank account name and title to facilitate a change in his passport. Time was of the essence. The nationwide assistant at Cabot circus branch Bristol was friendly supportive and efficient. She sorted it all immediately to his great relief. This excellent customer service means so much to transgender people who so often face bureaucratic difficulty and lack of support and understanding. Thank you so much. I applaud that staff member whoever she is and hope the management can identify and thank her for me

Reviewed on 20th April 2022
Julie Loftus's avatar
Julie Loftus
Write a review

FlexAccount

Worst bank I have ever had the misfortune to deal with

I cannot move my money to a reputable payee as Nationwide ask me to verify that it is me through their banking app and when I say it is me they refuse the transaction.The world' s largest building society?Certainly the world's worst building society from Read more

I cannot move my money to a reputable payee as Nationwide ask me to verify that it is me through their banking app and when I say it is me they refuse the transaction.The world' s largest building society?Certainly the world's worst building society from my experience.I have made two complaints, neither have been acknowledged.When I tried to make a 3rd complaint that neither complaint had been acknowledged instead of sending the detailed message it mysteriously disappeared as I tried to send it.I eould urge all people who gave had shoddy service from Natiobwide to contact the relevant authority detailing their experiences.

Reviewed on 17th April 2022
Dave Reed's avatar
Dave Reed
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Terrible service

Been with bank for 25 years I decided to open a basic account to go with my other account they opened it up then 10 days later closed my account and took my money they are a bunch of thieves

Reviewed on 10th April 2022
Russell Smith's avatar
Russell Smith
Write a review

FlexDirect

Bad customer service

I went on the chat, and they couldn’t help me they said I had to phone in, after waiting 20 mins I got though and explained my issue they said they couldn’t help so I had to wait another 30 mins for the next department who then said they couldn’t help and Read more

I went on the chat, and they couldn’t help me they said I had to phone in, after waiting 20 mins I got though and explained my issue they said they couldn’t help so I had to wait another 30 mins for the next department who then said they couldn’t help and I have to be transferred to the team I was speaking to at the start, I told him not to transfer me so he checked with his boss and said they couldn’t help with my arranged overdraft interest as my reasoning wasn’t excepted. A very long wait for no help and no advice

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
harveygribble123@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
harveygribble123@hotmail.co.uk
Write a review

FlexAccount

The best bank

In my experience this is the best bank

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Arsim Rama 's avatar
Arsim Rama
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Great rate easy to contact

Greta mortgage rate helpful on the phone

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
tenbysarah@yahoo.co.uk's avatar
tenbysarah@yahoo.co.uk
Write a review

FlexAccount

Great and caring

I have enjoyed my banking with Nationwide. They are very helpful with their valued customer members. They offer low interest rate on loans, credit and overdraft. The mobile app is very secured and innovative. Excellent customer services. Thanks

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
Peter Ernest Clement's avatar
Peter Ernest Clement
Write a review

FlexDirect

Helpful

Always helpful when selecting products, easy to use

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
Megan Barker's avatar
Megan Barker
Write a review

FlexPlus

Poor service, in fact no service

Been trying since 4.3.22 to sort a refund pushed from pillar to post, promised call backs, today 22.3.22 and still on the phone being messed around.

Reviewed on 22nd March 2022
Chris Dolton's avatar
Chris Dolton
Write a review

FlexPlus

ignored my problem when I was abroad

I had an accident when I was abroad, they didn’t support me despite I provided evidence, they offered non financial support, don’t rely on Nationwide insurance

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
nazhat nezhad's avatar
nazhat nezhad
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Ask to check your data and get it erased

I had been a member for many years and recently closed all of my accounts following a lack of interest in the retention of business from the CEO. Following this I asked them to erase all of my data and following some very inconsistent replies saying it's Read more

I had been a member for many years and recently closed all of my accounts following a lack of interest in the retention of business from the CEO. Following this I asked them to erase all of my data and following some very inconsistent replies saying it's 12 years and then only 6 I received a final email from them saying that they would not reply to any further correspondence saying that any further contact from me would be marked as unanswered.
How rude is that?

I had previously asked for copies of all of my data which I did receive a link to and you would be amazed how much and what they retain. So I have made a note to contact them in 6 six years to have it all removed as one of the things that they never assured me of was that it would actually be deleted even then. Time will tell, so be warned and maybe check out your position.

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
Andy Steadman's avatar
Andy Steadman
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

1989

Using a plastic card reader to transfer money. Like banking in 1989. Don’t bother with these jokers

Reviewed on 16th March 2022
Big-Hugo's avatar
Big-Hugo
Write a review

Fixed Rate Mortgage

Notorious for down valuations

Nationwide are well known among brokers and individuals as down valuers. This means they down value your property in order to get you onto higher rates. By the time they tell you they have down valued your property you’ve already paid the fees and gone th Read more

Nationwide are well known among brokers and individuals as down valuers. This means they down value your property in order to get you onto higher rates. By the time they tell you they have down valued your property you’ve already paid the fees and gone through credit checks - at which point most customers simply just accept the down valuations and end up paying more.

Reviewed on 15th March 2022
Michael Cutter's avatar
Michael Cutter
Write a review

FlexAccount

No problems

Online banking works well. I don't use branches so can't speak to staff customer services.

Reviewed on 12th March 2022
Clare Bradfield's avatar
Clare Bradfield
Write a review

Personal Loan

Amazing!

All you need from a bank loan, great interest rates

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Banking customer's avatar
Banking customer
Write a review

Credit Card

Perfect

Good interest rate, good app, good service! Perfect!

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Banking customer's avatar
Banking customer
Write a review

FlexPlus

Perfect

Everything you want and need in a bank. Great products, great service, great app. Nothing to improve!

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Banking customer's avatar
Banking customer
Write a review

FlexPlus

Excellent, easy service

They consistently provide excellent service with easy to access customer care

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
CClark's avatar
CClark
Write a review